Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

not good enough to play gv?the only reason he wouldnt get a game at benalla is because he doesnt have the pretty bleached hair,the surname and the brain dead mentality.trav is a gun and the reason he plays for the bats is because he has a love for his club.not the money moosha you brain dead w...ker
Theres more than one GV football club!!
He could always try the O&M too!!
If he was any good he would have had a crack, or does Goorambat hold back players for their own cause?
Or is it the money that keeps him there, sounds just like a couple of Taners that play for Doon.
What about you smalltime where have you had a crack at real football?

hey guys.
heard a rumour that michael bretherton from alex is coaching Doon this year. anyone else heard that?

hey guys.
heard a rumour that michael bretherton from alex is coaching Doon this year. anyone else heard that?

I reckon you'd be in the know out that way mate. If it's so pretty good get for the Doon, a bit good for that comp just yet the big fella surely :confused:

Taking any players with him?

think it would be great if all clubs in the league could manage to snag a 3 or 4 quality players and really start to lift the standard within the league and give it something to shoot for. 3 or 4 quality footballers in each side would make the standard lift a little and if this could be maintained over a period of five years then the comp could really strengthen

You would need more that 3 or 4 good players at each club to strengthen the league - maybe a couple of extra clubs to play against?!

3 or 4 players isnt going to help but 3 or 4 clubs will.

I wouldn't get your hopes up dweller. But. it doesn't hurt to dream of a perfect world or BDFL as the case may be
I wouldnt say I was dreaming of a perfect world slim, but it wouldnt hurt for the vcfl to try and make a change.
Give these clubs a chance to grow in anouther league!
IMO the league is stuffed but I would also say the whole state of country football was looking shit too.

I wouldnt say I was dreaming of a perfect world slim, but it wouldnt hurt for the vcfl to try and make a change.
Give these clubs a chance to grow in anouther league!
IMO the league is stuffed but I would also say the whole state of country football was looking shit too.

Put the names up, what clubs would the BDFL want on board? The first argument to come up with will be how would the BDFL cater for the under age players?

Looking purely at the map, the towns on the hit list...Avenel, Nagambie, Violet Town, Alex, Yea, Thornton-Eildon, All Blacks, Dookie. I think they are all pretty happy where they are (or going to as Yea is)

Put the names up, what clubs would the BDFL want on board? The first argument to come up with will be how would the BDFL cater for the under age players?

Looking purely at the map, the towns on the hit list...Avenel, Nagambie, Violet Town, Alex, Yea, Thornton-Eildon, All Blacks, Dookie. I think they are all pretty happy where they are (or going to as Yea is)
Why keep them in the B&D?
Have the league fold and find a new home for the clubs in anouther league!
Who rally cares if there is a B&D league?
The main thing is to try and keep the clubs alive.
On juniors, why would it be such a bat thing for any of these clubs to play in a seperate leagues without juniors?
Will it make that much difference in the development of our lazy kids if they have a bye once and a while?

Why keep them in the B&D?
Have the league fold and find a new home for the clubs in anouther league!
Who rally cares if there is a B&D league? :thumbsd:Many people, unique little league.
The main thing is to try and keep the clubs alive. :thumbsu:Yes, very important, they are the hub for the entire community (keep a few pubs alive too)
On juniors, why would it be such a bat thing for any of these clubs to play in a seperate leagues without juniors? If they do join other leagues they will have the option to field juniors, but yes to start with some clubs wont be able to.
Will it make that much difference in the development of our lazy kids if they have a bye once and a while?
??

The B&DFL is very important and through some poor choices (by whom??)over the years has suffered. In hindsight letting go of Violet Town and Thornton-Eildon, not being able to snare some CGFL teams when it disbanded and not being able to get a junior structure in place.

Why are the VCFL persisting with oversized district leagues? PDFL (16 in 2008), KDFL (12 in 2008).

??

The B&DFL is very important and through some poor choices (by whom??)over the years has suffered. In hindsight letting go of Violet Town and Thornton-Eildon, not being able to snare some CGFL teams when it disbanded and not being able to get a junior structure in place.

Why are the VCFL persisting with oversized district leagues? PDFL (16 in 2008), KDFL (12 in 2008).
Maybe because the VCFL is ran and controled by ********s?
Out of touch people on power trips that think that the TAC and a few major leagues in the country or the be all of football.
I know they say they care about the small towns just as much as they do about the big ones but **** me what have they done for country football but line their own pockets? Justify a job is about all they do, grow some balls and make some real decisions that will improve country football.

Any word on coaches and assistants at swannie,tatong and anywhere else.

I heard Vallender had put in for Tatong's coaching role, but i see it was advertised in the paper today. I had heard Wapling's name thrown around for Swanpool, but rumor has it now that he will be an assistant to Gilchrist at BAB. It wil be interesting to see that now the BAB coahing job has been filled, wheter any of the contenders will put in for these roles. Is the any news on wether wombat is going to continue on at Goorambat?

