Around the world trip Feb 2012

Hi all,

Heading off on a 6 week holiday with my girlfriend Starting February next year.

Heading to London for 10 nights staying with family/friends in Leytonstone. Got a few tours booked to see the usual big attractions and will hopefully be getting tickets to the Tottenham vs Newcastle match.

We have a few spare days/nights, any suggestions on some places to see/things to do? I have to find a London Casino while im up there, but apart from that any suggestions for London?

From there we go to France for 3 nights, just doing the obvious things there. Any nice places to look out for in Paris?

After Paris we head to NYC for 4 nights, got a few of stars tours booked and seeing Wicked on Broadway which will be a great experience i reckon. Any other spots we should be visiting while in NYC?

Vegas is up next for 4 nights, staying at Planet Hollywood, any feed back on that hotel?

Then to Anaheim for 5 nights where we are doing Disneyland, and Seaworld i believe. Much else to do up there?

The we head to LA for 7 nights. Got a couple of tours booked and have tickets for Lakers vs Celtics @ Staples Centre (assuming the lockout is over by then). What other POI should we be looking at?

Last leg is Hawaii for 9 nights, doing the Pearl Harbour tour, Polynesian cultural experience, and swimming with Dolphins. What other good spots should we be heading too at night time?

Any advice and ideas would be much appreciated!!

Definitely spend longer in NY and shorten Anaheim and LA.

Everyone says LA is an absolute craphole. I'm spending 13 days in NY at end of year and people are telling me I'm there nowhere near long enough

Have you paid for the Pearl Harbour tour? Because you can go there via a bus which costs $2.50 return and it costs nothing to get in, some people or groups charge $35 or more. I did it earlier this year and paid nothing to get in and went on a boat out to the memorial site. There is plenty to see for free if you ask me.

I think most of the well know hotels in Vegas are all pretty good, you can get a 3 day pass on the monorail and go to all the different places like MGM, Flamingo Caesars Palace, Las Vegas Hilton...etc Also check out Old Vegas at Fremont Street

Paris for 3 nights? I wouldn't bother, just spend that time in NYC instead. You need at least a week in Paris. And yeah, shorten LA/Anaheim as much as possible. San Fran is well worth a look instead.

If you are going to go to Paris then Palace of Versailles has to be on the list. If you can do so on a Sunday thats when they have the fountains going for a couple of hours. Its a day trip all up as you need to catch a train (but only an hour or so out of Paris) but is worth the effort assuming you like to see how the Sun King lived in the 18th century whilst the poor starved. Decadence at its highest!

12 nights in LA and Anahiem - far too much - can cut that in half or at least a third. Do the obvious - Universal Studios, Venice Beach, Rodeo Drive, Santa Monica, Manns Chinese theatre etc, Disneyland (both locations) and then perhaps go to Long Beach and go see the ship, Queen Mary. Would hire a car for two/three days and drive to San Diego (its easy from Ananhiem as you are a third of the way there) and go to the San Diego zoo and Seaworld.

Vegas - hire a car to Hoover Dam (cost me about $50- for a day in June this year) and then go shopping at the discount outlets both North and South of the Strip. Take an empty suitcase and fill it up. You will save a packet. All the casinos are fine and look for the half-price tickets to shows.

Because it is a barren urban wasteland with little to no appeal outside of the major tourist attractions which can be done in 1-2 days. There is some great partying to be done if you've got plenty of cash to throw around or are on some sort of a/b/c/d-list that connects you with the movie industry but outside that there isn't much.

With San Francisco, Vegas, Mexico and many other places a short drive/flight there isn't much reason to stay there.

Because it is a barren urban wasteland with little to no appeal outside of the major tourist attractions which can be done in 1-2 days. There is some great partying to be done if you've got plenty of cash to throw around or are on some sort of a/b/c/d-list that connects you with the movie industry but outside that there isn't much.

