Bad sports all round

Jun 3, 2008
Melbourne Storm
im not generally one to complain - but the people we had sitting behind us last nite were the worst ive had to deal with in a long time

they grabbed me and tried to sit me down after a brilliant goal from Buddy (they must like watching the umpires run the ball back to the centre) - were complaining bout little girls a few rows in front waving their flags as the boys ran out through the banner - BUT THE WORST was the constant negativity and bagging of our players for no apparent reason

these people even referred to bateman as "Tom Bateman" - heres hoping thats the first and last time i see these people!!!!

On the train home i heard a bulldogs woman complain that Buddy was the dirtiest player she had ever seen. She was an older lady.....she must have forgotten about Libba and Romero

Or that was her first game???

I can't remember anyone ever telling us to sit down after a goal....ever!......that is outragous!

Should have given them a mouthful allaboutseptember!

I hate it when you are trying to show some support for your team and the boring, angry supporters tell you to sit down.

Show some passion and sportsmanship you bland people!

i was abused by some 12 yr old, haha.. he was telling me to STFU. gave him the old Hulk Hogan "what" action

hulk-hogan.jpg

there was also a puppies supporter who was kicked out in the first quarter for abuse

Living in the country I don't get to many games..But I remember when we played the Scrays at Waverley many years ago, that their supporters were THE worst I have ever seen, and that's saying something. A young Hawk supporter, about 6 years old, when a goal was kicked, stood up, and waved his flag, and as you can imagine back then at Waverley there wasn't a big crowd.Well, the Scray supporters about 4 rows back were yelling out, and abusing this poor kid, who was down against the front rail mind you, to sit the f@#$ down, don't fly your flag, and so many other abusive things. I could not believe that they were human!! To pick on a little kid like that was disgusting..Have detested the WB ever since that day!!..
Pick on someone your own age you feral supporters!!!
The poor kid was in tears at the end of the game.. Hope they got lots of enjoyment from it...NOT!!:(
At least we won that day!! yeahhhhh..

I hate it when you are trying to show some support for your team and the boring, angry supporters tell you to sit down.

Show some passion and sportsmanship you bland people!

I occasionally ask people to sit down but only if they're standing at the wrong time of the game and only because I'm in a wheelchair and can't see shit if people stand. Having said that last week I was on level 1 in the pocket where buddy got the 100 and Fev the 99, couldn't see much when everyone went up but really didn't care it was the best match atmosphere since the elimination final.

I was sitting behind a guy last night who kept calling buddy richo, my mate and I were like how many tons has richo got mate :)

I occasionally ask people to sit down but only if they're standing at the wrong time of the game and only because I'm in a wheelchair and can't see shit if people stand. Having said that last week I was on level 1 in the pocket where buddy got the 100 and Fev the 99, couldn't see much when everyone went up but really didn't care it was the best match atmosphere since the elimination final.

I was sitting behind a guy last night who kept calling buddy richo, my mate and I were like how many tons has richo got mate :)

Bahaha Richo? Buddy is 100 times better (literally).

Obviously there are times during the game when you shouldn't stand, but it's when your team has kicked a wonderful goal and you stand, only to be told to sit back down that's shit house.

Either way, I tend to ingnore the people around me. Unless they are Hawk supporters of course!

I can't remember anyone ever telling us to sit down after a goal....ever!......that is outragous!

Should have given them a mouthful allaboutseptember!

yeah at first mum was telling me to just stay quiet - but in the end mum had had enough aswell and gave them heaps and basically told them they were a disgrace and that if they wanna sit there and bag their own players to do so in their own home!!!

when buddy really started to turn it on i thought F*** it - up on the seats i went chearing louder than ever - fair to say i had trouble ordering drinks at the precinct post match!!!

10 rows back near the doggies bench - some guys were baiting Aker but got no response

I called out "You're too good for this lot AKER, come and play for us !" I swear I got a little wry smile from him

I admire you, wheelie.

We sat behind the Hawthorn cheer squad and every Hawk supporter stood up at every goal and no one got told to sit down, but i,m 5"5 and wish the family in front of me sat down coz i couldnt see shit and they were all 6"..:(

im not generally one to complain - but the people we had sitting behind us last nite were the worst ive had to deal with in a long time

they grabbed me and tried to sit me down after a brilliant goal from Buddy (they must like watching the umpires run the ball back to the centre) - were complaining bout little girls a few rows in front waving their flags as the boys ran out through the banner - BUT THE WORST was the constant negativity and bagging of our players for no apparent reason

these people even referred to bateman as "Tom Bateman" - heres hoping thats the first and last time i see these people!!!!

A simple Go F8ck yourself would have sufficed!
Don't take sh*t..... you're at the footy, your team is winning! the best and most exciting player in the league is on fire. Enjoy yourself!

10 rows back near the doggies bench - some guys were baiting Aker but got no response

I called out "You're too good for this lot AKER, come and play for us !" I swear I got a little wry smile from him

I saw that too! You are spot-on. I was down in the dog's rooms after the game and he was asking after you. Said he'd drop you a line through the week to sort out a trade.

The idea is if you want to see players celebrating or the aftermath of a goal you stand up and cheer as loud as possible ... then when you settle down you sit down.

I hate it when our clubs supporters show no passion.. especially last season vs kangaroos in the semi.. we had a big crowd but were very quiet ... maybe we were all flat from the week before.

Perhaps the week break might help us supporters regroup for the prelim as well :)

Haha!! Great username there wheelie! You have gone past Robber_Baron as my new favorite poster!! Keep up the good work! :):thumbsu:

Cheers Hodgey I like to keep things simple, to the point, unlike most opposition fans sit with week in week out! Honestly they let anyone in to the afl members these days. ;)

The idea is if you want to see players celebrating or the aftermath of a goal you stand up and cheer as loud as possible ... then when you settle down you sit down.

I hate it when our clubs supporters show no passion.. especially last season vs kangaroos in the semi.. we had a big crowd but were very quiet ... maybe we were all flat from the week before.

Perhaps the week break might help us supporters regroup for the prelim as well :)

Agree completely! :thumbsu:

The Hawks deserve to be in the grand final this year I don't care what anyone else says so let's make some noise in a fortnight and get the guys over the line!

the roo game after the crow game this year had the same feel , very quiet no matter what the hawk supporters did the roo's supporters were quiet as

We've got reserved seats in like the back row so they're right in front of the standing room ferals that always end up being the loud mouthed opposition supporters that cant handle anything more than a 15m walk to the bar.
Anyways at the Richmond game they were telling me to sit down the whole time. I told them that I'd payed for my seats and I'd be standing up from them whenever I wanted and if they had a problem with that they could move on.

bloody richmond ferals.

I've only ever been told to sit down after goals once by North supporters. I just stood up more often after that. Can't stand it when people tell you to sit down after a player has kicked a good goal. :mad:

Bad sports all round