Andrew Eccles

Really rated this guy in his time at the Crows, and thought the Blues did very nicely to snap him up pretty cheaply (at the time) in October 2001. Didn't go on to make a splash at Princes Park. What went wrong in his time at Adelaide after a pretty bright start?

Blight loved him and gave him plenty of opportunities including the 1998 finals series as a teenager. Ayers hated him and never played him. He went backwards at pace, lost form in the SANFL (switched clubs from memory) and got traded.

He did nothing at Carlton which I guess shows that Ayers was correct in his judgment but, like you, I liked what I saw of Eccles early on and reckon we missed out on a good player.

I'll extend this to a few other Crows from the 97-02 era, seeing as I'm at it after finding Eccles' stats.rleague page. James Thiessen - such a star in 1998, what next? James Byrne, a VFL star with the Cats. Byron Benke (sp?). Matthew Connell (why'd he get dumped so unceromoniously at the end of 2000? Ditto Brett James. Both players were typical of what made you so good in 97-98). Michael Handby - was talked up in the Herald Sun leading up to the 2000 Draft. Went to Adelaide. Didn't play a game. What happened? Was touted as a 10-yr CHB. Cheeers.

Thanks Carl. Reckon he had a lot going for him. Very tidy, clever player. Got some pretty big publicity circa early 1998. Jarman and McLeod aside, he and Thiessen are the players I remember most when I think of the Crows flag side of '98.

I'll throw a few more names out there - not necessarily duds, or anything, but names which don't get spoken about too often these days - Mark Stevens: STAR. Good overhead on the lead, nice kick at goal, flew under the radar. Had one brilliant season (2002? I think?). Injuries got him in the end? Evan Hewitt? Andrew Crowell? Ta. :)

I'll extend this to a few other Crows from the 97-02 era, seeing as I'm at it after finding Eccles' stats.rleague page. James Thiessen - such a star in 1998, what next? James Byrne, a VFL star with the Cats. Byron Benke (sp?). Matthew Connell (why'd he get dumped so unceromoniously at the end of 2000? Ditto Brett James. Both players were typical of what made you so good in 97-98). Michael Handby - was talked up in the Herald Sun leading up to the 2000 Draft. Went to Adelaide. Didn't play a game. What happened? Was touted as a 10-yr CHB. Cheeers.

Handby still players here. When drafted he went in the mini draft and I believe to Glenelg, he ended up at South and he is still there. Doesn't set the world alight but does OK.

The interesting thing about Handby is what was said after drafting him 'he is Laurence Angwin's best mate'. lessons learnt: Angwin = trouble and don't pick blokes to keep the star recruit happy and hope he stays in adelaide. Turns out Handby did that but he's nothing to great. He's just not a great size.

Thanks Carl. Reckon he had a lot going for him. Very tidy, clever player. Got some pretty big publicity circa early 1998. Jarman and McLeod aside, he and Thiessen are the players I remember most when I think of the Crows flag side of '98.

I'll throw a few more names out there - not necessarily duds, or anything, but names which don't get spoken about too often these days - Mark Stevens: STAR. Good overhead on the lead, nice kick at goal, flew under the radar. Had one brilliant season (2002? I think?). Injuries got him in the end? Evan Hewitt? Andrew Crowell? Ta. :)

Crowelly was cut down with a knee, delisted whilst still recovering, went back to SANFL. Now he does a host of things, including prematch boundary work at AAMI for Crows games, he does work for SANFL and I see him kicking around the Riverside Centre with Kris Massie during the week, public servant gig.

Turbo went home, I loved him as a footballer gave his all and was a great swap for Jason McCartney, everyone won. He was a true warrior for us. I think he might now be in WA.

I wasn't a huge wrap for Eccles, he had a small but tall forward thing going on, I always thought he was a little soft to be honest and slow from hand to foot, or at least he always looked painfully slow due to his action.

Really rated this guy in his time at the Crows, and thought the Blues did very nicely to snap him up pretty cheaply (at the time) in October 2001. Didn't go on to make a splash at Princes Park. What went wrong in his time at Adelaide after a pretty bright start?

