AFL Live 2

Come on, guys. You're telling me there were no issues with the interchange in afll1? How about the freezing game when you'd activate the sub? I used to have to turn off automatic interchange because for some reason it'd put Lonergan up in the ruck and Ottens on the ball.

In terms of player speed, in afll1 I'd constantly be run down as Motlop or Rioli by any sort of player, including ruckmen. This isn't just something that happens in this new game.

In goal kicking and general kicking around the game in afll2, how are people only kicking it 5m? I was able to chip it around or bomb it long by my second game of playing it.

I just think everyone is looking back on afll1 like it was FIFA or an NBA 2k game. It was flawed as heck, and we all know that. In terms of which one is better, well that's your own opinion, but I think people are a bit blinded by their misty-eyed nostalgia for afll1.

Misty eyed nostalgia?

Still play it a few nights a week.

In goal kicking and general kicking around the game in afll2, how are people only kicking it 5m? I was able to chip it around or bomb it long by my second game of playing it.

I think we were all impressed with the game on our first, second and third attempts, but I have a strong feeling that as your own skills progress, leading to putting the difficulty level up, the game becomes unplayable due to the pressure applied. On just a medium or hard setting you will see 100 smothers over a game with 10 min quarters and the team having 200 tackles (despite 80% of them not effective).

On easy, the game flow is impressive, but how long can we all stay playing on a basic level?

A few strange things:

Marked with Riewoldt in the square played on and didn't get the kick off in time and ran over the goal line and the umpires decision.... on the full!!

TO be fair, that happened to me last night in AFL Live 1 :p Although I kicked it before the line :s

On easy, the game flow is impressive, but how long can we all stay playing on a basic level?

That's the story of nearly every sports game of all time. In AFLL1, I can't play it singleplayer anymore because on Legend I thump sides by 100 points constantly. Where I think the AFL games really shine is in multiplayer.

i try to remain positive about this game. Yes it is certainly no 2K or fifa, but despite its many issues at the end of the day we all still play this game and end up enjoying it in one way or another. The fact it has a 15 year career is enough for me to buy the game regardless. Plus it was only 70 dollars, and they are releasing a 15 dollar dlc next year to complete it. If half the issues in this game were fixed we would have the best afl game ever made.

On just a medium or hard setting you will see 100 smothers over a game with 10 min quarters and the team having 200 tackles (despite 80% of them not effective).

The average game for me on hard.
Clearance kick goes 10m straight to opponent. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to a 50/50. I pick it up and try and kick it. Tackled 2 seconds after i let go of the button but still makes the kick go nowhere.

Having the tackle button the same as the kick button is a shocker too. When there's a big huddle around the ball it's impossible to see who has it. So either their players bursts away with it before you can tell who has it, or you get it and kick it nowhere/straight to the opposition.

One reason as to why I think all of you hate this game... From all the gameplay videos you all seem to be pressing the sprint button right after the mark... WTF is wrong with you why do you do this. Its possibly one of the reasons why you feel the game is shit.

(Watching all the youtube videos and it seems obvious to me that this is the reason)

Eventhough I don't have this game, it seems to be one of the best PS/XBOX AFL games out there.

One reason as to why I think all of you hate this game... From all the gameplay videos you all seem to be pressing the sprint button right after the mark... WTF is wrong with you why do you do this. Its possibly one of the reasons why you feel the game is shit.

(Watching all the youtube videos and it seems obvious to me that this is the reason)

Eventhough I don't have this game, it seems to be one of the best PS/XBOX AFL games out there.
the ****?

The average game for me on hard.
Clearance kick goes 10m straight to opponent. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to their advantage. Tackle, ball spills to a 50/50. I pick it up and try and kick it. Tackled 2 seconds after i let go of the button but still makes the kick go nowhere.

