AFL Evolution Realism Thread (Sliders, Coaching Tactics, etc)

Thanks, I’ll do my best but you’re right on 7.5 mins you won’t get proper stats but I was trying to get the scoring down more importantly. I was thinking going to 10 Mins but with my current settings I think the scores would be too high. I’ll have another go tomorrow, got a few more tweaks to try.
Let me know how you go mate! It's a fine line trying to get the gameplay to be realistic!

Agh I’m having a tough time, I think I got some sliders good but other are off. What do you use? Maybe I can use yours as a base and work off that from what I’ve found.

I think I’m just going to build off legend. I don’t about you but no matter what I do I always have less possession and never have time to get a proper disposal efficiency. I found you got to lower cpu tackle distance, tackle reaction, hip and shoulder and tagging to like 5-10 before the field opens up and get you time.

Agh I’m having a tough time, I think I got some sliders good but other are off. What do you use? Maybe I can use yours as a base and work off that from what I’ve found.
Hey mate,

Here are mine - Give them a go and see what you find.

If you can also try sim an AI v AI game on 7.5min quarters just to see how it shapes up to the 10min quarters I'm testing now.

Code:
Team Tactics (Both Teams)
Direction: Balanced
Speed: Balanced
FB/HB/W/MID/RUCK: Balanced
Centre: Midfield
HF/FF: Balanced
Kick Out Receive: Spread
Kick Out Defence: Zone

SLIDERS
Difficulty: Legend
Game Speed: Slow

USER
Kick Charge Speed - 5
Close Range Accuracy - 40
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Mark Component (Timing) - 15
Mark Component (Position) - 45
Mark Component (Attribute) - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 98
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Tackle Effectiveness - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Wind Impact - 30
Tackle Distance - 20
Hip & Shoulder Distance - 50
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

CPU
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
Set Shot Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 99
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Tackle Distance - 20
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Play On - 50
Tackle Reaction - 50
Pressure Awareness - 60
Tackler Avoidance - 60
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

Here's the numbers with these sliders

FCwkKpx.jpg

sDyN2bW.jpg

jmwKjlD.jpg

Totals

This Game/2017 League Average

Inside 50's: 80/105
Kicks: 384/420
Handballs: 349/345
Marks: 185/185
Tackles: 146/135
Free Kicks: 34/38
Hit-Outs: 44/80
Goals: 23/30
Behinds: 19/25
Score: 157/180

Hey mate,

If you can also try sim an AI v AI game on 7.5min quarters just to see how it shapes up to the 10min quarters I'm testing now.

Code:

SLIDERS

USER
Kick Charge Speed - 5
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 98
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Wind Impact - 30
Tackle Distance - 20
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

CPU
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
Set Shot Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 99
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Tackle Distance - 20
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Play On - 50
Tackle Reaction - 50
Pressure Awareness - 60
Tackler Avoidance - 60
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

Legend is a whole different kettle of fish. I really like your sliders great base to build off. I especially like what you did with marking, attribute should be more important than timing. I’ll use your stock set for a few than maybe adjust from there if needed, Great job mate!

I worked on them for a while. Team tactics do play a big part as well. Only real issue I want to resolve is the dominance of the home side and I think I can fix it with shorter quarter lengths but then like I mentioned everything else is out of whack so just wanted to see what the sliders produced with 7.5min quarters to see if it's doable.

But cheers for that mate, give them a few tries see how you go. It's pretty contested early on but with fatigue set to near 100 players tire by the 2nd half and the last quarter really opens up...alot of interchanges too which IMO is realistic.

Imperious Red here's another one I simmed AI v AI but with some slight tweaks (this happened before the Rich v Melb game I posted above - it's in the other AFL E thread);

George said:
One more before I head to bed. Love to hear your thoughts.

Geelong traveled to Adelaide to play the Power.

