Andrew Raines

Truetiger said:
Well i dont see the likes of Tambling, Rodan, Foley , Meyer playing in the back line which is were raines will be.

Mark my words he will be in the starting 22 in round 1.
Certainly will be watching on with interest

If Chaffey/Tivendale get a guernsey ahead if the young Raines i for one will have a fair dose of schit on the liver .

Time to move on and young Andrew had earnt first crack for mine

Quote fro bleIgh:
Wouldn't hurt a Tambling or Meyer to play in the backline this season.
They'd take to it alot better than on a wing or the forward line.
Much easier to play with the ball comming towards you rather than having to create the play.
;;;;;;;;;;;;
this guy really does smack of a total lack of intelligence re playing football, mate have you ever played the game? your tired ramblings are that of a frustrated coach who could never get a kick, who said it is easier to play with the ball comeing towards you, have you not heard that in footy you get the ball any which way, you have strategy and game play....we are trying to teach these kids but you really have no idea about the game

Bentleigh said:
He'd get alot more of the pill and find it easier going off a back flanker rather than the forward line.
BUT terry this preseason has tended to play him more forward if he isnt on the wing.. and beleive me bentliegh if terry wanted to he could groom meyer to be the next brown.. has awesome skills his pace and especially his turn of pace.. if theres no room in the midfield he has the potential to be a great small forward

- cairo tiger

It's much easier to find the ball in the backline that it is the forward line. This is such a simple and correct notion that I'll leave it here.

- jackson_rules

Regardless of where you want the kids to finsh up it doesn't mean you have to play them in that postion from the get go. No doubt there are bigger plans for Meyer/Tambling than a back pocket yet most kids are not Deledio/Judd and cannot dominate in the guts/forward line from day 1.

Hodge in the backline, Reiwoldt as a key defender as in their early days as prime examples.

ok so we are gunna develop, meyer, tambling, hartigan and raines all in defence.. so you reckon maybe meyer FB tambling perhaps CHB :rolleyes: not all players belong in the backline mate meyer AND tambling have both showed they can play up forward and in limited time down back both have struggled, do you follow the team bentleigh

cairo tiger said:
Quote fro bleIgh:
Wouldn't hurt a Tambling or Meyer to play in the backline this season.
They'd take to it alot better than on a wing or the forward line.
Much easier to play with the ball comming towards you rather than having to create the play.
;;;;;;;;;;;;
this guy really does smack of a total lack of intelligence re playing football, mate have you ever played the game? your tired ramblings are that of a frustrated coach who could never get a kick, who said it is easier to play with the ball comeing towards you, have you not heard that in footy you get the ball any which way, you have strategy and game play....we are trying to teach these kids but you really have no idea about the game

Yes been laughing about this for a day now CT. Bentleigh shows no idea how to play. Regardless of whether you are in the backline or the forward line the ball is still coming towards you from gthe centre or the wings. The only difference is that a backman has to get it and keep running in the same direction whereas a forward has to get it and turn towards goals.

RHAS said:
Yes been laughing about this for a day now CT. Bentleigh shows no idea how to play. Regardless of whether you are in the backline or the forward line the ball is still coming towards you from gthe centre or the wings. The only difference is that a backman has to get it and keep running in the same direction whereas a forward has to get it and turn towards goals.

Oh my...

RHAS said:

not quite the same my friend, if your in the F50 then you need to make the play to both make the space and attract the ball........ in defence it comes down to an ability to read the play as the ball travels the field...good forwards are generally a different beast to a dour defender and vice versa...:thumbsu:

Has a very good head on his shoulders (cue froars and Julz).

The kid rarely makes a bad decision and has fantastic vision (I could make a joke about this ruling froarsy out!). Seems to always find a man on his own, or at least never kicks to a contest in which we are outnumbered. Will be a very good contributor for a long time. My feeling is that with Raines, Newman and Hartigan back there, and hopefully with Tambling coming to the party soon we will have a very good running rebounding defence for a long time.

jake said:
Has a very good head on his shoulders (cue froars and Julz).

The kid rarely makes a bad decision and has fantastic vision (I could make a joke about this ruling froarsy out!). Seems to always find a man on his own, or at least never kicks to a contest in which we are outnumbered. Will be a very good contributor for a long time. My feeling is that with Raines, Newman and Hartigan back there, and hopefully with Tambling coming to the party soon we will have a very good running rebounding defence for a long time.

