AFL 2006 Talk

Archer_11 said:
:eek: :eek: :eek:

That's weird...the timing for punches and marking is meant to be the same. It feels that way for me.

FH mentioned in a thread on the 'other' AFL gaming forum that if you get the timing right then even beating difficult is easy. So I guess the answer is yes.

Yea thats how important stats r to me

I am always able to punch however it just involves button mashing. This doesnt work with the marking obviously. What do u look for so u know the timing is right coz ive tried heaps and it rarely works and gets annoying when u have Lloyd and Johns 2 on 1 on some small defender and he takes a chest mark behind them both.

I hear ya keepzitreal, stats are huge for me, i dont go as far as putting them in a spreadsheet but i can see where you are comin from.. hopefully the stats are accumulated throughout a season in the next edition.

In defence i almost always punch the ball, just because its a normal thing to do in footy, i dont mash though, just try and get the timing right with one press.

Dont know what you are doing wrong when Lloyds and Johns cant at least get hands to the ball against a small defender.

I've just been through my first trade/draft period in season mode (yes it's taken me a while - 5 min quarters, played every game).

Whilst it's great to simply have the functionality that allows trading and drafting, here are some suggestions I would make for the next game:

1- I don't mind how you're able to choose an uncontracted player and get the club to tell you their asking price - however this needs to be improved in a big way. I shouldn't be able to offer a ruckman about to retire (B.French) for a quality player with 5+ years left in him. This whole aspect of the game has to get more realistic. Every player has a rating, so I don't see why the trades should be based on those ratings, as well as their age (i.e. a player who is 21 rated 70 is more valuable than a player who is 34 rated 70).

2- Some players are blanked out and unavailable for trade. Does this mean they're under contract? Last time I checked, contracted players can be drafted. This is complicated further by the CPU saying (after you select an available player) that the player is not up for trade.

3- I shouldnt be able to ask for draft pick #2, and for the CPU to ask for picks #58 and #150 in return. Perhaps a player should always be involved in that instance - i.e. the CPU could ask for that lower draft pick (#58) and a reasonable player, like Ryan Houlihan.

4- I ended up putting through about 3 trades (J.Rivers, J.Gram and M.Gardiner) - giving up L.Livingston, R.Houlihan and B.French. Whilst still not 100% realistic, I wasn't going to send away 3 guys I would have delisted anyway.

5- In summary, make trading better!!

6- I forget the next progression in the off-season, but shouldnt delisting of players be prior to the draft? I have a feeling the draft was first, then the delisting option...

7- I couldn't see any display anywhere that told me how many players I was allowed to have on my list. Is there a limit?? All I saw was - List: 37. etc It should have said - "spots remaining: 3". At least then you would know to delist say, 3 blokes, so as to have 3 draft picks for example.

8- Please, please, please - divide the Rookie draft and Pre-season draft into two events. They should not be all thrown into one super draft.

9- Far, far too many existing players are available in the pre-season draft. What are the reasons for this? Have they had a falling out with the club (contract dispute)? Are they looking for a seachange? In recent history the pre-season draft has only been 15-20 picks long so perhaps it needs to get a bit more realistic.

10- As mentioned, Rookie's should have their own draft. Is there any logical order at all in the way the rookies are listed in the draft pool? I found it to be pretty much a lottery when scrolling through available players. I couldn't even find a player overall rating??? So in the end I focused on a couple of attributes and just found the player with the highest in that category.

11- You should be able to sort rookies by their atributes - i.e. overall rating, speed, kick distance etc. This is a must-have. It's just too time consuming otherwise.

12- I couldn't see any rookie player history. What club are they from? i.e. All-Australian from the Bendigo Pioneers or a rough diamond from the Manangatang 3rds?

13- Perhaps in the draft pool 18-22 rookie's should be "highlighted" with a star next to them as players "selected" in the Under 18 All-Australian team?

