AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist)

SC... I thought the bum pat was outlawed after last year.
Hey chaps I've been reading for a while and thought I'd join the fun.
On the subject of umpires I think they don't do too bad. Remember we are amateur players and teams and even though they do get paid a pittance they are still amateurs as well in my book. As BH said the decisions generally go both ways.
They are too easy a target and players especially need to lay off. The players are there to play footy not umpire the game and the sooner they get on with it the better they and their team will be. Anyone noticed the better behaved Yass are now doing quite well!
Yeah yass have changed the attitude towards umpires good to seee and the results speak for themselves as well as massive improvement from all the players as a unit

Saint the attitude had to change at yass as a unit all have worked very hard towards it its funny the different opinons on yass current success .Still it will all mean nothing if they dont kick on and there is a long way to go yet.As for umpires yass have been very happy with the standard so far this season theres a bloke from S AUST he is the best ive seen for a while problem is they get promoted .:)

There is no reason why they can't drop players back but I'm not sure they would want to play back in Div 3. They certainly didn't play during their last bye weekend.

BH, there is a law stating that if they did not play Div 3 before the bye weekend; they cannot play Div 3 on the bye weekend unless they did not play any football (injury/absence) on the weekend before the bye. This is applicable to all Div 1 and Div 2 players whose club is affiliated with a Div 3 or Div 4 team.

Tips for round 15:
Div 3
Gungahlin over Eastlake
ANU over Harman
Belco to beat ADFA
Woden over Tuggeranong
Murrumbidgee over Ainslie
Div 4
Gungahlin to beat ANU
Harman to beat Murrumbidgee
Belco over Eastlake
Goulburn over Cooma
Coota to beat ADFA:)

Tips for round 15
Div 3.
Gungahlin over Eastlake 17 pts
Harman over ANU 3pts
ADFA over Belco 5 pts
Bidgie over Ainslie 100 pts
Top 4: Belco, ADFA, Bidgie, Gungahlin

Div 4.
Gungahlin over ANU 38 pts
Harman over Bidgie 7 pts
Belco over Eastlake 20 pts
Goulburn over cooma 60 pts
Coota over ADFA 3 pts
Top 4: Yass, Gungahlin, Belco, Goulburn

BH, there is a law stating that if they did not play Div 3 before the bye weekend; they cannot play Div 3 on the bye weekend unless they did not play any football (injury/absence) on the weekend before the bye. This is applicable to all Div 1 and Div 2 players whose club is affiliated with a Div 3 or Div 4 team.

The laws didn't seem to worry AFLC or Belconnen in finals last year!!!

Div 3: Jets, Hogs, Belco, Jugs

Div 4: Jets, Hogs, Belc, Goulb, ADFA

Complaining about umpires is part of the sport, and whilst it is often warranted, it can be overdone. I reckon we put up with their crap and they put up with ours. However It sh*ts me when the umpires complain about spectator heckling and threaten to penalise a team for comments from the crowd, since when did that become a rule and how can they determine what team the supporters follow?

Snidely,

Just a friendly reminder that Belconnen selceted players for finals last year according to the rules as AFLC had them in place.

The football manager was in contact with AFLC the entire week leading up to finals to ensure that they were able to select the players they were looking at. The coach in turn was in contact with the Football Manager every day ensuring that he was not going to allow him to select ineleigble players.

I know this to be fact as I was the 4th grade coach last year, so hopefully this finally puts any uncertainty to rest about what happened. I'm not saying the laws were right but they were in place, so although your post was partly right, it probably should have stopped at "The laws didn't seem to worry AFLC".

Anyway, it's my first post here, so Hi to everyone and it's great to see a forum for CD's

AFL Canberra got it wrong last year on player eligability due to the unusual circumstances of Belco playing 2 sides in the reserves comp - I'm hoping that the bylaws were cleaned up for 08.

Now, lets talk rivalries. Who does your club always enjoy playing/lift for the most, and who has the wood on you?

