AFL Live 2

Just finished a game of Calder Cannons vs Northen Knights.
Beat them 68 - 12

Dennis says... A good win by the Northern Knights... Winning 12 - 68

#blamewickedwitch

Yeah, won't be buying it after hearing further similar criticisms. Will just stick to AFLLive1 when I need a fix.

Crying shame, on the plus side get to save some money I guess.
Yep, I'll throw it on some pre-orders of BF4, 2K14 etc.

I can only speak on what I've seen in the vids ( won't get the game until tomorrow arvo) but I honestly think it looks better graphically in comparison to Live 1 and the commentary while choppy in areas seems a huge improvement as it seems more detailed, fast flowing and seems to commentate everything that happens rather than just shouting names and a few repetitive lines.

A lot of the commentary is actually straight out of the first game, but in this one I feel though there are more lines, they end up disconnected from the play more often. I could be wrong though as its been well over a year since I last played AFL Live 1.

As for the graphics, they are better in some ways but mostly worse. There are probably more animations, and things on the screen but they don't look as good.

Basically the whole game is MORE, but not quite as well polished.

IMO the people who are hating on this game are the same as those that hated on the first one. Give this game a chance, while you may not like it at all as some on here obviously have not, but like me you may not be able to stop playing it right when you get it. I have no ability to say whether I will be playing this game a week or two from now, but my after my first impression I am pretty happy with the effort from TruBlue/Wicked Witch.

In regards to commentary, it's always been shite in AFL games. AFL Live 1 is mostly made up of re-recorded lines from previous games, so people shouldn't just bag out this iteration for that laziness. Believe me, I've played them all (1998-Present). The re-recorded parts are mostly from around AFL Premiership 2006 onwards, though.

Brother got it watched him play.

Marking looks completely random.
Goal kicking is just.. weird.
The kicking animation is atrocious.
I don't know wtf the umpires are doing, they come charging in to the action like they're screaming for a handball.
While watching him play all I keep seeing is platers diving and hitting the deck for no real reason.

Game looks like a complete POS and I'm glad he went and got it and saves me $70

Wow gameplay significantly worse than number 1. Still fun I guess.

There is no way this was made by a footy fan. That really irks me. The player ratings are absolutely atrocious.

A few strange things:

Marked with Riewoldt in the square played on and didn't get the kick off in time and ran over the goal line and the umpires decision.... on the full!!

Also just played Richmond and Maric was full forward while Jack Riewoldt played ruck the whole game? Rance was also a CHF or HFF which was odd as I don't think that is their default lineup as no one has complained about that yet.

Safe
Reserved
Man to man

Appear to be the ideal defensive tactics to get blokes to stay on their opponents!

Okay I'm going to make one more post on this. As I really believe this is a great game.

Yes you can nitpick the shit out of this game if you want to. But the fact is I can nitpick the shit out of AFL Live 1 just as much, perhaps moreso. If you compare this game to the rose-coloured glasses view of AFL Live 1, and say things like "Dom Cassisi got swapped into the ruck, what a shit game!!". Well, that happened in the first game, I'm not sure if it happened less often, but it definitely happened. The fact is, if you don't spend your time complaining about every little bug/glitch/misinformation in a game, and instead laugh at them. Then you will enjoy this game a hell of a lot, I am sure of it.

This game is for the kind of people that LOVE Earth Defence Force 2017. Its a low budget title, that delivers a fun game with flaws that are sometimes hilarious. If you value your 60 dollars so much (Yes this game is only 60 dollars ON RELEASE) then sure, avoid it. If you just want to play a fun AFL game, that will probably give you 10-20 hours of entertainment with ease, then I say go for it.

If you want to wait for an AFL game as good as FIFA or the 2k games, then you will be waiting a long time. Even if Big Ant had made a second game, it still would have copped a tonne of hate, as these games simply do not have the budget of those EA style titles. Those games would have a market of up to a hundered times larger than the Footy loving population of Australia (maybe 100,000 people?) so they would recieve up to one hundered times the funding. There is no competing with that.

