Agsv

but ACK lost to PEGS...but PEGS lost to Marcellin. So who is the best of the 3? We can only find out who is better between ACK and PEGS...that's why there should be finals.

yeah well y did pegs beat ack? cos they had to bring back maric so little kenny fletch could have a win. but a.c.k bet them in teh match that really matted in the herald sun shield and due to the win r in the final and also in the final 4 the agsv:)

Some guy said Marcellin were "clearly the best team". I agree about finals, a final 4 would be good.

What I'm saying is you had your chance to make the final, beat ACK and you would have.

i reckon they probably would have if they had shuey zaharakis and rintoul. zacka All aus wingmen, shuey u18 vic bnf, and rintoull a 16 vic rep.

Someone I was speaking to this morning mentioned a fight between PEGS and Ivanhoe 2s (2s? Not sure how the system works but this is what I was told). Anybody got any more info?

it doesnt surprise me. when we played PEGS seconds all they did was knee people in packs and give cheap shots but when it came to the reaction of the player they fled like pussys!

So what were the final placings, and where are the games this weekend?
Friday Arvo
3rd vs 4th - Marcellin v Trinity @ Marcellin

Saturday morning
1st v 2nd (Grand Final) - PEGS v Assumption @ Trinity (neutral venue)
5th v 6th - Peninsula v Mentone @ Peninsula
7th v 8th - Yarra Valley v Ivanhoe @ Yarra Valley

9th - Camberwell.

it doesnt surprise me. when we played PEGS seconds all they did was knee people in packs and give cheap shots but when it came to the reaction of the player they fled like pussys!

In the version I heard it was the Ivanhoe boys who started it, but then again that was coming from my boss who happens to be the father of a PEGS player.

ASSUMPTION COLLEGE KILMORE PREMIERS 2008
ACKs 36th premiership in 50 years of AGSV

(Y) go assumption

surely there would be no other school in australia that has a record anywhere near that...

would have been interesting to see how old kenny fletcher is feelin tonight hahaha :p:p

Assumption 9.10 def PEGS 9.8
Trinity 8.12 def Marcellin 4.8
Mentone 20.12 def Peninsula 7.10
YV 29.19 def Ivanhoe 14.9

Placings:
Assumption
PEGS
Trinity
Marcellin
Mentone
Peninsula
Yarra Valley
Ivanhoe
Camberwell

probably not that bad considering his undermanned team only lost by two points and he has won the last 2 in a row

he would still be feeling crap. essendon may have been a little undermanned but great by ACK playing 3 really hard games a week before. would have been fairly sore.:p

dont go talking up your win mate
only 2 points
pretty sure marcellin beat a better pegs outfit just 3 weeks prior by 30 pts

melbourne grammar take on scotch this friday at the MCG. if melbourne win they win not only the cordner cup but also the aps premership. by the sounds of it looks like it is the last of the school football matches

dont go talking up your win mate
only 2 points
pretty sure marcellin beat a better pegs outfit just 3 weeks prior by 30 pts

u say a better pegs outfit who was different to yesterday? and i just say ur jealous that u didnt get to play in a winning team u probly didnt even play marcellin 1s and that would b very upsetting cos they were shit

hahahahahahahah.. shuey, stanton, zakka, caddy, rhintoul, and gordon. Thats 6 state players. and were shit??

we also beat pegs by more than what assumption did so how are we shit??
yeh congratulations on winning the flag, and i take nothing away from ack, clearly better team on the day as i watched from the first siren to the last, but calling marcellin shit is a big call. Just imagine marcellin had a full team the whole seaosn.. would be interestin to hear what you say then.

i hope to god, 'jow-blow' you'r not an ack boy because what you say on here is arrogance and thats not assumption

congratulations ack.. all the best to james shehan for the draft also

Simply the best!

