AFL 2007 talk

My last two games have been exciting, both narrow wins after trailing at some point in the last term. In the second of those, Harvey got 20odd possessions, 2 goals and was ranked in the 20-30s. *EDIT* Oh, and Birchall got BOG after coming on to ruck after Campbell got injured within the first 3 or so minutes, Birchall rucked the whole game and won a few hitouts, too.

Does anyone elses goal-posts go shiny at times?

I haven't noticed any shiny goal posts. Welsh did turn a defender inside out and kick a freak snap which I thought was going in, was about to celebrate.. hits the post and comes back into play because it's NAB Cup and I didn't react fast enough as I wasn't holding the controller properly :(

On your 20 odd touches, is that 5 or 10 minute quarters?

Quick poll as I just got the game and others have played it more.

1. What is the best time for each quarter? 5 or 10?

2. Umpiring. Lenient, Moderate or Strict?

I just played by second game and beat Richmond by a few goals but never really looked like losing as they are rubbish. I had 19 frees to 9, they seemed to give away some easy frees which was annoying despite the fact I won them. Nathan Brown was BOG despite not featuring in Richmond's best players, he was 1st in the Rankings though.

i play 10..... and i say have umps as leinient.... i think it slows it down a bit so there isnt as much high scores.... but then on the other hand it doesnt always do much...cause you still get holding the ball heaps

Why is the in play kicking action so slow? That contributes to all the smothering and holding the ball. You can RARELY get a quick kick out of the pack. The vast majority of some quarters are a tackle, smother & turnover festival.
That's the biggest letdown to me. It's VERY hard to get a quick kick away whilst catchup mode is on which is unrealistic when you are 2metres in the clear and it takes a lifetime to get the kick away.
Guaranteed to be the last AFL game I buy til someone else has a go. To many letdowns for a full priced game. Who the hell tests these things out and gives it the thumbs up when some minor tweaking can near perfect it?

Another thing is the ranking system.

How the hell does it work?

It should be more like a dream team scoring system.

3 points for kicks and marks, 2 for handballs, 4 for tackles, 6 for goals, 1 for behinds, 1 for frees for, -3 for frees against.

Exactly. And I thought they had a system like that til the second half kicks into gear and the opposition plays catchup. A player with 3 kicks & 2 handballs can get the #1 ranking just cos all his touches came in the last, despite his team losing and opposition players having over a dozen touches and 3 goals etc.

I haven't noticed any shiny goal posts. Welsh did turn a defender inside out and kick a freak snap which I thought was going in, was about to celebrate.. hits the post and comes back into play because it's NAB Cup and I didn't react fast enough as I wasn't holding the controller properly :(

On your 20 odd touches, is that 5 or 10 minute quarters?
Play 10 minutes quarters on hard with moderate umpiring. Perfect setup imo, get scores between 70-120 consistently.

I just played a 10 minute game with lenient and somehow lost to Sydney after being a few goals up with not long to go. Barry Hall kicked his 'lucky 7th' after the siren, unbelievable.

I still see a lot of frees though and they are usually paid to me, it is a bit annoying as it stops the free flowing footy.

I play 5 minute quarters with a lenient umpire.

Because of the holding the ball bug, 5 minute quarters pretty much require a lenient umpire...
That way it is still possible (but rare) to get ball ups in the game, instead of holding the ball all the time.

I suppose on 10 minute quarters, a lenient/moderate umpire would also be OK....but I reckon the game just goes too long then....

I just kicked a 96.99m goal! Swallow just torped it into the forward 50 hoping for a mark but somehow it missed all the players and bounced its way into the goals. O_O!

I recorded it, though the quality is extremly crap. It gets more visible later in the vid when I go for a closer view.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRlIDI15Oqc

Nice one!!!! Huge goal....
2006 seemed to have a maximum distance that would be recorded.
Sometimes I'd kick a huge goal, and check my profile, and it wouldn't show up...
So it seems they've fixed that then....It did show up on your profile didn't it????

Yeah, that's how I knew it was 96.99m long. Before that game my longest goal was about 68m.

Were you holding it like a certain someone in your avatar?

As for me I play 10 Minute Quarters with Lenient Umpiring, I like as little Free kicks paid as possible but Lenient will still give me about 15-20 frees per match for both teams, I am not fussed as it makes it more challenging to get the ball back.

Were you holding it like a certain someone in your avatar?

As for me I play 10 Minute Quarters with Lenient Umpiring, I like as little Free kicks paid as possible but Lenient will still give me about 15-20 frees per match for both teams, I am not fussed as it makes it more challenging to get the ball back.

Do you still get a fair share of around the ground ball ups with 10minute quarters and a lenient umpire?
I'd imagine it'd be pretty good....

