• Thread starter Thread starter NQTIGER

Ahhh number 22. Was mum's favorite

One of the first to wear yellow boots. She called him "Twinkle Toes"

Played a few games for Victoria too

Thanks for the heads up, although I feared he was sick or something

He'd be about 54 now. Geez, we're all getting on...

BAZZAAAA! Had his number on my jumper. Courageous and skilled. Nearly missed the 80 flag due to injury. Went on to captain the Tiges. Great pick-up.

Fortunate to win a competition in 1982 in alocal newspaper and first prize was a gift pack for dad for Father's Day and for me it wa sthe chance to meet and be photographed with Bazza.
Proud as punch and the photo still holds pride of place in the collection today.
I met him and a few months later I attended a footy clinic at Punt Road and Bazza recognised me and came over to say hello. That makes an impression on an 11 year old!!
Was a ripper player and ripper bloke!

Fortunate to win a competition in 1982 in alocal newspaper and first prize was a gift pack for dad for Father's Day and for me it wa sthe chance to meet and be photographed with Bazza.
Proud as punch and the photo still holds pride of place in the collection today.
I met him and a few months later I attended a footy clinic at Punt Road and Bazza recognised me and came over to say hello. That makes an impression on an 11 year old!!
Was a ripper player and ripper bloke!

Did you have the gold makeup on back then too?

I had the old "ESSO" jumper with 22 also.
I remember in grade 6 all our class wrote a letter to their favourite player for a footy theme.A few got a couple of stickers or a typed note from a club,many nothing.
I got a personally mailed hand written 5 page letter back from Barry Rowlings followed by him coming to the school for a day and talking to the class,then giving a clinic then me a signed footy from the team.still have the letter somewhere.
What a legend.

Did you have the gold makeup on back then too?

Nah mate, was a bit more conservative in those days.
The picture of Bazza, my brother and I remains a source of bitterness.
My brother was ahuge Rowlings fan and wore the 22 on his Esso top.
A year later he defected to become a Hawks supporter (as luck would have it at the right time in 83).
Never forgiven the p****!!!