AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Thanks Skip for the report

Congrats to Cam - if one bloke has consistantly carved my mob up over the last two or three years, its Cam. A deserved winner.

Hey middle I've been hanging onto this just in case. A bets a bet so let us know what day and time is best. I have a few mates who are screws and they should be able to get ya in.:D

Seriously though congrats to all winners last night. Good to see the women's comp getting some recognition:thumbsu:.

I cant speak much about 3's but i think the two winners in 4's were worthy. Sero is a gun and leads Yass well. Cumo is only playing his 3rd year of footy and is only 20 so he has alot of improvement in him but he has had a great year too.

Good luck to the other teams in the finals.

Goulburn dirty? Really? Wouldn't have thought so -lots of sheep dogs though. Big Azzo is as hard as they get in div 4 though our skipper reckons Comma's #3 gets the nod - he is sore for a week after he is tagged by him

Personally hope Goulburn - it was obvious that ACTAFL just think the country teams are making up the numbers so two GF's to two country sides would be awesome

BIASED OPINION

Harman vs ANU - ??? (Jets can't beat Woden but would beat either side on weekend)

Goulburn vs Jets - Jets by 8 goals Goulburn are not 'faster': their 'seagull' approach adopted all year didn't work in the first semi and a tougher 'get the ball at all costs' approach will even better suit the harder Jets. I was playing 3's until injury (not well mind you) but am fully fit now and deservedly can't make the bench in this 4's team. Jets to overrun the Swans in the second half and produce a boring finish!

Womens - Isn't it just great that the 'fairer' sex has embraced the game? I don't know who'll win (or have a prediction) but I hope all the women enjoy themselves, encourage others to get playing and play again themselves next year.

Actually I hope that for all the CDL (or whatever they call Monaro League these days) players.

ON ANOTHER SUBJECT - BITCHING
I haven't read much of this blog? this year but F*ck there's been a lot of bitching. I'll play next year despite the fact that I'll be 39, 63.5kg and still a midget, and unable to make our 4's team. Why? Because of the mateship, the laughs, the shared common experiences. I can tell you it doesn't change much from club to club (at senior level having played for Murrumbidgee Juggerwallys, UC Wombats, Kingston Wolves, Jets, Eastlake, Belconnen, Watsonia Sharks and Rivcoll Bushpigs (biggest pissheads) along with a few rep teams). The dudes you are 'hating' and having pathetic word game internet 'fights' with may well be your best mate in different circumstances. Haven't you disagreed with a good mates opinion? Stick to objective arguments and more people may read and contribute to lively discussion on this blog (or whatever it's called).

GF

Jets by 6 - too good led by Pete Stevo - 3 time Div 1 premiership player

ANU Students to get pumped by Hogs

Women's GF B&F to end up in TD's bed about 3 am

GF

Jets by 6 - too good led by Pete Stevo - 3 time Div 1 premiership player

ANU Students to get pumped by Hogs

Women's GF B&F to end up in TD's bed about 3 am

Really and he won the div4 best and fairest last year, that's quite an achievement. Better do your research next time. RSPumpa aka djando

So the jets make another granny.

I couldn't let this pass into history without wishing Captain Arch all the best in what he calls his retirement game all the best archy :D

Jets will win today x 53 points :p

uni will win x 27 with cam trying to swap the b&f for a preimership medal :D

Seriously thow all the best to all 6 teams competing 2day:cool:
Juicy

Congrats to Goulburn and ANU for their premierships.

According to sportingpulse, ANU ended up winning by 9 goals after being 4 goals up at half time.

Anyone go and have a match report on both or either?

According to sportingpulse, ANU ended up winning by 9 goals after being 4 goals up at half time.

4's game was fantastic and in the balance until the final 2 minutes. Rusty was pretty surprised with his medal I think. It was hard to pick a BOG - I thought the young fella who stepped up into the ruck did a pretty fair job. Playing in a GF with your old man would be pretty special feeling. Especially if you took him to town in the celebrations afterwards! Stevie's speech at 3/4 time was one of the best i"ve ever heard as well. Congrats Goulburn. Are you boys down at the Aussie yet???

The thirds game was the complete opposite. I can't remember the last time I've seen a more one sided grand final. Whoever at Harman decided that trying to niggle, punch and cheap shot ANU off the footy needs to be necked. Worst. Decision. Ever.

ANU took the pressure, mopped up the footy and dominated from start to finish. Split decision on the BOG medal between Ritchie who won it (4 second half goals) and Jack Daughty who kicked 4 in the first half and stood up when the game was there for the winning.

Few sore heads out at Queanbeyan tonight I'd reckon - not losing since round 4 and then losing the GF would be tough to take.

Looking forward to next season already!! (how do you change user name - this ones a bit of a lie now!)

4's game was fantastic and in the balance until the final 2 minutes. Rusty was pretty surprised with his medal I think. It was hard to pick a BOG - I thought the young fella who stepped up into the ruck did a pretty fair job. Playing in a GF with your old man would be pretty special feeling. Especially if you took him to town in the celebrations afterwards! Stevie's speech at 3/4 time was one of the best i"ve ever heard as well. Congrats Goulburn. Are you boys down at the Aussie yet???

The thirds game was the complete opposite. I can't remember the last time I've seen a more one sided grand final. Whoever at Harman decided that trying to niggle, punch and cheap shot ANU off the footy needs to be necked. Worst. Decision. Ever.

ANU took the pressure, mopped up the footy and dominated from start to finish. Split decision on the BOG medal between Ritchie who won it (4 second half goals) and Jack Daughty who kicked 4 in the first half and stood up when the game was there for the winning.

