AFL Evolution - 2018 season update

Crows won 88-34.

Now not changing anything and playing in Geelong. Lets see what happens lol

I updated the game and now the application keeps closing every time I try to start the game.
You may need to load it up in windowed mode then press alt+enter to put it back to normal. I got a similar error too.

Cats win 111-48.

Something seriously wrong here Xtreme lol

I had some time to kill and ran a few simulations. My sliders have not been adjusted, playing AI v AI on legend...... but only on short quarters (I want to squeeze in some Rocket League before bed lol).

pzpbsdY.jpg

Left side = Eagles home game. Hawthorn had a chance to steal it in the third quarter (they had the ball the majority of the time, poor conversion stuffed them up). Second game at the MCG, found it interesting that Hawthorn's main scoring was in the 1st and 3rd quarters.

bUrPgL4.jpg

I run simulation matches without Hawthorn.... occasionally (did it during last years finals series as well!).

There probably is a home team bias (kudos to WW for coding it in I guess lol). However as with the right side match, Geelong won at the SCG as the away team...... My theory is that the home team bias can be overcome with 1) luck and 2) if the teams ovr rating is stronger ?

I had some time to kill and ran a few simulations. My sliders have not been adjusted, playing AI v AI on legend...... but only on short quarters (I want to squeeze in some Rocket League before bed lol).

pzpbsdY.jpg

Left side = Eagles home game. Hawthorn had a chance to steal it in the third quarter (they had the ball the majority of the time, poor conversion stuffed them up). Second game at the MCG, found it interesting that Hawthorn's main scoring was in the 1st and 3rd quarters.

bUrPgL4.jpg

I run simulation matches without Hawthorn.... occasionally (did it during last years finals series as well!).

There probably is a home team bias (kudos to WW for coding it in I guess lol). However as with the right side match, Geelong won at the SCG as the away team...... My theory is that the home team bias can be overcome with 1) luck and 2) if the teams ovr rating is stronger ?
Great results mate. How many minutes were the quarters?

I played two MCG based teams at the MCG, Hawthorn v Collingwood.

Collingwood the home side in the first game won by 80 points.
Hawthorn the home side in the second game lead the Pies 96-38 with 14minutes left in the last quarter.

I just want it to be more unpredictable. League this year is so unpredictable any team can win on any given night, I reckon the days of really dominant home field advantage are over and I'd like that reflected in the games I sim.

I think the answer may be to lower the quarter length - then the challenge becomes to still make it as realistic (in terms of numbers) as possible.

Great results mate. How many minutes were the quarters?

I played two MCG based teams at the MCG, Hawthorn v Collingwood.

Collingwood the home side in the first game won by 80 points.
Hawthorn the home side in the second game lead the Pies 96-38 with 14minutes left in the last quarter.

I just want it to be more unpredictable. League this year is so unpredictable any team can win on any given night, I reckon the days of really dominant home field advantage are over and I'd like that reflected in the games I sim.

I think the answer may be to lower the quarter length - then the challenge becomes to still make it as realistic (in terms of numbers) as possible.

Only 2.5 minute quarters (as I said Rocket League is priority tonight :D).

I do think if games are on 5 - 7.5 minute quarters it leaves the game open for one side to get enough momentum for 4-5 goals in a row before the other team responds. And if they can't answer back with multiple goals in a row, it usually sets the tone for the rest of the game. I've simmed on varied quarter lengths with no real preference, when I sim on the pc version it's more for something to pass the time, rather than wanting it to replicate real matches as much as possible.

Only 2.5 minute quarters (as I said Rocket League is priority tonight :D).

I do think if games are on 5 - 7.5 minute quarters it leaves the game open for one side to get enough momentum for 4-5 goals in a row before the other team responds. And if they can't answer back with multiple goals in a row, it usually sets the tone for the rest of the game. I've simmed on varied quarter lengths with no real preference, when I sim on the pc version it's more for something to pass the time, rather than wanting it to replicate real matches as much as possible.
Simmed one before bed

Collingwood (home) vs Hawthorn at the MCG

Collingwood won by 19 points. 53-34.

I think I'm getting closer to what I want - the Pies still got a run on but the damage wasn't as bad lol.

Maybe 7.5 min quarters will do the trick! Back again tomorrow :drunk:

To save me reading through this thread...what is the general consensus? Is this worth the $15? I didn't mind 2017 but the marking aspect of the game really ruined it for me.

Thanks!

