AFL Game Part 3

howd u make this pic lol looks awesome

I used Photoshop

mobitout said:
Yeh that is a good idea. If the game were to has a higher emphasis on the interchange and you had to make 80 odd changes per game, it could interrupt gameplay but I think you wouldn't need to make 80 changes

Yes, it is unlikely you would need to make 80 changes as well considering each game is likely to last only 20 minutes max.

I think kicking for goal on the run should be done the same way as field kicking was done in Rugby League 1 and 2, i.e. slow motion to line it up, the harder the mode, the less time you have to line it up.
Slo-mo is fine offline but it's impossible to implement in online (and as Ross has stated they want Online to be a big feature). So I highly doubt that'd work.
Mate Travis Johnstone would end up on the cover, wouldn't be good at all
Not really hard to see what could be done. Just bring out a list of possible candidates (5-10 actual star players) then have a vote and have it be a genuine vote and not for the goofiest looking player...
For the interchange I would like and automatic option, which looks at which players are tired and/or being out played by their oponents and then has a pop-up at the bottom of the screen asking you to quickly make a substitution. E.g.

This way changes can be made quickly and without interrupting the flow of the match. If players get fatigued correctly (ie after a certain percentage of the quarter, so that in a 20 minute match players will get fatigued the same amount as they would in a 10 minute match.

Thoughts?
Not a bad idea but there's still a lot of variables and if that option were to come up it'd be more a severe suggestion than just "oh yeah, if you want" so really leaving the suggested player on is going to be a bad idea (and would there be re-prompts every minute if you said no?). Also comes down to how many times will this suggestion happen in a match and could it have players looking and deciding whether to change up while running down the ground trying to find options or would it be something that happens when you've taken a mark or got a free kick or after a goal?

It's not a bad idea to not stop the flow of the game, only thing is what if the player suggested was different from one you wanted to come in? I guess it'd be good if it chooses the best overall player on the bench in that position, but there's issues that could arise if there's 2 of the same overall in that position and you want the other in or if the player coming off was an in and under player and it's suggesting an outside mid (then probably a L or R D-Pad thing to scroll through the other 3 bench players, but how much does that take someone away from looking at the game they're meant to be concentrating on?).

Happy for them to really work on a great interchange feature over a number of years and then implement it. Will be interesting to see how it's going to be handled for this game though.

For the interchange I would like and automatic option, which looks at which players are tired and/or being out played by their oponents and then has a pop-up at the bottom of the screen asking you to quickly make a substitution. E.g.

interchange.png

This way changes can be made quickly and without interrupting the flow of the match. If players get fatigued correctly (ie after a certain percentage of the quarter, so that in a 20 minute match players will get fatigued the same amount as they would in a 10 minute match.

Thoughts?
Awesome idea d_k, great job.

But, for it to work well, the popups should only appear during stoppages/when the ball is dead.

It's not a bad idea to not stop the flow of the game, only thing is what if the player suggested was different from one you wanted to come in?

Well perhaps they could just change it a bit so it's like this:

interchange2.png

This way you can change the player coming on quickly (as there's only 4 possible players to come on at any one time). You could make it so you can change the player coming off, but this kind of defies the point of it being a quick way of making the substitution.

interchange2.png

This way you can change the player coming on quickly (as there's only 4 possible players to come on at any one time). You could make it so you can change the player coming off, but this kind of defies the point of it being a quick way of making the substitution.
Exactly, so what I'm thinking is that it'd have to be at a stoppage or mark or free kick situation.

The suggestion would have to be 100% right all of the time otherwise you're going to find people frustrated by not having the right player showing up, so you do have to give that option to change it up.

Also would like to know if when you cancel it, does it just move on to the next suggestion to change up or will it re-prompt you? I just think there's a few too many variables and questions that would have to be worked out perfectly before it could be implemented like that.

interchange.png

Thoughts?

A quick question for all on Interchanges - If there was an on the fly interchange and also an auto interchange - while in auto mode would you be ok if, what you considered to be your best player was picked to go to the bench - so mark lecras for exampel for west coast is knackered and the game thinks he's got to go off would you be unhappy or are you ok with the game picking the best 18 to be on the pitch at the right time?

Thanks alot Ross!

Hoping you will stick around after the release for feedback and ideas for the future!

Very appreciative of your time!

No worries - I plan to stick around - we're already looking to the next version of the game :)

The suggestion would have to be 100% right all of the time otherwise you're going to find people frustrated by not having the right player showing up, so you do have to give that option to change it up.

Also would like to know if when you cancel it, does it just move on to the next suggestion to change up or will it re-prompt you? I just think there's a few too many variables and questions that would have to be worked out perfectly before it could be implemented like that.

If you pressed no then it would go away and maybe pop-up 30 seconds later with a different player coming off. Keep in mind that you can turn this off if you would like.

Also if it does not find the right player you can also just pause the game and make the substitution yourself if you would like.

