bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
Ever hear this one (because I hear it all the time):

"I don't drink to get drunk"

Sure, I know plenty who have a beer or wine after work, a wine with dinner, or a beer after golf, or a few drinks at a work function and have no intention of getting drunk.

But these people are making blanket statements and implying when they go out on a Saturday night to a pub, or to a social gathering with friends they don't drink to get drunk. I call bullshit. I suspect these people do it to make themselves feel and appear a bit classier.

To me alcohol is a drug. It's use is (for the most part) getting drunk. Like many, I'll limit myself at work functions and on other occasions getting drunk is not doable: need to drive, need to get shit done.

But on a Fride or Sat night when I go to a pub, or friends house for a BBQ or social gathering, I know that i will be getting drunk. I intend to get drunk, i buy my drugs, and then i execute.

I just don't see a point of using a drug without regularly using it to feel the proper effects.

And yes, i know Barry Cooper goes home every night and has 3 beers and doesn't get drunk, and that's fine. But don't try and tell a guy who loves his beer this much isn't going out on the weekends and getting beer-muntered. (Unless he's a blouse and his wife has him under the thumb)

I just don't see a point of using a drug without regularly using it to feel the proper effects.
Taste?

Once you get to the age where sugar-packed stuff is too sickly sweet to enjoy on a regular basis, there aren't actually that many enjoyable alternatives that don't have alcohol in them.

Certain types of alcohol you'd have to be a moron to drink to get drunk. For example, anyone who drinks 15 year old single malt scotch to the point of getting plastered has way too much money.

I reckon 80-90% of the time I have a drink, the fact that it happens to be alcoholic is pretty incidental to the decision. In fact, most of the time it's more an inconvenience than a benefit (since I have to watch my intake if driving, etc.).

Australia has a culture of binge drinking, likewise the UK, where generally the aim when you go out to a pub or club is to get as hammered as possible and write yourself off.

I noticed in the US and some countries in Europe there isn't as much of a binge drinking culture. In the States you would often see people in bars just having a few drinks without the intention of getting shitfaced. I remember being at a bar in San Diego and there was a group of Aussies and Poms in one section of the bar all getting hammered and being all rowdy while the rest of the bar was yanks having a few quiet drinks and looking horrified at us yobbos. They can't understand how much we drink or why we write ourselves off just about everytime we drink.

Also made the mistake of getting in a round with some American blokes once and they would drink way too slowly, I had finished my beer and they had only taken a few sips. Had to get out of the round and just buy my own drinks or I wouldn't have gotten drunk at all.

I pretty much only drink beer.

Getting a hangover is rare (age, fitness, other variables). But it's a guaranteed no if I drink one type of alcohol: Even two types of beer can sometimes make me slightly headachey in the morning. I couldn't drink shots exclusively all night, but I can drink the same beer all night no worries.

On top of that, I see Jim Beam and Bunderberg Rum as totally awful and have connotations as a bogan drink.

I'll have a beer at the end of a day. This is probably twice or so a week. Aside from that, I drink to get drunk.

I go sober for a few weeks every couple of months to knock my tolerance down to make it easier to get drunk.

Depends what you define as drunk. Do you want to feel the effects of alcohol, do you want to be rolling around on the floor, do you want spew everywhere and pass out? (I'll pass on the later 2)

I tell people the same thing (drink to get drunk) and they say it's alcoholism and I can't stop at one. I tell them stopping at one isn't the purpose of drinking alcohol, after all I'm not drinking it for the taste.

I just drink, I tend to take to beer like a fat kid to a packet of lollies, it's often very hard to stop, particularly when drinking with mates. If I get drunk, so be it, if I don't so be it. I don't have any regrets about any things I have done whilst drunk, except for a time overseas when I destroyed a hostel bed with vomit.

I try to stay away from champagne, vodka, red wine and beers chock full of preservatives as the hangovers can get quite nasty.

Depends what you define as drunk. Do you want to feel the effects of alcohol, do you want to be rolling around on the floor, do you want spew everywhere and pass out? (I'll pass on the later 2)
I was going to post the same thing. Some people who have a couple of drinks just to loosen up don't class that as getting drunk.