Slider settings (slight tweaks from the first game posted);

SLIDERS

USER
Kick Charge Speed - 5
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 98
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Wind Impact - 30
Tackle Distance - 30
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 50
High Tackle - 50
Push in the Back - 50
Charging - 50
Off the Ball - 50
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

CPU
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
Set Shot Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 99
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Tackle Distance - 30
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 50
High Tackle - 50
Push in the Back - 50
Charging - 50
Off the Ball - 50
Play On - 50
Tackle Reaction - 50
Pressure Awareness - 60
Tackler Avoidance - 60
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

Results:

Bl2keQq.jpg

EGQdzYc.jpg

itwvnqi.jpg

Totals

Inside 50's: 98/105
Kicks: 355/420
Handballs: 335/345
Marks: 174/185
Tackles: 204/135
Free Kicks: 25/38
Hit-Outs: 52/80
Goals: 24/30
Behinds: 18/25
Score: 162/180

Overall really happy with how it turned out.

Handballs up significantly and now hovering around league average.

If I'm being picky I could try and get kick stats up a bit near 400 odd, and of course tackles is still the biggest issue.

Free Kicks and Hit-Outs could be higher too.

Really happy with the scoring shots and overall score too, nothing like the first game.

Happy to hear your thoughts/suggestions.

Cheers!

Hey mate,

Code:

SLIDERS

USER
Kick Charge Speed - 5
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 98
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Wind Impact - 30
Tackle Distance - 20
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

CPU
Mid Range Accuracy - 40
Long Range Accuracy - 40
Set Shot Accuracy - 40
On the Run Accuracy - 40
Marking - 0
Rucking - 99
Run Speed - 40
Handball Distance - 10
Spoiling - 99
Smothering - 50
Specky Rate - 50
Endurance - 20
Fending - 50
Kick Power - 10
Tagging - 40
Tackle Distance - 20
Mark Fumbles - 92
Fatigue Rate - 99
Injury Frequency - 50
Injury Severity - 40
Throwing the Ball - 55
High Tackle - 55
Push in the Back - 55
Charging - 55
Off the Ball - 55
Play On - 50
Tackle Reaction - 50
Pressure Awareness - 60
Tackler Avoidance - 60
Ball Tapping - 5
Stay on Man - 75

Imperious Red here's another one I simmed AI v AI but with some slight tweaks (this happened before the Rich v Melb game I posted above - it's in the other AFL E thread);

Great work, I’m using a hybrid of yours and mine. I restarted my Season, my first game was good stats were a lot more closer than I had before, I really enjoyed it. Thank you for the help you made this game even more enjoyable for me.

One thing for sure you nailed the marking. I recommend lowering their tackle reaction, it kind of helps. Tackling is the only stat that’s skewed for me and it’s hard to fix. I think I had 17 they had 81 In 7.5 min qtr but I’m playing on normal speed. Everything else is good enough for me.

Great work, I’m using a hybrid of yours and mine. I restarted my Season, my first game was good stats were a lot more closer than I had before, I really enjoyed it. Thank you for the help you made this game even more enjoyable for me.
I'm about to get my season underway but hate unrealistic numbers, maybe it's my OCD lol.

One thing for sure you nailed the marking. I recommend lowering their tackle reaction, it kind of helps. Tackling is the only stat that’s skewed for me and it’s hard to fix. I think I had 17 they had 81 In 7.5 min qtr but I’m playing on normal speed. Everything else is good enough for me.
Yeah with anything faster than the speed I went with you will see inflated numbers. See I reckon the only way to maintain realistic stats and fix the home side advantage issue is to change quarter length to 7.5min or even 5min and increase game speed to normal or fast. I just think visually it looks too hectic.

Tackling is an issue in this game for sure, I spent a long time trying to fix it. Typically both sides should be getting 15-20 tackles each per quarter. So 60-80 for each team per game. I kept lowering and lowering tackle distance until I found a nice medium. Tackler Avoidance on the CPU side will change the outcome a bit too from experience.

The Richmond v Melbourne sim that I posted above are from the sliders I'm working with at the moment. I am happy with everything apart from the blowout margins. There's some things that are just going to be impossible to get close to real life stats with - such as clangers and hit-outs for instance. So I've basically given up on those. I'm just aiming to get it as close as possible before starting a season.

I see what you mean about the crazy home advantage. No matter what, it’s too hard on the road it’s almost like you have very little control on the outcome.

