thommo16

Hiya everyone,

Just wanted to know if anyone knew of any good VFL sites, home made, official whatever

thanks heaps

Go Hawks and the Bullants!

------------------
Why did the guy have to change his number
from 16 to 23. Now my username looks stupid

Originally posted by thommo16:
Hiya everyone,

Just wanted to know if anyone knew of any good VFL sites, home made, official whatever

thanks heaps

Go Hawks and the Bullants!

Go to www.footballvic.com.au. That is the official VFL site. The clubs section is not up to date but I think everything else is. I can give you some club site adresses after I come home from the footy. I am running late as it is.

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

I was recently in Victoria and I went to the Sandy V Tassie game at Trevor Barker Oval.

I was amazed at the lack of coverage the VFL gets! I think I saw one page in the Thursday, Saturday and Sunday Herald Sun and that was it. I understand the AFL will always dominate the news, but even in SA and Tassie I think their local comps get good coverage in the papers.

What are they trying to do to promote the VFL in the press? Here in SA they sell the Football Budget (or Football Record as you call it) in the newsagents, maybe they could try that? I was listening to some Sandy supporters and they didnt even know who TXU were! I also read in the Record that they are looking for a headquarters for VFL footy so they could play night games. What grounds are being considered?

cheers

Jerome

Unfortunately the VFL has been sort of hijacked by the AFL sides in a way the SANFL never has been or will be. The big sides field their ressies (something I totally disagree with) and the less financial clubs have alliances with others which tend to reduce their independence and status etc etc.

Classic example, last season Coburg (one of the few stand alone sides) became partners with Fitzroy (yes, the old AFL Fitzroy who still exist as a separate club in Victoria) and drew by far the biggest home crowds in the VFL out of the old VFA sides. However Coburg-Fitzroy inherited huge debts from the stand alone Coburg entity and Richmond bailed them out to use as a ressies team. They immediately dumped Fitzroy from the deal and renamed Coburg (always known as the Lions) as the Tigers. Pretty shameful IMHO.

Old time VFA fans must be sick at whats happened to the league. Its turned into a glorified Reserves competition as opposed to its former status as a viable and entertaining regional league.

Well Easty has certainly contributed to this topic in a constructive way. Start up a topic on general talk if you want to talk Basketball.

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

I agree that the VFL has become an AFL crony. I was one of those inflated Coburg-Fitzroy crowds for the last two years.

It's a shame to see it happen. The VFL (VFA) have a prouder history than the AFL (VFL).

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Slawey .....entertaining yes but I'd love to know exactly WHAT was viable about the VFA...perhaps clubs folding , players not being paid , 2 men and a dog at most games , totally disorganised and dormant administration ?????

I'm no fan of the AFL but the old VFA was staggering like a punch-drunk fighter....what's better - find a way out or simply self destruct !!

-Rico

Originally posted by ricohawk:
Slawey .....entertaining yes but I'd love to know exactly WHAT was viable about the VFA...perhaps clubs folding , players not being paid , 2 men and a dog at most games , totally disorganised and dormant administration ?????

I'm no fan of the AFL but the old VFA was staggering like a punch-drunk fighter....what's better - find a way out or simply self destruct !!

-Rico

Fair enough, but NOTHING justifies an increased influence from AFL house, which nothing on their minds ahead of the destruction of the game itself.

It might very well have been better even to roll over and die.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy