Agsv

They might be the poorest private school around (what is their ICSEA rating?) but the straight facts are their Year 7 , 8 and 9 A's are usually the easybeats of the AGSV.
Then miraculoulsy in Year 10 - a brand new team appears of giant overgrown kids who we have never seen before.

Just the straight facts mate - all AGSV footy players know this.

They's probably get away with it - except for the pathetic bragging on this forum.

I think someone here is extremely envious of their record and may have been on the receiving end of a hiding or two from the ACK boys??:p

broman, that's exactly my point. Wins by over 15 goals in Year 7,8 and 9 and then we lose by a couple against a totally different side in Year 10 (we did have our 2 Vic Metro players out, so will beat them this year or next year quite easily).

It is not difficult to import a new side to your school, and it certainly does not make is a "great Footy school" as some of the twats who post on here seem to think.

What makes a great Footy school is one that develops their players over 6 years.
ACK certainly does not do that.:eek:
Well speaking from experience of going to the school I know that from the first XIII that I played in only 7 or 8 were guys that came in around year 10 onwards. The rest were local lads or borders who had been at the school from the begining. ACK don't give scholarships away, people are attracted to the school because of its history. And also those that board have probably had grandfathers, fathers that have gone there as a legacy thing.
If you look back through since the Under 18 comp was introduced, how many from ACK have actually played in that comp. I would hazard a guess to say they would be lucky to have one or maybe two players each year. Comapred to other sides that are fortunate enough (ie PEGS, Xavier etc) to have alot more.

In your year it might have been 7 or 8 - but last years Year 10 side I reckon had a lot more new players.
To go from 15 - 20 goal losses to winning every game easily would take more then just a random addition of 8 players don't you think ???

Look, we all know PEG's add in a few scholarship players in latter years, Ivanhoe has a crack at this too - but what really shits me is the bloke who posts on here about the mighty lights blues and the "powerhouse" of footy and all this crapola about ACK.
If it wasn't for him, then no-one would care that much. We all hate arrogant w***ers.

In your year it might have been 7 or 8 - but last years Year 10 side I reckon had a lot more new players.
To go from 15 - 20 goal losses to winning every game easily would take more then just a random addition of 8 players don't you think ???

Look, we all know PEG's add in a few scholarship players in latter years, Ivanhoe has a crack at this too - but what really shits me is the bloke who posts on here about the mighty lights blues and the "powerhouse" of footy and all this crapola about ACK.
If it wasn't for him, then no-one would care that much. We all hate arrogant w***ers.
Agreed, better to win and do it graciously than gloat about it. It sounds like its a minority that do it, so not all ex-ACK people do it.

broman, that's exactly my point. Wins by over 15 goals in Year 7,8 and 9 and then we lose by a couple against a totally different side in Year 10 (we did have our 2 Vic Metro players out, so will beat them this year or next year quite easily).

It is not difficult to import a new side to your school, and it certainly does not make is a "great Footy school" as some of the twats who post on here seem to think.

What makes a great Footy school is one that develops their players over 6 years.
ACK certainly does not do that.:eek:

Mate i understand your frustration at this. However i will tell you now that, having played at assumption since year 8 which was in 2005, a year in which we finished on top, what your saying about easybeats is not always the case. In fact a few of the boys from that year went on to play 1's for the whole season last year and even years previous to that. These players include Garvey-Hawke, Comi, Talia, Traynor. However to address what u see as being unfair i can tell you that that assessment is in itself unfair. The majority of the schools that boys come from to attend Assumption in fact only go up to year 9 and 10 thus meaning that students must find an alternative school. In many cases students from these schools have relatives i.e. Fathers, Uncles and Grandfathers that attended Assumption and so it is logical that they also attend. As i am trying to be reasonable with you i ask that you please look at what i have said without tarnishing these facts with your pre-conceived ideas

Well said pannui couldn't have said it better myself... Not that Assumptions proud history needs defending from some person with too much of an opinion about things that they clearly have limited knowledge about... But Punnui i take my hat off too you well said...

Mentone Grammar won 3 summer sport premierships, possibly this relates to having a stronger team this year? I know some mentone boys and they can play footy. Possibly they are the underdogs gthis season?

who are the guns from mentone?..

i been talking to few ACK boys im told very strong this year. played calder cannons seconds team and looked good, and won by 22 with out prestia, talia, wright, dale, maric, all are guns.. seem to have alot of depth with a few new south wales boys tinkler, overs and also non tac players in toman, gorman.. may be hard to beat

Gee, you ACK boys are getting defensive.

Let's post my undisputable facts again.

It's still a fact that your Year 7,8, and 9 teams that started in Year 7 in 2005 WOULD HAVE STRUGGLED TO GET A GOAL PLAYING GIRLS NETBALL.
Then in 2009 for Year 10 a whole new side turns up and beats every other AGSV school.

So ACK is officially on the ignore list for 2010 - of the other schools who don't cheat, who do we think will do well ?
Mentone sound pretty strong. I heard PEGS have a bit of talent as well.

If ACK wins the premiership we have all decided we do not care - who ever comes after them is the true winner.

too all the people who think that assumption is cheating you are WRONG. Can you think of where assumption is possitioned. they dont get scholarships, and the school is easily one of the best schools in the area hence the reason why so many people move there in the later stages of they schooling life, so they can improve their education and get a better enter score. It may be the footballers go there to play football but thats not just the reason. It is good having them play, becasue it shows all the other teams what real football is about, it shows how the TAC cup is played and at a higher level, the ACK school team would get demolished by the teams and they are the best at AGSV level, it shows how good you have to be as a team to play well, ACK are just the bench mark, i go to one of the schools who aren't strong in the football areas and i look forward to everytime we play assumption and pegs becasue they are the better teams and shows that we have to play harder to win the ball, we get to play against real players unlike camberwell grammar who s-t-ruggle

Gee, you ACK boys are getting defensive.

