Updated 2004 Player Lists
Complete 2004 fixture
Brownlow and Norm Smith Medals
New Wizard Cup Rules
Gameplay Improvements
Multiplayer Missions
PS2 Multi-Tap Support - up to 4 players

Sounds great.

But something I don't understand is this; is AFL Live PE going to contain all the new teams and all. (Like Nathan Brown for Richmond, Cooney in Bulldogs) or not?

If it does, isn't it a full - fledged sequel?

Can someone dig a little deeper as to tell me in detail what this unlockable video content is? If it's just a feature where you can watch clips of classic footy, then really I can't see what all the hype and fuss is about...

The game is gonna be crap, until it has managment features and desecent game play with no bugs its not worth ****ing on :D

cheers

Originally posted by Vaughan Pitt
No, there's nowt wrong with Grinners, but you try listening to that song 200+ times and not wish for Mariah Carey (slight exaggeration there... unless it's in person:))

That's where the TV mute button comes in handy mate. The commentary & sound effects are garbage anyway. Choose your own soundtrack, put a CD on! :)

I was under the impression this wan't due out until the end of April. If they've fixed the major flaws I'll prob buy it, AFL games are as rare as hen's teeth!

It's not going to be full price, so why not?

NO game is bug-free - considering the resources and manpower these guys have it's a major achievement to make AFL Live PE as slick as it is.

The deal with the unlockable content is the fact that the game now has a reward system - complete a particular challenge, you unlock a vid. There were a few that we weren't allowed to see, due to their 'extra secretness'ness... ness. Yeah. Anyway, will increase game longevity.

You'd have to see it running to appreciate it - once something is unlocked you've actually achieved something unlike the previous iteration. There's 70 odd clips, so that's not bad. Sort of a like a bonus highlights DVD thrown in for nowt.

Oh yeah, they fixed up Misiti too. And the commentators name Port players correctly now.

There's talk of a 'swing meter' for goal kicking in the next game, tho they couldn't squeeze it into this version. Ben made mention of the number of emails they received, and all comments have been noted, so they ARE listening unlike an EA or other massive gaming conglomerates.

AND a dynasty mode is a cert apparently for 2005, with players actually gaining experience and skill points as their careers progress. Giving serious thought to a drafting system too they are.

If that's the case I think I'll skip AFL Live PE and wait till '05 comes out. I'm still waiting till the day AFL Live can reach the standards of say a game like ESPN NBA Basketball. Great Career mode and graphics. Wait till a AFL version like that is out...:D

They could fix too many things in this game but eventually, u will master it and u will win by over 100 on every game. THe only challenge is at the start when u are trying to get familiar with the keys.

I reckon the most important part of it is to make marking the way it was in AFL96. If u understand a bit of software engineering, this is actually a pretty easy game to design and implement. The hardest part for them is the graphics part i think.

i have bought afl live 03 and 04 within a week of being released both times and both for bout 50 bucks only

i only have bout 50 bucks atm and i will get AFL 04 PE when it comes out.

i like the idea of the Australian team but i think being able to play international rules would be pretty kool :p

say if they released afl lvie 2005 and some gaelic footy match at the same time and if you have both then you could play international rules or somethin

lol but sticking with afl live 04 PE i think you should be able to choose your AAT not use the 2003 one for example coz theres no melbourne players in it :(

i am glad that the game is being released at the start of the footy season and i do look forward to it.

You know what would be nice ?

A bit of effort with the players likeness on the field.

I don't know about consoles, but Adam Goodes is white in the PC version, as is Daniel Kerr and a few others too. That's just very basic stuff.

Just a slight effort is needed there, that just smacks of a half arsed approach - I mean, all it would take is a look through the player profiles to relise Michael Gardiner doesn't have blonde hair and so on.

I don't really know the point of making 5 or so players at every team have the NBA live style "cyber-face", if your going to do it, do the lot or none at all in my book.

I'm not talking about NBA Live. In ESPN NBA Basketball 2K4, every single player looks exactly like they do in real life. Might have taken alot of time and money, but it really has paid off. Love the same to be done for AFL Live

No one's stating that visuals are the main priority. The main priority is getting the gameplay right. After that they can move onto adding things such as drafts, and trades during the offseason to enhance the game's longetivity. Then I'll start worrying about visuals.

It's so much cheaper because they had to put relatively little work into it.

The engine was done, most of the graphics were done, the commentary was done (bugged, but didn't need re-recording, just program fixing), they weren't adding time-intensive new features, just simple ones...

Effectively, you're buying an expansion pack that you don't need the original game for.

Originally posted by nonchalance
It's so much cheaper because they had to put relatively little work into it.

The engine was done, most of the graphics were done, the commentary was done (bugged, but didn't need re-recording, just program fixing), they weren't adding time-intensive new features, just simple ones...

Effectively, you're buying an expansion pack that you don't need the original game for.

and thier lies the problem, i guess its still better then what ea does with thier francise but unlike the ea games (bar fifa which i aint big fan off) this game needs serious time in re-designing almost everything.

A question for Vaughan - does it look like they have done anything at all to make kicking for goal harder?

There was talk of making Premiership Ed a harder game, but if any mark in the forward fifty is still an easy goal, then how are they going to achieve this?

Thanks.

afl live 2004 premiership edition