Family & Relationships Alone Time

• Thread starter Thread starter JimDocker

Me and the missus get a fair bit. She generally goes to bed before me so i get an hour or 2 at night. She gets Saturday arvo's when i'm playing cricket, and during winter i often get a couple hours on Thursday nights when she does Zumba. But even so, sometimes when we're both home we might still zone off, ie if she wants to watch Gossip Girl or some other dumb shit like that, i'll go into the computer room. Or same deal if i'm watching footy or F1's.

One thing we don't really see eye to eye on though is how to spend days that we have off. She considers a day well spent to be going out or doing work around the house. I consider a day well spent to be sitting on my arse playing video games or watching movies.

Alone time is underated, i love hanging out with mates just as much the next guy but after more than 24 hours of their presence i need to just have 3-6 hours where i can do sweet ****-all and do what i want......even if that means just surfing bigfooty or watching cheesy tv

I made a rule years ago that one week of my four weeks annual leave was mine to spend alone.

I generally pack the trail bike and surfboard and camp on a remote beach somewhere (out of mobile phone range). I just chill out, read a book, ride the bike, fish, surf and sit around the fire, keeps me sane for the rest of the year.

This was a condition I put to the missus when we first started dating, two years into marriage, she still fully endorses it and according to her, she always will (yeah, I know but one can hope).

Lock it in now, you won't regret it.

l love alone time l work mostly nights the missus works normal day hours works out well really but the inlaws have moved in there building a house down the road its going to be a long 7 months.

Add another 3-4 months on that champ due to council delays, weather causing delays, contractors causing delays and about 30 other things that seem to **** with you when you're trying to build a house.

Another thread about a house mate spending all of his time in his bedroom led me to wonder about spending time alone.

Do we get enough alone time to relax and do our own thing? Do any of you want more time alone?

I guess I am thinking about people in relationships that may be overbearing at times.

Personally, I have the balance about right. I am very happily married and enjoy spending time with my wife and my little boy, but my wife is very understanding about us both having our own lives, so we get out on our own or with our own friends often enough. She is going out for dinner on Thursday and I am looking forward to it. Having the house to myself (once my boy is in bed).

I know what you mean Jimbo.
Living where we do makes it harder, I think. I'm trying to encourage my wife to get out in the evenings when she's in the city for work, and I get the footy days etc.
Also really enjoy the days when she takes the kids and I get to potter around the garden, do some planting, have a lazy lunch, a sleep in the arvo, a few drinks etc.
The hardest stuff for us is to actually get some time together without the kids.

l love alone time l work mostly nights the missus works normal day hours works out well really but the inlaws have moved in there building a house down the road its going to be a long 7 months.

500full.jpg