To save me reading through this thread...what is the general consensus? Is this worth the $15? I didn't mind 2017 but the marking aspect of the game really ruined it for me.

Thanks!

I believe the actual player and lost updates are worth something, but the tweaks, extra sliders and a few other pieces they have included in the general update are worth supporting WW with $15, regardless of the lists.

So imo, the $15 is a vote of confidence (as well as financial support) to the team to keep pushing out more updates and refining the game based of user feedback.

Having wickedwitch in here is a massive win, as we have a direct line of communication on what we as footy lovers want to see from the game. Even if they only implement one or two ideas, to me it’s all worth it.

A few quick notes for newish users on marking (a common gripe);

As the marking circle appears and you get ready to hold the mark button, then release, don’t stop positioning your player at the front of the contest/circle.
It’s only recently I’ve realised how important this is to taking the mark.
So while you hold down the mark button, use the stick to continue to run and get to front position in the contest. (Use the sprint button too!).

Also, like real AFL, you can’t win every contest, especially when coming from behind or further away.
So really learn how to spoil. It takes timing, but once you learn, you can spoil a fair share of balls that you couldn’t possibly mark. Again, it takes practice with multiple button pushes and timing (hold mark button, position to front, sprint, spoil button, release at correct time)

Also, sliders. They’re there and can make an ok game a perfect game! Now that they’ve included info on what each does (3 marking sliders for user, AND 3 for CPU!), you can continually tweak them to create a fair contest.
Personally, I’m a fan of positioning and attributes. I’m fully happy to be out marked almost every time by Fyfe, so even with perfect positioning, it’s tough to out-mark someone like him if you have attributes slider turned up.
Same for positioning. But then I turn the timing slider down, so while I still have to get there, my button timing isn’t quite as critical.
Then FINALLY, use both the master/overall marking sliders (user and cpu) to balance the contests to exactly the right fairness level.

On sliders, when learning to spoil, have your spoiling slider turned right up, and then slowly ease it back once you’re spoiling every marking contest.

Overall, this way I find leading forwards generally take marks unless I make the active decision early to go the spoil, in which case I can halve the contest much more often than going for the mark.

One final thing, I do find the CPUs field kicking far too pinpoint (on legendary level), and so I have experimented with lowering a whole (cpu) sides kicking attributes by -10 or -20, for every single player.
I’m now finding when I play those teams, there’s more mung field kicks, and less bullet like precision. The beauty of changing those sliders is that it doesn’t seem to affect their goal kicking, as there’s independent sliders for that.
So if I have one request for wickedwitch , it’s for one more slider which raises or lowers the CPUs field kicking attributes, not just ones for goal kicking.
Unlike requesting them to change the game play with regards to too much man on man etc, I think this would be an easy slider to add as it just does my job of changing each players indictable attribute for that specific skill.

A few quick notes for newish users on marking (a common gripe);

As the marking circle appears and you get ready to hold the mark button, then release, don’t stop positioning your player at the front of the contest/circle.
It’s only recently I’ve realised how important this is to taking the mark.
So while you hold down the mark button, use the stick to continue to run and get to front position in the contest. (Use the sprint button too!).

Also, like real AFL, you can’t win every contest, especially when coming from behind or further away.
So really learn how to spoil. It takes timing, but once you learn, you can spoil a fair share of balls that you couldn’t possibly mark. Again, it takes practice with multiple button pushes and timing (hold mark button, position to front, sprint, spoil button, release at correct time)

Also, sliders. They’re there and can make an ok game a perfect game! Now that they’ve included info on what each does (3 marking sliders for user, AND 3 for CPU!), you can continually tweak them to create a fair contest.
Personally, I’m a fan of positioning and attributes. I’m fully happy to be out marked almost every time by Fyfe, so even with perfect positioning, it’s tough to out-mark someone like him if you have attributes slider turned up.
Same for positioning. But then I turn the timing slider down, so while I still have to get there, my button timing isn’t quite as critical.
Then FINALLY, use both the master/overall marking sliders (user and cpu) to balance the contests to exactly the right fairness level.

On sliders, when learning to spoil, have your spoiling slider turned right up, and then slowly ease it back once you’re spoiling every marking contest.

Overall, this way I find leading forwards generally take marks unless I make the active decision early to go the spoil, in which case I can halve the contest much more often than going for the mark.

I'm not debunking your advice, in fact I'll attempt to use it to improve my own marking skills :).

