Bendigo FL discussion 2025

Couple more thoughts on that I’ve never had a kid good enough at footy to experience the pathways stuff but I have seen the you need to come and play at this club to help your netball prospects

Fact is no decent players will touch a club without an a grade side and looking at what Castlemaine have announced they will be very ordinary again next year

People often say how can the league help clubs well what about if they worked with the netball bodies to access some marketing funds and tipped in some of theirs as well to pay a couple of those gun players to run clinics etc as part of a deal that would see them coach and play for Castlemaine
Even 10 or 15k combined with what the clubs pay would make it attractive and they could revitalise a near dead netball program
The benefits for the league would be there because players are sick of byes and weak games and a strong Castlemaine would mean more money through the gates

I think the point is they currently don’t have an a grade team yet they have enough former players who have been poached by other clubs to make a very good a grade side
As you say those clubs already have plenty of talent waiting on the sidelines so how does it do anyone any good to decimate a club like that?
I would have thought that was exactly the sort of thing the league should take action to stop but having seen first hand what goes on behind the scenes with netball I’d say some key people would be party to it
Agree.
But I would take exception at 'decimating' a club. It would be a far less complex scenario if said club had been able to get their **** together over the years and looked after players.
You can't blame players wanting to play elsewhere when individually they'd be stuck playing A Reserve.
As far as timeline goes, Chelsea Sartori (a dual league best and fairest) left Castlemaine in 2014, basically eight years before this year's league medallist Shae Clifford.
Goal shooter Chloe Langley left in 2019 when they had no A Grade side.
Not like they all left at once - it's been a gradual thing.
If girls want to progress, they need to play A Grade, so there is onus on the club to get an A Grade team together.

Might interest you to know that back in the day, someone involved at Magpieland once told a future league medallist she would never make an A Grade netballer, yet she played in an A Grade premiership elsewhere 12 months later ;)

They need a high profile coach to recruit and retain. No different to some footy clubs in the region that have been starved of success.

Couple more thoughts on that I’ve never had a kid good enough at footy to experience the pathways stuff but I have seen the you need to come and play at this club to help your netball prospects

Fact is no decent players will touch a club without an a grade side and looking at what Castlemaine have announced they will be very ordinary again next year

People often say how can the league help clubs well what about if they worked with the netball bodies to access some marketing funds and tipped in some of theirs as well to pay a couple of those gun players to run clinics etc as part of a deal that would see them coach and play for Castlemaine
Even 10 or 15k combined with what the clubs pay would make it attractive and they could revitalise a near dead netball program
The benefits for the league would be there because players are sick of byes and weak games and a strong Castlemaine would mean more money through the gates
The Maine had an ex-Suncorp Super Netball player lob in town and land in their lap three years ago - it rejuvenated the joint - and together with a co-coach they recruited hard and well.
The two youngsters (one at Flat and one at South) were part of those sides, one as a 14-year-old.
Once the SSN player left, the other coach left and took with him the players he had brought with him, so back to square one.
They were genuinely exciting times on the netball court for the Pies in 22 and 23.
A fair bit of it goes on - lots of country clubs stack or half stack teams with VNL players from outside the region. It has a limited shelf life, unless you can convince some of the big names to stick around.
Gotta take your hat off to a Sandhurst - four flags from 2017-22 and one goal away from a fifth while bringing in one player from outside (Castlemaine). Most of those girls are four and three-time flag winners.

That's the exact problem if that's how it's being sold, hence why the private schools right now are superseding.

Networks beyond yr.12 footy can lead to other opportunities in life and football, whereas I'm not even sure parents pay direct to the CTL league clubs now for their kids participation fees.
I know for a period they didn't, perhaps it's now back on the clubs to run their own business I'm not sure.

Regions before Covid could attract their own sponsors to help their clubs with some cashflow which could go towards looking after a few heads to look at Talent on weekends, attract or source development/assistant coaches after going to watch them and do background checks, even offset the parental cost of the shorter programs like U15/U16 stuff.

If it's considered a meat market and treated as such by those in roles of responsibility, I'd imagine that's exactly how it feels to those hearing such.

Life lessons and all the things aren't a bad way of teaching (or learning) if made relatable to the situation, a couple of coaches I hung out with in the pathways (and one RM) were exceptional at this.
Praise them more for reaching what may be the best level for them right now as it is still quite an achievement.