I just kicked a 96.99m goal! Swallow just torped it into the forward 50 hoping for a mark but somehow it missed all the players and bounced its way into the goals. O_O!

I recorded it, though the quality is extremly crap. It gets more visible later in the vid when I go for a closer view.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRlIDI15Oqc
**** thats awesome! Stuff calling it 96.99, its 100m!!!!!!!!!

With the rankings system, what would happen if you reverted to the same starting line up you had at the start of the game in the dying minutes of the last quarter? I tried this and I think that corrected all the rankings....What do you all think?

So I take it everyone agrees that the umpiring is ridiculous. Perhaps FH could release an edition with this fixed up and I guess you'd have a pretty good game? Eh?

yea if FH and co fixed the umps and the bugs and the ranking system and re-realsed the game and call it AFL premiership 2007 edition, would you buy it if you already bought it?

i had a player get a 3 week injury in round 13, and is still out with bad stats but not injured and i am up to the second year, how can i get him back to good stats?

yea if FH and co fixed the umps and the bugs and the ranking system and re-realsed the game and call it AFL premiership 2007 edition, would you buy it if you already bought it?

Yep I would. I returned the game cos of predominatly the umpiring bug and kicking power bar. If they were fixed I would buy an AFL 2007 Premierhship edition. Who else would?

If we get this going then perhaps they will make a new edition. Everyone in now!!!!

FH, PLEASE RE-RELEASE THE GAME!!!

Just a quick note, I bought Cricket 2007 foir the computer and helped out creating AI patches to make the game play better. Does anyone know if this game can be modded, and what tools you would need cos I would try if I knew you could.

i don't actually have the game so if they fixed the bugs i would probably buy it but its not going to happen, but it happened once with 2004 to PE, biggest waste of money, added a few rookies all with the same stats...cheapasses

You are a suck. Open your eyes. FH and his team have made another inferior sports title. It's fanboys like you that keep IR Gurus complacent and prevent any chance of a major improvement over the last version. The game is nowhere near good enough.

Are you talking to me? If you read my last post I said I returned the game cos it is such a piece of shit. Im no fan. I made my mind up on it after 20 minutes playing it. Read my review of the game a few pages back, buddy.

This game still needs a lot of work, when is FH and his team going to learn that their product is well below industry standard and needs a complete overhaul. I don't want to hear excuses about time contraints, lack of resources, lack of staff etc. You're in the video game industry IR Gurus, wake up! It's a competitive industry, and if you have already made the concession that you can't really compete with the overseas sports titles, then why are you in this industry? It's sad that your sales of the game are due to AFL fans being desperate for an AFL game, and not the quality of the game. This reminds me of George Costanza in Seinfeld when he was asked why people would watch his show about nothing - "Because it's on TV". Why are people buying this game - "Because it's an AFL game". Nothing more.

Sorry, Cricket444 this wasn't directed at you. It was regarding an earlier post from someone defending the shortcomings of this game. Sorry mate, I deleted this post.

This game still needs a lot of work, when is FH and his team going to learn that their product is well below industry standard and needs a complete overhaul. I don't want to hear excuses about time contraints, lack of resources, lack of staff etc. You're in the video game industry IR Gurus, wake up! It's a competitive industry, and if you have already made the concession that you can't really compete with the overseas sports titles, then why are you in this industry? It's sad that your sales of the game are due to AFL fans being desperate for an AFL game, and not the quality of the game. This reminds me of George Costanza in Seinfeld when he was asked why people would watch his show about nothing - "Because it's on TV". Why are people buying this game - "Because it's an AFL game". Nothing more.

Very well stated. Youve taken exactly what Ive been thinking and put them into words.

This is what I hate about the game thus far:

- Kicking for goal on the run is a MAJOR problem. Because by the time you have lined up the meter you have already been tackled. I am yet to kick a goal on the run besides when im in the goal square when I use the X button instead of the square button, this way i dont have to wait for the ball to line up directly in front of the goal kicking meter.
- Evading is crap IMO because every time I evade the player just does a 360 wheres when the opposition evades I fall to the ground.
- Holding the balls are a joke as well. Every time I tackle the oppsotion 9/10 they get a handball out or if they dont get the handball out most of the time its a ball up whereas when I get tackled its always holding the ball.
- When in general play there doesnt seem to be enough time to get a kick. By the time you've filled up the meter you have already been tackled.
-Also the team setup screen is so annoying. Make the bloddy whole team on the one screen. Its annoying having to scroll down to see the forwards, followers and interchange.

That's all I can think of now, but no doubt more problems will arise after I play a season.

Also Dal Santo0026 post a few posts up hit the nail right on the head!!