by Matt Nicholls

AS FAR as football matches go, you’ll struggle to find a better one than last Saturday’s AGSV grand final, which saw Assumption College hold on to win by two points in an epic thriller against arch rivals Penleigh and Essendon Grammar.
Despite leading for much of the game, the Dark and Light Blues were put under the pump late in the game when PEGS hit the lead for the first time since the opening term.
To the untrained eye, it would seem that Assumption would be run over, having endured a torrid fortnight of football.
But those who have followed ACK over the years knew better, and their confidence was reflected by the players, who lifted when it really mattered.
Despite being completely exhausted, the Kilmore players refused to concede defeat, and through sheer determination, worked the ball forward.
Trailing by five points, the game took a serious turn when Blues’ forward Luke Gestier was awarded a free kick 40 metres from goal.
Kicking with the aid of a slight breeze, you could tell from the sidelines the Wagga Wagga boarder was feeling the pressure.
But he stayed true to his routine and slotted the goal, much to excitement of his peers and supporters.
Now leading by a point, and with just two minutes to play, ACK had a serious dilemma.
Do they attack, and hope to put away their opponents, or do they try and defend the smallest of margins?
Luckily the option to attack was thrust upon them when skipper Jamie Sheahan won the ball from the centre and forced it forward.
Through rigorous defending, the Penleigh and Essendon backmen were able to concede a behind and set up a counter-attack from the kick in.
In a hypnotic piece of play, PEGS moved the ball forward almost effortlessly via the far wing, and within seconds had the ball deep into attack with still a minute to play.
While the midfielders and forwards normally get all the accolades in football circles, it must be said that it was the ferocity of Assumption’s backline that got them over the line last Saturday.
Led by Colbinabbin duo Seth Hill and Sam Vale, the defence didn’t miss a beat under pressure, and worked together brilliantly to stop their rivals.
Despite several attempts to score by PEGS in the dying moments, the backmen stood tall, and managed to keep the Dons scoreless until the final siren, giving Assumption a memorable victory.
The predominantly Assumption crowd then stormed the ground to congratulate the players – scenes that will be long remembered by the players, their families, and all those who saw.
TEAM EFFORT
In what was a superb team effort, it was hard to pinpoint individual performances without naming the whole side.
But honourable mentions must go to midfielders Sheahan, Jackson Garvey-Hawke and Simon Collis, who all worked hard both in the centre and around the ground.
Rucks Jesse Webster and Jackson Renton both got the job done at the stoppages, despite the class of their PEGS rivals.
Often outsized by bigger and burlier forwards each week, Seth Hill has flown under the radar this season in ACK’s star-studded side.
Against Penleigh and Essendon, his contribution was warmly acknowledged by all spectators, as well as the opposition.
Hill was aptly supported in defence by the likes of Quaide Comi, Nick Lawless, Brendan Allen and Michael Talia – all of whom battled tirelessly against seemingly classier opponents.
While forwards James Lawton, Liam Ryan, Tallan Wright and Gestier had quiet days by their own standards, their pressure to keep the ball in the attacking zone was second to none.
TWO TO GO
The Assumption players must be pleased with their achievements thus far, but they still have two big assignments to round out the football season.
All roads lead to the MCG next weekend (Saturday, August 16) for the grand final of the Herald Sun Shield.
Make sure you get a copy of next Friday’s edition of The Free Press for a full preview of the big match against Essendon Keilor College.
A week later, the students will then travel across the border where they will meet Sacred Heart Adelaide in the traditional clash at Glenelg on Sunday, August 24.
While Assumption is likely to start as underdog in both matches, it would not be surprising to see them win the pair, making it a fantastic treble.
And who would have thought that this would be possible last year, when the side struggled with form due to a long list of injuries and a number of inexperienced personnel.
Early signs suggest that the Dark and Light Blues will be strong again in 2009, with a large portion of this year’s side still eligible to play on next season.
Exciting times are ahead at Assumption College.