Having the tackle button the same as the kick button is a shocker too. When there's a big huddle around the ball it's impossible to see who has it. So either their players bursts away with it before you can tell who has it, or you get it and kick it nowhere/straight to the opposition.
this sounds familiar. Feels like you're playing rugby at times, forcing the stoppage 10 metres closer to your goal. The other issue that's grinding my gears is that tapping the kick button if useless, and that's when it works. Surely a decent standard kick should travel some distance? But no, it doesn't. It goes about 10 metres; if I was to be kind I'd say it goes in a random direction seemingly unrelated to where you want; if I were unkind I'd say it goes on purpose every single time to your opposition, alone, unmarked, in about 20 metres of space. But like I said, that's when it works. Just as often you'll hit tap and nothing happens, except that you get tackled and pinged for holding the ball.

Please do not get me started on the kick for goal, wtf is up with that????

I am trying to like this game (I am playing on medium level difficulty) and I hope I enjoy it a lot more playing against actual humans than the AI. But it is not an easy task.

I should point out some positives. Handballing can be good. Kicking to leads can be good, although in the short time I've played I am yet to get it mastered in general play - I just assume that you can though once you get your head in the space. Shrug can be ok - but having it on the same side as sprint is just stupid.

One thing that really riled me early doors was that in the manual where it shows all the controls it says shirtfront is Triangle - but in the manual where it talks about how to play the game, it distinctly says use Square for a shirtfront. Man, that is sloppy.

Yeah, nah. I don't do that at all. And even if i did, i doubt one little thing like that would change it from being a shit game to a good game.

captcha.gif

1) you have got to be kidding if you think this game is worth getting. Thats like going back in time and telling people to put there hard earned in centro or dot com shares.
I said its worth checking out, and it definitely is. The controls take a lot of getting used to though.
2) you are still playing on beginner or easy.

I played against my brother about 5 times, then we played career on hard for about 6 games. We were getting smashed by teams better than us, and barely beating GWS (the only team worse than port apparently)

3) since when did afl live have rotation issues in the ruck ? The only rotation issue ever had was a ruckman getting game time on the ball. I play as Port regularly and Lobbe replaced with Trengove and Westhoff only.
I can pretty clearly remembering it happening, but whatever you say. I really liked AFL Live, but my point is that some of the people shitting on this game shat on AFL live just as much.

4) all afl live 2 haters are afl live addicts more so
Not all.

5) go buy afl 2006 and 2007 and tell us the gameplay is identical.
No.

6) it is fun and rewarding when 1/10 kicks go more than five metres
That is only if you are playing wrong. You need to pay attention to the kick bar down the bottom, and set shots are pretty awkward as well.

7) it is fun seeing rovers win the coleman medal
I don't see how anyone other than Schulz or Neade would win the coleman in my games, but fair enough.

8) it is fun seeing your interchange have 0 touches in ten min qtrs
You can do rotations manually if you want. Not sure how it works.

9) it is fun when your ruckman rated 26/100 gets 86 hitouts vs aaron sandilands on top of leading disposal and tackle getter
Yes, its easy to win in the ruck. I dominated with Dominic Cassisi. This is not something I care about.

10) afl live 2 is a far more a tacklefest game than any before it
Initially I thought this as well, then I saw some footage of the first game and remembered what it was like playing for the first time. Basically what happened was I'd pick up the ball, get tackled, my opponent would then pick up the ball, before I immediately tackled them, and so on. This game its more if there are 4 players around the ball 2 will likely get tackled and some 5th guy will run in and get the ball (or there will be a ball up).

11) trading is so realistic...lol at the guy who traded picks 18 and 120 for pick 1..
I haven't seen the trading, but if thats the case its pretty sad (Though he might have been playing on easy for all I know). In the end if trading is ******ed you can do whatever you want. If you want realism you can simply *not* do ******ed trades.