14- Personality should play some part in a player's overall package. i.e. If I want to draft a country kid with a close knit family and a mild demeanour ahead of a kid from Footscray who's been shoved from foster home to foster home with an anger management problem, I should be allowed? Maybe that's a severe example, but you get my drift.

15- If feasible, have rookie scouts that you can send to all parts of the country to un-earth some hidden gems.

16- Pre-season training should be a feature of the game. That is, decide to invest time in either strength training (weight room), endurance (run the "tan"), general fitness (swimming, bike riding), accuracy (kicking drills) etc - or a combination of each (50% endurance, 25% speed, 25% endurance). This should increase a players rating in those chosen area's by at least a point or two.

17- More stats, including accesible season stats of course.

That's about it for now. Obviously some of these things are a bit of a dream, but it would improve an already good game ten-fold. :D

i like the new goalkicking system but it is a problem when you are close to goals. eg: i grab the ball 10 metres out, have to stop and wait 4 the goalkicking meter and while im waiting i get tackled. FH, any solution 4 that at this stage

carltonfan43 said:
i like the new goalkicking system but it is a problem when you are close to goals. eg: i grab the ball 10 metres out, have to stop and wait 4 the goalkicking meter and while im waiting i get tackled. FH, any solution 4 that at this stage
I think in that case, you'd be best to just run towards goal and press and hold 'X' (a normal kick) - and not the square button (usually used for a set shot). :thumbsu:

One problem I saw last night, I was finishing playing a one off season and my top ten in the brownlow votes had no correlation to how they had gone during the year. For example, one player I never included in the team but he polled 8th(!)...I guess with the drafting feedback above, one thing that needs to happen in 2007 is for stats to be more usable and to play more of a role in some of the areas of the game like this one.

Still, would rather the big improvement in playability that we got over some stats-crunching dog. Good things take time...

Hahaha joking right??

I wouldnt trade away Huddo but im biased with him being a Rooster and all (well sort of)

Who is your number one ruckman then? Huddo is in my game but i havent finished my first season yet

Off the subject slightly but i was amazed at the realism last night. Played Brissy at the Gabba and it poured down, got off to a shocker and finally took the lead last term when Edwards put us up by a point, then J Brown had the ball 50m out on the boundary, nobody near him, kicked it out on the full and the siren went.
Then went to the TD and belted top of the table St Kilda by 11 goals, i loved the conditions because it was much better than the pouring rain.
I know its not 100% like this year, but you cant get much closer can ya?

RoosterLad said:
Hahaha joking right??

I wouldnt trade away Huddo but im biased with him being a Rooster and all (well sort of)

Who is your number one ruckman then? Huddo is in my game but i havent finished my first season yet

Off the subject slightly but i was amazed at the realism last night. Played Brissy at the Gabba and it poured down, got off to a shocker and finally took the lead last term when Edwards put us up by a point, then J Brown had the ball 50m out on the boundary, nobody near him, kicked it out on the full and the siren went.
Then went to the TD and belted top of the table St Kilda by 11 goals, i loved the conditions because it was much better than the pouring rain.
I know its not 100% like this year, but you cant get much closer can ya?

Deadly serious, that was the trade. I know you love your Roosters, but im sure having Judd affiliated with them might make up for the lost Hudson.

My first ruck was Biglands (he has pretty good stats considering), and this year ill be playing Maric or Meesen through, to develop them.

Just a note to Fiery Hawk - in my second season on career mode, the season fixture was exactly the same as season 1 (as many others have said previously). This is another thing that needs correcting without doubt for AFL 2007.

But back onto the positive side of things, I really love the game. As someone else said, it's awesome that the conditions do play a part - and you really appreciate a 20 degree sunny day at the MCG, especially after coming off a drenched match at Subiaco (as an example). As with the real thing, you notice your faster players on the dry days have an impact whereas they aren't as explosive in wet conditions. Nice touch!

Fantastic game. :thumbsu:

Southerntakeover said:
I need not worry about the next Chris Judd...