With San Francisco, Vegas, Mexico and many other places a short drive/flight there isn't much reason to stay there.

:thumbsu: Spot on. It's just a big sprawling city that takes time to get anywhere. It is a disjointed city.

See the tourist things then move on to other more exciting places - Vegas and San Fran, New York.

For LA/ Anaheim my advice would be to just get a hotel in Hollywood (Get decent 3 star ones for $75 per night a block from Sunset Blvd) and do everything from there.

There is nothing in Anaheim except Disneyland and the Angels and you can get bus there from Hollywood.

Not sure if you can change bookings or not though so I may not be helping much but Hollywood is where its all at. Plus easy acces to Universal Studios, Santa Monica, La for the game, Venice Beach...cant go wrong

All good feedback, thanks heaps.

The trip is fully paid for so not much can be changed. Reason for the short time in NYC is mainly a $$$ thing. It's a bit more expensive over there and we had a lot of things we wanted to do.

France was short as its a place we are going to mainly cause its close and easy to get too from London, one of those do it to say you have done it type things.

Interestibg comments about LA , I have heard a lot of mixed responses so far. We are doing universal and going to 6 flags from there so that uses up a couple of days.

Anahiem is basically being used for a 3 day Disney pass (girlfriend is fascinated with that stuff and wanted to do it properly) and sea world.

Thanks for the shopping advice for Vegas, will be sure to load up!

Any good night spots that are a must visit ?

Will be shattered if this lockout doesn't go away.

Pearl harbour tour is paid for :-( what a bugger. Was it a good experience?

All our time in LA is based out of a hotel right near universal so is that going to allow for easy travel to other places?

Hi all,

Heading off on a 6 week holiday with my girlfriend Starting February next year.

Heading to London for 10 nights staying with family/friends in Leytonstone. Got a few tours booked to see the usual big attractions and will hopefully be getting tickets to the Tottenham vs Newcastle match.

We have a few spare days/nights, any suggestions on some places to see/things to do? I have to find a London Casino while im up there, but apart from that any suggestions for London?

!!

Lmao, I lived there for a couple of months when I was in London about 8 years ago.

Nice enuff suburb, reminded me a bit like Moonee Ponds.

Enjoy, I loved London. Check out the museums, they are pretty awesome. Tate modern art gallery and the Imperial War museum were my favs. And of course you gotta check out the Eye, Big Ben, etc. Iirc I saw The Lion King for a mere 17 pounds, so check out the shows they have, that is pretty cheap even with the exchange rate. :thumbsu:

6 weeks is nowhere near long enough for a round the world trip, but I guess it's no use crying over spilt milk.

If you know what you're looking for in LA it's a great spot. Plenty of great, cheap food, particularly japanese/korean and mexican. Universal and the other theme parks are fun and there are some great people watching spots as well as great bars/live music. Get to a Lakers/Clips game.

As for Vegas, planet hollywood is a great spot, probably the best location for a cheaper property. You're right in the middle of everything. Make sure you go see a CDS show and check out some of the fine dining available (some of the best in the world), joel robucon at the MGM grand is unbelievably good. Go to the Spearmint Rhino in vegas (it's nothing like the one in Melbourne if you've ever been), take your girlfriend. If you're a clubbing person check out XS,Tao or Pure (it's probably better to spend big on one night out, rather than budget for 3 if you're at all $-conscious, it's much more expensive than you think). Go to the shooting range, fire whatever gun you want, it's a pretty hilarious experience. Hire a muscle car and drive out to Hoover Dam. Do not snap at the tipping culture in vegas in particular it's horrendous. Golf in Vegas is pretty good, but again it's expensive.

Why are you so eager to go to a casino in London? The maintsream low-limit casinos like the vic are pretty average imo, especially when one of your next destinations is vegas. I'd do other things in London. The Indian food in London is amazing so definitely check that out. Tower of London is pretty cool if you're at all into history. EPL is an amazing experience. London eye is good and London has an amazing live music scene so try and catch a show if you can.

