Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Hey Carrot how was Sat?
Was hoping to get down for the game but got stuck on the 19th. I am told the second half was dissapointing from a Redleg point of view. A lot of new players wearing a Longwood guernsey this year, how long till they get to know each other well enough to take the Bats and Doggies?
Also how was the sprayt from Finchy at 3/4 time?
ps I didnt see Deans name on the team list!

Hey Carrot how was Sat?
Was hoping to get down for the game but got stuck on the 19th. I am told the second half was dissapointing from a Redleg point of view. A lot of new players wearing a Longwood guernsey this year, how long till they get to know each other well enough to take the Bats and Doggies?
Also how was the sprayt from Finchy at 3/4 time?
ps I didnt see Deans name on the team list!
G'day Rodg
Didn't make it after all - was on the sick list .. but reports were great of a top community footy day with the Bats joining in the festivities. 80's Dean Rice (Carlton), 50's Ian "Bluey" Shelton (Essendon) and 60's Brian Morrison (Richmond) all got back to their origins.
In terms of footy the Batters held sway all day in the ones with Mark Beavis of Goorambat winning the commemorative medal. Brocky and the boys did the same for Longwood in the twos with Brock McCabe also winning their medal.
Longwoods surge of numbers is due to the word getting around that it's a great Club, with great coaches; however many newbies are second's players.
Longwood's senior's will have to hibernate for a while but their cryptic number is 9 .. read into that what you will.:confused:
Cheers
John Carrot

Looks like Bonnie Doon have made the paper again. Last week for winning by 40 goals, this week (page 97) because they sacked there trainer because he is bisexual. What is going on out at the doon.

All those blokes who are on big dollars might have to go so they can pay for a legal battle.

Been bisexual instantly increased his chance's of getting
a date by 50%.:eek:

Reckon they could cut one or two - save themselves 10-15k and still win it by 15 goals
Whats the story with Sean Duggan on the transfer list? Was told he was a definate player at Longwood but I see he has played with Broadford. Already rejected once, can he play?

G'day Rodg
Didn't make it after all - was on the sick list .. but reports were great of a top community footy day with the Bats joining in the festivities. 80's Dean Rice (Carlton), 50's Ian "Bluey" Shelton (Essendon) and 60's Brian Morrison (Richmond) all got back to their origins.
In terms of footy the Batters held sway all day in the ones with Mark Beavis of Goorambat winning the commemorative medal. Brocky and the boys did the same for Longwood in the twos with Brock McCabe also winning their medal.
Longwoods surge of numbers is due to the word getting around that it's a great Club, with great coaches; however many newbies are second's players.
Longwood's senior's will have to hibernate for a while but their cryptic number is 9 .. read into that what you will.:confused:
Cheers
John Carrot
Steady with the great coaches comment Carrot!
Youve lost me big time with the 9. Might have to give me just a little bit more to go on.
Bout time Brock had a crack at the 1s. He has told me he might give it a go next year but theres no time like the present. Next time your talking to him Carrot tell him to take the step.
Cheers
ps great report in the paper on the day but bugger all football. Was that your pen to paper or someone else?

Steady with the great coaches comment Carrot!
Youve lost me big time with the 9. Might have to give me just a little bit more to go on.
Bout time Brock had a crack at the 1s. He has told me he might give it a go next year but theres no time like the present. Next time your talking to him Carrot tell him to take the step.
Cheers
ps great report in the paper on the day but bugger all football. Was that your pen to paper or someone else?
Yeh mate .. oops, present company included in the coaching comment!! (.. bloody vegie greaser..)
This time the written bullshite was done without me being at the game (.. was crook) while normally the bullshite is after I've seen it.
Relied on reports from the troops to put something together but had to go to Melb Sund'y arvo for 4 days so missed Finchie's comments. If you didn't notice, the paper put it in as "A word from the Coach" under the photos. You'll see Finchy's cryptic number is in fact 12 !!:confused::confused:
Ridgee Didge Roger Dodger ..
Cheers
John Carrot

F**k oath :(
G'day doona
I'm bloody starved of footy. Had the bye before I missed last week at Finchy's Redlegs Stadium due to being crook, and today forced to stocktake at work.
Apart from aghast at Leggers 2 points down to Tatong, I see the Broady "Money Doon" only beat Swanpool 27 goals to 2.

Seeing that they kicked 48 plus goals against Tatong last week, is today's score line more your work in luring Dunney back to the Broadford fold .. or are they missing the gentle touch of their training staff?:thumbsu:

G'day doona
I'm bloody starved of footy. Had the bye before I missed last week at Finchy's Redlegs Stadium due to being crook, and today forced to stocktake at work.
Apart from aghast at Leggers 2 points down to Tatong, I see the Broady "Money Doon" only beat Swanpool 27 goals to 2.

Seeing that they kicked 48 plus goals against Tatong last week, is today's score line more your work in luring Dunney back to the Broadford fold .. or are they missing the gentle touch of their training staff?:thumbsu:

Couldn't tell ya mate, but unfortunately for you blokes I aint got much hope of luring anyone back in 2008. Dunne close to BOG again Im told and must be odds on for ya comp medal already

Dont think anyone will, however i think the redlegs will get the closest. When the team gels together the will have almost the best playing list in the come except for Broady Doon.

