blues76

we're one-player reliant...FEV...
said if he falls down so does the whole team...

based on 2006 its true but i sure hope we can rectify this...

in the herald sun today...

Dont sound so shocked mate.. at the moment he is right, but in a few years when we get kennedy right and waite and fisher with more games under there belt we wont be.

plus the guys a nob, the other 9 vic teams can have him

Couldnt give a toss what he thinks.
wouldnt want him anyway.
Let the Bombers get some more washed up players who think they are bigger than their team and the game.

I am one of the few it seems, that actually likes Akermanis. I reckon he is a breath of fresh air in a ridiculously censored and sterile game. Having said that, there is NO chance Aker will be coming to Carlton next year, as the club doesn't need him or want him. So it's a moot point really.

i think the reality is that no club really wants him. and the fact that he is saying where he doesnt want to be next year. will just work against him in his chances of being drafted.
true that fev has been carrying the team for the year, but what kind of moron would refuse the opportunity to save his career, for that sole reason?
he is screwed. his best football is behind him, and i hope for nothing but silence of his name. forever

I like Akermanis, but his logic here is missing. He is keen to go to Essendon, which has Hird, who is much like Fevola.....in terms of the teams overall performance when the aforementioned players are firing.

i actually quite like aka and him fev and pagan would get along great and it'd be nice to have another experienced mifielder at the club, but if the club wants the youth policy to continue and the fact that he bags carlton is another thing that i wouldnt want to have around. Lets face it, whats he gunna do at any other club except bulldogs, melbourne or collingwood. It's not like hes gunna help us or essendon to a flag by the time he retires (next 2 yrs)

Corrosion said:
I like Akermanis, but his logic here is missing. He is keen to go to Essendon, which has Hird, who is much like Fevola.....in terms of the teams overall performance when the aforementioned players are firing.
Would probably rule out Collingwood given their reliance on Buckley. Richmond would be out of the picture as well because of their reliance on Richo. Would possibly fit in at Geelong because they have no-one that they can rely on.

Johnny_3 said:
i actually quite like aka and him fev and pagan would get along great and it'd be nice to have another experienced mifielder at the club, but if the club wants the youth policy to continue and the fact that he bags carlton is another thing that i wouldnt want to have around. Lets face it, whats he gunna do at any other club except bulldogs, melbourne or collingwood. It's not like hes gunna help us or essendon to a flag by the time he retires (next 2 yrs)

Wouldnt go as far to say that. Aker has some serious value left in him- he is one player that can still win matches off his own boot, and would be an outstanding asset for a club like Sydney, Richmond, Collingwood or St Kilda. Would put his clock at closer to 4 or 5 years, and would be ideal for a club like those aforementioned that is close to a flag.

His comments bewilder me for a number of reasons, mainly because he accuses Carlton of being one play reliant yet if you take a look at the other 15 teams you'll notice nearly each one has their champion player whom they regard highly, rely on and target heavily when in possession. Fair enough, i concede that we are overly reliant on Fev up forward, but with most of our other key forwards out through injury for most the year or those being inexperienced (ie. Kennedy) you'd naturally expect Fev to step up this year - which he has to his credit - and stand out amongst the team. What about Scotland, why is he so insignificant? He's had a stellar season also, or is the reason because he isn't taking up his space in the pages of the Herald Sun unlike a player like Fev?

In my opinion Aka is on an ego trip and part of the reason he doesn't want to go to a club with such a player personality as Fev is he doesn't want to fade into insignificance in terms of the media spotlight. I know this comment may be a bit outlandish or ignorant but by judging by his attitude off the field and in the media he reeks of nothing but arrogance. Don't get me wrong, by all means i'd love him at Carlton for his ability, but from a Brisbane Lions perspective i can understand why they felt the need to move him on. :thumbsu:

Aker is a good player.I think he is more suited to a team ready to go for a premiership rather than a team rebuilding.However it sounds like we havnt approached him and that has cut him up because in his mind every club should want him.

ackers no good to us guys......and to the scotland having a great year please check out his opponents stats!!!!! youll see he gets cut up week in weeek out,,although no where near as bad as stevens and kouta

i too like aka and think he can add value to whichever team he goes too

in a way he is right that carlton are a 1 option team and that option being fevola

IMO this is due to circumstances

kenedy is a 1st year player, so you can't expect him to carry the load just yet
waite has been injured
fisher has been injured
whitnall has been used in the backline to plug gaps until hartlett or bower are ready to play KP down back

waite is a lazy footballer, he doesn't have many 2nd and 3rd efforts in him, so this gives the midfields 1 less options

also our fwd don't lead to the right spots but this is a catch 22 situation
is it due to the fwds not working hard enough or the midfielders not kicking to the right spots?

add the fact our midfield gets beaten most weeks we are constantly under pressure and this makes it difficult to make the right decision every time and also makes it hard to execute passages of players to the teams benefit.

i wouldn't read too much into his comments, by the sounds of it carlton are not interested in him and this may be aka's way of saying
'how dare you not want me at your footy club'

the only reason aker doesnt want to go to a club that is "too focused on one player" is coz he doesnt want a competition to be that player, its so obvious that he wants to move to a club and become the centre of attention

Corrosion said:

Spot on. But the wrong player - no Loyd, no Essendon. Hird is important, but as their ladder position indicates, makes no great difference overall. It was Loyd hammie that shut the door on the Don's - really hope Aker does go there- They have got a really nice pension plan.

Next year I'd love to see us put Walker on him and watch Aka cry as Walker tears him a new one. And then we'll rejoice for being the fortunate team that couldn't give a toss about him any way.

In fact, I think someone from CFC should come out and go, Ummmm AKA we DONT want you now p'off.

ps: AKA show some respect to your fellow players in the competition. You're good but you aint the best although you had to do something drastic (open your mouth) as living in Voss's shadow would of been difficult.

jj1978 said:
Next year I'd love to see us put Walker on him and watch Aka cry as Walker tears him a new one. And then we'll rejoice for being the fortunate team that couldn't give a toss about him any way.

In fact, I think someone from CFC should come out and go, Ummmm AKA we DONT want you now p'off.

ps: AKA show some respect to your fellow players in the competition. You're good but you aint the best although you had to do something drastic (open your mouth) as living in Voss's shadow would of been difficult.

Walker has already torn him a new one - won't need to pay him that much respect next year.
"Fast players get slower, but tall players don't get any shorter"
The end comes quickly and for Aka, AFL is about to speed up rapidly.
Don't get me wrong - he's been great, but with these quick dashing types it tend to end in a thud. The Lions are more than aware of this and will be jumping for joy if they get a draft pick or some young kid for him.