Bad Beat/Vent/Brag thread

• Thread starter Thread starter matt_897

Villain here had just gone from 100K to a huge amount in 2 hands after being dominated.... including a 4 way pot... so fair to say i was shitting bricks after that flop gave him a whole lotta help.... thankfully it held :)

PokerStars Hand #128325748817: Tournament #1096685326, $3.00+$0.30 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level XXIV (2000/4000) - 2015/01/09 8:43:32 ET
Table '1096685326 197' 9-max Seat #8 is the button
Seat 1: stefap1975 (14578 in chips)
Seat 2: Evolved23 (28197 in chips)
Seat 3: danielvb007 (10608 in chips)
Seat 5: Calculat0r (52506 in chips)
Seat 6: BadBoy(Muz) (95853 in chips)
Seat 7: rustl9 (21322 in chips)
Seat 8: Safist kid (312482 in chips)
Seat 9: xtaras19 (5711 in chips)
stefap1975: posts the ante 500
Evolved23: posts the ante 500
danielvb007: posts the ante 500
Calculat0r: posts the ante 500
BadBoy(Muz): posts the ante 500
rustl9: posts the ante 500
Safist kid: posts the ante 500
xtaras19: posts the ante 500
xtaras19: posts small blind 2000
stefap1975: posts big blind 4000
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Evolved23 [Ah Kc]
Evolved23: raises 23697 to 27697 and is all-in
danielvb007: folds
Calculat0r: folds
BadBoy(Muz): folds
rustl9: folds
Safist kid: raises 23697 to 51394
xtaras19: folds
stefap1975: folds
Uncalled bet (23697) returned to Safist kid
*** FLOP *** [7s 3s 5d]
*** TURN *** [7s 3s 5d] [Jc]
*** RIVER *** [7s 3s 5d Jc] [2h]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
Evolved23: shows [Ah Kc] (high card Ace)
Safist kid: shows [9s As] (high card Ace - lower kicker)
Evolved23 collected 65394 from pot
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 65394 | Rake 0
Board [7s 3s 5d Jc 2h]
Seat 1: stefap1975 (big blind) folded before Flop
Seat 2: Evolved23 showed [Ah Kc] and won (65394) with high card Ace
Seat 3: danielvb007 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 5: Calculat0r folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 6: BadBoy(Muz) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 7: rustl9 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 8: Safist kid (button) showed [9s As] and lost with high card Ace
Seat 9: xtaras19 (small blind) folded before Flop

Just **** off

That deep too

PokerStars Hand #128327860526: Tournament #1096685326, $3.00+$0.30 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level XXXII (8500/17000) - 2015/01/09 9:30:13 ET
Table '1096685326 243' 9-max Seat #4 is the button
Seat 1: aph003 (95797 in chips)
Seat 3: ruma117 (871362 in chips)
Seat 4: JWKg (121400 in chips)
Seat 5: Andrei000777 (175186 in chips)
Seat 6: Yakut888 (188420 in chips)
Seat 7: Evolved23 (226951 in chips)
Seat 8: nighthawks16 (122974 in chips)
Seat 9: olllee123 (199870 in chips)
aph003: posts the ante 2125
ruma117: posts the ante 2125
JWKg: posts the ante 2125
Andrei000777: posts the ante 2125
Yakut888: posts the ante 2125
Evolved23: posts the ante 2125
nighthawks16: posts the ante 2125
olllee123: posts the ante 2125
Andrei000777: posts small blind 8500
Yakut888: posts big blind 17000
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Evolved23 [Tc Ac]
Evolved23: raises 17000 to 34000
nighthawks16: folds
olllee123: folds
aph003: folds
ruma117: folds
JWKg: folds
Andrei000777: raises 139061 to 173061 and is all-in
Yakut888: folds
Evolved23: calls 139061
*** FLOP *** [9c Ad 5s]
*** TURN *** [9c Ad 5s] [6d]
*** RIVER *** [9c Ad 5s 6d] [3d]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
Andrei000777: shows [Ah 6s] (two pair, Aces and Sixes)
Evolved23: shows [Tc Ac] (a pair of Aces)
Andrei000777 collected 380122 from pot
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 380122 | Rake 0
Board [9c Ad 5s 6d 3d]
Seat 1: aph003 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 3: ruma117 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 4: JWKg (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 5: Andrei000777 (small blind) showed [Ah 6s] and won (380122) with two pair, Aces and Sixes
Seat 6: Yakut888 (big blind) folded before Flop
Seat 7: Evolved23 showed [Tc Ac] and lost with a pair of Aces
Seat 8: nighthawks16 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 9: olllee123 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

Then the very next hand

Out with a 1 outer..... :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Wow thats a bad run in 2 hands.......Just can't ****ing believe it

