Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2025 - Picks 9, 10, 13, 37

These are players selected with nothing picks on hunches. McDonald Tipungwuti was 3rd round in the rookie draft.

Picking a 20 year old who hasn't been drafted yet because he hasn't demonstrated the commensurate commitment to footy is at best, a gamble, at worst, career suicide, you'd need a crystal ball.

I can only really recall 4 or 5 non 18 year olds going in the first round ish, Harry Taylor and Isaac Smith are obviously big success stories but were selected by juggernauts with enough cache to essentially make anything work.

Blaine Boekhorst? Remember Alex Morgan?
What about Lewis Jetta? What about Tim Kelly?

I would’ve also been happy to take Blicavs and Tom Stewart with first rounders too. Mannaugh looks a jet

“You’re suggesting they’d purposely pick someone who is worse, just because they’re young” where was this stated in my message????

Your point was about the club shouldn’t pick a player younger cause of age, and you used the most outlier of outlier players to justify your point. Which isn’t even a good argument from your end to justify picking Pickett over Dovostan, who has had a better season and being younger as well.

I’ll be honest, Tippa didn’t exactly have the best application either, so I don’t think you can blame the club for his conditioning. You're getting paid to be in peak physical condition to play at an elite level, no one should be motivated to be in shape especially being paid to do so as well. You can’t be blaming Covid and club for tippa’s early retirement. He came into the game late, if we’re being honest he should still be afl now but I think his issue is more personal than anything.

As an aside; AMT is a good illustration where many players from remote communities struggle with the transition to AFL, and why (if the AFL actually gives a shit about keeping Aboriginal players in the game) there needs to be a real discussion around special considerations and perhaps even list categories to support guys who we know will need more time and help to make it.

They have the talent, but there's a massive shift in culture for many of these young guys and they might need more time and support to flourish.

“You’re suggesting they’d purposely pick someone who is worse, just because they’re young” where was this stated in my message????

Your point was about the club shouldn’t pick a player younger cause of age, and you used the most outlier of outlier players to justify your point. Which isn’t even a good argument from your end to justify picking Pickett over Dovostan, who has had a better season and being younger as well.

I’ll be honest, Tippa didn’t exactly have the best application either, so I don’t think you can blame the club for his conditioning. You're getting paid to be in peak physical condition to play at an elite level, no one should be motivated to be in shape especially being paid to do so as well. You can’t be blaming Covid and club for tippa’s early retirement. He came into the game late, if we’re being honest he should still be afl now but I think his issue is more personal than anything.
Is "Wait until you hear clubs pick players with late birthdays in the year, because they think that’s an additional year of growth" not saying the player is getting drafted not because of exposed form, but because they're born late in the year?

I haven't said they should pick Pickett over Dovaston, I responded to the post that said it'd be the wrong pick because of Pickett's age.

Players are assets to the club, so it's the club's responsibility to make sure they can perform. Think about the reasons why Essendon got Tippa to come back in 2023. I can't imagine that if they felt no guilt or responsibility for the reasons he left in 2021, they would've brough him back in 2023 when he was clearly even less prepared to play AFL football. Think about Irving Mosquito as well, or Anthony Munkara, who both retired because they wanted to go home. It's cheap to just say they should apply themselves better given the difference in culture and upbringing. But hey, maybe it's just a big coincidence.

These are players selected with nothing picks on hunches. McDonald Tipungwuti was 3rd round in the rookie draft.

Picking a 20 year old who hasn't been drafted yet because he hasn't demonstrated the commensurate commitment to footy is at best, a gamble, at worst, career suicide, you'd need a crystal ball.

I can only really recall 4 or 5 non 18 year olds going in the first round ish, Harry Taylor and Isaac Smith are obviously big success stories but were selected by juggernauts with enough cache to essentially make anything work.

Blaine Boekhorst? Remember Alex Morgan?
Isn't every pick a hunch? No draft pick is a sure thing.

Aaron Francis, Richard Tambling, Harley Bennell, Fisher McAsey, Josh Schache, Paddy Dow. Don't you think the crystal ball would've been handy for clubs when picking them too?

Clubs get some picks wrong, and some right. That's why not every player ever drafted is still on their initial team's list. Neither of us fully know what Pickett's circumstances are, but I could argue that if he wasn't committed before, and has turned it around, that shows more character than a private school kid who's coasted through juniors because they were bigger, stronger or more athletic than everyone else. Again I will say, just take the best player.