In the beginning I tried following the instructions on the loading screen itself........ never won a marking contest. I learned by practicing marking contests in the game itself. I started pressing the button on instinct, yes I miss a few marks here and there.... but I generally win most marking contests (excluding when I'm not in the right position of course!).

I find it funny how the cpu just clunks the marks (yes I know sliders can be adjusted to make things more of a fumble for them!). It's hard to explain but it's almost like it's scripted to happen perfectly every time for them, pinpointing the right player who might have time and space to work with etc. And the ball just floats for them. Reminds me a lot of EA's Cricket 2000 (especially on the Playstation) where most balls were either a 4 or 6..... very rarely would get 1's or 2's.

Over the weekend I had a marking contest where I was a fair way away from the opponent the ball was being kicked to (maybe 10-15 meters ?). I still out marked the opponent with a diving grab (doing what the cpu does to me sometimes, marking the ball out of nowhere).

Much like AFL Live if I feel that I won't win the contest, I'll spoil it and (hopefully) gain possession with the ball on the ground.

I don't find Legend too bad, if I win the ruck contest and am able to get clean use of the ball via a midfielder picking it up..... I'll either bomb it long for a score attempt (hopefully a goal if accuracy + wind are in my favour!) or someone in the forward line marks it. If the cpu AI mark it, yes it's a frustrating experience having to focus on stopping their charge to their forward 50.

*EDIT*

Two matches on pc in the last hour.

Port Adelaide v Adelaide at Metricon Stadium in QLD and Adelaide v Port Adelaide at Metricon Stadium in QLD. The games were played with 5 minute quarters, but I think there was a difference in the wind conditions.

xh1STYD.jpg

I'm not debunking your advice, in fact I'll attempt to use it to improve my own marking skills :).

In the beginning I tried following the instructions on the loading screen itself........ never won a marking contest. I learned by practicing marking contests in the game itself. I started pressing the button on instinct, yes I miss a few marks here and there.... but I generally win most marking contests (excluding when I'm not in the right position of course!).

I find it funny how the cpu just clunks the marks (yes I know sliders can be adjusted to make things more of a fumble for them!). It's hard to explain but it's almost like it's scripted to happen perfectly every time for them, pinpointing the right player who might have time and space to work with etc. And the ball just floats for them. Reminds me a lot of EA's Cricket 2000 (especially on the Playstation) where most balls were either a 4 or 6..... very rarely would get 1's or 2's.

Over the weekend I had a marking contest where I was a fair way away from the opponent the ball was being kicked to (maybe 10-15 meters ?). I still out marked the opponent with a diving grab (doing what the cpu does to me sometimes, marking the ball out of nowhere).

Much like AFL Live if I feel that I won't win the contest, I'll spoil it and (hopefully) gain possession with the ball on the ground.

I don't find Legend too bad, if I win the ruck contest and am able to get clean use of the ball via a midfielder picking it up..... I'll either bomb it long for a score attempt (hopefully a goal if accuracy + wind are in my favour!) or someone in the forward line marks it. If the cpu AI mark it, yes it's a frustrating experience having to focus on stopping their charge to their forward 50.

*EDIT*

Two matches on pc in the last hour.

Port Adelaide v Adelaide at Metricon Stadium in QLD and Adelaide v Port Adelaide at Metricon Stadium in QLD. The games were played with 5 minute quarters, but I think there was a difference in the wind conditions.

xh1STYD.jpg
Something's gotta be coded into the game for whichever team is the 'home' team. No other explanation!

Just wondering if anyone has played this game on Xbox one x? Just wondering how it looks. PS4 pro is ok.....just.

Anyone know how to stop my game from crashing after the new update? Been keen to get a look but can't get past the loading screen.

(This is on Xbox btw)

HELP - my kids have he upgrade and when we pick any team it always seems to be missing the stars - Eddie Betts, Fyfe etc. how do we get them when selecting their club?

About to download patch and 2018 season pack. This will be the first time I play evo in 7 months. Has anyone found the best slider combinations for the most realistic playing experience? That is since the pack and update came out.

Is there any way to stop the teams lineup resetting after every game?

Pissing me off.

Change your lineup from automatic to manual in the settings > i think it might be under manager settings (ill have a look tonight)

So I download the update and no I can’t play AFL evolution with the game force closing when pressing x to start. Deleted the app and tried again with the same problem... pretty annoying

Anyone have any ideas or has my game just shat itself?