I understand people want a sim game, personally I was a fan of PES over Fifa because I found it more realistic. However, we have one game, and one game only. We will not get more games unless this one does well, and we certainly won't get better games until more funding can be put into an AFL game, so I implore people to give this game a shot.

No it will not give you 100 hours of complex gameplay. No you will not give this game a 10/10 on any review site (I'd probably give it a 6 so far). This game will not change your life, but it will give you a good time.

A few more things i noticed tonight.
Apparently Centre isn't a position any more. They have 2 Rovers instead. Great stuff WW :thumbsu:
The same old problem that used to plague the PS2 games is back too, where at certain times (ie, when you want to move the ball quickly) the player that marks it will turn his back on play and walk back to his mark. Completely kills any chance of moving it quickly, and if you press kick before you realise he's doing it, well, enjoy the 40m kick directly towards the opponent's goal.

Okay I'm going to make one more post on this. As I really believe this is a great game.

Yes you can nitpick the shit out of this game if you want to. But the fact is I can nitpick the shit out of AFL Live 1 just as much, perhaps moreso. If you compare this game to the rose-coloured glasses view of AFL Live 1, and say things like "Dom Cassisi got swapped into the ruck, what a shit game!!". Well, that happened in the first game, I'm not sure if it happened less often, but it definitely happened. The fact is, if you don't spend your time complaining about every little bug/glitch/misinformation in a game, and instead laugh at them. Then you will enjoy this game a hell of a lot, I am sure of it.

This game is for the kind of people that LOVE Earth Defence Force 2017. Its a low budget title, that delivers a fun game with flaws that are sometimes hilarious. If you value your 60 dollars so much (Yes this game is only 60 dollars ON RELEASE) then sure, avoid it. If you just want to play a fun AFL game, that will probably give you 10-20 hours of entertainment with ease, then I say go for it.

If you want to wait for an AFL game as good as FIFA or the 2k games, then you will be waiting a long time. Even if Big Ant had made a second game, it still would have copped a tonne of hate, as these games simply do not have the budget of those EA style titles. Those games would have a market of up to a hundered times larger than the Footy loving population of Australia (maybe 100,000 people?) so they would recieve up to one hundered times the funding. There is no competing with that.

I understand people want a sim game, personally I was a fan of PES over Fifa because I found it more realistic. However, we have one game, and one game only. We will not get more games unless this one does well, and we certainly won't get better games until more funding can be put into an AFL game, so I implore people to give this game a shot.

No it will not give you 100 hours of complex gameplay. No you will not give this game a 10/10 on any review site (I'd probably give it a 6 so far). This game will not change your life, but it will give you a good time.

So you reckon this game goes alright?

omg-u-so-funny-no_1326351329_epiclolcom.gif

rose-coloured glasses view of AFL Live 1

Someone had to say it. Although it's in part due to the great customer interaction provided by Ross, you can't argue that people are looking at the original AFL Live with a slightly biased opinion

One another annoying thing I noticed is that when you are kicking in you can't move the camera around to see where you are kicking to. Quite annoying.

I'm fairly sure AFL Live 2004 let you move the camera around to kick in

I know my opinion means nothing until I've played the game but I am someone who loves AFL games and loved Live 1 and the vision big ant had for the future, but i'm pleasantly surprised by what I've seen and heard for Live 2 ( well some of it) as my expectations for this game got lowered after the trailer but so far it looks good. I also agree that many people are writing this game off purely cause it isn't big ant which is wrong. ( I'm also amazed at how quickly and flippantly some of you are to trade a game back in after purchase. If I followed that mindset I would have missed some decent games which others have written off i.e, Alpha Protocol)

Got the game on Thursday. I'm a massive AFL fan and I really enjoy AFL games. These are just my opinions, but if you haven't got the game or you're thinking of getting it, this is defiantly something you should read. Apologies in advance for the long post, but you will thank me afterwards for the in depth review :p

So as you guys would of read about already, the graphics actually are that bad, how any game that's been released on PS3 & Xbox 360 can have graphics as appalling as this game is amazing. But enough about the graphics, lets talk gameplay!