6 weeks is nowhere near long enough for a round the world trip, but I guess it's no use crying over spilt milk.

If you know what you're looking for in LA it's a great spot. Plenty of great, cheap food, particularly japanese/korean and mexican. Universal and the other theme parks are fun and there are some great people watching spots as well as great bars/live music. Get to a Lakers/Clips game.

As for Vegas, planet hollywood is a great spot, probably the best location for a cheaper property. You're right in the middle of everything. Make sure you go see a CDS show and check out some of the fine dining available (some of the best in the world), joel robucon at the MGM grand is unbelievably good. Go to the Spearmint Rhino in vegas (it's nothing like the one in Melbourne if you've ever been), take your girlfriend. If you're a clubbing person check out XS,Tao or Pure (it's probably better to spend big on one night out, rather than budget for 3 if you're at all $-conscious, it's much more expensive than you think). Go to the shooting range, fire whatever gun you want, it's a pretty hilarious experience. Hire a muscle car and drive out to Hoover Dam. Do not snap at the tipping culture in vegas in particular it's horrendous. Golf in Vegas is pretty good, but again it's expensive.

Why are you so eager to go to a casino in London? The maintsream low-limit casinos like the vic are pretty average imo, especially when one of your next destinations is vegas. I'd do other things in London. The Indian food in London is amazing so definitely check that out. Tower of London is pretty cool if you're at all into history. EPL is an amazing experience. London eye is good and London has an amazing live music scene so try and catch a show if you can.

6 weeks was all we could take off work unfortunately, would of loved to have gone for 3-4 months, but it just wasnt possible :(

Bars and live music sound good, love that kind of stuff.

Some great tips for Vegas there, will be sure to check out the shows! Which hotel has the theme park in it? Looks pretty interesting as well.

Shooting range would be a good exprience, will definitely get to that.

Reason for wanting to go to a casino in London is because im wanting to collect a $5 chip (or as close as possible) from as many casinos as i can. I already have a few from Australian Casinos and I'm wanting to add to my collection!

I too have heard the Indian food is amazing, will give that a good go i reckon.

Ok, at casinos in the UK you actually have to register as a member before you are able to be admitted, bit of an annoying process, but chip collections are cool!

Circus-circus and newyorknewyork are two budget onstrip properties with themeparks.

Stratosphere which is between the strip and downtown also has a couple decent rides and is a huge tower with a great view so is worth checking out.

Could I possibly ask how much this is costing you all up, flights and accomo? Very keen to do a similar trip at the end of uni (couple little things different obviously, but similar locations). Feel free to PM if there's any reason you don't want to post it.

As for my experience, I've been to America a few times (I'm 19 now) and my opinions are very similar to what's been said here.

NYC is fantastic, we were there for 6-7 days and it probably wasn't quite enough, managed to just see everything but felt a little rushed. If I were you I wouldn't try and squeeze everything into 3 days because it's just not possible. Pick the few things that you really want to see/do and make sure you do them.

L.A. really isn't all it's cracked up to be. Obviously different areas of L.A, Hollywood vs Downtown etc... have a different feel to it, but there really isn't a whole lot to get excited about or to do there. Might be just my opinion though because I've been to L.A. twice and the first time I loved it, and the second not so much, so if you haven't been before you'll find enough things to do. Would advise the beaches especially, dedicate perhaps a day to each one, they are a good experience.

Glad you're spending a fair while in Hawaii though, I love Hawaii and is the one place I'll hopefully be going back to many times. Been there twice, both for 5 days, first time was pretty much all touring, second time was pretty much all relaxing, and both were very enjoyable. This may sound a harsh generalisation, but American's came across as very self-minded people, and it was always nice to finish off in Hawaii where it was the total opposite, where everyone was very relaxed and friendly. Plenty of cheap shopping here too, as well as L.A.