He did his cruciate ligament in the 1999 Gieschen's Richmond 'singin in the rain' game, but he was just as inconsistent before the injury as he was after it.

Always thought he was a classic case of premiership passengerdom (see Justin Blumfield, etc) despite being quite hyped at the time - Gerard Healy in particular loved him.

If you go back and watch the 1998 Grand Final there's a moment in the second quarter(?) where he is completely clear on the wing/HFF only to grubber a kick 15m to no-one. While anyone can be capable of a real WTF-moment, it's an exclamation mark on the theory that his ability just never matched his early reputation.

Adelaide even managed to bend the SANFL mini draft rules to make sure Handby went to the same club as Angwin.

Handby is a decent quality SANFL player but hes never looked an AFL player.

Bryan Beinke was a CHF in a short mans body. Only 185cm tall. He could get away with playing at CHF at SANFL and dominate, but he was never going to dominate at AFL level considering his lack of height and lack of pace. Was originally drafted to Geelong back in 93 but never went across. Then played in Ports 96 flag as a consistent back pocket, was drafted to NM as a rookie. Went across for a year then came back to the Magpies in 1998. He looked set to be an SANFL back pocket/3rd tall in defence type until the turning point of his career 2 weeks before the SA v WA state game where he was thrown to CHF and kicked 4 second half goals. He stayed there for the rest of the year and simply blitzed the competition with his strong marking and straight kicking. Ended up leading the Magpies goalkicking in half a year, won the clubs best and fairest, was close to BOG in the state game and was the major key of the Port Magpies winning the flag from the elimination final...kicking an equal record of finals series goals.

He retired at the end of 2002 in the AFL, then he played at the Magpies again in 2003 as part of a well talked about 3 pronged attack of Beinke, Justin Plapp and Paul Evans. Kicked 40 goals for the year but retired at the end of that season. Is now an assistant coach under Bassett at Norwood.

Think we can throw Connell/James into the 'hated by Ayres' category too...

Don't have much to say about Thiessen/Byrne/Eccles - I think we got the best out of these guys then moved them on.

I always thought Bryan Beinke was a bit of a KPP trapped in a midfielder's body and could've been an excellent key forward if he was 5-10cm taller. Retired really early (like 27/28 from memory), think injuries played a part.

Handby??? Not unusual for highly rated young KPP's to disappear into nothingness, especially here!

Stevens was great and robbed of a better career by injuries.

There was something I always liked about Crowell, but he never seemed to do enough. Did a knee in 2003 and that was that.

Hewitt...massive meh factor.

I always thought Crowell had a lot of Pav about him. Great body for AFL, great pace, big kick. Just never really did enough, and he had plenty of chances.

You guys are the best, loving this nostalgia. The inner Bruce McAvaney is enjoying this. :p

Port fans - Paul Evans got mentioned, he kicked (I think) six goals in six games? Think he had at least one decent game in 1998 (the game Tredrea kicked eight vs the Blues and did his knee cap? R8 at Optus?) - what happened to him? Always thought of him as the perfect foil for Tredrea. :p ;)

Nathan Steinburner.

Derek Murray - won the Morrish Medal, I think.

Paul Kouloriotis (sp). High draft pick. Remember watching his first game (vs WB in 2000 at Footy Park). Was low profile until bobbing up on the Cats list circa 2004.

Donald Dickie, Darryl Poole (blind in one eye, ponytail and all), Brent Heaver (dished off after two years, had a good record at Melb-Carl), Paul Geister (still got him in my sticker album from 1997), and any others you care to name? Cheers.

Ditto Crows fans. Any other players? Mark Viska, Sean Tasker (now with MMM, I heard?), Brent Williams (definitely him - think he had one decent game with you guys in '97 before being shipped off to Melbourne), Clay Sampson (no dud), etc? :)

Crowell had a lot of things going for him, athletic, quick, good kick, but he was too tall for a runner and too short for a true KPP, he was just monstered when at FF and didn't have the tricks that a Welsh had even tho a similar size.

Bryan Beinke Captain Coached South Warrnambool in the Hampden League where he starred for 4 years after leaving the Crows, think he's still playing for the Timboon Demons in the Warrnambool League.....

