Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Swanpool lead all day to be beaton in the last 1/4. Cant see that Longwood could win like they did last week and come out, play well only to snatch victory late in the game this week. I would say Longwood think they might be a little better than they are and Swanpool took advantage just to come up short.
Will be a interesting game at Broady Doon this week. I cant see Longwood getting close. Will make the trip to have a look at Doona2's boys. Wouldnt mind catching up with you Veggie Man, have a few beers at the hill side. No chance you will try and skip the shout is there??
Sounds like a plan CD.
Don't mind bringing my Redlegs stubby holder to the game but have to be careful about Mr Plod.
I reckon after the words of wisdom by Matt Finch at half-time in that disgustingly cramped room that Broadfordie Doon provide .. don't ever knock the Redlegs Stadium!
The old weather board shed at the bottom of the hill in the 70's when Ian Cheeseman coached was roomier .. even though you had to bring your own 3 inch nails and hammer to hang up your gear!!
This is the litmus test for the Redlegs so no tips, no bets and no estimated margins. A time to see if substance wins over style ( and the $$$).
When is the Broadfordie Doon benefactor, Tony Mokka coming back from Europe?:p

Sounds like a plan CD.
Don't mind bringing my Redlegs stubby holder to the game but have to be careful about Mr Plod.
I reckon after the words of wisdom by Matt Finch at half-time in that disgustingly cramped room that Broadfordie Doon provide .. don't ever knock the Redlegs Stadium!
The old weather board shed at the bottom of the hill in the 70's when Ian Cheeseman coached was roomier .. even though you had to bring your own 3 inch nails and hammer to hang up your gear!!
This is the litmus test for the Redlegs so no tips, no bets and no estimated margins. A time to see if substance wins over style ( and the $$$).
When is the Broadfordie Doon benefactor, Tony Mokka coming back from Europe?:p
Would they be prescription or recreational amphetamines you have there veggie man? Or you been eating those funny mushrooms in the next veggie row?
From what Im told Broady Doon has quite a good large set up on the slopes over there. Dont tell me they have all this money to spend but no decent facilities over there!! Must say though cant see your boys getting close to the money machine of Broady Doon. Hey Veggie Man, might be your shout first as I have a feeling Broady Doons beer prices may have gone through roof to help finance all the extravagant prices they are paying players.

Would they be prescription or recreational amphetamines you have there veggie man? Or you been eating those funny mushrooms in the next veggie row?
From what Im told Broady Doon has quite a good large set up on the slopes over there. Dont tell me they have all this money to spend but no decent facilities over there!! Must say though cant see your boys getting close to the money machine of Broady Doon. Hey Veggie Man, might be your shout first as I have a feeling Broady Doons beer prices may have gone through roof to help finance all the extravagant prices they are paying players.

Visitor rooms are very small. Apparently they had a call from David Hicks, he was missing Guantonomo...:D

David Hicks!! Sweet Boner, right on the money. We've even tried to swing a dead cat in there without success. Meantime the Bully Boys have kick to kick practice in their shed while supporters languish in the top facilities. The visitors can go and get nicked! Least the showers are hot if you are quick enough.
Don't knock the Redlegs Stadium!

David Hicks!! Sweet Boner, right on the money. We've even tried to swing a dead cat in there without success. Meantime the Bully Boys have kick to kick practice in their shed while supporters languish in the top facilities. The visitors can go and get nicked! Least the showers are hot if you are quick enough.
Don't knock the Redlegs Stadium!

Nothing wrong with the Redlegs Stadium Carrot. I think the Redlegs will have their work cut out for them this week at Hillside though. Finchy will have them revved up, but I can't see them knocking them off over there.

Scoobie doos to beat them by 22 points.

Nothing wrong with the Redlegs Stadium Carrot. I think the Redlegs will have their work cut out for them this week at Hillside though. Finchy will have them revved up, but I can't see them knocking them off over there.

Scoobie doos to beat them by 22 points.
All I can say 'Boner is that if the Leggers are reasonably close at 3/4 time (.. say those 22 points) and we have the run DOWNHILL in the last then it could be interesting.
But that means we kick uphill in the first .. and that could throw a spanner in the works.
Broadfordie Doon's ground is that classic cliche. Big blokes don't get any shorter as all players start to tire. It will be a good test of Longwood's running game.:thumbsu:

Hey there JC the veggieman, looks like the Redlegs had a good win first up against the maggies. What are your thoughts on the performance. I see the magoos got a bit of a toweling is that because numbers are a bit low or did Tatong stack their side. Saw that one B.Vercoe played after assuring me he had retired. Contrary to what has been said on this thread I heard from a couple of players last week that new coach Mat Finch has the upmost repect from players and supporters alike.