I don't know from personal experience, since I've never had a single drink in my life, but most people I know just drink to get drunk. One guy in particular just smashes them down continuously until he's completely gone.

I don't drink. It does make it harder to socialise because all of my mates do. That said, I wouldn't change it for the world because while i'm off studying, buying new cars, buying a house etc. They are stumbling through Uni with no sense of direction, pissing their earnings up the wall.

All of this aside, I did drink once upon a time and had great fun but I just decided I didn't need it and haven't looked back.

I don't drink. It does make it harder to socialise because all of my mates do. That said, I wouldn't change it for the world because while i'm off studying, buying new cars, buying a house etc. They are stumbling through Uni with no sense of direction, pissing their earnings up the wall.

All of this aside, I did drink once upon a time and had great fun but I just decided I didn't need it and haven't looked back.

But if your in Uni, that's the time to drink and have a bit of fun before the monotonous life of full time work takes over. Enjoy Uni while it lasts and enjoy the free time you get. No point depriving yourself of fun at this point in your life

Alcohol: the cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.

There have been so many threads made about alcohol on this board over the years. Do a thread search, there's heaps. It would be very interesting to see how many of them were made on a Sunday. And how many were made by posters who no longer post here.

As for me, sometimes I drink to get drunk.

Other times I drink to get tipsy but end up drunk anyway.

I can't recall the last time I drank alcohol 'just for the taste'. Taste alone isn't a good enough reason for me to put this evil drug in my body. If I'm going to imbibe the devil's drink, I want my state of consciousness to be altered as a result.

I don't know from personal experience, since I've never had a single drink in my life, but most people I know just drink to get drunk. One guy in particular just smashes them down continuously until he's completely gone.

I have mates like that.

One is a massive lightweight who will get smashed off a pint, will keep nursing three drinks (which he buys simultaneously) for 40 minutes, stumble down to the bar and grab another three, somehow manages not to spill shit everywhere or get beaten upon, then nurses that shit for another hour.

There have been so many threads made about alcohol on this board over the years. Do a thread search, there's heaps. It would be very interesting to see how many of them were made on a Sunday. And how many were made by posters who no longer post here.

I can't recall the last time I drank alcohol 'just for the taste'. Taste alone isn't a good enough reason for me to put this evil drug in my body. If I'm going to imbibe the devil's drink, I want my state of consciousness to be altered as a result.

Interesting point of view.

To answer the OP; I generally drink to get drunk.

If I'm out for dinner or something I'll have a glass of beer for the taste (generally a more expensive beer though); but mainly I want to get a solid buzz on for the night.

People can always tell when going to have a big night, because I'll drink spirits.

Won't touch them unless I want to get messy.. or on a diet.

I drink to get drunk most of the time if I'm out and only rarely stop at just 1 or 2 beers, but I never drink to a ridiculous level. I mean I drink a fair bit but I've never understood why someone would drink to the point of spewing and not being able to walk properly.

I think people confuse 'not drinking to get drunk' with 'drinking with the intention of staying sober (generally enough to drive a car)'.

I quite often have a beer with a meal at a restaurant or a pint or 2 after work and that's it, and I quite often do the same then continue on and wake up 6 hours later wondering why my wallet is empty and I have kebab stains on my shirt. On the other hand I never go out with the mindset of 'I must drink as much as I can as quick as I can for the sake of it'.

I like the taste of the alcoholic drinks that I buy, but by the same token I like the taste of coke and chocolate milkshakes also - and I'm not going to go out at night and 10 of either of those.:D

I don't do it any more, because I just can't be arsed with writing off the next day to a hangover. So these days I often have a beer or a wine with no intention at all of getting drunk.

Back in my uni days I remember having a conversation with a chick one night where she gave me the old "I drink this (whatever it was) not because I want to get drunk but because I enjoy the taste" I'm so mature wank wank bullshit. I replied "Yeah well, I'm drinking this beer to get really pissed". Later that night I had her screaming and moaning in seventeen different positions.*

*Last sentence may contain no traces of truth