I'll start

I love the local derby, Woden vs Murrumbidgee. There was history in a couple of CD2's Grand FInals, and the fact that we are both 'small' clubs - and a lot of the guys playing played juniors togehter and against each other. There is always a decent crowd, the players fire up

The team we had never beaten in 1's til this year was ANU - and we did the double over them. Probably won't happen again!

The team that has the wood over us is Harman - for some reason we always play rubbish against them and its been 5 games since we last beat them...

I would have to agree with you GF that the Woden vs Juggs rivalry is always a spectical regardless of where both teams are on the ladder. There is talk about having a trophy done up for next year between the two clubs due to their DIV2 finals days.

ANU has had the hold over the Juggs in the past so it is good to finally beat them this year.

Nice to have you on board Pie25. I was involved with the finals last year behind the scenes between Belco and Juggs in Div4 and there was a lot of blame over the Magpies braking the rules but they actually played by the rules (Which were loose) without AFLC stepping in to do what's right for the league due to the laws that were in last year. I believe the rules have been modified to stop the arguments from last year to happen again.

Re: Rivalries, etc
For Yass, because one of our members had some history with Goulburn when they were the Hawks we instigated a trophy for games between Yass and Goulburn (The BurnAss Cup). It's sort of a rivalry but it's fairly friendly.
A team that has always had the wood on us until this year was Murrumbidgee. The wins by Yass this year are the first against the Juggs since we joined the comp in 2002.
Another team that always seems to generate close games for Yass has been ANU. Both teams have pretty evenly shared the honours over the years and the games are usually close, tough encounters. First game this year no exception.

ANU appear to have built a few rivalries!

In 3s they lost a GF to Belconnen in 2001 and then the Prelim to them in 2002. They had the last laugh in 2004 and 2005 though with convincing wins over Belconnen
They have another recent nemesis in Gungahlin with two losses in the past two GFs to the Jets. They have been cracker finals too.

ANU appear to have built a few rivalries!

In 3s they lost a GF to Belconnen in 2001 and then the Prelim to them in 2002. They had the last laugh in 2004 and 2005 though with convincing wins over Belconnen
They have another recent nemesis in Gungahlin with two losses in the past two GFs to the Jets. They have been cracker finals too.

ANU also have a great rivalry with Harman - the Wal Pepper Cup is played for each season since about 2002. ANU have the wood over the Hogs but it will be interesting to see who gets up this Saturday when it comes up for grabs again.
Obviously Harman has enjoyed great rivalry with ADFA and RMC over the last 20 or so years as well; this has dwindled slightly in intensity due mainly to the playing roster at Harman now consisting of mainly civilians.

Obviously Harman has enjoyed great rivalry with ADFA and RMC over the last 20 or so years as well...

Speaking of RMC, has anyone heard whether they'll be back in season '09?
Does anyone know the full story as to why they didn't field a team this year?
I'd heard there was a brawl in a mess hall and they were banned from all competetive sport for the year, but that seems far too far fetched!

ANU also have a great rivalry with Harman - the Wal Pepper Cup is played for each season since about 2002. ANU have the wood over the Hogs but it will be interesting to see who gets up this Saturday when it comes up for grabs again.
Obviously Harman has enjoyed great rivalry with ADFA and RMC over the last 20 or so years as well; this has dwindled slightly in intensity due mainly to the playing roster at Harman now consisting of mainly civilians.

TD how does that work mate? Is there not enough guys at Harman base to support two teams? What about ADFA - they dont have civilians do they?

I bought it up earlier but no one has mentioned anything - Footy Park. I understand there is grass on it again. Anyone know the short and long term plans with Footy Park, ACT Govt and AFL Canberra???

TD how does that work mate? Is there not enough guys at Harman base to support two teams? What about ADFA - they dont have civilians do they?

I bought it up earlier but no one has mentioned anything - Footy Park. I understand there is grass on it again. Anyone know the short and long term plans with Footy Park, ACT Govt and AFL Canberra???

