Ben Cousins Merged Threads

• Thread starter Thread starter Bennycoff

Re: Cousins - should we look at him?

Don't jump on me, but I would.

For one year (2009), as long as he spent all of 08 in rehab, i'd give him a shot.

I agree, if he was committed to staying clean, was undergoing counselling, and had stringent clauses inserted into his contract, I would have no problems with giving him a shot.

He is a brownlow medallist, one of the most talented footballers of the last 10 yrs, his fitness is outstanding, if he had next year out of football, there is no reason (apart from desire) why he could not come back at 30 and play for another 2-3 yrs.

He could be the difference between a side winning a premiership or not, but I am biased, I think he is extremely talented and I loved watching him play.

Additionally, if it turns out that Cousins is not guilty of this drugs charge, which he is defending, the AFL would have no grounds to prevent him from coming back to football.

I would look at him. The way he has been treated is a disgrace and if the Hawks showed some integrity to try and help the guy I would respect them more than if they did not.

Biggest media beat up of all time and Cuz is no worse than 10-15% of other players in the game.

if the hawks get him maybe buddy could menton him...orrrr maybe it would be the other way.

your right he had been so hardly done by - poor bloke.....NOT

Simple no. I can't see him playing AFL in 2008. If he cleans himself up, which I hope he does, he might come back in 2009 but if he does, I hope he gets back to the Eagles.

I know people who know him very well. He is no different to many people in life and only parties on weekends. The difference is, is that Cousins lives in a small town where the media follow him around like Lady Diana.

He is no Saint, but the backlash is harsh and ridiculous. I personally would love to see him get a 3 year deal at the Hawks on say 200K...

I know people who know him very well. He is no different to many people in life and only parties on weekends. The difference is, is that Cousins lives in a small town where the media follow him around like Lady Diana.

He is no Saint, but the backlash is harsh and ridiculous. I personally would love to see him get a 3 year deal at the Hawks on say 200K...

Mate, I know where you're coming from, but think about it if he did play for Hawthorn:

- Extensive media attention at Waverly
- Copious amount of pressure on club and Cousins to perform
- Consequences of any misdemeanor even minor would be HUGE!
- Cannot be a positive influence on our young team
- Given his circumstances, the integration from WC to Hawthorn could seriously disrupt the teams integrity and relationships
- BF would be a nightmare.. :p

You reckon he'd ask for that much I reckon he wouldn't want much at all.

Cmon mate, you don't really mean that... Clarkson has worked so hard to clean the culture up at Hawthorn, and despite recent indiscretions, we're on the right path. We are the family club, he will never, ever pull on the Hawthorn guernsey. Ever.

The truth is, is that I don't really mean it for the reasons you have spelled out Hawkie ... But gee I feel sorry for him. :)

NoPleaseBig.jpg

I'll add to that list:

Involved in a punch up with Daniel Kerr at a club trophy night several years ago.

Arrested outside the Crown Casino for being drunk in a publc place.

Suspended by West Coast early this season for missing training.

Added to all the above, as well as refusing to cooperate with police, which was the last straw and the reason he was de-listed.

How many more chances does one human being get? Any other player would have been sacked long before now.

To call him a scapegoat is ridiculous.
Add further.
Stupid bogan tattoo.

I don't buy any of this small town BS. Surely the Geelong footy club should be filled with drug addicks if that was the case?

The reality is that Cuz isn't just a 'party on weekend' sort of guy. I know lots of them and I doubt a few months after getting back to your job after rehab, you'd get caught again with illicit drugs. The average party goer knows when to stop.

I don't buy any of this small town BS. Surely the Geelong footy club should be filled with drug addicks if that was the case?

The reality is that Cuz isn't just a 'party on weekend' sort of guy. I know lots of them and I doubt a few months after getting back to your job after rehab, you'd get caught again with illicit drugs. The average party goer knows when to stop.

Really???? I didnt hear that! I thought the club made a statement that Cousins passed a drug test?

Heres a report from the australian:
Cousins reportedly passed a voluntary drug test shortly after hearing of his friend's death.

The Nine Network reported tonight that West Coast said Cousins did not take a drug test at the club.

"West Coast Eagles now say Cousins did not present at the football club and have no knowledge of, or involvement in, that drug test," the Network said.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22604080-5006789,00.html

Thanks alot for that again mate

No problems.

I'd be interested to know who originally concocted the story he was tested.

Obviously now following cousins being charged and being delisted from the club WC are no longer prepared to stick to it.

If PhilHawk were Chris Pelchen we would have PSD picks 8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16.

Just quietly Llane Spanderman would be worth a look at with pick 16. (Future PH quote)

Just because something is free doesnt mean we should automatically want it, EG herpes.

If PhilHawk were Chris Pelchen we would have PSD picks 8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16.

Just quietly Llane Spanderman would be worth a look at with pick 16. (Future PH quote)

Just because something is free doesnt mean we should automatically want it, EG herpes.

Do you have it in for philhawk, mulhllanddrive?

002No.jpg

..... at first thought but on a second thought a clean of drugs Benny would give us so much dash going forward.

I recall his comeback game after the earlier saga. He was at his best.

However, after a third thought I imagine Clarko would not be interested. A coach has so much on his mind and if Ben were to park his baggage out at Waverley and got into more trouble all hell would break out and behold a kind of trouble we can well do without.

Ben will not be donning the brown and gold, imo.

Mind you, I was a great admirer of him as a footballer in his Brownlow year.

He's never officially tested positive for using illicit drugs under the current system?

The AFL has said that there are players from other clubs who have tested positive under this system without attracting any of the attention that Ben has.

He's not alone in this, yet he's the scapegoat.

He's also a Junkie.

He's also being investigated over the Mainwaring issue.