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/beinke-boon-recruit/story-e6frf9jo-1111115990168

Beinke boon recruit
  • <LI class="byline first ">Amelia Harris <LI class="source ">
  • April 07, 2008 12:00AM

FORMER Adelaide Crow Bryan Beinke starred on debut for the Timboon Demons, kicking five goals in their 106-point win against Deakin Uni on Saturday.

Beinke joined the Demons in the Warrnambool and District League after a four-year stint as playing coach at South Warrnambool in the Hampden Football League.
Five clubs - Port Fairy, North Warrnambool Eagles, Russells Creek, South Rovers and the Demons - were in the running for 32-year-old Beinke's signature.
Timboon president Michael Hunt said Beinke was terrific in his first game.
"If he kicked straight yesterday he could have kicked 10," Hunt said.
"You often hear that you get big time footballers and some of them can have attitude.
"He's just a nice sort of a fella and that's what all the young blokes are saying. There (are) no airs and graces about him."

You guys are the best, loving this nostalgia. The inner Bruce McAvaney is enjoying this. :p

Port fans - Paul Evans got mentioned, he kicked (I think) six goals in six games? Think he had at least one decent game in 1998 (the game Tredrea kicked eight vs the Blues and did his knee cap? R8 at Optus?) - what happened to him? Always thought of him as the perfect foil for Tredrea. :p ;)

Nathan Steinburner.

Paul Kouloriotis (sp). High draft pick. Remember watching his first game (vs WB in 2000 at Footy Park). Was low profile until bobbing up on the Cats list circa 2004.

Donald Dickie, Darryl Poole (blind in one eye, ponytail and all), Brent Heaver (dished off after two years, had a good record at Melb-Carl), Paul Geister (still got him in my sticker album from 1997), and any others you care to name? Cheers.

Ditto Crows fans. Any other players? Mark Viska, Sean Tasker (now with MMM, I heard?), Brent Williams (definitely him - think he had one decent game with you guys in '97 before being shipped off to Melbourne), Clay Sampson (no dud), etc? :)

Paul is still dating a friend of mines daughter, well pretty sure they are still together and in Melbourne.

Clay Sampson I rated, came back to play for South Adelaide, was captain and then stupidly put himself up to coach. Death knell with that lot. They'd make Ghandi top himself.

Donald Dickie is still coaching in the lower levels at Sturt I think, certainly was up until recently, was Reserves coach or assistant IIRC.

Nathan Steinburner.

Onion Head :D

Port ones are probably best for the Port board but in short:

Paul Evans - Kicked 8 goals in the Teal Cup Final in 95 and was one of the 4 Port AAs that year (Tredrea, Carr and Burgoyne the other 3). Was one of our big hopes but just never eventuated. Had some niggly injuries and had plenty of raw talent but never developed above being a reasonable SANFL player, where he won 1 flag in 99. Looked great in a match against Freo in 98 and was given plenty of chances in the PS of 2000 but never took them. Went away after being delisted for a couple of years before returning tot he Magpies. Kicked 8 goals in Round 1 2006, then did his knee the next week and iirc, didnt play again, had plenty of follow up issues with his knee. Just one of those talented guys that didnt go on with it

Steinberner - Was a 'from the heart' pick by Stewart for Ports first squad. Too small and not skillful enough for AFL, although he had a very good SANFL career, winning a Jack Oatey Medal for BOG in a GF and played in most of Centrals flags in the noughties.

Murray - He wont he U18s medal yeah. Was quick and nippy but his major issue was he couldnt keep his ****ing feet, and he always burned the ball. Watching him was a major cause of my premature balding I feel.

Dickie - Mature age recruit from Norwood. Wasnt exactly a great player before making Ports list and shocked everyone with his form in 97 and for half of 98. Then went back to his normal form. Was blasted by the club and the media against the Bulldogs in 99 when he very badly shirked a contest which cost Port a goal and ultimately his AFL career. Has been an assistant coach at a couple of clubs, including currently Sturt i believe

Darryl Poole - Big Pooley. One of my favourite players. Great bloke and always had a huge influence over games either up forward or in the ruck. Missed 2 Port flags through suspension in Prelim Finals. Won Jack Oatey Medal in 99 which was meant to be his last game, as he retired to look after his ill wife. Came back and captained the Port Magpies in the early noughties, but did his knee and struggled to recapture his prior form. Not good enough for AFL level but is one of the most influential SANFL players from the 90s.