Chuck in the like of Hyde, JON and co. and you sence its the start of the type of side Wallace is wanting to build.

Bentleigh said:
Chuck in the like of Hyde, JON and co. and you sence its the start of the type of side Wallace is wanting to build.

Hyde is a steady player, he kicked a goal on the run after a few teammates had missed that was a real steadying influence. I just feel he is at a precarious stage in his career because I don't think he is going to get much better and he is not particularly fast, strong or damaging with the pill. I think Hyde and Foley are playing for one place.

Hyde looks more of a winger than Foley he strikes me as an extrator type. Don't think they are gunning for the same spot.

Hyde was one of our best last night, thought he was very good. I reckon he is getting close to that pre-head injury 2005 form when he was flying.

Bentleigh said:
Hyde looks more of a winger than Foley he strikes me as an extrator type. Don't think they are gunning for the same spot.

Hyde was one of our best last night, thought he was very good. I reckon he is getting close to that pre-head injury 2005 form when he was flying.

I'm not really talking positionally, I'm talking about Wallace carrying a smaller, not particularly quick, not particularly damaging player with good footy smarts as his main redeeming feature. IMO we have several younger players who could do Hyde's job, but if continues to play well it will make the decision difficult. On the other hand, Foley has absolutely zero trade value at the moment, which in the context of list dynamics may be his saviour.

kretchy said:
I'm a bit of a fan. But because he doesn't have super pace, IMO he needs to develop a left side because at this stage he doesn't have the pace, evasive ability or strength to be able to find his right foot everytime.

I am a big wrap for the kid - some of the things he does reminds me of his old man who i was a HUGE fan of. Kretchy, i suggest you change to Team Federer - Nadal is not in the same class - of course thats only my opinion. GO TIGES

mrs_richo said:
I am a big wrap for the kid - some of the things he does reminds me of his old man who i was a HUGE fan of. Kretchy, i suggest you change to Team Federer - Nadal is not in the same class - of course thats only my opinion. GO TIGES
Change my pre-season quote of being a bit of a fan, to being a huge fan.

Federer is turning into Rafa's bitch another win against him last week in Monte-Carlo makes the head-to-head record 4-1 Nadal's way.

With all due respect to the greatest man of all, the No4 has always been the best number to have on the back of your footy jumper. My old man bought me one when Royce Hart wore it, and it never came off thanks to Geoff Raines.

After years of hiding thanks to a certain dud called Matthew Rogers, one can wear the number 4 again with pride.

This kid is sensational. Tough, brave and smart. Makes it all the sweeter that his old man was a Richmond legend.

And get Malthouse's nepotistic kids off the tv. Or at least stick a mo on her

jake said:
Hyde is a steady player, he kicked a goal on the run after a few teammates had missed that was a real steadying influence. I just feel he is at a precarious stage in his career because I don't think he is going to get much better and he is not particularly fast, strong or damaging with the pill. I think Hyde and Foley are playing for one place.

strange remark to amke when they are quite different players...Hyde is a run and carry player...essential part of modern midfield...whereas Foley is in/under type wins contested ball....the only similarities are they both wear a tigers jumper...:confused:

kretchy said:
Change my pre-season quote of being a bit of a fan, to being a huge fan.

Federer is turning into Rafa's bitch another win against him last week in Monte-Carlo makes the head-to-head record 4-1 Nadal's way.

Maybe so kretchy but not for long. Getting back to the subject of Rainesy, he sometimes gives me flashbacks back to the old days when his dad was playing. I just hope fellow tigers fans dont put pressure on him because of Geoff.

Bojangles17 said:
strange remark to amke when they are quite different players...Hyde is a run and carry player...essential part of modern midfield...whereas Foley is in/under type wins contested ball....the only similarities are they both wear a tigers jumper...:confused:
dw ive read ALOT of jakes post and none of them make sense i think he rates people on there height and weight:confused:

1980 said:
With all due respect to the greatest man of all, the No4 has always been the best number to have on the back of your footy jumper. My old man bought me one when Royce Hart wore it, and it never came off thanks to Geoff Raines.

After years of hiding thanks to a certain dud called Matthew Rogers, one can wear the number 4 again with pride.
Hear hear. No 4 is the number I have held in highest regard in my lifetime and young Rainsey is doing it proud.

Andrew Raines