BDFL, grassroots footy at its best

Finchy would have the respect of the playing group and the club because he is (a) a good bloke and (b) a good coach !! Best of luck Finchy!! :thumbsu:

Thanks Rosco5 all Ive heard about Finchy is very positive. Anyway no scores from todays games posted on the VCFL as yet can someone fill me in?

G'day Specko
Yeh mate 'tis going to be very difficult to contest against the side CD has called the "Broadie Doon Money Machine"!

On the well grassed slope (with a shite of a visitors room!) they won 136 and 100 respectively in seniors and reserves. Matter of fact, some lower paid players ( say only on $100 per game ) did the Priscilla and frocked up with the make up in the A Grade Netters to steal that game by 2 goals!

Nevertheless. Ego and selfishness was observed by evrydoggie trying to kick goals, while Longwood missed six players with the dreaded Doon Flu and reduced to 18 in the last quarter with two of the best injured. Shite happens.
At least two of the remaining three encounters are at Redlegs Stadium, which will be interesting.

Meantime we might change their nickname to "Money Doon"!
Cheers mate
John Carrot
ps Bats beat Swanpool in both. Tatong got 4 pts in the seniors and the seconds .. they had the bye.
pps Finchie took away positives to plan against blokes he knows, 'specially when the cattle come back.
pps Waited at half-time with a cup of soup (beautiful) a pie and a Vic Bitter in my number nine stubby holder .. but CD was persona non attenda! Had to go back to the coach's box before the siren!!;)

G'day Specko
Yeh mate 'tis going to be very difficult to contest against the side CD has called the "Broadie Doon Money Machine"!

On the well grassed slope (with a shite of a visitors room!) they won 136 and 100 respectively in seniors and reserves. Matter of fact, some lower paid players ( say only on $100 per game ) did the Priscilla and frocked up with the make up in the A Grade Netters to steal that game by 2 goals!

Nevertheless. Ego and selfishness was observed by evrydoggie trying to kick goals, while Longwood missed six players with the dreaded Doon Flu and reduced to 18 in the last quarter with two of the best injured. Shite happens.
At least two of the remaining three encounters are at Redlegs Stadium, which will be interesting.

Cheers mate
John Carrot
ps Bats beat Swanpool in both. Tatong got 4 pts in the seniors and the seconds .. they had the bye.
pps Finchie took away positives to plan against blokes he knows, 'specially when the cattle come back.
pps Waited at half-time with a cup of soup (beautiful) a pie and a Vic Bitter in my number nine stubby holder .. but CD was persona non attenda! Had to go back to the coach's box before the siren!!;)

Bonnie Doon at home is a big ask in any year, least of all when they have picked up a few from other leagues. Bonnie Doon and Goorambat will still be the teams for the Redlegs to knock off. Might have to hope some of the boys from Bonnie Doon strain their backs lifting their wallets out to the car after the game...:D

G'day Specko

Cheers mate
John Carrot
Sorry Veggie Man dont have your number so couldnt phone through an appology for not being able to attend. Weather looked far to dirty to be making the trip to Broady Doon. By the look of the score it looks as though a few of your players may have thought the same. Need to tuff'n a bit if you blokes seriously want to push Broady Doon and Goorambat this season!!
Question Veggie Man, do Longwood spend money on recruiting players??
Also are you an assitant coach at Longwood??

longwood seriously need to spend money recruiting players to build the club for next year, it might help too if Longwood spent paid a few more players in order to keep them at the club. From what i have heard a few of their boys a feeling a little unappreciated by the club and are looking elsewhere, when is it too late for these boys to put in a clearance??:confused:

Just flicking through the results pages, is the B.Torney from Bonnie Doon the ex powelly twos player. Got a shock to see he has jagged 10 goals in their first two games. What possie has he been playing.

longwood seriously need to spend money recruiting players to build the club for next year, it might help too if Longwood spent paid a few more players in order to keep them at the club. From what i have heard a few of their boys a feeling a little unappreciated by the club and are looking elsewhere, when is it too late for these boys to put in a clearance??:confused:
Give me some names Rocket and I will tell you if they are worth anything.
. They have to be consistently good on Saturday arvo before they start putting their hand out.
The weak ones are usually the first to feel unappreciated!