Anaheim is quite nice, we only went the first time we went over there, and as I was a fair bit younger I naturally loved Disneyland. But it is a good experience, and again quite a nice place.

Unfortunately can't comment on Las Vegas as I was only there when I was 8, so safe to say I didn't get the full experience.

Couple of quicks comments on other places nearby (I know you said it was all already booked, but if you can squeeze any of these in)

- San Fran is great, a lot to do there and would certainly head there if you get the chance.

- Grand Canyon. May be tricky to squeeze in, but also a very worthwhile experience.

- Not sold on San Diego. We went to the Zoo, and whilst absolutely nothing wrong with it, wasn't a lot special about it either, nothing to get too excited about.

Having said all that, sounds a fantastic trip mate, hope you have a terrific time, no doubt you will.:thumbsu:

Could I possibly ask how much this is costing you all up, flights and accomo? Very keen to do a similar trip at the end of uni (couple little things different obviously, but similar locations). Feel free to PM if there's any reason you don't want to post it.

As for my experience, I've been to America a few times (I'm 19 now) and my opinions are very similar to what's been said here.

NYC is fantastic, we were there for 6-7 days and it probably wasn't quite enough, managed to just see everything but felt a little rushed. If I were you I wouldn't try and squeeze everything into 3 days because it's just not possible. Pick the few things that you really want to see/do and make sure you do them.

L.A. really isn't all it's cracked up to be. Obviously different areas of L.A, Hollywood vs Downtown etc... have a different feel to it, but there really isn't a whole lot to get excited about or to do there. Might be just my opinion though because I've been to L.A. twice and the first time I loved it, and the second not so much, so if you haven't been before you'll find enough things to do. Would advise the beaches especially, dedicate perhaps a day to each one, they are a good experience.

Glad you're spending a fair while in Hawaii though, I love Hawaii and is the one place I'll hopefully be going back to many times. Been there twice, both for 5 days, first time was pretty much all touring, second time was pretty much all relaxing, and both were very enjoyable. This may sound a harsh generalisation, but American's came across as very self-minded people, and it was always nice to finish off in Hawaii where it was the total opposite, where everyone was very relaxed and friendly. Plenty of cheap shopping here too, as well as L.A.

Anaheim is quite nice, we only went the first time we went over there, and as I was a fair bit younger I naturally loved Disneyland. But it is a good experience, and again quite a nice place.

Unfortunately can't comment on Las Vegas as I was only there when I was 8, so safe to say I didn't get the full experience.

Couple of quicks comments on other places nearby (I know you said it was all already booked, but if you can squeeze any of these in)

- San Fran is great, a lot to do there and would certainly head there if you get the chance.

- Grand Canyon. May be tricky to squeeze in, but also a very worthwhile experience.

- Not sold on San Diego. We went to the Zoo, and whilst absolutely nothing wrong with it, wasn't a lot special about it either, nothing to get too excited about.

Having said all that, sounds a fantastic trip mate, hope you have a terrific time, no doubt you will.:thumbsu:

For the two of us it is costing $17,500 which is flights, accomidation, transfers between hotels and airports/tours etc, all tours and theme parks. When we sat down with the travel agent we said our budget is $20,000 and i instantly thought the first quote would be well over $20,000 but it came back at around $18,000, so we changed a few things that we didnt like and it worked out well for us.

But keep in mind we have free accomidation in London for 10 nights which would of added a fair bit to the overall cost.

Yeah im hoping the 'first time' factor will make places like LA much more enjoyable. Will be sure to check out the beaches as well!

Im glad we let Hawaii till last, for the relaxation factor. Im hoping to have a round of golf on one of their courses (they all look amazing on the internet..) and i just want to enjoy the night life and wind down.

Got a feeling we may need a extra suitcase.. ha ha.

Is it worth getting a extra suitcase while over there and pay the extra $$ at the airport to cram stuff into it?