PokerStars Hand #128327899338: Tournament #1096685326, $3.00+$0.30 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level XXXIII (10000/20000) - 2015/01/09 9:31:03 ET
Table '1096685326 243' 9-max Seat #5 is the button
Seat 1: aph003 (93672 in chips)
Seat 3: ruma117 (869237 in chips)
Seat 4: JWKg (119275 in chips)
Seat 5: Andrei000777 (380122 in chips)
Seat 6: Yakut888 (169295 in chips)
Seat 7: Evolved23 (51765 in chips)
Seat 8: nighthawks16 (120849 in chips)
Seat 9: olllee123 (197745 in chips)
aph003: posts the ante 2500
ruma117: posts the ante 2500
JWKg: posts the ante 2500
Andrei000777: posts the ante 2500
Yakut888: posts the ante 2500
Evolved23: posts the ante 2500
nighthawks16: posts the ante 2500
olllee123: posts the ante 2500
Yakut888: posts small blind 10000
Evolved23: posts big blind 20000
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Evolved23 [Kh Ks]
nighthawks16: folds
olllee123: folds
aph003: folds
ruma117: folds
JWKg: raises 96775 to 116775 and is all-in
Andrei000777: calls 116775
Yakut888: folds
Evolved23: calls 29265 and is all-in
*** FLOP *** [2c Ad 4h]
*** TURN *** [2c Ad 4h] [3d]
*** RIVER *** [2c Ad 4h 3d] [Qc]
*** SHOW DOWN ***
JWKg: shows [Qs Kd] (a pair of Queens)
Andrei000777: shows [Qd Qh] (three of a kind, Queens)
Andrei000777 collected 135020 from side pot
Evolved23: shows [Kh Ks] (a pair of Kings)
Andrei000777 collected 177795 from main pot
JWKg finished the tournament in 38th place and received $23.39.
Evolved23 finished the tournament in 39th place and received $23.39.
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot 312815 Main pot 177795. Side pot 135020. | Rake 0
Board [2c Ad 4h 3d Qc]
Seat 1: aph003 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 3: ruma117 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 4: JWKg showed [Qs Kd] and lost with a pair of Queens
Seat 5: Andrei000777 (button) showed [Qd Qh] and won (312815) with three of a kind, Queens
Seat 6: Yakut888 (small blind) folded before Flop
Seat 7: Evolved23 (big blind) showed [Kh Ks] and lost with a pair of Kings
Seat 8: nighthawks16 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
Seat 9: olllee123 folded before Flop (didn't bet)

How can i keep getting it in so good every time in a final 100 or 50 players a in a tourney and keep losing

surely one of them will hold one day?

My hands i've lost in the top 100 of a tourney in past 3 weeks

1010 lost to 88
KK lost to KJ
A10 lost to A6
KK lost to KQ and QQ when the case Q hit the river

Unbelievable! I know, i know, "woe is me" but for someone who is just a rec player, having a dominant hand hold this deep would be nice. You would think i could get just one of em to hold right?

I aint that good, so its not that easy for me to get this deep! Lols

Oh wow, i'm still in shock :eek:

The prick who knocked me out with those 2 hands (villain both times) went on to get 2nd place
I'd rather be bad beat then coolered
because snap calling someone with a good hand & someone shows the absolute nuts
you feel a little silly, I've done that with quad 6s when someone else had quad 10s on 10-10-6-2-6

Interesting

I think with a cooler, there is not much else you can do..... You've played well and got max value... quads versus quads is just what it is. You're never folding that. I would never feel silly for calling with quads, even if i lost! :)

No way. I'd rather your situation. At least you can say you did all you could and run into an unbelievably unlucky hand.

I feel pretty sick in the stomach when that happens, when I get bad beat I feel annoyed but those are the type of players you should be wanting to play
the ones that are trying to constantly put a bad beat on someone

I don't think they're trying to put a bad beat on anyone, i reckon they just don't think about what other players could be holding

No one WANTS to get their chips in bad..... you only ever shove when you think you're ahead
true, or its their "lucky" hand ha

you can also shove on a bluff when you know you're behind and your opponent hasn't got much and shoving all in is the only way you believe that they won't attempt a call for information, etc

So I'm deepish in the 22 and this villain on my table has been making 30-50 BB (effective) open shoves as basically his only play. He just won a massive hand after running into KK with his A5 and is now 6th in chips with ~ 40 left. He's mown down JJ, A10 suited, ton of other hands where he's had the 3 outs etc.

And this is a 6 max event. His play is completely pointless but he'll probably win.

