AFL Canberra

your point about watching to many qbn games must be correct if you are putting irwin in over scott hening, dave or john love or dean rouslten

Definitely agree with Dave Love's inclusion... But its a pretty awesome team all the same.

Here is the best 22 put into positions as I see it so far this season. Im sure there are other opinions on who should be in/out and who should play where but here it is for you to pick to pieces.

Remember that current injuries was not taken into consideration just form that I have seen or read about.

FP - Hughes (Ainslie) FF - Armstrong (Qbn) FP - Williams (Qbn)
HFF - J Bennet (Belco) CHF - Kavanagh (Qbn) HFF - Maher (Belco)
W - Mcmahon (East) C - Neely (Ainslie) W - Lieschke (Qbn)
HBF - Irwin (Qbn) CHB - Clarke (East) HBF - L Bennet (Belco)
BP - Takanan (Tugg) FB - Raadts (Belco) BP - Rogers (East)

Rucks - Dickinson (Qbn), Daniher (Qbn), R. Underwood (Belco)

Int - Bourke (Ainslie), G. Underwood (Belco), C. Illett (Belco), Cooper (East)

* Cooper can play back or forward. His form in the 2 matches I have seen has been excellent. Evergreen player.
* Bourke playing could go either way as I havent seen him play this season but if Dicko went down you would need another ruckman. Maher could do it but not sure if the old body is up to it anymore.
* Clarke is versatile but after watching his battle with Kavanagh a few weeks ago he gets my nod at CHB. Best game I have seen him play in this comp against Qbn.
* Ainger is unlucky but he openly admitted after his bag against Qbn on QBNFM that he had been a little quiet prior, so I gave the nod to the more consistant Hughes. Hughes is a strong mark and reliable kick on goal.
* Williams by all reports was ordinary on the weekend but this side was picked prior to the last round as I was out of town and his form up till then was fantastic. Again he is the X Factor! Would probably get the 4th - 6th defender which makes him even more dangerous if used correctly by team mates.
* Irwin has been the most improved player out at Qbn and has played 3-4 outstanding games and deserves his selection. Can be a worry at times with misguided aggression but has blossomed this year so far under enourmous pressure down back for Qbn.
* Maher has been a great player in this comp for 15 years and he shows no sign of slowing down on form. Very versitile and a player that I admire and respect even if he doesnt know it.
* Armstrong, Kavanagh, Lieschke, Neely, Daniher pick themselves as they are truely elite players of the comp and have been for a while.
* Dickinson is easily the best tap ruckman I have seen in the comp this year and his marking around the ground and his ability to gather a ball off the ground is exceptional. Can also go forward and kick a vital goal if required.
* Takanan has been the standout for Tuggers this year, hard at it and takes no prisoners.
* Bennet Brothers again have shown consistancy time and time again. Reliable experienced players.
* Underwood Brothers are new to me and the comp but have impressed each time with their ability to win the in and under ball for their team.
* McMahon is the tall, athletic target across the middle of the park. A cool, calm and skillfull player that will be hard to match up on.
* Raadts has been the best backman in this comp for several years now, big and athletic. The general down back.
* Rogers copped abit of stick last year for his up and down performances up forward. Not as easy to play in the forward line as some people think but down back in the games I have seen he has broken even with Kavanagh and Armstrong and that is no mean feat. Has found a home down back.
* Illet is a classy player who has silky skills. Unlucky not to be in starting 18 but great to have come off the bench in a 3 way rotation.

There you have it people my best side so far this year. How will it change before the end of the season. Even if you dont agree with my selections you have to admit that its a bloody good side!!

Have to agree sounds like a pretty good side but being from qbn i think your judgment is a bit clouded on irwin. Just because you think he has improved doesn't warrant rep selection. By the way can someone please tell me when the side will be finalised by officals.