Let's post my undisputable facts again.

It's still a fact that your Year 7,8, and 9 teams that started in Year 7 in 2005 WOULD HAVE STRUGGLED TO GET A GOAL PLAYING GIRLS NETBALL.
Then in 2009 for Year 10 a whole new side turns up and beats every other AGSV school.

So ACK is officially on the ignore list for 2010 - of the other schools who don't cheat, who do we think will do well ?
Mentone sound pretty strong. I heard PEGS have a bit of talent as well.

If ACK wins the premiership we have all decided we do not care - who ever comes after them is the true winner.

It's clear to everyone on this forum that you're in your own little world of jealousy and envy. You hate the fact that Assumption do well and try to justify it by making unsubstantiated rumours and lies. Maybe you went to a school that was on the other side of a few drubbings by the Dark and Light Blues and you still haven't been able to let it go. Now seeing as how you are clearly the 'one in the know' tell me who has been on a scholarship at Assumption. Not once on this forum have you actually stated anyone that has or is on a scholarship at Assumption. So lets hear those names. But of course seeing as how scholarships at Assumption are no-existent than i bet you would struggle to name 1. I tried to be reasonable with you last time and try and show you that maybe somewhere along the line you had been given some off info, but clearly your just one of those people that want to hate Assumption because you can't stand their success. Maybe you should be out their improving the school you go or went to instead of bad-mouthing a school with over 100 years of proud footballing tradition. Oh an by the way were you not listening when i said that in 2005 as a year 8 side we won all but 1 game with 16 of the 20 odd lads being from surrounding areas such as Wallan, Kilmore, Broadford, Wandong, Romsey, Craigiburn etc. But yeah we probably wouldn't have scored in the girls netball, because were I'm from the boys football team play exactly that, football.

Assumption will easily win AGSV and HSS competitions this year.
There pre season form has been great, easily beating Calder Cannons while misisng many top players. Good see blokes such as Dan Toman was able to carve the game up getting 34 posessions as he was a player to get dropped from the calder list. Will be very exciting to see a bloke like him feeding tall forwards Wright, Dale and Grenfell when they get back into attack. Grenfell apparently stared for Calder Cannons opening game. Midfield will be outstanding with prestia(calder), maric(knights), overs (GWS/NSW) and also young guns such as gorman and oconner will play a big role this year. The leadership team will be looking good with Tinkler in contention for captaincy after becoming a gun player last year.
Will be a very interesting year in AGSV, who will be able to break ACK's back to back premierships??

Assumption will easily win AGSV and HSS competitions this year.

Will be a very interesting year in AGSV, who will be able to break ACK's back to back premierships??

Will be very interesting on who comes second (the real winner).
I have heard that the other AGSV schools are going to ignore you cheating thieves and rest their good players against ACK as they have no interest in competing against an army of boarders/scholarship or whatever you call all of the imports.
So you might as well start claiming that the mighty puce light blue is the best in the world !!!!

We should start a competition for only students who were at the school in Year7 - that would really fix you cheats up.

Will be very interesting on who comes second (the real winner).
I have heard that the other AGSV schools are going to ignore you cheating thieves and rest their good players against ACK as they have no interest in competing against an army of boarders/scholarship or whatever you call all of the imports.
So you might as well start claiming that the mighty puce light blue is the best in the world !!!!

We should start a competition for only students who were at the school in Year7 - that would really fix you cheats up.

assuption dont have any programs to get players in,,
but if PEGS come second they will be the reall winners evan tho they actuly do hand out scholarships, this is what your saying..
that is a joke, boarders are a major part of our footy but they pay to come to ACK and what about the day students who make up the team,, prestia, talia, maric, ogilvie, smith, wright, taylor plus many mkore who make the team

Can you guys debating the merits of assumption football please leave the bickering for elsewhere.

As far as I know, the AGSV season begins in just over two weeks. How do people in the know feel the respective schools are coming along?

Anyone daring enough to back a certain side for a big finish this year?

Can you guys debating the merits of assumption football please leave the bickering for elsewhere.

As far as I know, the AGSV season begins in just over two weeks. How do people in the know feel the respective schools are coming along?

Anyone daring enough to back a certain side for a big finish this year?

um assuption are looking ok this year, playing some good footy in prac matches,, and look to be strong contenders, with alot of depth evan with out tac cup player. but the real test will come this wensday when assumption play pegs in the HSS, this will give a fair indication of to how the comption will be this year..

i think pegs will be ok this year but will depend heavly on josh toy, when he now playing it would be interesting to see how pegs go this year..
hopfully will be a big clash between these sides

unsure about other school in the AGSV

Trinity Grammar is in for a very long season. Their seconds lost by 187 points and the seniors lost by 120 points at the weekend against a very powerful St Kevins side.

Between the 2 sides they only scored 1 goal, with the seconds not scoring and the firsts 1 goal 2 behinds. You could count their inside 50’s for the 2 teams on one hand.

Worrying for Trinity is there lack of depth this has been clearly demonstrated in the efforts of their seconds side during pre-season.

A long year is ahead

yeah trinity didn't have their full team in though
Do you know who exactly was missing? I'm suprised at this result too, I would have thought Trinity had a few fairly decent players in there this year, surely will be a far different result come May 1.

That said, all it does serve to do is pump up the egos of those from the APS competition

Agsv