Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Bonnie Doon and Swanpool struggled in the Swanpool v Bonnie Doon game with the Broadford boys showing how good the will be in this years B&D. Bray with a lazy 8 goals but unable to make the best, Dunne with a BOG and kicking 4 goals and Fletcher playing well ending up with 1 goal.
Will be an interesting game next week with Broady Doon playing Goorambat.

So you're saying the only blokes to do any good from both sides on the day were basically Dunney, Fletch, Tommy & Skip????

I see Andrew Squires played reserves for Tatong on the weekend and kicked 6.. Isnt he one of the Tongs regular senior players? Also Brendan Anderson, last years senior B&F and hes dew kicking in the magoos? whats goin on at the tong?

Doesn't Ando coach the 2's. He played snrs too I think. Not sure about Sqizz.

Depending on the web site being up to date and teams not playing players under dodgy names.
Tatong played six players in two games on the week end. Would explain why they won the 2s but got left behind in the 1s. Im thinking they may be stacking the 2s early for the finals. Will also explain why so many Benalla players played in the night series. Dosent anyone want to play for Tatong (now that the legend Dodders is gone)??
Longwood played 2 twice and only named 15 in the reserves. Is this true are the Red Legs struggling for numbers? If they are they will battle to match Goorambat and Broady Doon.
Swanpool and Broady Doon played a full list in the 1s and 2s with no double ups. Obviously Broady will be hard to beat this year with all the coin they are throwing away and Swanpool although having numbers will struggle, again! Nill all draw for Swanpool vs Tatong.
Will be interesting to see Goorambats numbers.

I think its fair to say the new Swanny coach Doc or wateva is pushing shit up a hill with those boys at swanny. Theyve had a decent pre season, been training for ages, but in the first round they go down by 25 goals? what do they need to do?

Hope to finish 3rd and avoid the same 25 goal result on grand final day - from an outsider looking in, and I know it's only round one but it seems apparent ya's are all playing for the right to be runner's up to Broady Doon (as cellar calls them).

Looks that way Doona2, but I might hold off on my Broady Doon membership until they play Goorambat and Longwood. Its obvious that Swanpool and Tatong are not in the hunt and I would be surprised if Longwood are but Ill give them a chance until prooven wrong. Still Broady Doon to beat Goorambat in the GF for me.

Ill tell you what Ive heard. The big fella may be playing for Longwood but hurt his ankle playing for Rushworth and is rumoured to be crossing to Nagambie. See what you can make of that.

Time will tell by the sound of that.
All 3 clubs would be keen to have him, he is one big unit and they are hard to come across.

Hey there JC the veggieman, looks like the Redlegs had a good win first up against the maggies. What are your thoughts on the performance. I see the magoos got a bit of a toweling is that because numbers are a bit low or did Tatong stack their side. Saw that one B.Vercoe played after assuring me he had retired. Contrary to what has been said on this thread I heard from a couple of players last week that new coach Mat Finch has the upmost repect from players and supporters alike.

BDFL, grassroots footy at its best

Hey there JC the veggieman, looks like the Redlegs had a good win first up against the maggies. What are your thoughts on the performance. I see the magoos got a bit of a toweling is that because numbers are a bit low or did Tatong stack their side. Saw that one B.Vercoe played after assuring me he had retired. Contrary to what has been said on this thread I heard from a couple of players last week that new coach Mat Finch has the upmost repect from players and supporters alike.

All the news is on the longwoodfc website specko.
We're taking it one week at a time .. Are ee ess pee ee cee tea .. Respect .. sock it to me!:p

Hey there AYJSKK123 hows you doin? Was talking to brock (aka 2nds coach) Sat arvo and he said he had heaps of numbers. He wasnt too happy with the loss but thought that when the boys get to know each other more and start to follow a game plan they should have a good year. I did notice a few senior players in the Tatong 2nds list. Varcs did retire last year but the leur of playing with mates and because the body is ok hes going another year.
Longwood should have a good win sat against Swanpool and I would expect the 2s to open their account. Im thinking Bonnie Doon will firm as the ones to beat with a comfortable win over Goorambat.
When will you be up for a look? Might have to start up a past players spot by the fire.
Also I see one S Holmes was close to having a run on Sat. Im sure he was fairly dissapointed the 2s had numbers.

Time will tell by the sound of that.
All 3 clubs would be keen to have him, he is one big unit and they are hard to come across.
Have since been told the big fella was chomping at the bit to be out there playing at Longwood on Sat. Not being out there to help the boys wouldnt be sitting to well with him and hopefuly hes ankle isnt to bad and he will be back on the ground at Longwood sooner rather than later.

Hey Roger, i wouldn't be too confident about a Longwood win on Saturday. Fair enough Swanny had a bad day at the office last weekend, although i wouldn't take too much out of your win over Tatong. I guess by 4.30 on Saturday we will know either way.

As Im not playing it dosent matter how confident I am. Would be an upset for Swanpool to win at Longwood, but as long as Swanpool turn up to play they will be a chance of winning.

Rooi squires is like jesus in that goalsquare he's got the wings of an angel on his back

This week will see Longwood win by 8 goals and Goorambat by at least 13 goals. Broady Doon to tear the bye appart. Perhaps Doona2 could get a few permits and have a chance of knocking Colbo off!!

Technically possible I guess, would be considered going up a standard ;)

Must have been a good game, any see or play. Swannie good or L/wood bad

Swanpool lead all day to be beaton in the last 1/4. Cant see that Longwood could win like they did last week and come out, play well only to snatch victory late in the game this week. I would say Longwood think they might be a little better than they are and Swanpool took advantage just to come up short.
Will be a interesting game at Broady Doon this week. I cant see Longwood getting close. Will make the trip to have a look at Doona2's boys. Wouldnt mind catching up with you Veggie Man, have a few beers at the hill side. No chance you will try and skip the shout is there??

Technically possible I guess, would be considered going up a standard ;)

I know your comment was tongue in cheek, but the guys who have come back to Lakertown from Longwood are very good players.
The only real difference between district leagues is how quickly the depth drops away. Some very good players run around in these comps.

Very dissapointing result by Swanpool. Played three reasonably good quarters, but too many basic skill errors in the last cost us the game.
Cheer up midfielder, you get to play Tatong in a couple of weeks. Lose that one and you can feel dissapointed. Hey win that and you should make the finals! How about that! Not win a game last year win three this year and play finals football. I wonder why so many people bag this league??