A quick question for all on Interchanges...

My idea is mainly aimed at not allowing this to happen. Personally my biggest fear is finding Dean Cox being replaced by Chris Masten because Masten was the only fit player on the bench and Cox was tired. Atleast with my idea you get a choice whether you want to make the change so that certain situations like this won't occur.

I think kicking for goal on the run should be done the same way as field kicking was done in Rugby League 1 and 2, i.e. slow motion to line it up, the harder the mode, the less time you have to line it up.

Tried that, real bugger when you're online as people use it as an exploit :(

So you have pretty much finished this game?

We've finished the feature list, tweaks are underway.

On that note, I will talk with the design team tomorrow and thank about what I can share regarding interchange and how it works. Interchange is certainly important but will not get in the way (ie require micro-management).

interchange2.png

Could come up every time a player kicks a goal suggesting a replacement for that player.;)

If you pressed no then it would go away and maybe pop-up 30 seconds later with a different player coming off. Keep in mind that you can turn this off if you would like.

Also if it does not find the right player you can also just pause the game and make the substitution yourself if you would like.
Yeah and I'm not saying it wouldn't work, just even if it's a toggle option it can become a thing of "now I have to pause the game to find out the stamina of my players...then interchange them" which again breaks the flow of the game. Making it more of a hindrance to have off than on even if you don't like it. I think how often it would pop up would be a big thing too, every few mins and it might not be enough to keep all your players fit, every minute or less and it becomes "OH **** OFF!" stage.

As I said, good idea just that I reckon once all the kinks could be worked out it'd be worth the implementation. What you have to remember is that it'd be needed both online and off and sometimes just that split second of looking away and to something like that prompt could mean the difference between winning and losing (especially online).

The biggest issue is that AFL is like no other sport with interchanges, no other game has 80 interchanges happening as quickly and as often as AFL does. Some sort of condensed version would most likely be needed for the game as it's ridiculous to think that you could possibly have something work for 80 interchanges a match (even if it was a full time limit possibility).
Tried that, real bugger when you're online as people use it as an exploit :(
So your current system is the same online and off? And it can't be exploited?

PS: I don't care to know in-depth details (unless you're offering:p), just if it's working or not if you can say that.:)

Hey Ross,

Is the publisher considering releasing a demo? Or is it hedging all its bets on just the "Gold" release?

Yeah and I'm not saying it wouldn't work, just even if it's a toggle option it can become a thing of "now I have to pause the game to find out the stamina of my players...then interchange them" which again breaks the flow of the game.

But you would have to do that anyway if this wasn't implemented. Also it would hardly be efficient manually going through the players as this would force you to stop focusing on the game itself.

However playing online this may be necessary, as the game would be paused far too often to make substitutions continually from the start menu.

Making it more of a hindrance to have off than on even if you don't like it. I think how often it would pop up would be a big thing too, every few mins and it might not be enough to keep all your players fit, every minute or less and it becomes "OH **** OFF!" stage.

Perhaps then the pop-up time could be modifiable so you can find the right medium for yourself.

Or you could just get some patience you ****ing ******** **** bitch :rolleyes:

Yeah and I'm not saying it wouldn't work, just even if it's a toggle option it can become a thing of "now I have to pause the game to find out the stamina of my players...then interchange them" which again breaks the flow of the game. Making it more of a hindrance to have off than on even if you don't like it. I think how often it would pop up would be a big thing too, every few mins and it might not be enough to keep all your players fit, every minute or less and it becomes "OH **** OFF!" stage.

As I said, good idea just that I reckon once all the kinks could be worked out it'd be worth the implementation. What you have to remember is that it'd be needed both online and off and sometimes just that split second of looking away and to something like that prompt could mean the difference between winning and losing (especially online).

The biggest issue is that AFL is like no other sport with interchanges, no other game has 80 interchanges happening as quickly and as often as AFL does. Some sort of condensed version would most likely be needed for the game as it's ridiculous to think that you could possibly have something work for 80 interchanges a match (even if it was a full time limit possibility).So your current system is the same online and off? And it can't be exploited?

PS: I don't care to know in-depth details (unless you're offering:p), just if it's working or not if you can say that.:)

Good points, agreed 100% - we are trying to reduce anything that takes your focus away from the play, whether that be pop-ups, meters, whatever. This game is really quick and intense, look away and your will likely pay for it :)

We are trying to make online and offline play the same, indeed identical. To the point that the single player game actually runs through the multiplayer engine to make sure that we never break that rule.

We've finished the feature list, tweaks are underway.

On that note, I will talk with the design team tomorrow and thank about what I can share regarding interchange and how it works. Interchange is certainly important but will not get in the way (ie require micro-management).

Remember your Development Director won't be happy if you share too much :D

Hey guys, the "development cops" are onto me - some people aren't happy that I'm sharing, they think that if they say no to me at work I'll just say "too late" I told BF it would be in :)