As far as sliders go, we got them as close as we can, but to fix the home advantage (which is super annoying) is too either play away games on a lower difficulty or constantly give the away side an advantage whether it’s marking boost, more speed but then you’re always switching sliders.

So either than a new patch the game is still somewhat broken because of this. It doesn’t matter who I use or play against, on the road it’s the same thing they mark at will at constantly have more possession.

I see what you mean about the crazy home advantage. No matter what, it’s too hard on the road it’s almost like you have very little control on the outcome.

As far as sliders go, we got them as close as we can, but to fix the home advantage (which is super annoying) is too either play away games on a lower difficulty or constantly give the away side an advantage whether it’s marking boost, more speed but then you’re always switching sliders.

So either than a new patch the game is still somewhat broken because of this. It doesn’t matter who I use or play against, on the road it’s the same thing they mark at will at constantly have more possession.
Yep it's a huge reason why I haven't started playing regularly yet.

I asked WW about it and they said yes it was coded into the game but it's only meant to give the home side a 'slight' advantage. Well I'm not seeing that at all. It shouldn't be an issue regardless of how long the quarter lengths are. Only way I can see resolving it is shortening the game and I am trying to stay away from that if I can.

I've tested the home advantage theory a lot so I have many examples to use but the major one that did it for me was when I played two games - Adelaide v Carlton. Best ranked team in the game vs the worst ranked.

In the first game Carlton as the home side won by 36 points.
In the second game Adelaide as the home side won by 108 points.

Lol.

Did you have a go simming AI v AI with 7.5min quarters on these sliders?

Yep it's a huge reason why I haven't started playing regularly yet.

I asked WW about it and they said yes it was coded into the game but it's only meant to give the home side a 'slight' advantage. Well I'm not seeing that at all. It shouldn't be an issue regardless of how long the quarter lengths are. Only way I can see resolving it is shortening the game and I am trying to stay away from that if I can.

Did you have a go simming AI v AI with 7.5min quarters on these sliders?

No I haven’t done any simming yet I am really trying to balance this advantage before anything even if means slightly skewed stats. I found, when playing cpu on the road, lower their tagging to like 5-10 It kind of opens the field for you and maybe give yourself a point or too increase in speed. It was somewhat helping me, I was able to fight back at times and keep the score closer. I have cpu tackle reaction at 0 and imo it shouldn’t be any other way they are still tackle crazy.

I will also play at home with cpu tagging at 5-10 and see if I don’t flog them too badly. That might be what it takes for fine tuning.

Also with the spoil and mark fumble
there has to be a sweet spot for those as well. There needs to be a good balance, too much you don’t mark at all and the CPU barely drops under 90 but barely marks at 95+

I also went to slow game speed and it that’s a certainty, the game plays best at that however, I have run speed at 55 for user and 51-53 for the cpu. 55 speed for slow has good smooth animation clipping anything under 50 I find slightly too slow and choppy.

No I haven’t done any simming yet I am really trying to balance this advantage before anything even if means slightly skewed stats. I found, when playing cpu on the road, lower their tagging to like 5-10 It kind of opens the field for you and maybe give yourself a point or too increase in speed. It was somewhat helping me, I was able to fight back at times and keep the score closer. I have cpu tackle reaction at 0 and imo it shouldn’t be any other way they are still tackle crazy.

I will also play at home with cpu tagging at 5-10 and see if I don’t flog them too badly. That might be what it takes for fine tuning.

Also with the spoil and mark fumble
there has to be a sweet spot for those as well. There needs to be a good balance, too much you don’t mark at all and the CPU barely drops under 90 but barely marks at 95+

I also went to slow game speed and it that’s a certainty, the game plays best at that however, I have run speed at 55 for user and 51-53 for the cpu. 55 speed for slow has good smooth animation clipping anything under 50 I find slightly too slow and choppy.
Nice mate I'm interested in seeing how you go.

I'm going to fiddle around a bit tonight and see what we can come up with.