Wombat wont commit to a descision until he knows if he has a list again to win a flag - like this year just gone... Lets hope he doesnt so we dont have to put up with the CRAP he writes in the Ensign and Shepp News each week. Has Gilchrist officially been appointed at Blacks? nothing confirmed on the O & K thread...

B&WA any truth to Dooders and Webby to doon

I have heard that they both signed clearances, yes. Not 100% sure Doon will be their final destination, but have heard that have parted with us and will not be playing in 2008. I would expect Webby to have a crack at a higher level and its anyones guess where Dodders ends up

Maybe because the VCFL is ran and controled by ********s?
Out of touch people on power trips that think that the TAC and a few major leagues in the country or the be all of football.
I know they say they care about the small towns just as much as they do about the big ones but **** me what have they done for country football but line their own pockets? Justify a job is about all they do, grow some balls and make some real decisions that will improve country football.
Hey Cellar Dweller .. enough ****'n language to emphasise your ****'n points!! BDFNL had a five team league this year and, rightly voted for a 20 game season. (As the Longwood President said at the AGM, "If we have an inter-league match, we'll certainly know each other!). 2007 finals were a fantastic success with the Batters taking the flag and Longwood born lad, Andrew Doxey kicking his 100th goal in the second quarter in Goorambat's premiership. I had a chat to J O'D from the "****'n" VCFL on the day and he was very impressed with the crowd supporting footy and the netters. First thing for 2008 is the junior footy "11 a side" .. in the meantime why are Glenrowan and Benalla All Blacks getting their "***es" kicked in the O&K when they could be strength in the Benalla and District? Times change. 70's and 80's had BDFL with 10 to 12 Clubs and regarded as a minor league. With the advent of the Bushies we now have a four level structure. Major League ( GV O&M), Minor League (O&K, KDFL), TAC Murray Bushrangers and then "District" Leagues - Benalla, maybe Picola, maybe Coreen Leagues. Where will District Footy morph?

Might be too late to do anything about it now!
A wispers in the wind is telling me there is a more than likley chance for a 4 team comp next year (Im sure your mate J O'D will be excstatic about that). They could play each other 6 times for a 18 round comp then still get to play again in the finals. The lack of teams is killing this league.
"That long black cloud is coming down, feel their knocking on heavens door."

Might be too late to do anything about it now!
A wispers in the wind is telling me there is a more than likley chance for a 4 team comp next year."

Which team is going to leave the league? My only thought would be Goorambat trying to get into the O&K

First thing for 2008 is the junior footy "11 a side" .. in the meantime why are Glenrowan and Benalla All Blacks getting their "***es" kicked in the O&K when they could be strength in the Benalla and District? Times change. 70's and 80's had BDFL with 10 to 12 Clubs and regarded as a minor league. With the advent of the Bushies we now have a four level structure. Major League ( GV O&M), Minor League (O&K, KDFL), TAC Murray Bushrangers and then "District" Leagues - Benalla, maybe Picola, maybe Coreen Leagues. Where will District Footy morph?

They're not still going on with this 11 a side thirds idea are they? It's ridiculous, kids can play junior footy and thirds at other clubs before they head out to the BDFL clubs. And besides that, how is an 11 a side game going to help kids develop their football? May make them into good 200m runners, that'd be about all.

I sense the VCFL saying to the BDFL "you don't have thirds, that's why the league is struggling" - Don't believe it for a second, they're on the wrong track. The league was going quite well 20 years ago without thirds, and if I'm right some sides didn't even have seconds at times.

Also, the Picola league would be similar to the O&K & KDFL leagues, and I'm not quite sure you would have the TAC Cup as a "level" that's any part of the VCFL structure. It's simply a competition for draft age kids (and those just below) to improve and play against the best kids their age and be evaulated more easily by the AFL clubs.

They're not still going on with this 11 a side thirds idea are they? It's ridiculous, kids can play junior footy and thirds at other clubs before they head out to the BDFL clubs. And besides that, how is an 11 a side game going to help kids develop their football? May make them into good 200m runners, that'd be about all.
agree with you there 11 a side is shit junior football
but the clubs in the B&D do need to push for thirds if they are to attract other clubs to the league

I sense the VCFL saying to the BDFL "you don't have thirds, that's why the league is struggling" - Don't believe it for a second, they're on the wrong track. The league was going quite well 20 years ago without thirds, and if I'm right some sides didn't even have seconds at times.
but the clubs that have moved on now have thirds and wont move back because the B&D dont have thirds
if clubs like benalla allblacks or violet town were to go back to the B&D and drop thier thirds they would straight away loose up and coming juniors to euroa and benalla
i am told devenish was the only side to not have 2s and now they have folded

Also, the Picola league would be similar to the O&K & KDFL leagues, and I'm not quite sure you would have the TAC Cup as a "level" that's any part of the VCFL structure. It's simply a competition for draft age kids (and those just below) to improve and play against the best kids their age and be evaulated more easily by the AFL clubs.
ive got no idea what your point is here
youve said a lot but i only agree that 11 aside football is not a good thing other than trying to add a bit of fittness pre season