TassieSaint

Tasmania
Tassie Tigers
Is there a better day in the year? I think not. Well maybe Grand Final day if the Saints made it, but otherwise no. It's like Christmas for me, I'm starting to lose sleep over it already I'm that excited.

So what does everyone have planned for the great day (I imagine the words barbecue, beach and beer will feature in 90% of answers)? Do you agree that Australia Day is the best day of the year? And are you for or against wearing the Australian flag like a cape?

Myself I am driving over to my mates place next to the beach, firing up the barbecue and alternating the radio between the hottest 100 and the ODI. Hopefully some beach cricket will be involved as well as last year I managed to knock a 50 before it was decided the water was 6 and out :thumbsd:

Discuss

Disgrace of a day.

Only good thing about it is sinking piss with mates, but you can do that on any weekend.

Long weekend is handy i suppose.

Not a fan of it either. Just because it's the 2nd/3rd last day before school.
Probably enjoy it more when im out of school.

Planning to head up to our block of land in Snake Valley, roughly 30 minutes outside of Ballarat. You guessed right Tassie, Cricket and a BBQ on the agenda of course. ;)

Hoping mates rock around so that like CHBench we get a little cricket in, and since we have a full oval just across the road which just so happens to have an open bar which also happens to be open and also kind of sort of happens to coincide with my sister working and kinda sorta father being a director to kind of possibly nab the keys for the large ass BBQ and meat stores looking forward to rolling the arm over and not be limited in shot selection because of windows and or neighbours pets.

Because I kinda sorta hit a cat a last time... and it kinda sorta shriek and hobbled off... cost me 4 too the little prick...

Australia day for me is a special day. I celebrate our country's history, have a bbq and a few beers and open proceedings with:

Under the southern cross I stand
A sprig of wattle in my hand
I love this f*****g wide brown land
Australia, you bloody beauty.

and think wistfully of David Boon

Is there a better day in the year? I think not. Well maybe Grand Final day if the Saints made it, but otherwise no. It's like Christmas for me, I'm starting to lose sleep over it already I'm that excited.

So what does everyone have planned for the great day (I imagine the words barbecue, beach and beer will feature in 90% of answers)? Do you agree that Australia Day is the best day of the year? And are you for or against wearing the Australian flag like a cape?

Myself I am driving over to my mates place next to the beach, firing up the barbecue and alternating the radio between the hottest 100 and the ODI. Hopefully some beach cricket will be involved as well as last year I managed to knock a 50 before it was decided the water was 6 and out :thumbsd:

Discuss
I'm working on that day. I'm not going to bludge.

Australia day for me is a special day. I celebrate our country's history, have a bbq and a few beers and open proceedings with:

Under the southern cross I stand
A sprig of wattle in my hand
I love this f*****g wide brown land
Australia, you bloody beauty.

AMEN Brother!

I love Australia Day. I love Australia. I love Australian sport. I love Australian music. I freakin adore Australian beer & I love my Australian mates.

I'm proud of my Australian bloodline. My grandfather was part of the 2/25th battalion who fought in many countries & was awarded the Military Cross after nearly biting it on the Kokoda Trail. I have a great,great,etc Uncle who was a sailor on the first fleet. I've traveled right around this great country, I've seen it's majestic sights & met some bloody great people.
I love Australia.

I'm not into the flag cape thing personally, but am all for the rights of the others to indulge if that's what they want to do.

For quite a while it seemed our youth were losing their pride in being Australian. I'm strongly against the Americanisation of our society, but it's been bloody great to see a resurgence in Aussie patriotism.

You might spend a few seconds thinking of all those poor people who don't live here. Most will never know just how special it is to be Australian or the freedoms that we have here. It is very possibly the best place in the world to live. I think it is.

Spot on Special K. The only place in the world to see the MIGHTTTTTTTYYYYY SAINTERRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!

