Opinion AFL 2024 Round 15 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A mixed bag of a round with a couple of shellackings and a close game or two. The Swans continued on their merry way, North continued to improve, and the holding the ball rule continued to remain a mystery. Let's get wrapping...

Blues v Cats, Friday night: To be fair to Geelong, I think even their supporters were surprised when they started the season 7-0. Things have balanced out in the last few weeks. They were perfect fodder for Carlton’s slow but powerful midfielders, who bulldozed them all evening and saw the Blues romp away to a huge win.

Port v Lions, Saturday arvo: Yikes, speaking of huge wins! Ok I believe it now, the Lions are coming. Putting other teams on notice and looking a genuine threat now they’re hitting full stride. Anyway that’s all great but can we get to the juicy stuff? How long does old mate Kenny have?? The bells are ringing. Surely won’t still be there this time next year.

Giants v Swans, Saturday twilight: In the second quarter we thought we’d match the thumpings that the Blues and Lions dished out, then in the second half we decided we couldn’t be bothered. Fair enough too I say. The greatest team in the history of the competition doesn’t need flashy margins to prove ourselves. We’ll do that when we win the next three flags.

Demons v North, Saturday night: The mother of all frights for the Dees! If this was a horse race they’d have been the tens-on favourite that has a 20 length lead at the halfway mark, only to fall in a heap and cling on by a nose as the 100 to 1 shot nearly runs it down. They scored 70 points against the bottom side (albeit a vastly improved one), and didn’t score once in the last term. That’s a problem.

Bombers v Eagles, Sunday arvo: You never really got the sense the Eagles were likely to win, but it took the Bombers all afternoon to shake them off. Very meh sort of game, but a win is a win and it leaves Essendon with a game and a half buffer inside the top four. Daresay they’ll be pretty happy with that.

Freo v Suns, Sunday arvo: The Suns and away games. Name a more un-iconic duo. Still, the Dockers are tough nuts to crack at home and this was a fairly professional rebound performance from them ahead of a date with the ladder leaders next week.

Don't forget to post your liked, learnt, hated along with any other thoughts you had about Round 15 below!

Liked: North's evident improvement, plus the Eagles which makes the competition better.

Learnt: Geelong are shit.

Hated: Seeing Clayton Oliver running around like an over the hill bloke in country footy and embarrass himself/Tommy getting hurt in his final season.

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Learnt: We have players taking a dive and getting fined and players getting suspended for good tackles, who do you believe?

Hated: The re-emergence of the arrogant supporter Eg. Carlton fans who have watched their team do nothing for nearly 30 years and still haven't... carry on like pork chops.

Learnt- Carlton supporters aren't allowed to be happy because our team has been no good for 30 years
You're potentially confusing a very small number of people posting things on the internet for something more than what it is. You're never going to get recognition from the internet because the football team you support is up and about, so if your happiness is dependent on it you're destined not to enjoy it even if your team wins ten flags in a row.

Liked -
  • North looking better and I can see some exciting times ahead for them (hopefully so can LDU)
  • Collingwood still in the top four with all teams playing 14 games, still with players to come back from injuries.
  • Port Power continuing to make the AFL a happy place.
Learnt -
  • Carlton are good. Very good.
  • Melbourne are crap. Very crap.
  • Sydney are humming along nicely and teams will have one eye on them for the rest of the home and away season, preparing for finals.
  • Tom Hawkins went one year too many.
Hated -
  • Tom Hawkins injury. If this is the end, he deserved better than that.
  • Power getting embarrassed to the point that they may get rid of Ken. Without Ken there to laugh at, Power will just be irrelevant.
  • Steven May staging.
  • Not getting to see my team play.

Liked: Carlton making a real statement to the rest of the competition.

Learnt: it's anyone's game from 2nd to about 14th. Getting on a run through the back half of the year will be incredibly valuable.

Hated: outside of Dees-Roos, every game felt a bit one-sided. Hopefully there will be some good contests this weekend.

Liked: Brisbane - they are too good a side to be represented by their early season form. Might be an exciting x factor come September

Hated: Hawkins injury and Dangerfield report.

Learned: It seems more and more that people who go to the game have never been before. I'm talking about basic etiquette like not waiting until breaks in play before standing up in front of you to go somewhere or resume their seats (blocking important play in front of you), actually dancing for the cameras for that stupid 'entertainment' at three quarter time, etc.

I'm talking about basic etiquette like not waiting until breaks in play before standing up in front of you to go somewhere or resume their seats (blocking important play in front of you)
At the Swans/Giants game we had a big bunch of young corporate groovers in front of us (some Swans, some Giants) who would all go to get drinks en masse, but one would stand up and wait until their pal next to them had gathered their stuff and then stood up, who in turn stood waiting for their next pal to do the same, so each time they’d block the view for a good minute before they finally started to move. Clueless.