Just flicking through the results pages, is the B.Torney from Bonnie Doon the ex powelly twos player. Got a shock to see he has jagged 10 goals in their first two games. What possie has he been playing.
Probably full back Roy (..the Big O!). The way those buggas all wanted to kick a goal downhill against the Redlegs last week, it wouldn't surprise me.
Roy "Big O" Orbison .. if you know if this bloke is related to a fella by the name of Max Torney (who'd well be over 50 now) .. give us a "re-mail":thumbsu:

Probably full back Roy (..the Big O!). The way those buggas all wanted to kick a goal downhill against the Redlegs last week, it wouldn't surprise me.
Roy "Big O" Orbison .. if you know if this bloke is related to a fella by the name of Max Torney (who'd well be over 50 now) .. give us a "re-mail":thumbsu:
Tell us what you really think of Broady Doon Veggie Man. You obviously dont like being flogged by the Dogs. Mind you if your 15 - 20 goals up and kicking down hill against a side that is not going to push you, cant you try and have some fun. I spose they could have kept at it and flogged you by 30 - 40 goals. Not sure I agree with you getting stuck into a side having a bit of fun when they are winning by over 20 goals. Seems Longwood deserves the criticism.
Broady Doon V's Goorambat this week hopefuly the Bats can put up some sort of fight against the money machine. Doon by 10 goals for me.
Swanpool to break their losing streak with a 10 goal flogging of the hopeless Magpies.
Will be interesting to see Broady Doons % at the end of the year!

Not 100% sure vegie man, was originally from up near Navarre.

Give me some names Rocket and I will tell you if they are worth anything.
. They have to be consistently good on Saturday arvo before they start putting their hand out.
The weak ones are usually the first to feel unappreciated!

For example, i know most of the boys that traven a long way like from Melbourne and bendigo arent even being payed fuel money. In my view its those guys that keep that club going as most of the guys seem to come from Melb and Bendigo, most of them are the better players too. So

Three questions.
Now that Swanpool couldnt beat Tatong.
Will this mean that Swanpool wont win a game for the year?? Again............
As Broady Doon are winning by so much.
Is it now just a case of seeing who they will beat in the Grand Final??
Does Longwood or Goorambat really want to make the Grand Final just to be embarrassed??
Best case senario would be to finish 3rd flog Tatong, win the Preliminary Final to finish on a winning note then forfeit the Grand Final. Give Broady Doon the opportunity to win the Grand Final without playing the game. Wouldnt that finish of the B&D with style!!!

Three questions.
Now that Swanpool couldnt beat Tatong.
Will this mean that Swanpool wont win a game for the year?? Again............
As Broady Doon are winning by so much.
Is it now just a case of seeing who they will beat in the Grand Final??
Does Longwood or Goorambat really want to make the Grand Final just to be embarrassed??
Best case senario would be to finish 3rd flog Tatong, win the Preliminary Final to finish on a winning note then forfeit the Grand Final. Give Broady Doon the opportunity to win the Grand Final without playing the game. Wouldnt that finish of the B&D with style????

Play the BDFL All Stars V Bonnie Doon? :p

I like it but all the stars are playing for Broady Doon. Might still be the same result!
Hey Doona .. Looks like CD is on the Doggies train.
With the Tony Coffee Mocca coming back from Greece to dig more stuff out of the slopes .. of Money Doon, ‘sgunna be a big nebulous premiership maybe.
A big bear walked into the Bonnie Doon footy bar .. which serves great soup, pies and a VB beer .. and said “May I have a JB and … wait for it! .. with coke..!
The barman said. “Why the big pause?”
Why do ask? Said the Bear. “Had em all me life” he said.
Now let me hear some more shite!
I could see CD at the White Hart in Longwood, joining in the premiership celebrations. CD is not a horse’s arsk, he is the horse .. and as he walks in to order a drink, the barman says .. “why the long face”!!
Purile shite maybe .. but the game and the day; and the night, at Redlegs Stadium on May 10 against the Batters is going to be top stuff. Get to the Stadium if you can because there’s no AwFuL footy on until the Mousekeeters play at night.
By then Longwood will be rockin’ to band on truck!:)