I got the REAL Chris Judd in a trade for Ben Hudson :D

Yeah i got him too, Eagles took Campo and slotted him into their midfield. I also got Goodes for Mark Johnson. In my second year of drafting I also picked up Daniel Kerr and Shaun Burgoyne in the draft who had been delisted due to salary cap pressure. My whole team are guns now also. Fletch is rated 100 in everything and still cant get in front of his man when they get that quick in inside 50.

Ive stopped playing that season as it was too unrealistic and just doing exhibition matches, but doing over the entire AFL season so i can be every team. I play a half with each team coz the computer is too easy. It's alright!!

just wondering if any1 can tell me in career mode when u go into player developement. wat do these attributes do in gameplay.
Agility
Stamina
Durability
Accuracy
Balance

luke2177 said:
Just a note to Fiery Hawk - in my second season on career mode, the season fixture was exactly the same as season 1 (as many others have said previously). This is another thing that needs correcting without doubt for AFL 2007.
Fantastic game. :thumbsu:

I still think its great, but yeah i generally do get pretty much the same season - year after year. Out of 8, only 1 was different - 7 seasons were relatively the same (well some rounds were different) but i'd always play Brisbane (i'm Hawthorn in season mode of course) in the heraitage round. Out of 8 seasons - 7 were against Brisbane in the heraitage round, and the other time was against Geelong.

I've been playing on and off in recent weeks, havn't played for a few now. Will give it another go doing grand final week.

Carlton fan...here is my guess

Agility - Dodge opponents, turn quickly
Stamina - How quickly they tire
Durability - ....um similar to stamina?
Accuracy - I'm guessing kick accuracy and perhaps handball accuracy? A high kick accuracy rating would mean the goal kicking slider would move slowly
Balance - Ability to kick or handball while being bumped and off balance

My mate said this about the draft -

When you draft players there should be a little section about them stating 'Height, Weight, Position, Strengths and Weakness’ like Footy Fanatic and put in their overall status at their current age. And try making up names instead of Heath Reiwoldt ect but the name thing doesn’t bother me to much.

Also I simmed a season I won the wooden spoon. I picked up the best 18 year old in the draft because i used my calculator to find out his overall status (50). I decided to sim out the pick 1's career to the age of 28 he only reached 60-65 overall status. When you draft the best 18 year old his starting overall status should be 60-70 depending on the strength of the draft. And they should reach 90+ because their is no point of finishing last because they will pick a dud unless a team delists a good player.

I know many people say that’s why their is developing points. But still Number 1 picks should be able to be 60-70 to start off with and 90+ at their peak without developing points It should also show what status they are without using a calculator. That are my views Feiry Hawk.

boms said:
My mate said this about the draft -

When you draft players there should be a little section about them stating 'Height, Weight, Position, Strengths and Weakness’ like Footy Fanatic and put in their overall status at their current age. And try making up names instead of Heath Reiwoldt ect but the name thing doesn’t bother me to much.

Also I simmed a season I won the wooden spoon. I picked up the best 18 year old in the draft because i used my calculator to find out his overall status (50). I decided to sim out the pick 1's career to the age of 28 he only reached 60-65 overall status. When you draft the best 18 year old his starting overall status should be 60-70 depending on the strength of the draft. And they should reach 90+ because their is no point of finishing last because they will pick a dud unless a team delists a good player.

I know many people say that’s why their is developing points. But still Number 1 picks should be able to be 60-70 to start off with and 90+ at their peak without developing points It should also show what status they are without using a calculator. That are my views Feiry Hawk.

I can tell you now that the best pick in the draft is never a 50 overall, the best is usually at about 60-65 overall.

I agree with having the Height, Weight, Strengths, Weakness and Age, most importantly for me I want to have there age because sometimes I draft players that are 20 and older and I don't want that.

I don't think there should be a thing to tell you want the status is before you pick up the player because in real life a player cannot be judged on how good they are until you have them to use yourself, it's better not knowing because thats what it is a draft very much like a lottery you never know what your going to get.
But you can still do what you said you did by using a calculator and I think that would be the best way.

AFL 2006 Talk