AFL 2022: Nine reasons fast-tracking the encroaching demise of the Tigers empire

AstuteTiger

Mar 22, 2009

AFL 2022: Nine reasons fast-tracking the encroaching demise of the Tigers empire​

The stats across the board are damning and the indignity of losing to the bottom-placed team paints a bleak picture of Richmond’s projected trajectory. Here’s nine disturbing facts.

July 19, 2022 - News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

Every amazing dynasty has the moment.

That moment when the reality that life isn’t like what it once was anymore, that the superhero powers which had been evident for a number of years are gone and Father Time has caught up.

Richmond supporters have been praying to keep these moments away for one last roll of the dice this year. And at times there has been clear evidence that the Tigers can still beat anyone on their day.

But losing to the bottom-placed team who had only won one game for the season tells a very different story. With five matches remaining, the Tigers can still make the finals but will that just paste over some major issues which the decision-makers at Punt Rd must address over the summer.

Dejected Tigers players leave the field after being beaten by bottom-placed North Melbourne.

1. Defence

It‘s leaking like a sieve. The stats compared to Richmond’s premiership years are alarming. They are letting teams just waltz through and score at ease. Categories such as points against and opposition scores per inside 50s where they were ranked in the top three for most of the premierships years are now 12th and 13th respectively. And they are ranked 14th for opposition points from defensive half, a stat they were third in during 2020.

Surely it‘s not all because David Astbury and Bachar Houli aren’t there. The reality is it’s a team thing, the pressure certainly isn’t there further up the ground with the ball rebounding out of the Tigers forward half easily.

2. Offence

If you’re a follower of the Champion Data stat about expected scores then the Tigers would have comfortably taken care of the Gold Coast and North Melbourne. Not having Tom Lynch is obviously a big loss and while we joked about Shai Bolton’s misses the other week, the reality is Damien Hardwick’s team is kicking themselves out of games (do we even have to mention Jason Castagna’s efforts against the Suns).
The forward pressure has also disappeared and it is in such a sorry state that three players who should be good at that — Castagna, Maurice Rioli and Jake Aarts (sub) — were left out against the Roos. That move backfired as evidenced by Jaidyn Stephenson strolling out of defence with ease on Saturday.

Damien Hardwick can hear the alarm bells going off everywhere at Punt Road.

3. Discipline

Is it the arrogance of being the best in the business over the last five years? There are two sides to the free-kick story with any team and the Tigers certainly haven‘t had the rub of the green from the umpires but even Hardwick’s admits his team doesn’t help their cause. The 50m penalty epidemic is now costing them games and they are clearly the worst in the comp at it, averaging at least one doozy a week.

4. Old guys

Richmond have eight players over 30 years of age. While your birth certificate shouldn‘t dictate the future, the reality is the Tigers need to find a way to stagger the retirements of some of their premiership heroes. On the available evidence this year Shane Edwards and Kane Lambert (because his body is packing up) are probably at the front of the departure queue with former skipper Trent Cotchin and Jack Riewoldt possibly doing enough to go around again.

What does Richmond do with their club champion Dustin Martin?

5. The Dusty dilemma

What if Dustin Martin does say at the end of the year he wants to get away from Melbourne and feels that Sydney would be better for his mental state. Do the Tigers dig in and pay him another $1.3 million plus cheque to run around next year or do they thank him for his amazing service and cash in their chips. Either get a bevy of good high end draft picks in the deal or use the big salary cap relief to get in a couple of ready-made midfield types from elsewhere.

6. Draft busts

When you‘re winning flags understandably the recruiting staff get lots of pats on the back for putting together an extraordinary team. However, when holes start appearing questions are asked. 2018 first-round pick Riley Collier-Dawkins clearly hasn’t developed as planned, Jack Ross hasn’t set the world alight while Thomson Dow is taking a while to find his feet. Last year’s crop is the best for years — Josh Gibcus the standout — but they will need time to fill up the void a few so-so picks may have created.

Richmond-oldies_LH1os_EV-.jpg

Players Age Games Disposals Goals
Shane Edwards 33 17 13.7 0.6
Jack Riewoldt 33 15 10.5 2.1
Robbie Tarrant 33 14 10.4 0.0
Trent Cotchin 32 13 21.8 0.2
Dylan Grimes 31 13 11.0 0.0
Marlion Pickett 30 13 16.9 0.5
Dustin Martin 31 8 18.8 1.4
Kane Lambert 30 7 12.9 0.1

7. Buy a midfielder

GWS gun Tim Taranto is exactly what Richmond needs and the word on the street has him wanting to move to Melbourne.
Two other Giants, Jacob Hopper and Tanner Bruhn, have also been mentioned as possible movers.

The Tigers need class and taller hardened bodies in the midfield because right now it doesn‘t have the depth to go with the best sides like Geelong and Melbourne.

8. Hunger

It is always the first thing to go and while players tell themselves they‘re still invested in the hunt, the little things start to drop off.
The decline in the pressure around the ground is an indicator but probably the most damning for the Tigers is the last-quarter fade-outs.

When the heat has been piled on there are too many Tigers putting it in the too hard basket.
Richmond have led at three-quarter time in 14 of 17 matches this year and only have a record of 9-8 to show for it.

Hard to disagree with any of the points there. the back six - depsite on paper being one of the best in the league, is under such pressure each week because of up the field. We are without doubt the worst midfield in the leauge, and no forward pressure means even North just walks it out of their D50.

1. Let dusty walk if he wants. Trade for a first round pick and a player like Bruhn if he goes to Giants. Someone like Rowbottom from the swans. Dusty's value has plummeted this year. With the free cap space, Taranto or Hopper also pursured. Giants are rooted with their salary cap with 30% taken up by 4 players.

