AFL 2006 Talk

matera_goal said:
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: I think the "spectator" camera angle is a must for 2006/2007, so you can just let the CPU play a game and watch the action from a fans point of view.

It's a must.

Madden for Xbox360 does that. You can find your reserved seat (should you have one) and watch the game from where you'd sit in real life. Thought that was cool but something I'd get over pretty quickly unless it was used for replays or something like that.

goDees22 said:
FH, i know it won't be in this version, but i reckon a good idea for 07 would be player lock, like in the nba games. I know its different cos there is 18 on the field in footy vs. 5 in NBA, but if you have your favourite player and want to get more exp. points for him and want him to win the brownlow, if you just controlled, say Jonathan Brown, and the CPU controlled his teammates, it would be a lot easier imo, but i do understand that it would be difficult to do with camera angles and crap, seeing as though the field is so large, but i reckon it would be a worthwhile feature

There was a soccer game on the playstation that did this. They used a close-in 3rd person view and you played up and down the field (which co-incidentally is the way I play AFL Premiership 2006). I'm a big advocate for a mode like that - it has a lot of potential and like someone replied it would indeed seem like 2 games for the price of one. I guess for it to work properly we'd really need to fine tune the end-to-end cameras to make sure you were always aware of the balls position up the field irrespective of whether you were facing the ball or had your back to the play. It would possibly also require a new game mode that was somewhat like the superstar mode in Madden 06.
Anyone seen first person perspective football on ESPN NFL 2K5? Maybe that's taking things a tad too far. But at least in that one you can switch between players.

jorel6669 said:
That would be a great feature. For AFL, it would give the game a second dimension, and it would feel like 2 games for the price of 1.

But make sure you have create-a-player, so you can play as yourself, and live out the AFL career that never was. I reckon maybe by the 2010 version, they could have it in. Imagine watching the game if the coach benches you! :D

Create-a-player is being discussed at the moment. Will let you know more about it when I know more.

shanefos said:
There used to be fights in the older EA versions. Pretty poxy though. Loved the big kick you could lash out with!:D
Perhaps in a future release you could have a 'classic mode' where the players smoke darts and eat chiko rolls before the game and then go out and head butt the umpire (remember the good old days when there was only one central umpire???) and games end in blood baths. Good for a laugh, I reckon. The AFL doesn't mind showing how it used to be in the "good old bad days"...

Yeah I know what you mean by the AFL promoting their old bad ways and not wanting their current players to mimmick that. Quite a contradiction.
The Ricky Ponting cricket game doesn't let you bowl high bouncing deliveries too often but does however encourage you to hurt the Australian batsmen in a bodyline mission.
Who knows, the way football is heading we won't be able to add the bump control to next years game!

sainters said:
Hey FH, is there better 'TV style' presentation in 2006, like in PE, in terms of showing stats throughout the game, the thing that shows which players are running hot etc...

are you able to explain anything about this?

Player and Team stats are presented at breaks in quarters. Unfortunately we weren't able to add the extra polish in time with items such as players hot/cold but they are already being added for the 2007 game. :thumbsu:
Additional TV style presentation items are alternate camera angles on replays and replays of free kicks/reports/specky marks and attempts.

DaSawx said:

I Highly Doubt it...It's a bit late now.

Hey FH. Few Q's mate.

Have you still been playing the game lately?

In comparison to '05, is there more dropped marks, both contested and uncontested, in '06?

Probably has a bit to do with the above question but in comparison to '05 again, is '06 more free flowing? The players took a long time to get up and go back for thier kicks after a mark in '05 and it slowed the game down alot. I know you could just play on, but realistically they should get up ready for the quick kick/handpass without having to play on. Has this been improved in '06?

Cheers again.

illnino said:
I Highly Doubt it...It's a bit late now.

Hey FH. Few Q's mate.

Have you still been playing the game lately?

In comparison to '05, is there more dropped marks, both contested and uncontested, in '06?

Probably has a bit to do with the above question but in comparison to '05 again, is '06 more free flowing? The players took a long time to get up and go back for thier kicks after a mark in '05 and it slowed the game down alot. I know you could just play on, but realistically they should get up ready for the quick kick/handpass without having to play on. Has this been improved in '06?

Cheers again.

Yes I play it daily. I'm really testing the hell out of the Career Mode. The Hawks are on a roll...premiers in 06,07 and looking good for 08 despite some salary cap issues at the start of the season (Dowler, Franklin, Roughead, Muston and Ellis dominating through some shrewd development!).

Yes the AI can drop marks (or rather miss them completely). The ball can spill from marking contests but this is generally caused by yourself or an AI player punching in the contest. We had an animation for a dropped mark done but the code implementing that aspect of the marking contest didn't make it in on time. Overall the marking has been improved however.

You can kick/handball/play on at any time in the marking/going back sequence so you can move the ball quickly. To be honest I can't comment on whether they get up/recover quicker or not. I have noticed however on Hard that you should either dispose of it immediately or hold on for the full 30 secs (or whatever it is) before dishing off to move the ball along quickly from a marked kick or free kick. I say this as your players are more likely to have space on a lead or move to a hole at those times. It's very easy to get the ball up the ground quickly either by hand or foot in all difficulty levels although you can't carry the ball with one player too long on hard. Hope that goes some way to answering your question.