Few sore heads out at Queanbeyan tonight I'd reckon - not losing since round 4 and then losing the GF would be tough to take.

Looking forward to next season already!! (how do you change user name - this ones a bit of a lie now!)
did you want to change it to new roo ??

good to see the cup staying in the bush. well done goulburn and anu. :thumbsu:

did you want to change it to new roo ??

Don't think 3GM will be heading down the highway next year to join the Yass boys - we couldn't be that lucky ;)

Congratulations to Goulburn and ANU on their wins today. Miss the footy already - is going to be a long off season.

Don't think 3GM will be heading down the highway next year to join the Yass boys - we couldn't be that lucky ;)

Congratulations to Goulburn and ANU on their wins today. Miss the footy already - is going to be a long off season.

Well done

Blues beat ANU and were up til injuries took their toll - Blues coulda won it - and will next year - see you at the pre-season

Shanefos

I'm pretty sure J-Brown isn't a current Blues player... More likely a former player still sad he missed finals footy in 09 just out to stir up some rubbish.

The most amusing aspect of the 3s gf was Harnan trying to go the knuckle, only to have 2 blokes get laid out and play no further part in the game. Maybe just stick to footy next time muppets

To those Harman blokes who got their girlfriends to call us two weeks ago after you won the semi; thanks very much I hope you boys had a good night.

Not surprisingly you showed about the same character on the footy field on Sunday. There were a lot of snipers running around out there who thought they were pretty tough – if you’re that tough, how about putting your head over the footy?

I don’t know if it was the aluminium or the malt, but gee those premiership lagers tasted good out of our premiership cup. Nine goals, what a pizzling…

All the best,

Davey Dablett
(Premiership Legend.)

As a member of the Harman F.C. I admit that ANU were to good on the day. Congratulations on the win. Enjoy it and your premiership celebrations.

Matt Weickhardt
Assistant Coach
Harman F.C

Hey 3GM sorry mate we where at the Workers. I forgot to get on here and let ya know. Mate I was very surprised :eek: thought there were other blokes in our team that deserved it more (i'll have to change my alias now). Woody #12 had a blinder but he won't get it off me!!!

As for the game, WOW! Who would of thought a pack of seagulls could win a premiership. The boys came out fired and wanted it and that showed. Will never forget it, with such a young inexperienced team. They all stood up!

All the best to Arch too. He is a top bloke who deserved to go out with a win. All the best in retirement champ:thumbsu:

Congrats also to ANU. Didnt watch any but the score would say it wasn't too close. Seems its better to not have the week off (or maybe not get Ferrets kiss of death).

Have a good offseason boys! See ya next year

Seems its better to not have the week off (or maybe not get Ferrets kiss of death).

And a fair kiss of death it was too.

Using that theory, I am predicting Saints to roll Collingwood this weekend, and Carlton to do it easy over the Lions...

(don't fail me now Kiss of Death!)

Enjoy the off season boys. See you all in April (assuming it rains over spring and summer, drastic water restrictions are not implemented, and grounds are available for sport in 2010...) :)

Mr flip flop, good call on number 19, they get rid off him and anu won the flag. instead they bring in number 1 with the same head gear against woden and harman, and they are disciplined, dont back chat or give away 50s and play like sailors, well drilled humans. if u gonna write shit maybe u should watch a few more games and get a bit of knowledge about footy, cause u have no idea. u should have a hard look at urself:eek:.
harman rock my world punching blokes with out the footy, or even a footy on the park, maybe they should have a video night, on hard ball gets, and if they are gonna knuckle maybe they should take boxing lessons, been hit harder by my mother.
premiership legends 09:D

Mr flip flop, good call on number 19, they get rid off him and anu won the flag. instead they bring in number 1 with the same head gear against woden and harman, and they are disciplined, dont back chat or give away 50s and play like sailors, well drilled humans. if u gonna write shit maybe u should watch a few more games and get a bit of knowledge about footy, cause u have no idea. u should have a hard look at urself:eek:.
harman rock my world punching blokes with out the footy, or even a footy on the park, maybe they should have a video night, on hard ball gets, and if they are gonna knuckle maybe they should take boxing lessons, been hit harder by my mother.
premiership legends 09:D

I love internet heroes. Keep it up. What part of my previous post was innacurate? You say i have no idea, what exactly did i say that wasn't true? Why exactly do i have to have a hard look at myself. I'll be waiting patiently for your response.

I'll be the first to admit i was bitterly disappointed on the weekend. I stand by what i wrote from the first final. The number 19 WAS the one that lost the game for ANU. It's no surprise that when they served up an extremely disciplined game that they turned on a very impressive game.

What disappointed me the most, was the pride the whole club had that they were a tough hard unit, that kept it's discipline. All of that went out the window on grand final day, and for a supporter it was really disappointing to see. Not sure if it was the week off or the grand final itself, but they played so differently that day to what they have all year, however ANU stepped up it's whole game and also didn't lose they're heads.

I know they were hurting after, and I'm sure they would do it all differently. It's such a shame the year ended with that game, because every other ANU V Harman match has been a thriller.

Good luck for everyone next year. Hopefully the div 3 and 4 serves up more of the same.

Is there anywhere you can see the B&F votes for CD 1's and 2's? Can only find news articles on the Mulrooney Medal. As far as i know Griggs won it for 3's and Serafin/Cummins won for 4's. Would be interesting to see the top 10?

Uni/Goulburn wins were fantastic. It seems the two sides most interested in cheap shots and off the ball nonsense ended up losers.