Set shot goal kicking - now this is ridiculously stupid, I still can't even kick the ball over 25m in a straight line, don't think anyone can yet. This part alone would make people frustrated.
Speed of players - It seems that basically every player has the same speed. For example, I was running with Stephen Hill and I got chased down by Dean Cox. Yep, that just happened.
Tackles & shrugging tackles - So a lot of the time when I try and tackled my opponent, my player ends up diving at them, (like Heath Shaw's diving smother in the GF) it's as if they're trying to smother the ball by diving, instead of tackling. You can still tackle, just not 100% of the time. Shrugging of the tackles is far too easy, it's as simple as if you're about to get tackled, just press the shrug button and you're fine, regardless of the situation and player.
Interchange system - Most pointless thing about this game has got to be the interchange system. Simply put, it's only used if someone is injured or fatigued (takes a while). More often that not it'll be your ruckman, as they're the most important/dominant players in the game. So once your ruckman is injured, a small midfielder from the bench will come on, even though you might have a second ruckman on the bench. That small midfielder is now your ruckman. Wait, it gets worse. That small ruckman is now your permanent ruckman...why? Because there are no general interchanges, so if your original ruckman is ready to come back on, he wont leave the bench for the rest of the game.
Goal kicking (not set shots) - This is as bad as set shots though, still can't kick it far.
Speccies - Players are going for them every few minutes out of nowhere, yet when there's a player perfectly setup for one, they don't do it. Happens far too often, takes away the excitement when you actually see/perform one.
Player ratings & positions/team lineups - Simply put, Shaun Atley's rating is higher than Danyle Pearce & Michael Walters......wtf?!?! Tom Liberatore is in the bulldogs starting lineup as their full forward.
Umpiring - Well, it's realistic......it's s**t!
Trading system at the end of the year - Simulated a whole season to see what the trading was like in career mode. Randomly chose to Essendon's contract (lets face it, they need a new manager anyway ;)). I traded Stewart Crameri for the #1 pick in the draft. That was enough for me to think, fuarkkk.

Overall - Can at times be a fun game, but nothing more than an average game. For me personally, it's not worth the $69.95 and I read somewhere here that EB has a 7 day refund policy? At the moment, I'm planning on returning it and using the money I get back to pre order GTA 5. I rarely purchase games, this is actually the 3rd game I've purchased for my PS3. Overall, I wouldn't recommend buying it to the people out there contemplating it, but if you do and it's true about EB Games 7 day refund policy, I'd say you should buy it there.

If you have any questions about the game, feel free too ask, I'll gladly try and answer them :).

A lot of the commentary is actually straight out of the first game, but in this one I feel though there are more lines, they end up disconnected from the play more often. I could be wrong though as its been well over a year since I last played AFL Live 1.

As for the graphics, they are better in some ways but mostly worse. There are probably more animations, and things on the screen but they don't look as good.

Basically the whole game is MORE, but not quite as well polished.

IMO the people who are hating on this game are the same as those that hated on the first one. Give this game a chance, while you may not like it at all as some on here obviously have not, but like me you may not be able to stop playing it right when you get it. I have no ability to say whether I will be playing this game a week or two from now, but my after my first impression I am pretty happy with the effort from TruBlue/Wicked Witch.

1) you have got to be kidding if you think this game is worth getting. Thats like going back in time and telling people to put there hard earned in centro or dot com shares.

2) you are still playing on beginner or easy.

3) since when did afl live have rotation issues in the ruck ? The only rotation issue ever had was a ruckman getting game time on the ball. I play as Port regularly and Lobbe replaced with Trengove and Westhoff only.

4) all afl live 2 haters are afl live addicts more so

5) go buy afl 2006 and 2007 and tell us the gameplay is identical.

6) it is fun and rewarding when 1/10 kicks go more than five metres

7) it is fun seeing rovers win the coleman medal

8) it is fun seeing your interchange have 0 touches in ten min qtrs

9) it is fun when your ruckman rated 26/100 gets 86 hitouts vs aaron sandilands on top of leading disposal and tackle getter

10) afl live 2 is a far more a tacklefest game than any before it

11) trading is so realistic...lol at the guy who traded picks 18 and 120 for pick 1..