BD33 = if thats the only flaw in the side according to your good self then I can cop that. Irwin has played very well this year as Im sure the other guys you mentioned have also but hey I cant please everyone. Roulstone was very good when they beat us but poor in the first round. On the other Belco boys well how many do you want in?? 7 not enough?? I have seen Belco only once this year and while the guys you mentioned where good, there were better players wearing the magpie jumper. I will also add that from what I saw in a very good position, one of the mentioned players was very lucky not to get his number taken on the grandstand wing.
What goes around comes around, cast your mind back to round 1 Tigers v Swans when Carey king hit that school kid top up player

Have to agree sounds like a pretty good side but being from qbn i think your judgment is a bit clouded on irwin. Just because you think he has improved doesn't warrant rep selection. By the way can someone please tell me when the side will be finalised by officals.

I never once mentioned that this should be the rep side. I simply stated each time on this, that it was the best 22 so far this season in my opinion.

It seems that the only spot that is causing any sort of a stir is the selection of Irwin. Thats 21 out of 22 you seem to agree with so I have got it pretty close.

On Irwin, let me give you some stats. I mentioned on several occassions that I saw more Qbn games than any other sides. This is obvious to all as you know who I am, however I did look at websites to check on most players statistics prior to making my final selections and this is what I found about some of the players you are saying should be included instead of Irwin.

J Love - In 8 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 4 times with a 2nd best, 3rd best, 4th best and a 5th best.

Henning - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 3 times with a 4th best and 2 BOG's.

Roulstone - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 3 times with a 3rd, 5th and a 6th.

Irwin - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players on 5 occassions with a BOG, two 3rd bests, a 4th and a 5th.

If we give 6 points for a BOG, 5 points for a 2nd best, 4 points for a 3rd, 3 points for a 4th, 2 points for a 5th and 1 point for 6th best then the points table for these guys would look like this.

Irwin - 19 points
Henning - 15 points
Love - 14 points
Roulstone - 7 points

These are all the facts that I had at my disposal to make my decision and on this evidence it seems that I have made the correct unbiased call on Irwin. If you can prove me wrong then good luck covering all your basis!

What goes around comes around, cast your mind back to round 1 Tigers v Swans when Carey king hit that school kid top up player

Not sure what relevance this has to my comment but we all tend to expect this sort of stuff from a few on this site.

Plus my memory aint that good.

I never once mentioned that this should be the rep side. I simply stated each time on this, that it was the best 22 so far this season in my opinion.

It seems that the only spot that is causing any sort of a stir is the selection of Irwin. Thats 21 out of 22 you seem to agree with so I have got it pretty close.

On Irwin, let me give you some stats. I mentioned on several occassions that I saw more Qbn games than any other sides. This is obvious to all as you know who I am, however I did look at websites to check on most players statistics prior to making my final selections and this is what I found about some of the players you are saying should be included instead of Irwin.

J Love - In 8 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 4 times with a 2nd best, 3rd best, 4th best and a 5th best.

Henning - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 3 times with a 4th best and 2 BOG's.

Roulstone - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players 3 times with a 3rd, 5th and a 6th.

Irwin - In 9 games on Sporting Pulse he has been in the best players on 5 occassions with a BOG, two 3rd bests, a 4th and a 5th.

If we give 6 points for a BOG, 5 points for a 2nd best, 4 points for a 3rd, 3 points for a 4th, 2 points for a 5th and 1 point for 6th best then the points table for these guys would look like this.

Irwin - 19 points
Henning - 15 points
Love - 14 points
Roulstone - 7 points

These are all the facts that I had at my disposal to make my decision and on this evidence it seems that I have made the correct unbiased call on Irwin. If you can prove me wrong then good luck covering all your basis!

Better recast your side ABH. Heard that Steve Maher will be out for 2 to 3 months as he has torn the ligaments off the ankle bone,worse than a break apparently. Raadts will be out for a few weeks with a fairly major thumb injury. Scott Dicko hasn't played for 3 to 4 weeks and I don't think he is back training yet.

It is a very hard carnival over a few days. I wouldn't take too many older guys who, while in reasonable form, might not come up playing 3 games over three days.

