At The Bar. Worst Column Ever?

Dirrrty South

Oct 11, 2007
Tha Dirrrty South
I'm sure most of you are familiar with the 'At The Bar' column that is run weekly in the Feral Hun, if not then the basic premise is two reporters are supposed to be standing around a bar having a chat like any regular footy fans. Here's my example of at the bar:

Robbo: Grab us a couple of beers wouldya mate?
Ando: No worries, so how bout Bocky?
Robbo: Mate Bocky is in dead set trouble, what about North?
Ando: Yeah nah mate not to good down Arden Street, how good are the cats?
Robbo: Yeah the Cats go ok, my shout, whaddya reckon bout the Doggies?
Ando: Yeah nah mate, the Doggies look alright.
etc.

Everyweek they put this dribble into the paper! What's the point? Are they trying to appeal to the regular footy fans by pretending to be at a bar and talking about 30 different things in 2 minutes? Surely there are other things that can be put in the paper.

I don't mind it. Its not brain stimulating material and it can be fairly lowbrow at times, but I always make sure that I manage to read it every Tuesday :eek:

There is a question I always wanted to know though.

How do they do the column? I meant, obviously they don't go to the bar, but do they have an actual conversation and record it, or just make it up and write it down on paper.

The Herald Sun and The Age are both fine. I don't think HS is any worse. And its funny that people think the Age caters to a more sophisticated audience; 9 year olds should have no trouble understanding most Age material. If you want to see a real difference in the quality of journalism, compare The Sun to the Guardian in the UK.

I like Robbo but i cannot stand John Anderson. The bloke is a f*ckwit!

I still read 'At the Bar' but cringe at the crap Anderson speaks.

The Herald Sun and The Age are both fine. I don't think HS is any worse. And its funny that people think the Age caters to a more sophisticated audience; 9 year olds should have no trouble understanding most Age material. If you want to see a real difference in the quality of journalism, compare The Sun to the Guardian in the UK.

Only morons and idiots seriously believe that the Age is more highbrow than the Sun these days. There wouldn't be a senior journo at The Age who wouldn't give his left nut to be at the sun. Moral is bloody low at Fairfax :(.

Have a look at how the Age is highlighting Garry Lyon in their sports section as the greatest thing to ever happen to the footy media when he couldn't even get his contract renewed at the Sun. The Age have also made huge offers to Andrew Bolt and Terry McCrann and failed to get them. You only have to look at the content of both papers to see there is not much difference.

I've worked at both, moved to the Sun a few years ago when things started going wrong at The Age, sorry to say they haven't got any better, it's a miserable place to work. Still got plenty of mates there and it's tough.

Only morons and idiots seriously believe that the Age is more highbrow than the Sun these days. There wouldn't be a senior journo at The Age who wouldn't give his left nut to be at the sun. Moral is bloody low at Fairfax :(.

Have a look at how the Age is highlighting Garry Lyon in their sports section as the greatest thing to ever happen to the footy media when he couldn't even get his contract renewed at the Sun. The Age have also made huge offers to Andrew Bolt and Terry McCrann and failed to get them. You only have to look at the content of both papers to see there is not much difference.

I've worked at both, moved to the Sun a few years ago when things started going wrong at The Age, sorry to say they haven't got any better, it's a miserable place to work. Still got plenty of mates there and it's tough.

Exactly. I go back and forth between the papers depending on the day, and sometimes it comes down to me preferring the Age font over the Sun as the overriding factor.

Interesting you say the Age is a miserable place to work; what do you attribute that to? On a sidenote, I still can't see why the Age hasn't changed to a Berliner format. And, stick the sport section at the back. It might sell a few more papers.

I'm sure most of you are familiar with the 'At The Bar' column that is run weekly in the Feral Hun, if not then the basic premise is two reporters are supposed to be standing around a bar having a chat like any regular footy fans. Here's my example of at the bar:

Robbo: Grab us a couple of beers wouldya mate?
Ando: No worries, so how bout Bocky?
Robbo: Mate Bocky is in dead set trouble, what about North?
Ando: Yeah nah mate not to good down Arden Street, how good are the cats?
Robbo: Yeah the Cats go ok, my shout, whaddya reckon bout the Doggies?
Ando: Yeah nah mate, the Doggies look alright.
etc.

Everyweek they put this dribble into the paper! What's the point? Are they trying to appeal to the regular footy fans by pretending to be at a bar and talking about 30 different things in 2 minutes? Surely there are other things that can be put in the paper.

I'd bet my bottom dollar that even tho you have taken the time to give your little rant about the regular article, you actually read it every week just so that you can smirk, smile and scoff at what's written. Much like those that watch shows on TV not for the show, but for the things that they can complain about.

Simple, if you don't like it, DON'T READ IT!

I didn't say it was more highbrow, it's simply far less sensationalist and contains far less gossipy drivel than The H-Sun. The H-Sun caters for bogans. You're kidding yourself if you think there isn't much difference in the content. The H-Sun is lazy in its reporting of footy in particular. It trades in cliches.

^^ Exactly. At the least The Age makes a decent attempt at reporting real news albeit with an annoying extreme leftist slant. That's my only gripe with the paper, I'd like it to be more centrist in its approach to the news.
The herald scum on the other hand is basically indistinguishable from women's magazine tabloid rubbish; it has no other aim other than to appeal to the fears and petty concerns of lowest common denominator. It’s laughable to even call the hun a newspaper. People shouldn’t confuse financial success and popularity with quality journalism.

I didn't say it was more highbrow, it's simply far less sensationalist and contains far less gossipy drivel than The H-Sun

Dont kid yourself. The way The Age has responded to several footy stories lately is cringe-worthy how sensationalist it is. Hard to believe that the Herald Sun was calling for calm on the matter when over at Spencer St The Age couldnt have made it a bigger issue. The sport section in The Age is sensationalist and gossipy drivel because their chief writer is someone who only responds to the off-field issues and believes her opinion to be the moral arbiter of society.

For what it's worth I dont read The Age, occasionally flick through their sport section. I read the Herald Sun and the Australian. Used to read the SMH when I lived in Sydney. Would be nice if there was a quality centre-left newspaper out there, the SMH is okay, but living in Melbourne it's hard to get a hold of.

Some of the columns coming out of Spencer St are amazing in their ludicrousy. I still shudder at that feministic 'vagina bullets' column that was printed a couple of months back. Fairly sure that the rats are clamouring to get off the sinking ship at Spencer St.

The Age is a rag and I find people who denigrate the Herald Sun and champion The Age dont actually read The Age, they just base their opinion on perception. Moreover, people who dont read either the Herald Sun or the Daily Telegraph will find themselves out of touch with mainstream Australia. I think it's important to at least flick through it to see what is driving mainstream Australia.

Cringeworthy stuff the times I've read it. Stopped now because Mark 'Robbo' Robinson is a fat flog who thinks he is actually important to footy.

At The Bar. Worst Column Ever?