Open your eyes Ivanhoe, Assumption College Kilmore has survived year after year on history and tradition alone. No player has ever been "payed" to wear the Dark and Light Blue. It is every boys dream who attends ACK to one day represent the First XVIII on the hallowed turf of the Carroll Oval, often described as the graveyard. In 50 years of competing in the AGSV Assumption has lost only 12 games here. In the 50 years of AGS affiliation the Dark and Light Blues have won 35 premierships.

Not wanting to bring up an old topic - but can we ban this Pro-Assumption rubbish for 2010.

Everyone in the AGSV knows that Assumption always "miraculously" goes from being the shittiest Yr7 , 8 and 9 easy-bet team, to having 18 players in Year 10 who can all play.

Don't care if they pay for scholarships or not, but they certainly "import" some good players to ensure they are competitive by the time they get to the 1st XVIII.
No home grown team can compete with 18 Vic Country standard players - it does not make a strong football school - just a laughing stock amongst those in the know.

and for that idiot who always boasts about how great Assumption are - maybe have a chat the kids from your Yr7,8 and 9 team who are now forced into the 2's or even worse, made to play table tennis for Winter sport.
Do they get told this when they enrol at Year 7 or earlier , that they will be kicked off the team ???

ACK - what a disgrace - and they boast about it !!!!

I recommend that all AGSV discussion exclude ACK, as they are not playing fairly. If ACK win the 2010 premiership, we just don't care, whoever comes second is the real winner.

Not wanting to bring up an old topic - but can we ban this Pro-Assumption rubbish for 2010.

Everyone in the AGSV knows that Assumption always "miraculously" goes from being the shittiest Yr7 , 8 and 9 easy-bet team, to having 18 players in Year 10 who can all play.

Don't care if they pay for scholarships or not, but they certainly "import" some good players to ensure they are competitive by the time they get to the 1st XVIII.
No home grown team can compete with 18 Vic Country standard players - it does not make a strong football school - just a laughing stock amongst those in the know.

and for that idiot who always boasts about how great Assumption are - maybe have a chat the kids from your Yr7,8 and 9 team who are now forced into the 2's or even worse, made to play table tennis for Winter sport.
Do they get told this when they enrol at Year 7 or earlier , that they will be kicked off the team ???

ACK - what a disgrace - and they boast about it !!!!

I recommend that all AGSV discussion exclude ACK, as they are not playing fairly. If ACK win the 2010 premiership, we just don't care, whoever comes second is the real winner.

Ill apologise to the junior sides myself mate. i know what you mean. its not assumptions fault that boys come to school to play football for their school and their mates. it really isnt fair is it?

its also amusing when you talk about the so called '18 vic country' players that assumption boast. they didnt have 1 last yr. only 1 vic metro player.
and he didnt play majority of the yr.

consistent premierships has to be the sign of a strong footballing school though. you agree?

my favourite part however is the part where you say that ack is playing unfairly. how? the school is the poorest in the whole agsv. how could they afford scholarships? there football budget would cover one scholarship to play football at another school.

Rmercadi - get your facts straight before you let loose buddy.

Ill apologise to the junior sides myself mate. i know what you mean. its not assumptions fault that boys come to school to play football for their school and their mates. it really isnt fair is it?

its also amusing when you talk about the so called '18 vic country' players that assumption boast. they didnt have 1 last yr. only 1 vic metro player.
and he didnt play majority of the yr.

consistent premierships has to be the sign of a strong footballing school though. you agree?

my favourite part however is the part where you say that ack is playing unfairly. how? the school is the poorest in the whole agsv. how could they afford scholarships? there football budget would cover one scholarship to play football at another school.

Rmercadi - get your facts straight before you let loose buddy.

They might be the poorest private school around (what is their ICSEA rating?) but the straight facts are their Year 7 , 8 and 9 A's are usually the easybeats of the AGSV.
Then miraculoulsy in Year 10 - a brand new team appears of giant overgrown kids who we have never seen before.

Just the straight facts mate - all AGSV footy players know this.

They's probably get away with it - except for the pathetic bragging on this forum.

Agsv