Better recast your side ABH. Heard that Steve Maher will be out for 2 to 3 months as he has torn the ligaments off the ankle bone,worse than a break apparently. Raadts will be out for a few weeks with a fairly major thumb injury. Scott Dicko hasn't played for 3 to 4 weeks and I don't think he is back training yet.

It is a very hard carnival over a few days. I wouldn't take too many older guys who, while in reasonable form, might not come up playing 3 games over three days.

Is this a gee up?

Not you to Porkhead. This is not a side that should represent us in the upcoming carnival. It has nothing to do with the rep side!

It is merely a mid season team of the year and is selected on form not fitness. I selected on what I have seen and read so far and each player picked was selected as if fully fit even if several arent, much in the same way the team of the year will be picked come September and announced at the GF Luncheon.

Is this a gee up?

Not you to Porkhead. This is not a side that should represent us in the upcoming carnival. It has nothing to do with the rep side!

It is merely a mid season team of the year and is selected on form not fitness. I selected on what I have seen and read so far and each player picked was selected as if fully fit even if several arent, much in the same way the team of the year will be picked come September and announced at the GF Luncheon.

No, not a gee up.Being awake with a baby at that time of the morning you don't need that. I just thought that if this was the best side why wouldn't they go to the championships if fit. I think they are able to bring 24 players.
I notice some of the other leagues have picked their squads so ours mustnt be far off.

No, not a gee up.Being awake with a baby at that time of the morning you don't need that. I just thought that if this was the best side why wouldn't they go to the championships if fit. I think they are able to bring 24 players.
I notice some of the other leagues have picked their squads so ours mustnt be far off.

No doubt the make up of the side will change dramatically with the injuries that some of the players have incurred. Maybe I should try a current un injured best 22??

Gee, havnt the boys from across the border gone quite. I have been overseas for a while hence my quiteness on this site. What is it 1 win from the last 6 matches. You now lanquish in SECOND last position after talking yourselves up so much early on. Whats wrong with the mighty tigers - lost your bite or is that hunger ! Disregard the injuries.

Went to yesterdays match as an observer for our clash next week at the now named cow paddock. You guys had your chances but when the crunch came in the last quarter you were terrible in the middle. Lost the first four clearances resulting in three goals to the demons - game over.

Tigers wont make the finals on that form as predicted earlier this year !!! :) Magpies are premiership favourites even though losing a couple of key players through injuries. No one will come close.

Gee, havnt the boys from across the border gone quite. I have been overseas for a while hence my quiteness on this site. What is it 1 win from the last 6 matches. You now lanquish in SECOND last position after talking yourselves up so much early on. Whats wrong with the mighty tigers - lost your bite or is that hunger ! Disregard the injuries.

Went to yesterdays match as an observer for our clash next week at the now named cow paddock. You guys had your chances but when the crunch came in the last quarter you were terrible in the middle. Lost the first four clearances resulting in three goals to the demons - game over.

Tigers wont make the finals on that form as predicted earlier this year !!! :) Magpies are premiership favourites even though losing a couple of key players through injuries. No one will come close.

Was wondering when you would come back on and sniper an easy kick at the back of a pack!

Not sure all Qbn people have gone quiet FIM as Im always on with an honest assessment of happenings good or bad for the Tigers. Im surprised you haven't got your facts totally correct as the Tigers have actually slumped to 1 win from their last 7 matches and as I can't see them coming close to your mob it will then be 1 in 8 with 5 loses on the bounce!

Funny enough I still think they will make the finals due to the even nature of the comp and remember Finals are not won in June but yes, your side is clear favourite and deservedly so.

Can anyone please explain to me how once round 12 is completed that Qbn would have played Belco, Eastlake and Swans 3 times yet Ainslie only the once?? Thats baffling!

