Marc Shmurf 3

Melb Victory, Storm, Juve
hey guys, thought on Anton getting drafted this year. watched a fair bit of him as a junior, then he did his knee and i havent seen much of him since.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance

Diamond Creek to the Northern Knights he has been playing quite well for the Northern Knights, but lacks height to get drafted, he wasnt picked for Vic Metro aswell, dont really know a whole alot about him.

i played agaisnt him as a junior and he was lighting quick and won heaps of the ball. i remember the rumour was that he was too small to be drafted and then only a few weeks later he did his knee which must of shattered his confidence a lot. creidt to him though thart he has made it back and i thnik he will be rookie listed

Congrats go to Anton, well done mate after what you have been through.

Any other results Sezzac1, coaches award, team of the year, etc?

Anton won the coaches award also.

TOTY was something like (going purely from memory, so may be a couple of mistakes).

Nash Carlisle McCullum
Hooper Tighe Cunnington
Rayner Woods Bastinac
Rohan Butcher Hoegel
McNeil McDonald ?
Smith Scully Martin

Parker Lambert Casboult Dyson

I wrote this in early July.

Woods is a tiny inside midfielder who is in his second season with the Northern Knights under 18’s squad. He stands at just 170 cm tall but what he lacks in height he makes up for with his hard running ability and his intense attack on the Football.
Woods’s ability to read the ball off the Ruckman’s hands in and around the stoppage area is one of the many positive facets he possesses.
His field kicking efficiency however is one area of his game that he will need to work on if he is to have a successful career at the top level. When running and carrying the football he has a very precise and penetrating kick, but under pressure he seems to rush the ball onto his foot when trying to clear the area instead of spotting up a target. He does however have super quick hands and he uses them to great effect. This year Woods has handballed the ball exactly the same number of times he has kicked it, and has hit the target 78 per cent of the time.
Woods has many great attributes in his game and if he can work on his disposal by foot under pressure I think he could prove to be a very worthy Rookie selection in this years upcoming draft.

Past winners of the Morrish Medal include:

2007) Matthew Kresuer
2004) Matthew Bate
2001 & 2002) David Rodan
1998) Lenny Hayes
1996) Nathan G Brown

Probably too small to get drafted, Fort Caruso won the Morrish Medal twice in a row and didn't get drafted, because he was 170cm.

Would love to see the Eagles pick him up with our last pick or rookie at the very least. Played a bit up forward this year so could definitely add something to the team.

surely a club will give him a go with a late rookie pick in this draft, what is there to loose? atleast you know he can play footy, which half of those drafted certainly cant

He's 6 cm shorter than Robin Nahas. It's just not practical.

I dont see the problem with being so short?

Considering the brand of football a smaller player plays.

You dont see robin nahas or boomer harvey taking massive marks, but they do all the other things like running well shouldnt be a problem imo.

Height isn't everything, but it is more likely that he will be rookied instead of drafted.

Collingwood have got a player who is similarly small - Jarrod Blair, 172cm - who we rookied last year after he won the Morrish Medal. He has been dominating VFL, and is very likely to get promoted to the senior list.

By going on to the rookie list, it just buys the clubs some insurance while they see if these players can compete against larger men.

i was just with him then he isnt THATTT short but hes a great bloke! what an ab****e great guy i hope he plays for the tigs as i told him haha

If someone is good enough to win the Morrish Medal ahead of 'certain #1 pick' Tom Scully, they deserve more than a 50/50 chance of being rookie listed, don't they? :confused: Surely skill overrides height at the rover position. If anything, a lack of height on a rover might actually be an advantage, as they could be quicker, more agile and more able than some taller mids to get 'in and under'. I mean, who drafts in-and-under ball winners based on their overhead marking skills? If the issue is not just height, but body size/strength, I wouldn't expect any 18-year-old midfielder to have a strong, fully developed body ready-made for the pounding of AFL football, whatever height they were, so it's possible that can be worked on.

If someone is good enough to win the Morrish Medal ahead of 'certain #1 pick' Tom Scully, they deserve more than a 50/50 chance of being rookie listed, don't they? :confused:

Do your research.

How many more games do you think Woods played then Scully considering Scully played for his school and in the Championships?

Do your research.

How many more games do you think Woods played then Scully considering Scully played for his school and in the Championships?

Good point, and one that I admittedly didn't consider. Still, the fact remains that Woods was adjudged the B&F of the premier U/18 competition in the country, and surely that must count for something.

Did Scully poll well, relative to the number of games that he played?

Height has nothing to do with it concerning Woods. Someone pointed to Fort Caruso winning two Morrish Medals and not getting drafted and point to that as a reason why Woods won't. Caruso was short, had poor skills and lacked a yard of pace. That is why he didn't get drafted.

Woods has a strong body and a stocky frame, but what sets him apart from the other stocky rover types is that he is very quick and agile. I also think he tests well for endurance. It's not his height that means he's not in high demand, it's his kicking skills. He's a good chance for rookie listing IMO, possibly late in the ND, but I think it's total crap that height is the reason.