eagles
he got 4 goals for the east perth reserves
i dont know where he played
he wasnt rated as one of thier best players
but 4 goals is a good return
WAFL next week id bet

Funny, I always thought of him as a backman?!?! BTW, we dont really have any young tall backman coming through which is a bit worrying...

Vis

Originally posted by Visro
Funny, I always thought of him as a backman?!?! BTW, we dont really have any young tall backman coming through which is a bit worrying...

Vis

???

Glass Carroll Williams and Gaspar??

Arent they all young backmen. Williams can play both as can Gaspar but they are all under 23?

I think we need to draft one good tall backman. Reasons:

Short backline, Glass and Carroll are only 192 cm and the best forwards in the league are about 197cm. Gaspar is 195 but he is more a forward.

Lack of skills, none of the key backman players except Wirrpunda are great in this department.

Its been obvious in todays match, we have enough tall timber for 2 tall forwards but we dont have any for really tall, powerfull timbers. Get what I mean?

I think we need to draft one good tall backman. Reasons:

Short backline, Glass and Carroll are only 192 cm and the best forwards in the league are about 197cm. Gaspar is 195 but he is more a forward.

Lack of skills, none of the key backman players except Wirrpunda are great in this department.

Its been obvious in todays match, we have enough tall timber for 2 tall forwards but we dont have any for really tall, powerfull timbers. Get what I mean?

Yeah i think i know what you mean. What you want is for me to invent a time machine and stick Milli in it. :D

Someone like him yeah?

I think we need to draft one good tall backman.

Mate, thats the mistake the eagles made in the last 4-5yrs, they drafted who they needed not the best players available. Now look where we are. Imagine if for the next 3 yrs we drafted the same, we would struggle to win a game in the WAFL!!!!

The kid seems to have stepped into football without any hassels (I'm assuming it's the first game he's played this year) - do you think he would be able to break into the East Perth side with Buszan/Wilson at full forward or should he stay in the reserves for now?

To GoEagles, just thought I would give you a bit of background on Zac Beeck. In 2000 he played 14 games for the East Perth colts and kicked 16 goals before he was injured. The game he played on Saturday for the reserves was his first this year after the injury. He is about 196 cm and plays as a Ruck/CHF and I believe he will develope into a very good player. A future Eagle.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

Mate, thats the mistake the eagles made in the last 4-5yrs, they drafted who they needed not the best players available. Now look where we are. Imagine if for the next 3 yrs we drafted the same, we would struggle to win a game in the WAFL!!!!

Yeah, but in the past, every player they drafted was for a specific purpose. All I'm saying is that we should use one of our picks specifically for a tall talented backman as we are a player short in this department.

Originally posted by GoEagles
The kid seems to have stepped into football without any hassels (I'm assuming it's the first game he's played this year) - do you think he would be able to break into the East Perth side with Buszan/Wilson at full forward or should he stay in the reserves for now?

I'm sure being on the Eagles rookie list and with Tony Micale as coach that they will find a spot for him. ;)

I think the backline is an issue and so we must see Antonowitz have a go and decide whether or not he is our next Milli

Our backline probably needs another tall defender, problem is if we draft one what are the odds he will be a regular in his first season?

We really should go all out to try and secure Hay from the Hawks. A defense consisting of:
FB: Glass Hay Carroll
HB:Read Gaspar Collica

Looks pretty good, and maybe Antonowich and McDougall could step in aswell.

How does Braun and a 2nd rnd pick for Hay sound? Would the Hawks go for it? Or maybe our 2nd pick(probably 6th overall) instead of Braun?

Unfortunately for us, Hay is quite happy over there now. In his first couple of seasons he was apparently very homesick but he has gotten over that now and wants to stay there. Antonowicz (take note the spelling d4e :p ) could still become a good fullback as he plays good footy in the WAFL when he isn't injured. KJ should try him out for the rest of the season and assess whether he's good enough or not. Even if he is, I would like to see us draft one tall backman, preferably about 195 cm who has good speed and skills. A tall ask I know, but with such a high draft pick, surely we can pick up someone in that mould early.

Antonowicz (take note the spelling d4e :p ) ........

You'd think I would know how to spell his name considering he's old man taught my brothers in saturday school:rolleyes:

Ehhh, the pressures of yr12 are getting to me:o

FB: Glass Hay Carroll
HB:Read Gaspar Collica

Thats too tall a defence. Three talls only needed. Gaspar, Glass, Carrol or Antono*****

It's the midfield that is more of a worry. so much depended on Brauny. But is he finished?

Everyone is talking about our problems in defence and now our midfield but what about the ever present problem that has plagued us for years.

Centre Half Forward!

We fall down here time and time again. We have backmen in Carroll, Collica, Milli, Jakovich, Glass, Read, Williams, Wirrpunda, Morrison. We have midfielders in Cousins, Kerr, Banners, Jones, Fletcher, Taylor, Wooden.

I still think our main problem is at CHF.

I think the problem has been team balance and overall pace, fitness and flexibility, rather than a specific position. The midfield is consistently last in the AFL in hard ball gets, yet you look at them individually and they look pretty good!

In terms of the half forward line, I agree that we have fallen down at CHF (as opposed to half forward flankers). That's why I was so disappointed when Sierakowski went down after 15 minutes, as I felt he could have added something there.

Embley will be a very good larger half forward flanker. Any number of others present for the other HFF, assuming we're not using that position to rest someone from midfield. But who will play CHF going forward? Hard to say. Sierakowski? Jakovich? Gaspar (family lineage says he's a backman)? Wilson? Even Carroll gets named there sometimes, though I suspect he's more a backman.

You're right, CHF is a problem. I've got option anxiety. If in doubt, go for
1. the strongest marking option (Sierakowski or Wilson)
2. the "make a contest for the crumbers" option (Jakovich or Wilson).
Interesting, ain't it?

I also think with some of the weaker Ruck teams Cox and maybe Seira could handle the ruck and leave Gardy at CHF for a whole game at a time and see if he can really dominate. Rather than him playing in the ruck and going forward for a quarter here and there.

Give some responsibility to Cox and release Gardy. Williams Gaspar Embly and Haynes are all more flanker types than actual CHF's. I dont think they could do the job week in and week out.

I think we have heaps of CHF options. McDougal and Maccarey are the long term ones. Jako and Sierra stand out. But I believe that Cox will become our No1 Ruckman and Gardy will be a CHF option or be traded!!!!!!!!!!!!! , let's face it, two star ruckmen aren't going to stay with one club!
Haynes and Embley can play half forward flanks as can Gaspar and Green. Even Antonowitz is capable of CHF and what about Milli and carrol.
We do have some nice flexibility but I just cant see the midfield stars of the future apart from Cuz and Kerr. We need another Banfield type, a strong bulldozer.

Hey Frodo I agree.

Perhaps the Bombers would let us have a Johnson (2), Hardwick or Solomon. It just aint fair is it.

I saw Bluey Mckenna training yesterday. He was involved in every drill and looked impressive. If only .......... (I can dream cant I)

GO EAGLES