Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Carrot Ive been told that in the old days (older than my old days) Max may have carried a bottle of substance on cold days for players at longwood (dont think it was redbull).
You're right Rodg! Late publican Mick Clarke, would donate a bottle of Stones Green Ginger wine for the trainer big fella to open at the freezing 3/4 huddle. The cold winters of the early seventies.
Had to give it away when two team-mates named Bones and Flem came to blows over not sharing!!:thumbsu:

Research Veggie Man, have you been doing yours? One thing Ive learnt on this site is not to believe everything the posters post. Most of it is dribble, a lot of it is untrue and a small amount is fact.
I checked up on you on the Longwood site and found a couple of interesting things that make me think more that there might be something going on with the new coach at Longwood.
Only 2 of the outgoing players played in the 2nds GF Veggie Man. Thats not taking into account that you may have played the others in it under a doggy name though. I also noticed that Donovan played in the 1st for the 2nd Semi and Paulke, Merrifield and Schlink were all playing seniors before they stoped playing. Finnigan played 1 game in the seniors for 6 goals.
My count makes it umm 10 senior players leaving Longwood 1 seconds player and 1 other. So when it comes to the cylcles of football Id say the Longwood players were not able to achieve the pinnacle and are moving on.
Dont get me wrong Veggie Man as Im not attacking the Longwood Football Club, just wanting to know why so many are leaving. And please dont defend what I say by posting untruths.
And Veggie Man Im fairly sure Ive heard the statement that the club is right behind a coach in the past!
Dont think I will make it for the great Longwood V Tatong spectacle, but if Longwood is the real deal Id like to see how they go against Bonnie Doon.
Good on yer CD .. keep stirring the possum .. three of the transferees won senior's awards at the presentation night, which is a blow in itself. The odd game here and there by blokes on the fringe is part and parcel of first s and second.
But more importantly, come up with the your facts about the so called imminent future demise of the Longwood coach. Haven't seen any yet.

I do agree with you on one thing. It's got me buggered how the 'Doon are going to fit all their players on the ground in both games! With a list like that, some might have to get dropped to the netball for a run!
When's the Mokka due back?

I do agree with you on one thing. It's got me buggered how the 'Doon are going to fit all their players on the ground in both games! With a list like that, some might have to get dropped to the netball for a run!

Geez that would make them the most expensive netball side in the VCFL if that happened :D

Great stuff outstanding. By the way bi Patty did well up here last weekend. Only kicked three but another three off and was just big for them.

Glad to hear say gday for me as Im not sure if he's reading BF anymore :thumbsu:

Loosing anouther to the B&D Doona2, Longwood getting in on the act now. Have you been approached to coach the B&D interleague side yet. Youd be the obviouse choice as you would know all the players!
CD me ole cobba .. y no, u dont s mell 2 gud!
I've NFI wat yo mean in tht 1st line but ut wuldn't hert ta lern to spmell proppa ..:p

CD me ole cobba .. y no, u dont s mell 2 gud!
I've NFI wat yo mean in tht 1st line but ut wuldn't hert ta lern to spmell proppa ..:p
That the best you can do Veggie Man??
Thought this was a football forum?
1st line Veggie Man- think youl find that poor old Doona2 is being cleaned out of football stocks. Might be the only football coach I know with some values. Would love to know if any other club has a coach who cares so much about the club and its kids.

Veggieman and Rogerdodger,apologies for my absence on this thread the last few weeks but have been on a camping holiday down in the AFLs last frontier, the apple isle. No TV or computer for two weeks was absolute bliss.
Did I miss out on the heavyweight clash of the century at the Black Lung or was the Unc a no show again? I see the fella that lives in the cellar is in form again,bagging the league and the clubs. He seems to have nothing positive to say about anything at all, dont know why he bothers to post anything at all. Seems to me he's a classic case of being self abused as a child. Go Redlegs. Grassroots footy at its best!