2. Edwards, Lambert retire, potentially cotchin and JR8 who moves into assitant roles if we land a KPF. Aarts, Castagna, Parker, Collier-Dawkins, Martyn delisted. Stack and Dow rookie listed, Pickett promoted. Look to trade Kamdyn and even Soldo.

4. Jack Ross needs full games as an inside mid. He has shown plenty IMO. Patience with Samson Ryan.

5. Chris Newman brought in, he's taken box hill to third spot with Hawthorn's list. Must get and potential replacement for Dimma.

6. Draft skilled midfielders who find the footy. You can put on size and build a tank. You cannot re-learn the craft like Nick Daicos and Sam Walsh have.

7. Pursue a KPF in the Charlie Curnow mould. 190-195cm, big tank, strong. Lynch is here for 5 years. Get him a running mate. There aren't many around, but Zurhaar and Treacy (who would defintiely leave if Lobb stays) stand out.

This article makes no sense at all when you consider the following:

- we sit second on the expected score ladder. So barring some conversion going against us at either or both ends of the ground, we are right in the mix.

- Old players? Geelong sits on top of both the actual and expected score ladder, and they are an appreciably older team than Richmond. With many more players over 30 than us…so us having 8 players over 30 should not be a reason for our current plight.

- Dusty has barely played this year(and we would be second placed on an expected score ladder) yet the prospect of losing him is fast tracking our demise?

- Draft busts? Wtf. What would be the chances of producing an elite AFL midfielder within 4 seasons out of picks 20(RCD,) 21(Dow,) 43(Ross,) and 44(Martyn)? And no mention of Bolton, Balta, Baker, Graham, Pickett, not to mention a raft of as yet undetermined types, no doubt several of which will turn out decent players, Ralphsmith, Cumberland, Rioli Jnr to name a few.

- Hunger? Leading in 14 of 17 matches at 3/4 is evidence of a lack of hunger? Fmd.

The reasons we sit as low as 8th on the ladder(not even outside normal expectations for a team who won a string of flags 6 seasons after the start of the run) are:

- despite having an above average general accuracy rate and restricting opponents to a below average accuracy rate, if we are to believe the expected score results we have suffered from some combination of our shots at goal being below par and our opponent’s shots at goal being above par.

- we have lost all 4 games that ran to a goal or less, where you would normally expect to win half of these.

- due to the way our list has been managed to max our flag chances we currently have 19 genuine AFL footballers to choose from and thus lack ready made depth.

- those 19 nailed on best 22 AFL footballers have missed 60 games between them so far this season. By the end of the home and away season we might expect this to be 75 or more games missed by these players. I think on average successful teams lose about 70 games per whole season including finals from their best 22. We are running at roughly 20% above that just from our best 19 players.

These are the real reasons we sit at 9-8 after 17 rounds.

I do think we have had a decent draw in many ways, but all things equalised we would likely be the 3rd to 5th best team based on overall performance this season, despite our absences being abnormally high. So the article is not credible.

no mention of shockings rule changers and umps reaming us every week
Eggzackly right...coddswoddle/rubbish and click bait from rupert's toiletpaper press...not one ****ing mention of the imbalance in frees and 50 meters paid over the past 5/6 years..
The poor handling of our injured champions as in Meatball/Flossy/Soldo by the afl/umpire maggotts/Players r-sole President/Tribunal decisions that favour the offending oppo/Tribunal decisions that unfairly target our players in Marlion/Nank/Lynch...
Untried rule changes introduced at a whim by a scatter designed to stifle Richmonds attack...and signed off on by the AFL Scatter Cabal...
Heavy handed covid penalties by the afl...not as harsh as other sides penalised...
And the so called press using us as a punching bag to generate ill formed opinions and tardy profit$..

This article makes no sense at all when you consider the following:

- we sit second on the expected score ladder. So barring some conversion going against us at either or both ends of the ground, we are right in the mix.

- Old players? Geelong sits on top of both the actual and expected score ladder, and they are an appreciably older team than Richmond. With many more players over 30 than us…so us having 8 players over 30 should not be a reason for our current plight.

- Dusty has barely played this year(and we would be second placed on an expected score ladder) yet the prospect of losing him is fast tracking our demise?

- Draft busts? Wtf. What would be the chances of producing an elite AFL midfielder within 4 seasons out of picks 20(RCD,) 21(Dow,) 43(Ross,) and 44(Martyn)? And no mention of Bolton, Balta, Baker, Graham, Pickett, not to mention a raft of as yet undetermined types, no doubt several of which will turn out decent players, Ralphsmith, Cumberland, Rioli Jnr to name a few.

- Hunger? Leading in 14 of 17 matches at 3/4 is evidence of a lack of hunger? Fmd.

The reasons we sit as low as 8th on the ladder(not even outside normal expectations for a team who won a string of flags 6 seasons after the start of the run) are:

- despite having an above average general accuracy rate and restricting opponents to a below average accuracy rate, if we are to believe the expected score results we have suffered from some combination of our shots at goal being below par and our opponent’s shots at goal being above par.

- we have lost all 4 games that ran to a goal or less, where you would normally expect to win half of these.

- due to the way our list has been managed to max our flag chances we currently have 19 genuine AFL footballers to choose from and thus lack ready made depth.

- those 19 nailed on best 22 AFL footballers have missed 60 games between them so far this season. By the end of the home and away season we might expect this to be 75 or more games missed by these players. I think on average successful teams lose about 70 games per whole season including finals from their best 22. We are running at roughly 20% above that just from our best 19 players.

These are the real reasons we sit at 9-8 after 17 rounds.

I do think we have had a decent draw in many ways, but all things equalised we would likely be the 3rd to 5th best team based on overall performance this season, despite our absences being abnormally high. So the article is not credible.
Great post mate!