FadeAway

Newcastle United

This article seems to just touch upon a ten minute period in the third quarter.

What about the first quarter when Leon was pinned for hands in the back? What about Didak's? What about Daisy's?

The umpires were a disgrace and there should be serious consideration for dropping Ray Chamberlain.

Or should I call him Wilt Chamberlain......thinks he's seven foot tall and has screwed about 20,000 (footballers) with his crappy whistle blowing.

I know why Chamerlain keeps blowin his whistle...apparantly when its stuck up your ass its blows every time you move...THAT EXPLAINS IT! :eek:

Its about time they admitted they were shit

The AFL better change some rules next year. How about the Dale Thomas goal hahaha maybe the AFL could spend some money on a kind of third umpire type thing they use in the cricket to judge goals like that, and channel 10 should have a few more cameras so we can actually see if the ball is out or not... It's happened 3 times this year (boundary umpires). They cost West Coast against the Bombers, they also cost us against Hawks and almost against the saints :mad::thumbsd:

Why not have some Hawk-Eye thing (basically third umpire)?

D

QUOTE=scottyD;8074763]Why not have some Hawk-Eye thing (basically third umpire)?

D[/QUOTE]

Why not make them accountable for their decision??? Just like footballers? They get away with everything!!!!!! :mad::mad:

The leon davis decision was a total JOKE!

All very well to say that now. What if the pies had not been good enough to storm home and snatch victory. Would they be saying this then? I don't think so. The shithouse umpiring on Saturday would 9 times out of 10 have changed the result of the game. In this instance they are VERY lucky the the pies were good enough to get the 4 points. If we have have missed out............pretty sure the umps would still have their heads down!

Believe me I was right there with the rest of you screaming at the rididculous decisions being made. But in retrospect it is a bit harsh to blame the individuals. Sure it is annoying that some of them seem to want to be centre stage, but is it really their fault?

It seems that the AFL, and in particular the rules committee, has to take the blame for putting too much power in their hands. While the hands in the back rule was supposed to deal with this by making all contact illegal, the focus on the rule has meant the umps are under incredible pressure to identify contact, to the point where it has had the reverse effect. They seem to be guessing in fear of getting it wrong.

It has been a really poor year for the umpires. But it is directly related to one complete rule change (hands in the back) and what appears to be a directed interpretation change in relation to holding the ball. For a few years we had the prior opportunity rule - have a chance to get rid of it, fail to do so, get caught and you're gone. Determining what amounted to prior opportunity was a relatively simple task, and so the umpire's job was easy. Now we have some arbitrary number of attempts to break tackles allowed. Clearly this has been forced on them and they are struggling with it.

yeah? and..?

Thomas doesn't get the goal of the year award and we dont get the 4 points against Hawthorn, so what use is them admiting they were wrong? Get it right next time and we wont have a problem, idiots.

what about 4 boundary umpires??? we are now up to 4 matches in 4 rounds decided by (correct/incorrect??) out of bounds calls..if we had 4 boundary umpires (ie 2 per side-doing half the length each) then they would be able to keep up with play and have a closer look at the line ball decisions..

check out this snap from JA in the willy game on the weekend-this is were you wanna be to ajudicate!

753169508_dc68af0146.jpg

Its about time they admitted they were shit

not talking abt ur comment, just making reference to your signature...

3 matches and your calling Clarke a superstar... get ya hand off it mate! Nobody is a superstar after 3 matches, nobody.

QUOTE=scottyD;8074763]Why not have some Hawk-Eye thing (basically third umpire)?

D

Why not make them accountable for their decision??? Just like footballers? They get away with everything!!!!!! :mad::mad:

The leon davis decision was a total JOKE![/QUOTE]

Thats a crap call FA. Mate I played of 100 games of footy in the ammos and I umpired 6 games. the umpiring was much harder and alot more stressful. Agree there are a few bad umpires out there but to expect umps not to make mistakes it just stupid. I shared the same view as many until I was in there shoes. For a start you cant see everything.

Footballers are not made accountable for there mistakes. 80% efficiency in kicking is consider quite good. In other words it is excepted that footballers will stuff up about 20% of the time. I would say the umps probably have a better average.

Most of the issues with the umpiring are more to do with the constant changing of the rules. It makes there job so much harder. I hold the rules committee accountable for any issues with the umpiring.

We are going to have games when it goes against us. I recall 2 games this year when it was claerly against us(sts and melb) I reckon we have probably had about 2 where it was clearly for us and the rest would be pretty even. What goes around comes around.