Summary of Twomey's phantom debrief
  • Easily the toughest draft Twomey's done. Partly because of the bid's, partly because of the two by two nature of the top 8 and also the fact it's a very even draft pool.
  • Duursma & CDT expect to be the Eagles two picks. Carlton's made their trades for the reason and the reason is the Eagles will bid on Dean at pick 3.
  • Richmond likely to bid before picking. Twomey reasonably confident on top 6 of his phantom draft.
  • Only club that can shake the top 6 is Essendon. Still think's they're a chance to try package up something and get to Richmond or Eagles picks. Doesn't think the Eagles are interested in trading though.
  • Richmond been determined to give no clues to any clubs around them as to what they're picking.
  • Sam Cumming, Robey & Taylor are leading contenders at Richmond's pick.
  • Jacob Farrow might be in contention too with Richmond. Some clubs think he's a sneaky chance to be picked by Richmond but Twomey didn't have the guts to put him in there as one of the picks.
  • Can mount arguments for Sully Robey or Xavier Taylor at Richmond. Thinks Robey just because might fit the midfield group taken in last years draft.
  • If Sully Robey gets to Essendon's pick they will take him.
  • Jacob Farrow in the mix for Essendon's pick.
  • The Melbourne picks he thinks Nairn will be one of them, doesn't see anyone picking them before him.
  • Potentially too many similarities between Farrow & Nairn for the Dee's to take both.
  • Essendon & Carlton deal will happen for the current pick 9.
  • Essendon between Dovaston, Latrelle Pickett, Oskar Taylor, Grlj and Schubert for that pick. Potentially might try sneak Dyson Sharp to that pick.
  • North will get pick 11 which will be pick 15. Latrelle Pickett, Dovaston and Grlj in the conversation at that pick. A chance they go tall and take Schubert or Thredgold.
  • Harry Kyle to be bid on by the Giants & the Swans will match.
  • West Coast a chance to double barrel bid on GCS academy guys Jai Murray and Beau Addinsall. If they want Beau more than Jai they bid on Jai first so there's a chance GCS don't have the points to match.
  • Josh Lindsay also in the Eagles mix around 19.
  • Adelaide between Mitch Marsh & Archie Ludowyke. Twomey went for the local factor.
  • Fremantle will consider bidding on Tylah Williams & Adam Sweid. A chance if Schubert is on the board Freo won't bid and will just take Schubert in case one of the clubs don't match.
  • Essendon will be very tight to match on 25 for Sweid. Depends on what pts they get back from Sweid.
  • Hawthorn interested in Liam Hetherton & Harley Barker.
  • Top 6 he's confident in unless there's a trade, if there is then it's pick your own adventure.
  • Archie Ludowyke Twomey couldn't fit into the 30 but Geelong & Adelaide are interested.
  • Phillipou has been looked at by WCE & the Giants.
  • Geelong have interest in Greeves at 23, that's probably his starting point.
  • Max King & Zac McCarthy likely to be bid on in the 30's.
  • Twomey's Late mail coming tonight.
Great write up. Thanks.

I hope Rosa doesn't play funny business with trying to sneak Sharp to pick 9. Just take Sharp and Taylor/Robey with 5 and 6, then select Farrow or Dovaston with 9.

Is "Wait until you hear clubs pick players with late birthdays in the year, because they think that’s an additional year of growth" not saying the player is getting drafted not because of exposed form, but because they're born late in the year?

I haven't said they should pick Pickett over Dovaston, I responded to the post that said it'd be the wrong pick because of Pickett's age.

Players are assets to the club, so it's the club's responsibility to make sure they can perform. Think about the reasons why Essendon got Tippa to come back in 2023. I can't imagine that if they felt no guilt or responsibility for the reasons he left in 2021, they would've brough him back in 2023 when he was clearly even less prepared to play AFL football. Think about Irving Mosquito as well, or Anthony Munkara, who both retired because they wanted to go home. It's cheap to just say they should apply themselves better given the difference in culture and upbringing. But hey, maybe it's just a big coincidence.

I still reckon Mosquito makes it if he doesn't cop a LTI!

