awsome footballers in local leauges that never make it

zorbadunde

Oct 31, 2006
hi guys

does anyone know of any footballers in local leauges who deserve a shot at afl level?

most of these players dont come good till they are 19 or 20
and most of them have been to oakliegh before and have been culled after one training session, i mean what can u learn after one training session of a player.

i am just in a bit of a rant mood after a good mate of mine is back playing local footy where he was unbelievable

when he was 17 he was playing div 3 seniors kicked 70 goals for the year i think 3rd in the div, and it was against real men, not these stick figures that the tac cup guys play against.

i mean who dosnt want a 6'5 chf wieghs 110 kilos who kicks 60 meters on his right and 50 on his left, who can pin piont anyone, and GREAT HANDS.

this draft system ********s me because players like this get overlooked.

anyways end of rant* anyone else have any similar situations

cyas

ben peters played at the western jets this year on a flank i think. came back to his local club for 3 senior games on ball and got b.o.g in all of them (division 1 country ,Ballarat F.L..). He didn't get picked up wrong body type is my guess. I think he's signed at coburg keep an eye out for him ball magnet. A bit like sam mitchell.

it hasnt kept him out of football he stil played a couple of games but only in the reserves, he is still only 18 though so who knows.

Yeah give me a dollar for every gun that never made it.
Give me a dollar for every champion horse that could have won the cup.
Then give me a dollar for every bloke who knows a bloke who would have been a gun. Now call me Kerry Bloody Packer.

These guys that send in messages about a mate I reckon are usually,

a) the mate
b) in love with the mate
c) a girly kind of bloke with an infatuation for the mate

I once knew a bloke who thought he could play AFL, got drafted and played a long and successful career...... now you don't here that very often do you

My brother went to school with two complete unco's and one untalented hard worker, and all three got drafted, and are early on in strong careers.

Those players? Ashley Hansen, Scott Thornton and Matthew Boyd. In fact, they were all in the same Year 11 homeroom, IIRC.

They were such unlikely AFL types that despite the fact that Ash has a premiership medallion and is arguably one of the most important players in the Premiership side, and Matthew Boyd is an automatic selection in one of the strongest midfields in the comp, the school footy team that they played for was still crap.

My point being that players CAN come a long way, but if they've got the talent to do it, the AFL clubs ARE pretty good at recognising it. None of those three guys looked like much chop at school level, but their talent was recognised, and now they're all doing pretty well.

Yeah give me a dollar for every gun that never made it.
Give me a dollar for every champion horse that could have won the cup.
Then give me a dollar for every bloke who knows a bloke who would have been a gun. Now call me Kerry Bloody Packer.

These guys that send in messages about a mate I reckon are usually,

a) the mate
b) in love with the mate
c) a girly kind of bloke with an infatuation for the mate

goal snekk i am none of those above, this guy has real talent, and still unco ******** footballers get drafted for example walker, fanning etc. now all i asked for was people who new any other who could be drafted, not for u to give us an opinion of if i am in love with someone?? i mean really

Ok my apologies for saying you may be a girly kind of bloke in love with your best mate. I see your point now.... this extremely talented friend of yours who you have no infatuation with, has been overlooked by a sophisticated national non girly draft system, which in itself is scutinised by the best talent scouts and whilst not perfect, does manage to keep the AFL ranks pretty full. Obviously your non girly coordinated friend has been discriminated against and would be a much better pick up that walker or fanning... although I'm not sure who this etc person is???
I'd suggest you sympathise with him in a non-girly kind of way.... how about some nice flowers, maybe a dinner for two or a movie????

I would suggest that if your mate is talented enough and is still only young that her persists with the scorpians for more than 1 year. If you have 1 year of injuries and are only 19 and then give up then you probably don't won't it bad enough.

I know a guy who is an enormous talent but had a cronic back problem the year he was eligable to be drafted. when he was fitter a few years later he played in the vfl and had the opportnity to play a few games for the blues reserves side. He then did pre season with the hope of being rookied as a 23 yo. Bittain was a big rap for him and got sacked , pagan came in and choose youth. The moral is he gave it his best shot and did not give up until his time had past. Atleast he knows he gave it is best shot and is now one of the most respected country footballers in the state and still loves the games. There are probably 100 stories like this each year and there is no use getting annoyed about it. But if your mate is only a young fella and thinks he is good enough there is no use playing divi 3 footy.

Damian Cameron is a young superstar. He plays for Tatyoon and won the club B&F this year by a mile. Came runner up last year after playing half the year in the rebels. 6ft 3 and can run like the clappers. Play anywhere:thumbsu:

I have no sympathy for the guys that dominate the local leagues, but for the discarded AFL players who go well in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL later in the career, like B.Lloyd and Troy West. Lloyd could of had a solid AFL career if clubs were willing to draft 25+ year olds (I don't blame them though).

awsome footballers in local leauges that never make it