Veggieman and Rogerdodger,apologies for my absence on this thread the last few weeks but have been on a camping holiday down in the AFLs last frontier, the apple isle. No TV or computer for two weeks was absolute bliss.
Did I miss out on the heavyweight clash of the century at the Black Lung or was the Unc a no show again? I see the fella that lives in the cellar is in form again,bagging the league and the clubs. He seems to have nothing positive to say about anything at all, dont know why he bothers to post anything at all. Seems to me he's a classic case of being self abused as a child. Go Redlegs. Grassroots footy at its best!
Speckotacular news mate. Now hear this .. Tatong Maggies ground is a dry dustbowl so they've swapped to Redlegs Stadium this Satd'y, 12 April, then Swanpool travel to Longwood on 19 April. Two at home to start so it will be good to see old and new faces on and off the ground. Pick up Doona2 on your way up to see Matt Finch get great respect from his players and the Club.

Respect ..

Speckotacular news mate. Now hear this .. Tatong Maggies ground is a dry dustbowl so they've swapped to Redlegs Stadium this Satd'y, 12 April, then Swanpool travel to Longwood on 19 April. Two at home to start so it will be good to see old and new faces on and off the ground. Pick up Doona2 on your way up to see Matt Finch get great respect from his players and the Club.

Respect ..
Hmmmmmmm

That the best you can do Veggie Man??
Thought this was a football forum?
1st line Veggie Man- think youl find that poor old Doona2 is being cleaned out of football stocks. Might be the only football coach I know with some values. Would love to know if any other club has a coach who cares so much about the club and its kids.

I do Cellar !! Doona knows that. :thumbsu:

Loosing anouther to the B&D Doona2, Longwood getting in on the act now. Have you been approached to coach the B&D interleague side yet. Youd be the obviouse choice as you would know all the players!
thats good coming from you cellar dweller.according to every thread on big footy you be an obvious choice to coach the b+d side the o+k side the gv side and the o+m side.i would hate to pay for your fuel bill or phone account coz you seem to know everything about everything must do some kms getting all your info. look out craig hutchison cds on the job.havent you got the hint that nobody cares about wat you have to say you moron.u know nothing,u are nothing.do us all a favour and pi$$ off

You still playing in the B&D. How many B&D Premiership medals is it now?
Must be a real achievement for you. Only league in the country where you could feel your a good player, running out there every week playing in the backline picking up easy kicks because you wont be accountable. Good luck to you champ! Hope someone in that league splits you open, you loud mouth looser.

He's got my vote CD - me and Rosco regularly communicate and amazingly share plenty of similar views about footy :thumbsu:

Thank you Doona. And as for you Cellar Dweller I am amazed that someone came out and bagged you about your 'rumour mill' knowledge. Most of what I have read from you on the various sites has been on the kanga or close to it !! CD may well be Hutchy ??? :D

And Doona, put your hand up again for the job in 09 - even cross over and coach the BDFL interleague!! - best of luck with it this year. Enjoy the bye, into it next week as we are -v- Lake Boga. Ground at Nyah is picture perfect and with the best facilities in the CMFL we can only hope to pick up a couple more prior to round 1 who are prepared to travel a bit, just to add some depth to our very young and stable list.

..... and yes, I know this is the BDFL site !!

wheres the Tatong spruiking about their win? last year it took 2 days and 200 posts to get a comment in. Surely someone must be on the bandwagon driving at present?

Who won the games, and who did well? Im hoping like buggery all those Broadford blokes had high stat counts and dominated, as if they dont week in week out something's wrong.

Home TeamvAway TeamTatong 13.12 (90) vLongwood 25.11 (161) Swanpool 5.2 (32) vBonnie Doon 27.23 (185) Goorambat 0.0 (0) vBye 0.0 (0)

Very quiet from Tatong. How are the 100 year celabrations going? This time last year the were close to wining the 2007 premiership and a shoe in for the 2008!!!
Will give them one thing though, the game was not at Tatong but at Longwood so might explain the 12 goal flogging.
Very surprising to see Goorambat with a nill all draw with the bye, Im sure sh1ttime rated their chances better than that.
Youve been quiet Giggly Girl, you been away???

Bonnie Doon and Swanpool struggled in the Swanpool v Bonnie Doon game with the Broadford boys showing how good the will be in this years B&D. Bray with a lazy 8 goals but unable to make the best, Dunne with a BOG and kicking 4 goals and Fletcher playing well ending up with 1 goal.
Will be an interesting game next week with Broady Doon playing Goorambat.