The game is poo...buy the iphone version before this one

I think someone should post a new thread, or even just a big ass post about the mechanics of this game. As someone above said there was as video on youtube of people complaining they didn't have time to go back and kick the ball when they took a mark. They were clearly holding down sprint, or running immediately after marking it. The problem with marks (only slight) is that the player runs 5 metres back pretty much instantly, so playing on is awkward.

There are a number of other things to do with the kicking, marking, picking up the ball, and set shots that are quite awkward to get the hang of (this game was made on the cheap remember) but seem like they will be semi-reasonable when you get the hang of them.

this sounds familiar. Feels like you're playing rugby at times, forcing the stoppage 10 metres closer to your goal.

That's about right. On Hard it is near on impossible to get a kick away without being tackled. Your only hope is taking a mark. The only goals i've managed to kick on the run on hard have been within 15m from the goals. Not to mention the shots i take from the pocket nearly always go out on the full (circle is goal kick right? Not kick it straight into the crowd).

Most of the time on hard, it's hard to explain, but it just feels like i'm not in control at all. In AFL1 I always felt like if i could get my hands on the ball, i was a chance of goaling it. Even being a goal down with a minute to play, i felt like i was always a chance of winning. But i just don't in AFL2. When the game is on the line, expect them to take hanger after hanger on you, spoils to be ineffective, and your players to start dropping sitters.

Did you ever play NFL BLITZ : The League 2 BigAntStudios ?

Would it at all be possible to do an AFL version of something like that. No licences, totally fictional but still addictive and fun for something so arcadey? Cracked it out for the first time in years and playing it heaps with Bigredmachine and TheJaegerBomb.

I reckon a 9v9 AFL version would be awesome, even if just for PSN/XBL

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Minus the x-ray vision injuries and the Juicing, bone resetting and targeted injury mini games. And the Essendoning your players in career mode it wouldn't be such a terrible idea.

How hard could to be to come up with 18 fictional footy clubs?

Has anyone figured out the target lock system. I haven't been able to get a player leading to the ball. Instead they just stand there.

Could someone please direct me to where i can see the Coleman Medal standings in Career mode? I can view it club by club (only takes like an entire minute to scroll through the teams and keep sorting each time) but not view the whole league at once. Surely they wouldn't have left out such a glaringly obvious need?

Positives about game:
+ It is an AFL game!
+ Gameplay is an improvement over the last game imo
+ It is not as much of a tackle fest (tackle count is still extremely high)
+ A.I. is improved
+ Menu's are very slick (compared to last)
+ Commentary is better than the last
+ Ball bounces are very good
+ Set shots
+ Career mode is ok

There are probably more positives about this game I just can't think of them

Now the Negatives:
- Sound effects (it sounds like a tiger woods game only louder, e.g. ball bouncing and the ball hitting the post. I wonder if Wicked Witch know the posts are made out of wood not aluminium)
- Lasting Appeal (bored after 2-3 hours of career mode after winning the NAB cup
- No team songs after a win
- Less stats during breaks
- Front Cover (it is petty but it looks ridiculous)
- Graphics (ok but it looks only slightly better than ps2 graphics)
- Very hard to kick the footy over 20 meters in harder difficulties

Again these are the key negatives about this game, cannot think of more.

In the future I would like to see improved player animations. A broadcast feel to the game including crowd sounds. Better graphics. A more strategic way to play the game rather than handballing out of stoppages then bombing long into the 50. The game is too fast paced. Don't attack me for saying the pace is too fast because both the FIFA and PES games are all about possession these days and you cannot argue that these are boring. Finally, a stadium creator. Sorry can't think of anything else.

Now the Negatives:
- Sound effects (it sounds like a tiger woods game only louder, e.g. ball bouncing and the ball hitting the post. I wonder if Wicked Witch know the posts are made out of wood not aluminium)

You been to a game in the last 20 years?

Posts aren't made of wood, and when they hit the post the make quite a loud 'Ting'. I'm talking about a direct hit of the post, not scraping the side.