Be sure you buy your friends that are putting you up something nice or shout them often / help out.

I had a mate stay with me over there for 2 weeks while i was working / living there and the only thing he bought for me the whole time was a slab that we shared, didn't put in for food or anything the freeloading bastard. :p

He's a complete tightarse though, so kind of knew what I was getting myself into. Great guy though apart from that.

Ha ha yeah for sure, its a best mates mum and her other son, so we will help out wherever needed. Definitely going to take them out for tea a few times before we leave and get them a present.

your mate definitely stitched you up on that one, cant believe he drank from the slab he got you.. was it a good quality slab atleast? :D

You will see everything in 10 days in London.

From there we go to France for 3 nights, just doing the obvious things there. Any nice places to look out for in Paris?
Personally not a fan of Paris, but you probably have just enough time to walk around the city and see Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomph, Notre Dame, Sacre Couer, Moulin Rouge.

After Paris we head to NYC for 4 nights, got a few of stars tours booked and seeing Wicked on Broadway which will be a great experience i reckon. Any other spots we should be visiting while in NYC?
Get a Big Apple Greeter to give you a tour. So little time, but you have to visit Statue of Liberty, Top of the Rock, Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, Central Park, Times Square. You wouldnt want to leave Manhattan at all.

Vegas is up next for 4 nights, staying at Planet Hollywood, any feed back on that hotel?
Yep. Stayed there and it was a great central location. Directly across from Paris and Bellagio. Pool was fairly basic. I am not a big gambler but Roullette kept me going for hours, and free drinks at table. Shows are pretty good in Vegas. Get to Hoover Dam and maybe Grand Canyon.

Then to Anaheim for 5 nights where we are doing Disneyland, and Seaworld i believe. Much else to do up there?
I spent three days and covered every ride and show on the entire Disneyland/California Adventure site. Spent another day at Seaworld San Diego. Surely a lazy day at the beach (newport or huntington) or more time in San Diego could fill the last day.

The we head to LA for 7 nights. Got a couple of tours booked and have tickets for Lakers vs Celtics @ Staples Centre (assuming the lockout is over by then). What other POI should we be looking at?
Enough to do to fill 7 days. No need to rush.
1. Universal Studios or other studios. Maybe see a TV show taping.
2. Hollywood and the Hills. Make sure you check if there is a Hollywood premiere on to see the red carpet arrivals. Might even be Oscars time.
3. Santa Monica/Venice Area
4. Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive
5. Malibu area
6. Downtown to see Coliseum, Old Town, Walt Disney Centre, Staples, Dodger Stadium etc.
7. Calatina Island

Last leg is Hawaii for 9 nights, doing the Pearl Harbour tour, Polynesian cultural experience, and swimming with Dolphins. What other good spots should we be heading too at night time?
Went this year. You could spend the whole time on Oahu, or take a trip to another island like Maui or Hawaii. Pearl Harbor is good - and your tour probably takes in USS Missouri and the Submarine which costs money, while USS Arizona Memorial is free. You have to go to North Shore to see massive surf - near Polynesian Centre. Hanauma Bay and Diamond Head are a must.You will spend a fair bit of time at Waikiki. Honolulu downtown is worth a short trip. Lanakai Beach is nice.

Any advice and ideas would be much appreciated!!

Alright just posting a bit of an update of a few things that have happened since i last posted.

100% got tickets (have them printed out) for Lakers vs Boston @ Staples, Premier section 18.

100% got tickets (have printed them out) for New York Rangers vs Buffalo Sabres at Madison Square Gardens (sitting in section 303 i think it is, on the sideline)

100% got tickets for Tottenham vs Newcastle at White Hart Lane (Sitting West Upper, block 2, row 14)

Pretty wrapped with those, thats pretty much my checklist complete, dont care what the gf does now..:D Although still not keen on doing the sex and the city tour..:(