Thats a crap call FA. Mate I played of 100 games of footy in the ammos and I umpired 6 games. the umpiring was much harder and alot more stressful. Agree there are a few bad umpires out there but to expect umps not to make mistakes it just stupid. I shared the same view as many until I was in there shoes. For a start you cant see everything.

Most of the issues with the umpiring are more to do with the constant changing of the rules. It makes there job so much harder. I hold the rules committee accountable for any issues with the umpiring.

This has become the great umpire's excuse. when the umpires stuff up a good game now, some people will jump up and say it's because of the bad rules.

it's generally because the games are over-umpired, they pay way too many free kicks, they guess too often and they are unnecessarily interrupting play all the time. this is exactly what happened on saturday.

then it appears to the crowd as though the umpires are getting in the way. they become the centre of attention.

if you were blowing your whistle all the time in your six games mate, then you were a crap umpire too.

This has become the great umpire's excuse. when the umpires stuff up a good game now, some people will jump up and say it's because of the bad rules.

it's generally because the games are over-umpired, they pay way too many free kicks, they guess too often and they are unnecessarily interrupting play all the time. this is exactly what happened on saturday.

then it appears to the crowd as though the umpires are getting in the way. they become the centre of attention.

if you were blowing your whistle all the time in your six games mate, then you were a crap umpire too.

Mate I am not saying umpires are not going to have bad games. They do, like players do. On Saturday they had a crap game. Players have crap games and often do not get droped when people on this board are claiming they do. But I would love some of the people who constantly complain about it to have a crack at it one day and get back to me. Its not an easy job. Think about it- Even the Goldsack issue which I definately thought was not a free had some experts claiming they thought it was a free. We cant even get people agreeing who look at a reply 10 times yet an ump has to make a split second decision. They will make mistakes because our game is one of the more difficult to umpire. Some will go out way and others will not. As a club overall we get a decent run by the umps IMO

I absolutely believe the constant changing of the rules are affecting the performance. I am not saying its the only thing but it does have an affect IMO

I drives me crazy when I hear non stop whinging about umpires. Like it or not we need them. We cannot control what happens on the ground and to often people use it as a cop out.

2002 Gf goal umpire makes a mistake. So what, we where still in front and had chances to win the game yet people still claim this is the reason we lost. Good sides to not lose because of bad umpiring.

Some claim we may have lost against the hawks because of the out of bounds call. I claim bad kicking and not taking chances earlier in the game was the reason.

Umps are going to have bad games, so are players. We all make mistakes and its about time supporters, coaches and players get over it. I say we should focus on making it easier for them to do there job instead of harder.

Mate I am not saying umpires are not going to have bad games. They do, like players do. On Saturday they had a crap game. Players have crap games and often do not get droped when people on this board are claiming they do. But I would love some of the people who constantly complain about it to have a crack at it one day and get back to me. Its not an easy job. Think about it- Even the Goldsack issue which I definately thought was not a free had some experts claiming they thought it was a free. We cant even get people agreeing who look at a reply 10 times yet an ump has to make a split second decision. They will make mistakes because our game is one of the more difficult to umpire. Some will go out way and others will not. As a club overall we get a decent run by the umps IMO

I absolutely believe the constant changing of the rules are affecting the performance. I am not saying its the only thing but it does have an affect IMO

I drives me crazy when I hear non stop whinging about umpires. Like it or not we need them. We cannot control what happens on the ground and to often people use it as a cop out.

2002 Gf goal umpire makes a mistake. So what, we where still in front and had chances to win the game yet people still claim this is the reason we lost. Good sides to not lose because of bad umpiring.

Some claim we may have lost against the hawks because of the out of bounds call. I claim bad kicking and not taking chances earlier in the game was the reason.

Umps are going to have bad games, so are players. We all make mistakes and its about time supporters, coaches and players get over it. I say we should focus on making it easier for them to do there job instead of harder.

i hear you, but i think you might be missing my point.

yes, the rules change too often and might be harder to adjudicate. this is even more of a reason that umpires should have the common sense to only interrupt and stop play in the case of a clear and definite infringement. i don't like hearing the rule changes being used to excuse poor umpiring.

if there will always be mistakes, then i'd rather see 3 incorrect decisions in a match in which 16 free kicks were paid, than 9 incorrect decisions in a match in which 48 free kicks were paid.

i don't constantly complain about the umpiring but i feel as though i'm one of many people who think that on saturday there were 44 great players going hard and a great crowd at a fabulous stadium in a game that was mostly ruined by constant intrusions from 3 people doing a very poor job.

sometimes things should be just called what they are - shit. at least the afl admitted it this time.

if those three umpires aren't dropped this week, then the afl are just not fair dinkum about it because you actually get to know who the crap umpires are. i groaned when i saw who we had last week. it shouldn't be like that.