The game is poo...buy the iphone version before this one

In regards to commentary, it's always been shite in AFL games. AFL Live 1 is mostly made up of re-recorded lines from previous games, so people shouldn't just bag out this iteration for that laziness. Believe me, I've played them all (1998-Present). The re-recorded parts are mostly from around AFL Premiership 2006 onwards, though.

AFL Live commentary was recorded from scratch by Wicked Witch while they were making the Wii Game, we took the master audio files from them for AFL Live.

Have noticed a few people saying they are hoping a patch comes out soon to address some issues.
On the official AFL Live 2 facebook page they have said
Unfortunately 12 months isn’t a long time in game development, so in an effort to please our anxious fans we didn’t have time to include fancy cut scenes, or glamorous graphics, these probably needed another 6 months work.
Most people switch these off after a few games but for the truly devoted, we are continuing to work on these features and we intend (pending AFL approval) to release a glamour DLC pack mid-next year which would also include the new 2014 update.
No, it is not free (what is?), but you are saving a fair bit on this game and I can’t imagine the DLC price exceeding your saving.
So looks like they are at least going to update the graphics and line-ups.
Hopefully they also patch some of the most glaring bugs earlier then that but it will probably be in April.

I've only played a couple of games - the animations are fairly awful, but I think it plays pretty good. Just need to get used to the changed control set up. The marking is certainly better than the first game, where you'd be in prime position and then the player 2 metres behind you would move like the flash in front of you and grab it. Position seems far more important here.

Quick tip for those complaining about the kick-meter in corner of screen - you can change this in the visuals options.

Some thoughts.

I will probably get shut down for being so negative but ah well.

I've always been a supporter of AFL games on any gen of console, having purchased every single one since AFL 98. Even the PSP monstrosity AFL Challenge.

Anyway heres what i think of AFL live 2:

This game is by far the biggest let down of the lot so far, even after a short play this afternoon its clear this was rushed and no care was given towards developing this game. It is virtually the Wii game. Way behind AFL live 1 by Big Ant.

Some points:

-Kicking animations are just truly awful, players look like they are kicking a round ball, there are virtually no drop punt actions/animations at all. Also sometimes there aren't any kicking animations at all, the ball just randomly squirts away from the player.

-There are zero tactics that work from what i've found. The FF is constantly left on his own and any decent clearance will result in an easy goal.

-Crowd appearance and sound effects are truly laughable. Never has there been a decent crowd atmosphere on an AFL game but this is terrible. Would have been more preferable to just leave it out or turn it off. DO NOT LOOK AT THE CROWD CUT-OUTS IT WILL HURT YOUR EYES

-Commentary terrible again.

-The graphics are no better than the Iphone/Ipad version.

-Obviously as stated there are no club songs, pre game or post game.

I will give career a go tonight but i have no doubt in my mind i will be returning this game tomorrow.

Bring on FIFA 14.

The club songs are there during the final stats screen, played an exhibition game and the Crows song was playing after they won.

For those that have the game (kind of tossing up whether to buy it or not), does it have a salary cap like AFL live 1, where you couldn't go over 7 million or something whatever it was, or can you just make every player rated 99 if you want?

Come on, guys. You're telling me there were no issues with the interchange in afll1? How about the freezing game when you'd activate the sub? I used to have to turn off automatic interchange because for some reason it'd put Lonergan up in the ruck and Ottens on the ball.

In terms of player speed, in afll1 I'd constantly be run down as Motlop or Rioli by any sort of player, including ruckmen. This isn't just something that happens in this new game.

In goal kicking and general kicking around the game in afll2, how are people only kicking it 5m? I was able to chip it around or bomb it long by my second game of playing it.

I just think everyone is looking back on afll1 like it was FIFA or an NBA 2k game. It was flawed as heck, and we all know that. In terms of which one is better, well that's your own opinion, but I think people are a bit blinded by their misty-eyed nostalgia for afll1.