Yep, certainly took the time to appreciate how lucky we are to have this lifestyle. Definitely glad both my sets of grandparents decided to migrate here.

Had a classic day myself, bit of beach footy, barbecues, beer (ended up finishing a carton), cricket (didn't enjoy that so much though), hottest 100, great day. Only lowlight was I got stung by a jellyfish 4 times lol :thumbsd:

You know you're Australian if ...

• You know the meaning of 'girt'
  • You believe that stubbies can either be worn or drunk
  • You think it is normal to have a Prime Minister called Kevin
  • You waddle when you walk due to the 53 expired petrol discount vouchers stuffed in your wallet or purse
  • You've made a bong out of your garden hose rather than use it for something illegal such as watering the garden
  • When you hear that an American 'roots for his team' you wonder how often and with whom
  • You understand that the phrase 'a group of women wearing black thongs' refers to footwear and may be less alluring than it sounds
  • You pronounce Melbourne as 'Mel-bin'
  • You pronounce Penrith as 'Pen-riff'
  • You believe the 'L' in the word ' Australia ' is optional
  • You can translate: 'Dazza and Shazza played Acca Dacca on the way to Maccas.
  • You believe it makes perfect sense for a nation to decorate its highways with large fibreglass bananas, prawns and sheep
  • You call your best friend 'a total bastard' but someone you really, truly despise is just 'a bit of a bastard'
  • You think 'Woolloomooloo' is a perfectly reasonable name for a place
  • You believe is makes sense for a country to have a $1 coin that's twice as big as its $2 coin
  • You understand that 'Wagga Wagga' can be abbreviated to 'Wagga' but 'Woy Woy' can't be called 'Woy'
  • You believe that cooked-down axlegrease makes a good breakfast spread
  • You believe all famous Kiwis are actually Australian, until they stuff up, at which point they again become Kiwis
  • You know, whatever the tourist books say, that no one says 'cobber'
  • You know that certain words must, by law, be shouted out during any rendition of the Angels' song 'Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again'
  • You believe, as an article of faith, that the confectionery known as the Wagon Wheel has become smaller with every passing year
  • You still don't get why the 'Labor' in 'Australian Labor Party' is not spelt with a 'U
  • You wear ugh boots outside the house
  • You believe that the more you shorten someone's name the more you like them
  • Whatever your linguistic skills, you find yourself able to order takeaway fluently in every Asian language
  • You understand that 'excuse me' can sound rude, while 'scuse me' is always polite
  • You know what it's like to swallow a fly, on occasions via your nose
  • You understand that 'you' has a plural and that it's 'youse'
  • You know it's not summer until the steering wheel is too hot to handle
  • Your biggest family argument over the summer concerned the rules of beach cricket
  • You shake your head in horror when companies try to market what they call 'Anzac cookies'
  • You still think of Kylie as 'that girl off Neighbours'
  • When returning home from overseas, you expect to be brutally strip-searched by Customs - just in case you're trying to sneak in fruit
  • You believe the phrase 'smart casual' refers to a pair of black tracky-daks, suitably laundered
  • You understand that all train timetables are works of fiction
  • When working at a bar, you understand male customers will feel the need to offer an excuse whenever they order low-alcohol beer
  • You get choked up with emotion by the first verse of the national anthem and then have trouble remembering the second
  • You find yourself ignorant of nearly all the facts deemed essential in the government's new test for migrants.

Mel-bun is also acceptible, as long as the r is completely neglected like it bloody well should be.

As for the second verse of the anthem it should always start off with gusto "Beneath our radiant southern cross, we toil with hearts and hands.. dadada nananaaaa naa naa something more about bloody land"

Also family argument of beach cricket is also matched by who gets the tongs at the bbq for those without a beach to get to.

Otherwise, spot on!

Going to the Big Day Out was a great way to spend Australia day. The Living End playing Waltzing Matilda was awesome. Still sunburnt from monday unfortunley. :(