Brent Heaver - Hopeless. Not sure what he did after being delisted.

Paul Geister - Played in a flag or two at Centrals, not sure what hes doing now.

Sean Tasker - Always liked him as a player. Could have won the Crows into a GF in 93 had he kicked straight in the 2nd semi. Viska as well was a good player. Sampson was captain at South Adelaide and was controversially made coach, then dumped as coach (as only South can do).

I always thought Bryan Beinke was a bit of a KPP trapped in a midfielder's body and could've been an excellent key forward if he was 5-10cm taller. Retired really early (like 27/28 from memory), think injuries played a part.

genius contested mark, pound for pound as good as anyone in the AFL.

Forgot Koula....had a heap of injury troubles at Port, missed most of 01 with injury but just wasnt good enough to break into Ports dominant sides.

Paul Evans - Kicked 8 goals in the Teal Cup Final in 95 and was one of the 4 Port AAs that year (Tredrea, Carr and Burgoyne the other 3). Was one of our big hopes but just never eventuated. Had some niggly injuries and had plenty of raw talent but never developed above being a reasonable SANFL player, where he won 1 flag in 99. Looked great in a match against Freo in 98 and was given plenty of chances in the PS of 2000 but never took them. Went away after being delisted for a couple of years before returning tot he Magpies. Kicked 8 goals in Round 1 2006, then did his knee the next week and iirc, didnt play again, had plenty of follow up issues with his knee. Just one of those talented guys that didnt go on with it

worked in his own business after that, used to maintain my air-con for me, always used to throw things at him jokingly when on my roof in the hope he'd fall off and not get a kick :D

he sold that business and I think does financial planning or life insurance these days, remember thinking it was a big change.

A couple of random memories about these guys... Eccles - the grubber kick on the left foot in the 98 GF as mentioned above.

Thiessen another one from the 98 GF, kicked an absolutely cracking goal from the boundary in the first quarter, but it got called back as he had carried it over the line. From the resultant throw in, Darren Jarman kicked a brilliant snap goal. Thankyou footy gods. I think Thiessen lives up in Queensland now.

I loved Clay Sampson, got injured in the 97 GF and kicked the winning goal in a pre-season game against Richmond once. Just remember I liked him, don't know why.

James Byrne - inherited the #6 from Mods and we always used to say you know the sting is out of the game when James Byrne comes on. This was back before a million interchanges every 3 minutes.

Chad Rintoul is another pretty random premiership player for us. Is remembered as better than he really was, largely because of the unfortunate manner in which he ended his career. Was truly a rubbish kick, but will live fondly in my heart for an attempted pass in the 97 GF (possibly to Shane Ellen) that just cleared everyone and bounced through the goalsquare and through for a goal.

he always used to come on like a house on fire. He was like the dude on the outside of the ring that would finally get tagged in when they are all on their last legs and run in and clean house, lots or exuberance, maximum effort and messy.

He had an absolute cracking period in the final against Geelong in 97, was dead set unstoppable but lets face it, by the same token ..... kinda rubbish. He always reminded me of a much less skilful Peter Vardy.

Still goes down with one of the best after match quotes "mate this is better than sex" :D

I loved Clay Sampson, got injured in the 97 GF and kicked the winning goal in a pre-season game against Richmond once. Just remember I liked him, don't know why.

Urban myth had it that Sampson was the guy who scuttled our trade to get the pick that would have landed us Ryan Fitzgerald (not the second time, but from the draft). The deal was apparently set and Clay was headed to Collingwood but he refused to go.

genius contested mark, pound for pound as good as anyone in the AFL.

Good player for the club, particularly in the post-Modra afterglow where we had almost no forward options (Adam Richardson even got two games FFS).

Too small to be a key forward, too slow to be a small forward. But great hands.