Also forgot to add that the game is damn hard on Hard in the wet weather. I have some really close games there as players slow down somewhat and the ball is harder to move up the ground.

Fiery Hawk said:
There was a soccer game on the playstation that did this. They used a close-in 3rd person view and you played up and down the field (which co-incidentally is the way I play AFL Premiership 2006). I'm a big advocate for a mode like that - it has a lot of potential and like someone replied it would indeed seem like 2 games for the price of one. I guess for it to work properly we'd really need to fine tune the end-to-end cameras to make sure you were always aware of the balls position up the field irrespective of whether you were facing the ball or had your back to the play. It would possibly also require a new game mode that was somewhat like the superstar mode in Madden 06.
Anyone seen first person perspective football on ESPN NFL 2K5? Maybe that's taking things a tad too far. But at least in that one you can switch between players.

FH back on the old Amiga 500 Kick Off 2 allowed you to do this.. me and a mate would play two players and each control an individual player, it was pretty awesome stuff. It is easier on a soccer pitch however.

Also on fighting.... Gran Turismo doesnt allow damage to the cars because most of the big companies wont let them include it. Only a few companies agreed so they didnt bother putting it in.

Hey FH, when you play the season mode, does every round you play feel like your playing a different team? unlike previous games where the AI was the same for every team, so you constantly won by the same margin every game, it was like playing the same team every match...hard to explain. :)

Also do injuries and suspensions have a greater impact on your team this time around?

I'm lazy and don't want to read all the posts,
whats the release date?
Is it gonn abe playable?
Will I want to play it "out of season" that the big test to a game IMO

Fiery Hawk said:
Create-a-player is being discussed at the moment. Will let you know more about it when I know more.
i'm guessing you are talking about that for next years game, it is an absolute must and would actually be above the dynasty mode thing with drafts and trading, i would rather have create-a-player, and you can edit all their stats as well, it would be a huge inclusion

illnino said:
Premiers in 06 and 07, looking good for 08?

What difficulty is that on FH?

Hard. Was pretty lucky in some games to scrape through. Survived an after the siren shot against the Saints in the pre-lim the 1st year but haven't cracked it for a pre-season premiership yet. Tend to finish top 4 in the regular season but it's really competitive depending on how your team are setup (no key injuries/suspensions) and whether they are at full strength.
Made some tough decisions to stay within the salary cap like de-listing spida and trading willo at the end of '06 for Henry Playfair and a draft pick. Buddy and Roughy are picking up the slack up forward with Harry M kicking the odd goal.

sainters said:
Hey FH, when you play the season mode, does every round you play feel like your playing a different team? unlike previous games where the AI was the same for every team, so you constantly won by the same margin every game, it was like playing the same team every match...hard to explain. :)

Also do injuries and suspensions have a greater impact on your team this time around?

Yeah teams tend to feel different. They do because each team is randomly assigned a tactical setup prior to the game. I generally play as Hawthorn and I swear we can beat Carlton ok but Essendon games always go to the wire...dunno if that's how teams are rated or some mental scarring from 10 years of beatings :eek:

Injuries do have a dramatic impact on play. You have to rotate players around and depending on what's going on in the game at the time the injured player may not be able to interchange immediately. Fatigue also plays a huge part in proceedings.
Suspensions as always affect your team makeup. Teams are rated on the 22 players selected in the side so if you lose star players your team rating is likely to suffer.

Fiery Hawk said:
Madden for Xbox360 does that. You can find your reserved seat (should you have one) and watch the game from where you'd sit in real life. Thought that was cool but something I'd get over pretty quickly unless it was used for replays or something like that.
Wow cool :eek:

AFL Live 2004 for PS2 had a spectator view

Fiery Hawk said:
Injuries do have a dramatic impact on play. You have to rotate players around and depending on what's going on in the game at the time the injured player may not be able to interchange immediately. Fatigue also plays a huge part in proceedings.

How often do injuries usually occur in '06? In '05 they were rediculous, you'd concider your self lucky if you only got 1 injury PER GAME.

danielz_23 said:
By all accounts the game is no good. I would save your hard earned cash... its disappointing we cant get a good AFL game (since 2003).

It hasnt even been ****en released yet so which reports are these????

I was simply going to delete this post but Id really like to know what you are smoking.

danielz_23 said:
By all accounts the game is no good. I would save your hard earned cash... its disappointing we cant get a good AFL game (since 2003).
You haven't played it yet so how do you know If its good or not, it sounds by what Fiery Hawk has said that they have improved their Gameplay A LOT which is what was needed
Personally I will wait for some reviews to see if its any good before I go out and buy it.. mainly due to AFL 2005 which was a total waste of $100 :thumbsdown: (One of my mates has actually borrowed it and I've told him he can keep it, not that he ever plays it)

Locky said:
mainly due to AFL 2005 which was a total waste of $100 :thumbsdown: (One of my mates has actually borrowed it and I've told him he can keep it, not that he ever plays it)

I also believe and have for a long time that '05 is no good but I played it today for the first time in ages with my bro...

Its actually not that bad.

Before you kill me........You have to set the cpu assist and direction assist to off. It makes it so the computer basically has no control over your players movement or accuracy. Makes for more dropped marks and more behinds.

It makes the game alot more playable and it will at least get you through till July 20 when '06 comes around...:eek:

BTW Borgsta, I'd love some of the stuff danielz_23 is smokin...:rolleyes:

AFL 2006 Talk