I'll be satisfied with the results once we get something like Adelaide beating Carlton at Etihad Stadium (IE as the away side) 8/9 times out of 10. Anything less and it needs more work IMO.

Imperious Red I think I found the problem mate!

It's got to do with game speed and quarter length.

I simmed AI v AI Carlton v Adelaide at the MCG. 5 minute quarters on fast game speed.

Carlton won by 2 points (8.6.54 to 7.10.52).

FINALLY! Some progress on this front.

Sliders worked great, no issues and the stats were pretty spot on for a 5min quarter game.

I'm trying the same two teams with same sliders but this time 7.5min quarters and normal game speed.

In my other tests that I posted here yesterday they were on slow speed & 10min qtrs. So hoping the reduced quarter length and speed up in play keeps the margins down and stats realistic. Will let you know how it goes.

I overcome the home ground, away ground thing by simming some of the game and playing some of the game.

Here's what I have done in every AFL game I have had, from AFL Live 2004 on PS2 through to AFL Live on PS3, and now on AFL Evolution, and it seems to work most of the time.

I play:-

1st qtr:- Simmed (AI v AI)
2nd qtr:- Play as home team against AI (away team)
3rd qtr:- Change "select team" to the away team, and play as them against home team (AI)
4th qtr:- Simmed. (AI v AI)

So I sim the first and last quarters, play against the game as the home team in the second quarter, and as the away team in the third. I have done this for years, and get a lot of realistic results and margins. One game will be a 90 point win, the next might be a 1 point win.

I find on AFL Evolution that the team that is leading at qtr time often wins, but not always.

Doing like this has worked for me, because you are not dominating the AI and they are not dominating you. Changing it around between quarters makes it interesting, and unpredictable, as you don't know what the game will do in the first or last quarters. You have some control, but not too much.

I do this and then watch the first and last quarters, or go and do something else while the game plays it out. I also use the time to plan strategy to use in the second and third quarters.

I am amazed with how more realistic it makes the game (scores average from 60 to 110 points a game).

Try it one time, and let me know if it worked for you.

Well, I think we're going to have to go with 5 minute quarters and work our way from there.

I am pretty sure this home ground dominance isn't a slider issue but merely a game time / game play speed issue.

5min/fast seems to bring me much better results. I won't go lower than 5min quarters because it's just too unrealistic then.

I did another 5min/fast sim with the Blues and Crows and the Blues won it by a goal. So I think we're getting closer.

I think you'll find the problem being player ratings are inconsistent and sometimes very generous to the point where individually re-rating every player would produce more realism than just adjusting sliders.

Same thing with Madden and more recent NBA 2k where ratings are way too high across the board. E.g in 2k instead of lowering 3P shot % slider, editing players so that average shooters are no longer elite shooters is a better option but takes significantly more time.

Some good news Imperious Red !

First game I've simmed AI v AI on AFLE that the away side has WON!

Thank the heavens lol.

Adelaide travelled to Etihad to take on the Kangaroos.

Led at every change and ran out 23 point winners in the end.

Here's the breakdown;

CmeSYqZ.jpg

2.png

3.png

Totals

Inside 50's: 103/105
Kicks: 356/420
Handballs: 328/345
Marks: 178/185
Tackles: 161/135
Free Kicks: 40/38
Goals: 27/30
Behinds: 23/25
Score: 185/180

Some good news Imperious Red !

First game I've simmed AI v AI on AFLE that the away side has WON!

Thank the heavens lol.

Adelaide travelled to Etihad to take on the Kangaroos.

Led at every change and ran out 23 point winners in the end.

Here's the breakdown;

CmeSYqZ.jpg

2.png

3.png

Totals

Inside 50's: 103/105
Kicks: 356/420
Handballs: 328/345
Marks: 178/185
Tackles: 161/135
Free Kicks: 40/38
Goals: 27/30
Behinds: 23/25
Score: 185/180

Awesome, which settings/sliders did you use?

The same as before. Just luck of the draw.

Simmed the same match up 4 more times and North won every game though lol.

I'll need to take a look at real life home records to see what would be a realistic figure to try aim to.

But I'm glad the away side at least won ONE game...shows there is hope lol