Ok I’ve must of misunderstood your point then, I thought you were implying Pickett should be picked and that his age shouldn’t be used against him, and that you preferred him over Dovostan and gave xyz examples to prove your point historically speaking.

I don’t know the culture aspect but I imagine taking Irving from Hawthorn probably did impact him, and I feel like Munkara getting delisted was very harsh since you can have him be on the cat b list for 3 years, but I think Scott didn’t want him cause of his application. I remember seeing Essendon fans use Scott’s quote about standards and living a professional lifestyle off the pitch to justify the delisting. I think even Voss came out saying he got delisted because he wasn’t working hard as well.

He’s a f****** baller, most obvious player to succeed. People rating Sam Cumming over this guy makes my blood boil, Farrow has to be one of our picks. Robey > Farrow > Taylor > Sharp > Dovostan is the player order I want for us.
Bit over the top if picks are making your Blood boil mate. This isn’t a click bait fantasy

Great write up. Thanks.

I hope Rosa doesn't play funny business with trying to sneak Sharp to pick 9. Just take Sharp and Taylor/Robey with 5 and 6, then select Farrow or Dovaston with 9.
Where is 9 coming from?

whats the point situation if they face bids at 1 and 2?

Pick 1 3000 points less 10% =2700 points
Pick 2 2481 points less 10% =2233 points

Total 4933 points
Suns 3773 points (currently)

1160 deficit likely wipes out their round 1 pick next year.

The deficit allowed is reduced to 1167 so they can still match Patterson at 2, just.

And likely trade out 15,18 for more points once draft started.

Won;t be able to match other academy kids though. Addinsall etc
...and Addinsall likely comes at pick...?

He’s a f****** baller, most obvious player to succeed. People rating Sam Cumming over this guy makes my blood boil, Farrow has to be one of our picks. Robey > Farrow > Taylor > Sharp > Dovostan is the player order I want for us.
settle down mate, whatever happens I'm pretty sure Rosa knows more about these kids and their ceiling than you

Ok I’ve must of misunderstood your point then, I thought you were implying Pickett should be picked and that his age shouldn’t be used against him, and that you preferred him over Dovostan and gave xyz examples to prove your point historically speaking.

I don’t know the culture aspect but I imagine taking Irving from Hawthorn probably did impact him, and I feel like Munkara getting delisted was very harsh since you can have him be on the cat b list for 3 years, but I think Scott didn’t want him cause of his application. I remember seeing Essendon fans use Scott’s quote about standards and living a professional lifestyle off the pitch to justify the delisting. I think even Voss came out saying he got delisted because he wasn’t working hard as well.
Munkara was on the list for one year (2023). Interesting how all of McDonald-Tipungwuti, Munkara, Mosquito, ADJ and Jayden Davey all either haven't been professional enough, or left the club due to a lack of desire to continue an AFL career. Essendon needs to do better.

I agree Essendon’s development is shocking but apart from Tippa and to a certain extend Munkara, I don’t think the others were good enough and I think the Davey twins did have the application, and would of continued playing for us if we extended their deals. I’m not sure what lead to Mosquito leaving the game?

In any case our indiginous stocks are way too low.

Maybe time to give Dreamtime to sommeone else!

I'd be surprised if Cumming was still there at our first pick but if he is we'd be stupid not to take him IMO.

Looks the complete footballer to me and better than Farrow or Dovostan in their highlights package albeit playing a different role to them.

If you want to draft a player just due to them being indigenous over higher rated talent

Then i better not hear you complain about Dodo on this forum ever

So, you want a realistic, down to earth show, that's completely off the wall and swarming with magic robots

I'm not very savvy on drafts and stuff but after watching just 1 minute of Dyson Sharps highlights I'm going to have a meltdown if we don't land him.
Yep anyone doubting Sharps talents just needs to spend a few minutes looking at the noobermensch highlight tape. His hands in tight are elite, and he’s usually got someone hanging off him as he does it. Goes hard at it too.

I'd be surprised if Cumming was still there at our first pick but if he is we'd be stupid not to take him IMO.

Looks the complete footballer to me and better than Farrow or Dovostan in their highlights package albeit playing a different role to them.
Who do you have Richmond taking ? So I’m assuming Cumming as one ?

Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2025 - Picks 9, 10, 13, 37