ace_man

well as much as i hate to say it, was this the decision that we made that would have got us over the line... i think so :(

no , i dont think it would have made a difference - you guys still had many more inside 50s

all that cost you really was poor kicking for goal and milne had a shocker

Bollocks. If you really want to point fingers, look at shots for goal. That's what killed us.

No point singling out Milne either. He had a shocker, but I'd say our entire forward line, looking at them offensively, had a bad day.

Wait a sec, let me grab my crystal ball..
Ben Cousins would've busted his hammy 17 minutes into the 1st quarter leaving the Saints with only 3 on the bench for the rest of the game, which eventually would prove costly to their premership chances. Thanks to their extra legs, the Cats ran away with the game halfway through the 3rd quarter.

Sorry to come on your board guys,just wanted to say commiserations on losing the grand final.Being a collingwood supporter i know exactely how you would be all feeling.
I was hoping the saints would have won.

Don't worry the saints will make a strong tilt again next year.
Great game,easily could have gone the saints way.

The crucial turning point i thought was when the ball was coming out of the geelong's forward fifty,in the last quarter and went over ablett's bald head, their were 2 saints players ready to pounce,but scarlett steamed through kicked the ball off the ground into ablett's hands,ablett kicked the ball forward where Varcoe got a hold of it passed it to Chapman who kiced truly.

Missed opportunites are costly,but the players will learn.
Heard a rumour over the weekend,don't know how true it is,my source told me that the Saints are strongly looking at NATHAN BROWN (FROM RICHMOND) to bolster your small forward stocks.Milne had a shocker!
If brown's leg is ok he could become quite damaging.

As I said in the other thread regarding Cousins that was bumped.

Who would he have replaced in the midfield?

He cannot play back, he does not play forward, he would have bumped out one of Hayes, Ball, Montagna, Goddard, Dal Santo, Ray, Gram for the position.

Goddard can play forward, Ray and Gram can play back, Hayes, Ball, Montagna and Dal Santo had standout years for him to replace. So who?

Based on the information available to St Kilda, they made the correct decision regarding Ben Cousins.

Following the knockback and based on a revamped approach with a little less disclosure Richmond took a gamble.

His best WC work was as high half forward (not midfield and not a goal kicker). Given the number of forward entries, you needed converters not another way into the forward 50.

Original call re Cousins was correct by the Saints.

Not trolling, but I couldnt let this one slip - are you seriously suggesting that Cousins wouldnt have made your team? You could argue the finer points of rotating Gram, Goddard and cousins on the ground, but Ray and Clarke arent fit to lace Cousins boots. come on.

I'm suggesting that everyone harping on that Cousins would have won us the game are yet to provide where he would play on the ground, who would miss out and why and are instead bemoaning the fact that "he is infinitely better!" than some undisclosed individual who's place he took.

As I stated, he plays midfield, that's it. Raph plays back, Milne plays forward, Ray plays back / midfield, Goddard plays forward / midfield / back, Gram plays back / midfield. The only pure midfielders we have are Hayes, Ball Dal Santo and Montagna, and as Ross have emphasised structure, structure, structure, you'd then be suggesting that one of them would miss out for Cousins without naming names.

A case in point rather is that Eddy (forward) was dropped for Dempster who played forward despite being a backman / run with player. So I'm yet to see anyone state who'd they'd remove instead of "woe, we did not pick up Cuz, hark!"

pointless threads.... there's alot of what if's!!
woulda, coulda, shoulda BUT DIDNT!!
And as to looking at Nathan Brown i like that idea, either Browny or Robertson. Robertson was always getting the number 1 backman and playing KPP for Melbourne.
He would be getting the 3rd or 4th defender this way.

I'm suggesting that everyone harping on that Cousins would have won us the game are yet to provide where he would play on the ground, who would miss out and why and are instead bemoaning the fact that "he is infinitely better!" than some undisclosed individual who's place he took.

As I stated, he plays midfield, that's it. Raph plays back, Milne plays forward, Ray plays back / midfield, Goddard plays forward / midfield / back, Gram plays back / midfield. The only pure midfielders we have are Hayes, Ball Dal Santo and Montagna, and as Ross have emphasised structure, structure, structure, you'd then be suggesting that one of them would miss out for Cousins without naming names.

A case in point rather is that Eddy (forward) was dropped for Dempster who played forward despite being a backman / run with player. So I'm yet to see anyone state who'd they'd remove instead of "woe, we did not pick up Cuz, hark!"

the are many options with ray the screaming candidate. optionally milne if you wanted to replace him with someone who has a track record under finals pressure. clarke by way of reliveing gram and/or goddard of midfield duties.

pointless threads.... there's alot of what if's!!
woulda, coulda, shoulda BUT DIDNT!!
And as to looking at Nathan Brown i like that idea, either Browny or Robertson. Robertson was always getting the number 1 backman and playing KPP for Melbourne.
He would be getting the 3rd or 4th defender this way.

I don't think you're thinking clearly if you think getting a Richmond or Melbourne reject will improve your team. If anything you should be trying to get Burgyone. Panicking will get you nowhere. If the Eagles had panicked after 2005, they would not have got the ULTIMATE revenge in 2006. It's still possible that will happen for you guys, imagine beating Geelong in the 2010 GF by 1 point........Ofcourse The Eagles will also stand in the way in 2010 ;)

a mate of mine broke his about ten years ago when he was fourteen in a rugby game after breaking it he kept playing only to push one bone on top of the other after that came off not even a single tear didnt think he had even broken it how about that
Oh wow, what a hero! Did he have the expectations of a multi million dollar club and tens of thousands of supporters riding on his shoulders too? :thumbsd: Look if you want to argue this boring old chestnut, please piss off out the door to the left to get to Bay 13. I really don't come onto the St Kilda board to read this kind of bullshit again.

a mate of mine broke his about ten years ago when he was fourteen in a rugby game after breaking it he kept playing only to push one bone on top of the other after that came off not even a single tear didnt think he had even broken it how about that

Yes and was it the AC joint as well or just a slight brake of the collar bone - I broke mine cried a bit - I suppose I am allowed I am girl after all - and when I went to the Dr's found out it wasn't a bad brake fine after 6 weeks. My dad who is a fairly big man - both in height and build - used to play footy so had plenty of broken noses and fingers. Yet fell off his motor bike (actually 2 days after Rooy did his) broke the bone and did the AC joint cried like a baby - I had never seen my father cry up to then or since then. Dad was unable to even hold his arm up due to the brake and the joint - the same as Rooy.

So go back to the geelong board you flog - at least when we lose a grand final we shed a few tears on ground compose ourselves, let the presentations take place then go to the rooms and let lose - we do not sit on the floor sobbing like a baby when our name is not read out for the norm smith medal when we played a shit game and we have to have the coach rub our back for us!!!

i wouldnt rate him in our 22 if he was a saint

kidding arent you, sean dempster, Milne c'mon partner...cuzz has a bit in common with some of the catters, that is he goes stronger in the last qtr than the first...Big statement to suggest he may have been the diff, let's just say he wouldnt have hurt thats for sure