reg_lower91

May 7, 2007
Watsonia F.C.
I was at a level 1 coaching course last sunday (yesterday) which was held by Demetriou's brother. Early on in the day he started to speak about player's and their volunteering with younger kids. Demetriou said that out of all the clubs in the AFL, Carlton was definitely one of the worst. He said he had held a numerous amount of clinics with primary school kids with Carlton players involved and they would often turn up 30 mins late, wearing thongs and trackies not knowing what they were even there for. So, the AFL has put all the players, and the club, on notice and they are really close to being fined.

It was really interesting to hear this. Two things were running through my mind at the time of him saying this. 1: The Demtriou's really do HATE carlton AND 2: why has Carlton suddenly lost its touch with its supporters and fan base?

Thoughts?

I was at a level 1 coaching course last sunday (yesterday) which was held by Demetriou's brother. Early on in the day he started to speak about player's and their volunteering with younger kids. Demetriou said that out of all the clubs in the AFL, Carlton was definitely one of the worst. He said he had held a numerous amount of clinics with primary school kids with Carlton players involved and they would often turn up 30 mins late, wearing thongs and trackies not knowing what they were even there for. So, the AFL has put all the players, and the club, on notice and they are really close to being fined.

It was really interesting to hear this. Two things were running through my mind at the time of him saying this. 1: The Demtriou's really do HATE carlton AND 2: why has Carlton suddenly lost its touch with its supporters and fan base?

Thoughts?

I find it hard to believe that a speaker could be as unproffessional as to nominate one particular club and bandy about the AFL's opinion and threat of penalties at some penny ante coaching clinic ...the bloke sounds like he is just a big noting knob jockey who is full of shit .

Dont shoot the messenger mate, he was obviously just laying it out like it is. The above comment is nothing but bias and not in the slightest bit balanced. IF whats being said is true then maybe if this warning isnt heeded, then a fine could be issued as the club isnt just hurting the AFLs brand but your own as well.

How about you shut your trap and crawl back onto the feral board ..when we want the pigs we will rattle the bucket .

You have NFI about anything the OP alleged so stop trying to make out you do .

Hypocrisy Alert! I would have thought an AFL player being involved in a police shootout would have been "hurting the AFL brand" just a little bit more. lol. :)

How about you shut your trap and crawl back onto the feral board ..when we want the pigs we will rattle the bucket .

You have NFI about anything the OP alleged so stop trying to make out you do .
I tell u what mate U know full well I cant reply in kind as a card will be issued against me faster than u or I can blink. Its poor form for u to reply with such personal attacks when I have not done so to yourself or even trolled you, so lets continue the discussion outside the safety of your board?

LOL I am being threatened by a toothless feral :eek:
So where do you want me to meet you, at either your parole officers office ..or Centrelink ??

I'll have no problem recognizing you 3 yellow teeth, dirty greasy hair, *** hanging out of your gob, flannel shirt, trakky dacks, and Moccasins. :D

LOL I am being threatened by a toothless feral :eek:
So where do you want me to meet you, at either your parole officers office ..or Centrelink ??

I'll have no problem recognizing you 3 yellow teeth, dirty greasy hair, *** hanging out of your gob, flannel shirt, trakky dacks, and Moccasins. :D
As I said earlier not very original and I meant continuing the discussion on a more neutral board. But the fact u have shied away from a real physical confrontation so quick tells me all I need to know about your character.

LOL Yeah ugly ferals scare me ..I'm scared of catching rabies if one bleeds on me :D
No worries, I shouldnt have expect a level head or parity out of the mouth of a carlton fan, so before I get banned I will leave you too it. But if u do want to continue the discussion where it aint like shooting fish in a barrell, leave the safety of the blues board.

I think the problem you're having is that being a Collingwood supporter no-one really cares or is remotely interested in anything you have to say. It's not a criticism, just a reality. :)

Not sure how many brothers Andy D has, but i was taught by his brother, Phiv in high school P.E.

Was that his name?

If so, and i have the right brother, he's actually a really decent bloke. Would be surprised if he slagged off a group of people for no reason.

At the end of the day, all they are doing is showing up late to footy clinics, not bashing women, snorting coke or associating with gang members.

Not sure how many brothers Andy D has, but i was taught by his brother, Phiv in high school P.E.

Was that his name?

If so, and i have the right brother, he's actually a really decent bloke. Would be surprised if he slagged off a group of people for no reason.

At the end of the day, all they are doing is showing up late to footy clinics, not bashing women, snorting coke or associating with gang members.

If I remember rightly Andy D had an older brother, Jim, who played footy with Pascoe Vale for a number of years (I think he also played with Essendon Under 19s, but didn't make the grade).

I was at a level 1 coaching course last sunday (yesterday) which was held by Demetriou's brother. Early on in the day he started to speak about player's and their volunteering with younger kids. Demetriou said that out of all the clubs in the AFL, Carlton was definitely one of the worst. He said he had held a numerous amount of clinics with primary school kids with Carlton players involved and they would often turn up 30 mins late, wearing trackies not knowing what they were even there for. So, the AFL has put all the players, and the club, on notice and they are really close to being fined.

Thoughts?
Was this their first or third strike?

We should have Justice Gilliard investigate this aspect of our club's culture.

Can you imagine footballers showing up wearing tracksuits when they're putting on football clinics?

The kids won't recover from seeing their favourite players out of their footy gear.

A fair and reasonable punishment would be hanging them on a cross until the vultures have picked their bones clean.

Or we could close down their Facebook accounts for 24 hours.

Smells like bullshit.

The Players Association would have his balls if this was true.

And I doubt he would fine players as a former President of the Players Association.

Did you ask AD's brother if Andy is feeling the pinch on $1.4 million p.a?

Maybe Fraser Brown could give Andy a second job at one of his Tips if he need some extra money to make ends meet. Or he could get a job working for Spotless and fleece the grass roots supporter by selling them soggy chips and a bottle of water for $7.

I dont know... it could be worse...

Imagine as a Carlton supporter showing up at footy training after school and after being told that we are having some guest coaches show up for training that night...

Only to spot some w***ers wearing black and white stripes (maybe prison stripes... we went to school near pentridge) and being introduced to a couple of filth players come down to try and teach us football...

And the pricks showed up on time as well :(

As for the OP, I can only imagine that Fat Andrew has spun some bullshit about it just being a meet the kids event and not a training event and they showed up dressed to meet the kids.

Thoughts?

Better than turning up wearing safari suits. KB board.

haha, i forgot to mention that Phiv said they were showing up obviously after a big night (which i think is a load of shit).

and in response to some of the other guys questions before; yes his name was Phiv... sorry, i couldn't remember his name when i made the thread!

AFL has Carlton players on notice