Sep 6, 2009
NBA, Woodville,
Used my tax return and lashed on this thing-

http://www.scorptec.com.au/system/193

My mates were all "we can save a few hundred by doing it outselves" but after watching thisI went for it. I had look aroung the net, and all the bits were around 2200-2300, so the difference is not much for a finished product like the one in the video and back to base service and warranty, and it an Aussie company, so I like supporting locals. Any thoughts, please don't be too cruel, i alreadyy bought it:D

Where's the fun in buying a pre-built rig and not saving money?

That build has the same PSU I have, which at the moment is a bit silly as I don't dual SLI 670's.

Where's the fun in buying a pre-built rig and not saving money?

That build has the same PSU I have, which at the moment is a bit silly as I don't dual SLI 670's.
i gues, but I certainly couldn't do it alone, and with my shift work would takes weeks if not over a month to get all the parts and find time. I did weigh it up, and i get it in about 4 days this way, ready to go and tested. Certainly now my learning process starts.

Took me about that long (maybe longer) with my last build as I was after a budget build and wasn't after mainly new parts. Then once i had everything (becomes torture just looking at all the parts everyday) I invited a friend to come over and help me with the CPU cooler as it has a back plate that you needed 4 hands to install and the rest I did myself on the same day.

When you hear that system beep once is just magical.:hearts:

Nice PC, decent price, massively overkill but at least it will last you a while.

Have fun removing those zip ties if you ever decide to upgrade it yourself ;)

ok, learning process. They put zip ties on the parts to make it harder to upgrade? Really? And yes, future proofing was part of the weighing up. Hopefully i get it beofre fri th 15th, we are ahving an Aliens Colinial Marines lan, my lappy will be ok, but...
scratch that zip ties thing, rewatched the video, i see what you mean. Makes it tidy tho. Guarantee our efforts would've been a little more agricultural.

Nah, it's just to make it look neat and tidy. I didn't have a very close look at how they were used, but I've seen companies use so many and put them on so tight it's almost impossible to get the little ****ers off without nicking a cable.

Great rig. I've been a Scorptec customer for years, they're service is second to none and they're pretty good on price.
theyre prices are pretty good. Did some looking around, and i am seeing some lesser sytems for more money. Theyre waiting on the case before they can build. Geez i hope i have by next Friday. We're having a lan with Aliens Colinaial Marines. Lappy will still run it just fine, but my mates don't know I've bought this.;)

So easy to put together computers these days.

I couldn't believe how simple it was to get my new style Intel heatsink on. No screwdriver crunching, motherboard snapping madness.

I had to wipe off at least 50% of that grey goop they put on it though, what a joke. I don't want a giant mess when I go to change cpu.

Fiddling with bios settings is now the hardest part.

Nah, it's just to make it look neat and tidy. I didn't have a very close look at how they were used, but I've seen companies use so many and put them on so tight it's almost impossible to get the little gooses off without nicking a cable.
Ive always used nail clippers. Works a treat.

have just been told that i may now have to wait another week because they are waiting on a part. was quoted 4-5 days now will be closer to two weeks. Man, if it wasn't such a good price I would cancel it. Paid in full too. Should've just paid a deposit. Is this common with builds? Shouldn't they keep stock levels where they can fulfill their order as quoted?

I used to build systems many years ago and this stuff happens every now and then, particularly with higher end gear. People don't like keeping heaps of that stuff on the shelf as it's a lot of money that just sits there doing nothing, and they lose money once the next big thing comes out and makes it obsolete. If they need to get the part from overseas then Chinese New Year might mess with things a bit too.

cheers, I've cooled down a little. The Chinese new year thing is a valid point. Good things come to those who wait i guess.

Delay lol

Tell them where to stick the entire order mate. Don't let them screw you around for that amount of money. They should chuck in a substitute for no extra charge.

Order from somewhere you can pick up in person, save on postage that way.

Delay lol

Tell them where to stick the entire order mate. Don't let them screw you around for that amount of money. They should chuck in a substitute for no extra charge.

Order from somewhere you can pick up in person, save on postage that way.
i considered it, and did write an email expressing my frustrations. Didn't get any promises, but am now "first in line" whatever that means. In the end, I'll just wait. Like blackshadow said, once i get it, i'll forget about the delay. Another question, should they be sending all the boxes and the stuff that comes with each part, obviously they'll use alot of it, but extras accessories etc.

I'd say they'll throw all the extras/discs/manuals into a single box for you,

Cancelling the order is pointless, you'll have to wait at least that long for a system from another company anyway plus you'll probably cop a restocking fee (15% according to their website) if they have your system half built. They're not ripping you off or screwing you around, they just had a delay getting something in stock...... shit happens.

I'd say they'll throw all the extras/discs/manuals into a single box for you,

Cancelling the order is pointless, you'll have to wait at least that long for a system from another company anyway plus you'll probably cop a restocking fee (15% according to their website) if they have your system half built. They're not ripping you off or screwing you around, they just had a delay getting something in stock...... shit happens.
yeah mate, that's exacly what i thought, and certainly at his price, they called me today and he discussed other cases, but I'm not worried about it now. I do have an Aus g75vw to fall back on:). They did say i could get a full refund as it was the case i am waiting on so nothing is built yetcif i wanted, but meh, it'll be worth it, and they are going to express courier it for me.. Thanks for clearing up the extras thing, i thought as much but always good to hear someone else say it.

Sounds good to me mate. Hopefully it all comes together for you. Been building my own PC for as long as I can remember, paying a premium for my aluminium Coolermaster case is the best thing I ever did. Nice finish, front USB, never rusts. Can't ask for much else more.

That Corsair has steel bits in it but I can tell you it's way less than what I paid :p

Sounds good to me mate. Hopefully it all comes together for you. Been building my own PC for as long as I can remember, paying a premium for my aluminium Coolermaster case is the best thing I ever did. Nice finish, front USB, never rusts. Can't ask for much else more.

That Corsair has steel bits in it but I can tell you it's way less than what I paid :p
nixe. It'll be a while before the rust gets in hopefully. This is the start of DIYtho, not for ages, but by the time it gets to replacing stuff, i'll be a bit more tech savvy. I'm no luddite, but no techie either.

LOL rust, you're more likely to get dragon related damage than a rusty case. Even if you did get rust I reckon other components would cop it well before your case.

Now to make use of those 2 x 670's...

http://www.overlordcomputer.com/overlord_tempest_X270OC_display_p/ot_x270oc_a.htm
27" LG IPS panel with 2560x1440 resolution overclockable to ~120hz. :thumbsu:
nice thanks. have been looking around for a monitor to take advantage of the cards. My current one is native 1080p. They seem good, certainly cheaper than some others, cough Dell cough. Out of stock until march 15 th is aplus, they seem popular. Reviews that talk about dead pixels is a worry. Do you have one? Will keep in mind as my search continues. Oh, update on the rig. Case still hasn't shown up. I may get it by Christmas.

Asus Gaming Rig-Scorptec.com.au