Agree on the injury front as the boys had no excuses for the weekend but its an interesting fact that they havent won a game since Scott Dickinson went down in the Ainslie game. I also believe that their "mid season" fitness campaign may have contributed to the last 1/4 fade out. If you look at both grades at one stage the Supa 2's were leading 10 goals to 5 and then Eastlake kicked the next 6 goals without reply to win the match and in the Seniors with scores close for the majority of the afternoon they are blown away in the last term to go down to their 4th loss on the trot!

Worrying times at Tigerland indeed, but the club has been in these situations before and come out the other end looking OK. Need to do something quickly as games will fast run out, but I have faith in the boys and only time will tell if its blind faith!

Good to see you are back from your overseas trip to Tassie FIM.Guess you can now put your foot in two mouths!!
Magpies are going well but I reckon you would be happy the Tigers have lost their way as come finals time they seem to find another gear and could be a chance if they get there. See you are finally getting your share of injuries so don't bark too hard.

Having played over 300 senior games in 5 different leagues (4 in victoria and here), I would have given the ol lefty to have played in a rep side, any rep side.
For a player to be judged as one of the best 22 available for the whole league IS an honour and it should be afforded as such.
Mate give me a special needs class rep jumper any day.
IDIOT.

Well I guess I'll add my two bobs worth here. As a member of the District Rep Team over the past few years I found the team to be mainly a throw together side playing against other throw together sides from around NSW. This year we have made the effort to invite the 5 best players of each District Team to be part of the squad including Belconnen and ADFA. Out of the 60 players nominated by both the District Coaching committee and each District Club senior coach, 52 of them were committed from the start of training and 7 others could not make it for the long weekend.

By the 3rd training session we had no Belconnen Players or ADFA players being able to play on the Long Weekend due to their own personal circumstances which is out of our control. In the week leading up to the championship we had 6 of our best players pull out due to serious injuries and the week before we lost another 5. The side we took away was definately the best team we had available from Canberra Districts and I would have to say they were all great blokes to be around.

Not sure where a few of you get off by putting words in these players mouths about saying that they are ACT Representative players now. I know that after 3 years of representing this team that I have never once told anyone that I was an ACT Rep player. We all understand the level that we are playing in and we do so due to our own personal circumstances. I personally own my own business and have family commitments so I cannot commit to 3 nights a week training to play for a ACT Senior AFL team. Many would say I can play at that level but we all have other responsibilities outside of our sport and even thou we would rather play football at the highest levels it sometimes can't work out that way.

I didn't think that I would be back on this site again as half the crap written on this site really annoys the s%*t out of me, and I have to say that the half written on this site that annoys me is all the talk about the District competition and how great it is. Come on, it is a standard of football that my girlfiend could play.

The comments about representing the districts as being an honour, is laughable but has really pissed me off and I couldn't keep my thoughts to myself.

I agree that the guys playing in the districts love footy as much as anyone but come on, these players are playing there because they are lazy, non-commital, old, many have no football talent and those that do are satisfied to be a reasonably big fish in a small pond (Pathetic). The point I am trying to make is...'Why is it an honour to represent a league that has a really really s%*t standard of football?' 'How could you possibly be proud of yourself?'

I'm sure that the players listed previously will tell their kids one day that they represented the ACT in footy, i'm pretty sure they won't be to open about the standard of footy that they actually were capable of represented. It is a disgrace to call it representative football!

Further to that, I am constantly reading threads written by 3rd and 4th division players that bag out ABH (The only one who has had the balls to state who he is) who has played at the highest level available here in Canberra and who proved his worth year in year out. When you have some football credentials and are willing to step up and perform well in the ACTAFL Senior Competition then you can comment, until then go back to your hole which is the Canberra Districts (which I also believe is below the standard of Under 18's.)

I am sure that a whole heap of really really mature comments are going to bounce back at me from all those in 3rd and 4th grade division players...bring it on, but remember this "You are the Bottom Feeders of AFL Football food chain across ACT and NSW, it is not an honour to play rep football at that standard of Football so stop pretending it is!!"