Rocket with due respect to the redlegs after Tatong got their bums kicked so hard by Doon the previous week (even though they had no players) and the following week got up and beat Longwood by 2 points the followig week. I don't think Longwood has a snowbals chance mate, Goorambat may be the ones to take the points from Doon and only if Doon have a couple of injuries. Doon will be too hard to beat but every one in this league will give it a good go:thumbsu:

Hijack the armourgaurd truck going there every week?:D
Here's the go Ossie!
With the Dooners spending ten times the budget of any other B&D Club .. we'll just take our ball and go home!! Would be interesting how the finals shape up.
Have a look at this from Craig Hutchison's column in the Sunday Sun Herald. This has been boiling for a couple of years.

IT'S A POLITICAL FOOTBALL
The country football team who made history yesterday for forfeiting over political reasons has warned that other teams in the competition are poised to follow suit.
Reigning Alberton League premiers Yarram, yesterday forfeited against the unbeaten Wonthaggi Power in protest at that club refusing to leave the league.
Wonthaggi oval was empty yesterday, with four football and six netball teams forfeiting.
The VCFL last year ordered Wonthaggi, with a population of almost 10,000, to return to a major league in 2008.
But the Power took court action against the VCFL and the Alberton League and they won.
The cashed-up Power has already flagged potential Supreme Court action is also on its agenda if it is forced to leave when a vote is taken again later this year.
Yarram president Peter Jenkins said from home yesterday his club had taken a stand.
“It shouldn’t have gone this far. It’s a sad day.” he said, “They have 7500 people playing against towns of 200 people.
We are certainly not the only club that will take this action. This is about everyone and it’s about survival. I had some phone calls from others today who say they’ll do the same thing.”
The Power was formed in 2005, a merger of Wonthaggi Blues from the West Gippsland Latrobe league and Wonthaggi Rovers (Alberton league)
The Power won the Alberton league premiership in 2005 and 2006, but lost last season’s cup decider to Yarram.
It’s a political football!

Here's the go Ossie!
With the Dooners spending ten times the budget of any other B&D Club .. we'll just take our ball and go home!! Would be interesting how the finals shape up.
Have a look at this from Craig Hutchison's column in the Sunday Sun Herald. This has been boiling for a couple of years.

IT'S A POLITICAL FOOTBALL
The country football team who made history yesterday for forfeiting over political reasons has warned that other teams in the competition are poised to follow suit.
Reigning Alberton League premiers Yarram, yesterday forfeited against the unbeaten Wonthaggi Power in protest at that club refusing to leave the league.
Wonthaggi oval was empty yesterday, with four football and six netball teams forfeiting.
The VCFL last year ordered Wonthaggi, with a population of almost 10,000, to return to a major league in 2008.
But the Power took court action against the VCFL and the Alberton League and they won.
The cashed-up Power has already flagged potential Supreme Court action is also on its agenda if it is forced to leave when a vote is taken again later this year.
Yarram president Peter Jenkins said from home yesterday his club had taken a stand.
“It shouldn’t have gone this far. It’s a sad day.” he said, “They have 7500 people playing against towns of 200 people.
We are certainly not the only club that will take this action. This is about everyone and it’s about survival. I had some phone calls from others today who say they’ll do the same thing.”
The Power was formed in 2005, a merger of Wonthaggi Blues from the West Gippsland Latrobe league and Wonthaggi Rovers (Alberton league)
The Power won the Alberton league premiership in 2005 and 2006, but lost last season’s cup decider to Yarram.
It’s a political football!

I cannot see that any of this is relevent sorry Carrot.
This article is about the power inbalance of their population over smaller towns.
Bonnie Doon is about the power of their money raising in a small village. (very similar in size to Longwood and the other towns in the B and D.)
I have never heard of any clubs knocking back donations and support.
If Bonnie Doon have the money to recruit to the extent they have then good luck to them.(even though I would think the amount paid to some would be more warranted at major league level and major league players)
Would Longwood knock back the financial opportunity to recruit more, or better players to make sure they are competitive in September?
Unless they are spending more than the salary cap allows, that's footy nowadays!
I reckon you may be better off comparing apples with apples if you need to hang it on Doon.

Make it 6 slabs, a carton of pj's and a night at rawhide in Shepparton and i may consider a comeback :thumbsu:
Celery cap? The Vegie man has always tried to put a limit on the amount of celery paid out at Redlegs Stadium each pie night!
To the 'Rossian Faulknerian Ruffian" .. are the civilsed people from Ruffy called "Ruffians".. I think not with the great nights held at the Ruffy Hall over the years!
Valid response but I was "only taking the piss" .. (a disgusting American culture cringe).
Good luck to the Dooners..this being the last year of the BDFL.. to go out in a blaze of glory. But no luck this Satd'y at Longwood , he hopes?
But if it is strategy to build for what comes next year, then I'll wait and see. As far as the Alberton League is concerned. Well it shows there is more than one way to stuff up a competition through selfish ego.
To the richest comes the spoils..is Mokka going to call in a few favours from Lara?
Cheers Ross (A.. maybe?)
John Carrot:)