i hear you, but i think you might be missing my point.

yes, the rules change too often and might be harder to adjudicate. this is even more of a reason that umpires should have the common sense to only interrupt and stop play in the case of a clear and definite infringement. i don't like hearing the rule changes being used to excuse poor umpiring.

if there will always be mistakes, then i'd rather see 3 incorrect decisions in a match in which 16 free kicks were paid, than 9 incorrect decisions in a match in which 48 free kicks were paid.

i don't constantly complain about the umpiring but i feel as though i'm one of many people who think that on saturday there were 44 great players going hard and a great crowd at a fabulous stadium in a game that was mostly ruined by constant intrusions from 3 people doing a very poor job.

sometimes things should be just called what they are - shit. at least the afl admitted it this time.

if those three umpires aren't dropped this week, then the afl are just not fair dinkum about it because you actually get to know who the crap umpires are. i groaned when i saw who we had last week. it shouldn't be like that.

Fair chance they are instructed to umpire that way which in itself is another problem. The powers that be try to tell us they never focus on individual things yet on a week to week basis we see all games coincidently being umpired in a similar(ie a major focus on 1 particular rule)

Definately agree saturday was poor and over umpired but I reckon umpires should be droped if they are in bad form rather than a bed game. Ray may be in bad form but I wouldnt know because I try not to pay to much attention.

the most frustrating thing was the inconsistency, but having 3 umpires actually creates inconsistency!

the pies players were getting pinged for in the back.....leon, maxwell etc. which were rubbish decisions, yet gehrig gets away with one and kicks a goal down the other end

we were robbed 2 goals and the saints gifted 1 from hands in the back incorrect decisions

shane obree was pinged for a deliberate oob when he simply smashed the ball on his boot and it went bout 60m and dribbled out of bounds.......do the umpires not realise that at the best of times shane cant hit a target, so how do they know he was trying to kick it out??

was so frustrating, and i do umpire footy so usually dont get stuck into umpires......but saturday was rubbish on behalf of the umpires

The umps admitted they got three wrong only. It was a soft semi-admission that they botched it up.

1. the Goldsack spoil/mark at CHB
2. the Maxwell mark
3. The Gehring in the back

They did not admit they got any others wrong, like....

The Goldsack tackle in the third quarter when his opponent had prior opportunity and walked right into the tackle
Around the neck on Reid on the boundary line when his opponent hit him high after sliding into him with his knees
The Wakelin holding the man when both players were holding each other
The O'Bree deliberate out of bounds
The Thomas goal - if its not clearly out of bounds, then its play on.

The umps admitted they got three wrong only. It was a soft semi-admission that they botched it up.

1. the Goldsack spoil/mark at CHB
2. the Maxwell mark
3. The Gehring in the back

They did not admit they got any others wrong, like....

The Goldsack tackle in the third quarter when his opponent had prior opportunity and walked right into the tackle
Around the neck on Reid on the boundary line when his opponent hit him high after sliding into him with his knees
The Wakelin holding the man when both players were holding each other
The O'Bree deliberate out of bounds
The Thomas goal - if its not clearly out of bounds, then its play on.

the thing is tommy that in your eyes these where wrong but in most peoples eyes(other than collingwood supporters) they where debatable. Unless boundary umpire believed the ball was 100% out he would not have called it and he had a better view than most. I wish it was in but to say its wrong is just wrong in itself. Wakelin and gehrig where holding each other but wakelin was looking backwards and gehrig was look to where the ball was coming from. tough call but technically probably the right decision. I would like to have seen it as play on but I can understand why the free was paid. Obree out of bounds looked quite delibirate to me. The problem with this rule is someone will do the same 5 minutes later and not get pinged. Its an impossible rule to judge because how can an umpire know if someone deliberately takes a ball Out of bound. Thats why there is so much confusion. I dont remember the other incidents you talk about. I watch the replay again last night and while we coped more bad decisions I reckon the saints also got a couple of shockers against them.

the thing is tommy that in your eyes these where wrong but in most peoples eyes(other than collingwood supporters) they where debatable. Unless boundary umpire believed the ball was 100% out he would not have called it and he had a better view than most. .

The umpire was not in view of the camera, and therefore he was not close to the action. And the ball would have been obscured by Thomas's body at the point he allegedly carried it over. Theres no way known the umpire would have known with 100% certainty that the ball was out of bounds. He would have needed to been either closer to the action, or back in about the 40th row of the stand, to have been in the correct line of sight, and even then he'd need x-ray vision. The benefit of the doubt should have been allowed, as it was too close to call.