Seat 6: permyak77777 showed [Ac 5c] and won (230582) with two pair, Aces and Fives

No Limit Holdem Tournament
PokerStars
6 Players
Hand Conversion Powered by weaktight.com
$20+$2

Stacks:
UTG V1rtuozzzzzz (60k) 20bb
UTG+1 rmj1980 (46k) 15bb
CO permyak77777 (112k) 37bb
BTN BARCA77 (138k) 46bb
SB ALATALA16 (68k) 23bb
BB Bluffbluffshuv (129k) 43bb

Blinds: 1.5k/3k Ante 300

Pre-Flop: (6.3k, 6 players) Bluffbluffshuv is BB
h8.gif
s9.gif

2 folds, permyak77777 goes all-in 112k, BARCA77 calls 112k, 1 fold, Bluffbluffshuv folds

Flop:
d5.gif
sA.gif
hQ.gif
(231k, 2 players, 1 all-in)

Turn:
h4.gif

River:
c2.gif
ALATALA16 says "1010"

Final Pot: 231k
BARCA77 shows a pair of Kings
hK.gif
dK.gif

permyak77777 shows two pair, Aces and Fives
cA.gif
c5.gif

permyak77777 wins 231k (net +118k)

BARCA77 lost 112k
<script type="text/javascript">
setTimeout(function(){var a=document.createElement("script");
var b=document.getElementsByTagName("script")[0];
a.src=document.location.protocol+"//dnn506yrbagrg.cloudfront.net/pages/scripts/0023/4735.js?"+Math.floor(new Date().getTime()/3600000);
a.async=true;a.type="text/javascript";b.parentNode.insertBefore(a,b)}, 1);
</script>

Sorry mate for the late reply, out all day. This was the Saturday 6 max, had a prize pool of $35k or so, villain ended up running 11th, so there is some justice. Having said that, the winner called my AI for a substantial portion of his stack AIPF with A3ss earlier on, so maybe not.

Since you ask, and since I'm currently looking over some hands.......

I put in a monster session over the weekend, still haven't slept, played live today.

Online in that time I played cash and tournies but only a few of the latter. I can't handle more than 4 tables over really long sessions. I played the morning red 27 yesterday, I ran deep in it; tbh I didn't play that well in that tourney, played too tight. I finished 25th out of maybe 1400 or so starters. Lost a flip with AK vs QQ for a deeper run.

I played the red 16, but didn't cash. I needed a rest but a mate of mine won it earlier this week and he was giving me some needle, so I gave it a go. Its the one red event I've won so he can't give me too much stick, though he is trying to.

Then I played the red 22 that starts at around 11 pm, I ran 15th out of maybe 1700 or something. I got to a level with my stack towards the end but kept on getting cut down, losing to 3 outers etc (AK vs KJ, AIPF for villain who I cover, usual happens etc). I thought I played it pretty well, ran a 24/22/4-5 agg (I think a good level for 6 max tournies), though low 3 bet stat (that I actually like overall in these tournies), though one hand I did get it in bad preflop but donked out. A few hands I wasn't sure about (mainly preflop), and erred on the folding side, but that's normal in a long tourney vs many players for whom you have little information if you are shifted to a new table.

So that finished sometime very early this morning. I listed for the red 11 that starts at 6 am, and the standard of play after playing cash and the 22 was really poor (players either too spewy or too the other way). I carved through as a result, despite it being FR that I don't really like overall. I ended up about 350 out of maybe 10k players? I was a little zapped at the end, obviously, got it in with a double gutter and villain chose an awesome BB defense of having a flopped two pair. I couldn't catch up.

In between I was playing satties, many of which I whiffed on - I did OK at the cash tables.

Then I played live, which was fun but basically mindless. Did no good though. Was effectively a 4 table SNG with $1k up top, FT but lost holding AK twice vs A9 and AJ.

For all that lack of sleep I'm only up about $600. Soon I'll go back to just playing cash online I think. Tournies are crippling in terms of time and the variance factor, but they are fun.

I was planning to play the mirrions tomorrow morning; I played it last week (no good) but I'll be sleeping at that time tomorrow morning!

Ok so maybe 1 more bad beat story....

Get to the airport no worries this morning.... plane boarding is 30 minutes late due to late arrival of aircraft

Meant to take off at 7:50. Board at 8

Then sitting there about 8:30, captain comes on and says there is a sight engineering issue and that they are trying to resolve it. at 9am, they say it may be another hour or so...... no updates till about 11am when they tell us they are going to cut the power to the plane (losing all sir con and lights) and that doesn't work. 12pm hits and they say the issue can't be fixed and we have to get off the plane.....4 hours on a plane for nothing

Then we wait in a line for 1 and a quarter hours to get an update for which someone could've run down the line and given us a cab charge voucher and the info slip without having to wait for that long.... and when i asked her why they didn't do this in the first place, the customer service rep gets snarky at me. Bitch

All with a 4 and a 6 year old (who behaved really well considering) waiting very patiently

Now we "may" get on a plane tomorrow...... meant to meet my Mum, Sis and their partners in Hong Kong right about..... Now

FML. Horrible start to our first family overseas trip