Ben Reid

• Thread starter Thread starter nut

... has a fair bit of catching up to do on the pick above him in 06, Joel Selwood.

fwiw i reckon he'll be a very good footballer.

Just another positive of having our own VFL team, we can experiment with players in different positions and leave them there no matter how well they are going.

After he broke his foot in the middle of last year he started training up as a key defender and has been developing quite nicely.

Should be playing regular AFL in defence next year.

From all the reports this year i would be surprised if he has been beaten in defence in the VFL

He is also getting alot of possesions in defence sounds alot like a jarrad Waite role the are molding him to play

Has all the right attributes for CHB and a very good one at that. Means his kicking for goal will be a non issue. If weren't a contender this year he'd probably be playing out the year in the backline.

His playing well,
I'd imagine he'd come straight into the team once we see Prestigiacamo
retire, pushing nate brown to full back and Reid CHB. I reckon Leigh Brown was recruited mainly for playing one full year of football this year, with it likely of Presti retiring next year, Reid will step in and you'd imagine next year Fraser would be picked ahead of him as a forward leaving number one rucking duties to Wood.
what ya reckon?

Now that we will settle him at CHB we should start to see more rapid improvement.

His first 2 years were as a key forward, this year it has been CHB which he seems to be better suited to.

Lot of work to do but plenty if improvement in him.

Time is on our side while we have Presti still kicking butt.

Reid doesn't have to catch Joel Selwood... We would have picked Selwood if he was available, but he wasn't.

The guys picked ahead of him would want to catch up to not disappoint their teams, but we never had the option.

Reid is coming along nicely though - I went from being vaguely hopeful to genuinely expectant of a long AFL career for Benny in the 5 months since the season started. He just looks comfortable down back, and now I think that he can be the more mobile KP defender to pair in the backline with Nathan Brown, to take the mobile/quick talls that Brown can't quite handle.

I hope your right, but I really can't see it happening. I have never been a Reid fan from what I have seen of him so far but who knows.

I just hope that he lives up to half the expectations of the Big footy posters

The last 6 times I have seen him in the VFL, all at CHB, he has murdered his opponent and played great football. He gets better every week. His defensive efforts have been fantastic and he is a terrific athlete who also provides lots of run for a guy his size and gets heaps of the footy.

I predict a very good AFL career for this kid. :thumbsu:

I hope your right, but I really can't see it happening. I have never been a Reid fan from what I have seen of him so far but who knows.
I don't want to be presumptuous, but I simply cannot believe that you've seen him playing CHB in the VFL lately, because if you had, there's simply no way you'd be this pessimistic about him.

He looks like a STAR in the VFL, and for a tall, gangly, athletic kid, that means that he's got plenty of potential at AFL level.

I get that he hasn't looked great in the AFL - I didn't see it happening for him either when he was being played up forward, but since moving down back, he looks like a different player.

For those who haven't been getting down to see the VFL games, we simply can't stress enough how much he looks like a "definite" AFL player.

Just with his size and athleticism I reckon he is someone who would really match up well on forwards like Franklin.

As we have moved Reid to CHB, it has probably moved him back a year in his development. The first 2 years were aimed at turning him into a CHF, so it has taken another year to groom him into his new role.

Hasn't really been able to break into the AFL team...although when he did we put him up forward which i thought was foolish considering he has not played there in VFL.

He is still young enough...and comparing him to Selwood is foolish because midfielders can come on straight away. Reid has time on his side considering we have KPP stocks down back and up forward...though Presti and Rocca are closing in on retirement so his time will come soon.

Has all the attributes and is having a terrific season.

It's good to hear that he's progressing nicely, it seems like nearly every week he's being named amongst the best players in the VFL side. He probably hasn't had as many chances as he might deserve considering the strength of our backline at the moment, it's quite a healthy situation to have, in any case.

Will be a very good KPD.

I have been to a couple of VFL games this season and really like the way he goes about it in the back half.

Very good at rebounding out of defence.

It reminds me a bit of N.Brown playing a full year in the VFL at Full-Back then coming in the year after and playing all season in the 1's