Liked - absolute everything

Learnt- Carlton supporters aren't allowed to be happy because our team has been no good for 30 years

Hated - the byes - teams coming off byes should play teams coming off byes the following week . It's not that hard for the AFL to work out surely
They can be happy, just not arrogant beyond belief. I know my team is about to hit some lean times, i ask my fellow footy fans particularly Carlton supporters on how i should cope with this? After all, Blues fans should be experts on mediocrity.

I know my team is about to hit some lean times, i ask my fellow footy fans particularly Carlton supporters on how i should cope with this?

Be miserable for 20 years and then when you finally start winning again, keep your mouth shut or else people will bemoan how 'unbearable' you are.

We've earnt the right to be a little unbearable. It's been a tough 20 years as a Carlton supporter.

They can be happy, just not arrogant beyond belief. I know my team is about to hit some lean times, i ask my fellow footy fans particularly Carlton supporters on how i should cope with this? After all, Blues fans should be experts on mediocrity.
You’re mistaking arrogance for enjoyment, we could say we had a great win and the retort would still be that’s arrogant.

Your last sentence is exhibit A of an arrogant and self entitled supporter.

You’re in for a lot of pain, so I suggest streaming the 2022 Premiership would be your best coping mechanism… just like it has for me, pulling out the video tape to watch the 95 grand final on the old dusty VCR.

It's all with a grain of salt. A lot my age have seen plenty of success , heck I've been alive for 6 flags , actually attended 5 winning flags as well. I'm sure you will cope with not being part of the action for a while

Be miserable for 20 years and then when you finally start winning again, keep your mouth shut or else people will bemoan how 'unbearable' you are.

We've earnt the right to be a little unbearable. It's been a tough 20 years as a Carlton supporter.
No time frame required. Be as unbearable as you like whenever you like. If oppo fans don’t like it hit em with one of these IMG_3703.jpeg

Acting arrogant if your team wins a flag yes. Mostly it's just fans of teams that have been downtrodden/ridiculed/ mocked for decades venting. Completely normal psychologically but some are prematurely venting.

Football is a tribal game - it isn't arrogant to think that your tribe may have lost some battles - but will never be defeated. It is however arrogant for supporters of other teams to expect anyone to bend the knee to them - or cop their trolling rubbish on the chin as if it some ultimate 'truth'.

Carlton game

Liked: I could list a lot here but I'll settle on a blowout victory; our largest against a side not named West Coast since 2014. Geelong are struggling but that was a sensational performance, and a special night for Carlton fans.

Learned: I say this with baited breath as we've all said it before and I have a huge amount of respect for the Cats, but I think the cliff has finally come. It has happened suddenly and somewhat unexpectedly in a season in which they started 7-0 but I think they're done. I think they're in for a bit of pain (perhaps relatively speaking, I don't think they'll bottom out completely) over the next 2 years.

Mind you I've thought it before - we all have - and they've found a way.

Hated: Tom Hawkins injury. Started his career with a big win over Carlton, and may well have ended it with a heavy loss against that same club. Hope not and that he gets back before the end of the year, but I reckon there's an air of inevitability about the outcome and it's a sad one.

The rest:

Liked: The bye rounds are finally done. We've navigated an absolute cluster**** of a fixture, hopefully we never see that rubbish again.

Learned: Brisbane are a real threat. They've got work to do yet but they've done well to steady after a poor start, and now look a very strong chance to play finals again. If they can push for a home final...look out.

Hated: Essendon winning and solidifying their place in the top 4. Don't know if they can hold onto it - but they're in a large group chasing what I see as a relatively clear top 3, so will give themselves every chance...

Carlton game

Liked: I could list a lot here but I'll settle on a blowout victory; our largest against a side not named West Coast since 2014. Geelong are struggling but that was a sensational performance, and a special night for Carlton fans.
Was a little confused why a north supporter was using possessive pronouns about Carlton ... looked back up to see if you had a dual club loyalty or lost a bet and realised that the blue and white was a political statement not a team icon ... all good and made much more sense! :cool:

Liked: North’s continued improvement...and Geelong getting belted.

Learnt: Sydney are absolutely gettable & shouldn't be flag favourites. C. Olivia needs a new home next year.

Hated: bye weeks..absolutely pointless and a waste of time.

* Melbourne should roll the dice and play May at full-forward.

At the Swans/Giants game we had a big bunch of young corporate groovers in front of us (some Swans, some Giants) who would all go to get drinks en masse, but one would stand up and wait until their pal next to them had gathered their stuff and then stood up, who in turn stood waiting for their next pal to do the same, so each time they’d block the view for a good minute before they finally started to move. Clueless.
Consider seeking out the front row next time. People are going to get ruder as we get older.

Opinion AFL 2024 Round 15 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated