Southampton,Victory,Storm
As everyone probably knows, Hall was given 3 weeks.

Now the sentence doesn't surprise me. I was expecting a 2-3 week suspension.

What does surprise me was the fact that he was found guilty of the striking charge and not guilty on the unduly rough play report.

I was certain that there was nothing in the striking charge at all. There was nothing he could do but make contact with Corey. I don't even think his arms were raised, merely rising after contact was made.

On the other hand, I was very disappointed with Hall's effort on charging into Matthew Scarlett while he was lying down. He did make contact with the side of Scarlett rather than making contact with his head which was a good thing. However I thought it was dangerous and he may have been in a little trouble on that charge.

Anyway, the most important thing is that we can sign up Bazza over the next few weeks because his development this year has been a highlight amongst a disappointing year. Hopefully the club can come up with a good deal. And judging by how well the footy club have stood by him through some of his indiscretions of the past, I wouldn't expect him to want to leave. (I hope not anyway, I'd be pretty shattered to lose him)

I would be trading Barry Hall out of Melbourne to Fremantle or West Coast for some players or draft picks.The guy is a loser and troublemaker.

But surely under the new reign at St Kilda, Barry is 'empowered' to channel his 'passion' in appropriate way. God forbid they would actually let him to pull his head in? The last person to do that was M.Blight.

Over west, It's common knowledge that Freo are very keen to get Hall over here next year - you might get lucky if they throw over a draft pick or a player who was never given a fair go (like Callaghan).

As for Hall being suspended - it's just boosted my confidence in us beating your lot this weekend :)

With no disrespect to St Kilda supporters, I would not want him at North.

Personally, I wouldn't want him over at WC. He is a good player when he is on the job but he does bring bad publicity to a club which is something neither WA clubs want at the moment not to mention the Saints.

Anyway, if some of you Saints supporters want to join in the discussion about the game (Saints vs WC) Sunday arvo I'm about to post a related thread on the WC forum so contribute if ya want.

Vis

Barry Hall is an easy target. Yes, he did the wrong thing. He is also being punished. For most people that is enough. Unfortunately for Hall, he is someone that will always create headlines.

The development of Barry Hall as both a footballer and as a person has been a personal highlight over the past few years.

Anyway, I'm glad you all feel the way you do because he isn't going anywhere.

Originally posted by sainter
Barry Hall is an easy target. Yes, he did the wrong thing. He is also being punished. For most people that is enough. Unfortunately for Hall, he is someone that will always create headlines.

The development of Barry Hall as both a footballer and as a person has been a personal highlight over the past few years.

Anyway, I'm glad you all feel the way you do because he isn't going anywhere.

i would be disappointed if barry left the club now as his best football is still in front of him. blight tried to stuff his career up by making him a back man when clearly he is a leading forward.

during the watson years hall was the only player to progress as a player. he has been good again this year and will get better.

his reputation is a double edged sword. on the one side he scares the cr*p out of opposition backmen which creates a hole in front of him to lead into. on the other side he gets crucified by the umpires who refuse to give him a free kick and are quick with the whistle against him.

i think he'll stay. his family are still in broadford and he should show the club some loyalty as the club have stuck by him through a few tough times.

Originally posted by StrengthThroughLoyalty

i would be disappointed if barry left the club now as his best football is still in front of him. blight tried to stuff his career up by making him a back man when clearly he is a leading forward.

during the watson years hall was the only player to progress as a player. he has been good again this year and will get better.

his reputation is a double edged sword. on the one side he scares the cr*p out of opposition backmen which creates a hole in front of him to lead into. on the other side he gets crucified by the umpires who refuse to give him a free kick and are quick with the whistle against him.

i think he'll stay. his family are still in broadford and he should show the club some loyalty as the club have stuck by him through a few tough times.

Agreed on all 4 points!

Your thoughts on Watson are interesting. The legacy of Tim Watson's coaching stint will be the development of Barry Hall and the blooding of exciting youngsters like Hayes, Moyle and Beetham.

Most opposition supporters will disagree but the way he has managed to remain composed in the face of repeatedly being scragged and manhandled is why I reckon he has matured so much. He is definitely a victim of his reputation.

Definitely agree on your last point. It may be a similar situation to Spider. According to the media, it was a fait accompli that he would become a magpie. Yet the way the club has stood behind him through some tough times must one of the reasons why he never wanted to leave. Providing we offer him a suitable contract, I'd hope the same result will occur with Hall.