Nah not anymore... not since about 1996; DoD has gradually moved on all the different Naval departments to other bases or migrated them with other departments elsewhere - Harman is a shell of it's former self with only shift workers and reservists along with a couple of civvies running the facilities. Since the affiliation with the Tigers started in about 2000, civilian numbers have slowly picked up to where they are now - still struggle from time to time with Ressy numbers but are giving a much better account for themselves than they have done in the past. ADFA's team incorporates all new officer recruits to the DoD and anyone else who works at the base - civvy or defence; I actually thought that they combined with RMC for their seconds team because RMC did not have numbers. It wouldn't surprise me though if the cadets were banned from contact sport because of fighting in the canteen... bunch of knuckle draggers that they are..:p

As for Footy Park; can honestly say that I haven't heard anything concrete but there is a train of thought indicating that it will once again be the home of football in the ACT - back to the halcyon days of the 80's and 90's. Manuka would be left to cricket and any other sport that requires a surface that turns to cement when it's dry and clay when it's wet...:(

Bring on Footy Park again or something similar. I'm with you TD, those turf cricket pitches are crap for footy.:cool:

I have heard from the constructors of the new surface that the grand plan for football park is to make it into a thirty thousand seater with lights in an attempt to lure day night cricket and night footy to Canberra. Whether this happens is another matter.

Pie 25 appriciate your clarification on belcos stand on the finals last year.The question i have long wanted to ask is did any of the players that got you to the fourth spot miss out on two finals you played agaisnt the juggs and the jets and if so was it because of injury .

Hey Southcab,

From memory no one really missed out as the 4 or 5 guys that caused the controversy came back to footy from injury etc a couple of weeks out from the finals and were allowed to play 4's by the 3's/2nd ressies side coach, as he saw no point in taking these guys from us for the last few games when we had a chance to play finals and they didn't. One of the main controversies stemmed from the fact that some (all? can't remember) of them only played 1 or 2 games but we were allowed to use our two byes late in the year as games to count towards their qualification as they didn't play in any other grades on that weekend.

To get to the point and answer your question though, all year I only had 3 or 4 guys not getting a regular game and I know 1 or 2 of these guys voiced their disappointment to me in missing out on finals, but they were fringe players all year and it couldn't really be said that they were the reason we got to fourth in the first place. We all know these guys are important to any team (especially a Div 2 side) but at finals time we had to go with our best available 22.

Pie 25 Thanks tuff job coaching different format this year so some good has come from it and for what its worth and i know this will upset some the rite team won the flag they were the best side all year and i dont think jets or juggs would have beat them.In no way am i down playing there rite to try thow just my opion.:)

...for what its worth and i know this will upset some the rite team won the flag they were the best side all year and i dont think jets or juggs would have beat them.In no way am i down playing there rite to try thow just my opion.:)

Who will it upset??? The Jets had a couple of good wins against ANU during the home-and-away season, but from memory, the only team that really came close to ANU in '07 was Yass, and they missed out on finals anyway (and arguably that was only due to their poor discipline).
'07 was a strange year though - RMC and Cootamundra dropping out. In '06 they were both powerhouse teams. Coota' played in the GF didn't they???

shanefos yass had one win one loss over a n u last year and yes it was there own doing couldnt beleive belco beat anu in the last round to take 4th spot.Belco finished the yass charge the day they beat yass at yass when they overrun them in the last quater.As for who it will upset juggs coach firmly believes they would have won the flag last year had the afl not allowed the two byes to be used as qualifing rounds.I like seeing passionate people in our game.

From memory Juggs didn't go close to ANU all year! They would've had to have done some stacking of there own to have given either Belco or Jets a run for their money (even if Belco hadn't dropped some players back).
But I'm like you, I reckon it's good to stay positive, even in the face of massive defeat! ;)

Football Park?

As far as I know land around the ground was to be sold off and it was going to be made into a Greenway Oval sized facility, for multi-sport access.

I've heard it has been sewn and the coverage was looking ok from afar - but I have not heard anything about AFL Canberra abandoning Manuka for it.