Oh, please Lord Bushfooty, your most esteemed majesty, forgive us for we know not the offence we have caused you, being but hapless amateurs.
Please, continue to educate us! The wealth of footballing wisdom you have been blessed with knows no bounds.
I pray we can continue to bask in all your magnificence, you f*cking arrogant prick!

Not sure where a few of you get off by putting words in these players mouths about saying that they are ACT Representative players now. I know that after 3 years of representing this team that I have never once told anyone that I was an ACT Rep player. We all understand the level that we are playing in and we do so due to our own personal circumstances. I personally own my own business and have family commitments so I cannot commit to 3 nights a week training to play for a ACT Senior AFL team. Many would say I can play at that level but we all have other responsibilities outside of our sport and even thou we would rather play football at the highest levels it sometimes can't work out that way.

Nothing like some self promotion....

Also there are those that do and those who make excuses.

Do u think your the only bloke who has a family and runs a business?

Its easy to make that as an excuse for not playing higher. Its also easy to look like a big fish in a small pond. Well you didnt jump in the bigger pond so we and you will never know if you had what it takes.

Oh and welcome to the thread, its nice to have new posters:thumbsu:

Oh, please Lord Bushfooty, your most esteemed majesty, forgive us for we know not the offence we have caused you, being but hapless amateurs.
Please, continue to educate us! The wealth of footballing wisdom you have been blessed with knows no bounds.
I pray we can continue to bask in all your magnificence, you f*cking arrogant prick!

Wouldn't happen if you had your own thread boys:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Yeah yeah, whatever A bit high, why dont you stick to entertaining us all with your "insights" on what happened on the weekend. I been waiting for your update on your thoughts about Nathan Clarke you know, seeing as though Eastlake have touched you up twice in a month, with the skipper completely dominating. You and you pals have gone a bit quiet re him lately.........:(

I actually spoke to him today, you know all, and congratulated him on his performance. My critisism of him was not that he couldn't play (he is their best player) but that he refused to pick up a man against Qbn. He has played his 2 best games ever against us the last 2 times and I wonder if it was because he actually took responsibility and picked up a man....Mmm I wonder:rolleyes:

ABH the district boys are about 70% of the chit chat on here, if they were gone this place would be dead. Then that would mean there would be even less people you could tell how great you were and nominate yourself for team of the year and what not. As good as you think you are, we all know Ned Sibley could out mark and play you any day of the week…. The guy is a jet!!!

TT - please find on this site when I placed myself in a team of the year or spoke about my record in ACT footy?? I dont need to do that mate, Im guessing you already know without me telling you.:)

Irwin - 19 points
Henning - 15 points
Love - 14 points
Roulstone - 7 points

Irwin was the only player on the above list that picked up a best player performance from round 10. A 6th best has him a further point in front and yes I do believe that Love may not have played.

Irwin - 20
Henning - 15
Love - 14
Roulstone - 7

Nothing like some self promotion....

Also there are those that do and those who make excuses.

Do u think your the only bloke who has a family and runs a business?

Its easy to make that as an excuse for not playing higher. Its also easy to look like a big fish in a small pond. Well you didnt jump in the bigger pond so we and you will never know if you had what it takes.

Oh and welcome to the thread, its nice to have new posters:thumbsu:

From the king of Queanbeyan self promotion, who has made excuses for the past couple of months. Go on ABH, tell us about those injuries again! Some blokes choose family/work over football and should not be critisised for that, or be told by you that it is an excuse.

One obvious reason for people not playing at higher level is that they simply are not good enough! I do agree with you about the thread specifically for Canberra Distrct comments. And no doubt you will read it occassionally, as I am sure it will be more informative and we dont have to read about how injuries will cost Queanbeyan a place in the finals in 2008??

Speaking of shameless self promotion, round 10, Belconnen v Tuggeranong is now available for your personal viewing pleasure.

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

Please resist the temptation to print my images from flickr. The files are too small, and will look spectacularly craptacular if printed bigger than a business card. Please contact me if you're after a print.

Cheers

Here is the best 22 put into positions as I see it so far this season. Im sure there are other opinions on who should be in/out and who should play where but here it is for you to pick to pieces.

Remember that current injuries was not taken into consideration just form that I have seen or read about.

FP - Hughes (Ainslie) FF - Armstrong (Qbn) FP - Williams (Qbn)
HFF - J Bennet (Belco) CHF - Kavanagh (Qbn) HFF - Maher (Belco)
W - Mcmahon (East) C - Neely (Ainslie) W - Lieschke (Qbn)
HBF - Irwin (Qbn) CHB - Clarke (East) HBF - L Bennet (Belco)
BP - Takanan (Tugg) FB - Raadts (Belco) BP - Rogers (East)

Rucks - Dickinson (Qbn), Daniher (Qbn), R. Underwood (Belco)

Int - Bourke (Ainslie), G. Underwood (Belco), C. Illett (Belco), Cooper (East)

* Cooper can play back or forward. His form in the 2 matches I have seen has been excellent. Evergreen player.
* Bourke playing could go either way as I havent seen him play this season but if Dicko went down you would need another ruckman. Maher could do it but not sure if the old body is up to it anymore.
* Clarke is versatile but after watching his battle with Kavanagh a few weeks ago he gets my nod at CHB. Best game I have seen him play in this comp against Qbn.
* Ainger is unlucky but he openly admitted after his bag against Qbn on QBNFM that he had been a little quiet prior, so I gave the nod to the more consistant Hughes. Hughes is a strong mark and reliable kick on goal.
* Williams by all reports was ordinary on the weekend but this side was picked prior to the last round as I was out of town and his form up till then was fantastic. Again he is the X Factor! Would probably get the 4th - 6th defender which makes him even more dangerous if used correctly by team mates.
* Irwin has been the most improved player out at Qbn and has played 3-4 outstanding games and deserves his selection. Can be a worry at times with misguided aggression but has blossomed this year so far under enourmous pressure down back for Qbn.
* Maher has been a great player in this comp for 15 years and he shows no sign of slowing down on form. Very versitile and a player that I admire and respect even if he doesnt know it.
* Armstrong, Kavanagh, Lieschke, Neely, Daniher pick themselves as they are truely elite players of the comp and have been for a while.
* Dickinson is easily the best tap ruckman I have seen in the comp this year and his marking around the ground and his ability to gather a ball off the ground is exceptional. Can also go forward and kick a vital goal if required.
* Takanan has been the standout for Tuggers this year, hard at it and takes no prisoners.
* Bennet Brothers again have shown consistancy time and time again. Reliable experienced players.
* Underwood Brothers are new to me and the comp but have impressed each time with their ability to win the in and under ball for their team.
* McMahon is the tall, athletic target across the middle of the park. A cool, calm and skillfull player that will be hard to match up on.
* Raadts has been the best backman in this comp for several years now, big and athletic. The general down back.
* Rogers copped abit of stick last year for his up and down performances up forward. Not as easy to play in the forward line as some people think but down back in the games I have seen he has broken even with Kavanagh and Armstrong and that is no mean feat. Has found a home down back.
* Illet is a classy player who has silky skills. Unlucky not to be in starting 18 but great to have come off the bench in a 3 way rotation.

There you have it people my best side so far this year. How will it change before the end of the season. Even if you dont agree with my selections you have to admit that its a bloody good side!!

ABH, dont know how you can justify having 7 qbn plyers in the side... At the moment I would only have Armstrong, Kavanagh, Dickonson all starting and Daniher coming off the bench with Illet starting.

Was out at Qnb the other week to watch the game against Tuggers, Qbn were terrible... dont know what the coaching staff were thinking letting Kickett run around doing what he likes, then went forward in the last and won the game.. speaking of kickett I noticed you ommitted him from your sqaud, I know he's been playing down back but imagine if he got the 4th-5th best defender each week as Williams does.. wouldn't go missing when things get abit tough as he did against tuggers.. plus he's the x factor.. can win a game in a quarter of footy, as you have probably witnessed for yourself..