Learn 1-2 things non footy related about each player, meet the parents and connect, open up doors both ways and treat is a growth environment for all. That experience alone can still open up doors after 18yo (and for coaches/parents too believe it or not) if the program is rolled out holistically and embraced correctly as not wholely and solely judged on a "draft"

Sadly, and we all know there's far more (and tax free) money available now than ever before, for experienced folk to move around the bush and the burbs.

This creates other issues as it means the next wave of eager development coaches don't always get access to best available mentors either - which then see's over 100 eager men and women doing L3 annually in Victoria but not graduate in the same numbers in football as the roles simply aren't around.

Or for some they walk away as once outside CTL you're exposed to needing to be fully ready for the next opportunity you apply for, which sucks for those who get involved but can't advance.

So it's not just the kids who are battling, we need to find a way to thicken up the soup in terms of resources also to equip our RTM and their staff like before Covid times.

You refer to knowing one western royboy I personally know of 4 across 4 different regions in recent seasons who have tapped out, plus 2 candidates who would've been exceptional for both the kids and emerging coaches to learn and grow under.
Issue was after applying is they couldn't forego the drop in employment situation to justify it so they work elsewhere still and coach local, earn twice as much and are home one extra night a week.

I still are extremely passion about the pathways programs, along with community football, but it's the balance of money right now that's out of kilter.
Much like the VFL option for our pathway graduates who get offers immediately double/triple that of VFL contracts from local clubs despite never playing a 2pm game against grown men in their lives.

I don't have the answers but I hold out hope as it's a pretty cool thing to be involved in when it's flying, so if we can find a way to resource a bit better and co-exist with school footy we can still find ways to showcase aspiring young men and women.
As a former Development Manager that worked in the talent pathway I fully agree. Very well articulated Doona.

Cheers Grimmett I was always a curious soul, and live by the mantra "interested people are the most interesting" meaning anything I may share, post or drive down throats mistakenly on sites as this, it comes from a place of care and genuine intent/passion about the game I love.

Always kicked myself and saw it a priviledge that a s**t kicker from Broadford who stopped playing properly at 20yo could be considered suitable of roles of such responsibility in a region.

Met people through one of my closest mates in life at the Roosters/Rebels, then closer to home across Bendigo/Murray/Northern/Calder you'd always know a few members of staff - even today I run into people at all CTL games (other than Tassie) that I've participated with/against or now even see their kids coming through .... it's so cool.

Until every opportunity and/or door in football is closed to someone like me I'll continue to try and help/support/mentor/resource with anything I've been fortunate to aquire, as it's wasted in my stupid head and heart if it can't be shared to help others yeh?

I'm sure you too utilise skills, traits daily around your people in your current vocation that transfer directly from your time in around the pathways - as it's the holistic gift that keeps giving when used for good well before and after any sirens, scoreboards and draft numbers.

Agree.
But I would take exception at 'decimating' a club. It would be a far less complex scenario if said club had been able to get their **** together over the years and looked after players.
You can't blame players wanting to play elsewhere when individually they'd be stuck playing A Reserve.
As far as timeline goes, Chelsea Sartori (a dual league best and fairest) left Castlemaine in 2014, basically eight years before this year's league medallist Shae Clifford.
Goal shooter Chloe Langley left in 2019 when they had no A Grade side.
Not like they all left at once - it's been a gradual thing.
If girls want to progress, they need to play A Grade, so there is onus on the club to get an A Grade team together.

Might interest you to know that back in the day, someone involved at Magpieland once told a future league medallist she would never make an A Grade netballer, yet she played in an A Grade premiership elsewhere 12 months later ;)

They need a high profile coach to recruit and retain. No different to some footy clubs in the region that have been starved of success.

I’ve no idea about club politics but when it comes to netball I wouldn’t be too harsh on any club for losing players
You are clearly more involved with it than me but I’d say netball is the biggest front running disloyal sport of them all makes footy look like a buddist retreat

Cheers Grimmett I was always a curious soul, and live by the mantra "interested people are the most interesting" meaning anything I may share, post or drive down throats mistakenly on sites as this, it comes from a place of care and genuine intent/passion about the game I love.

Always kicked myself and saw it a priviledge that a s**t kicker from Broadford who stopped playing properly at 20yo could be considered suitable of roles of such responsibility in a region.

Met people through one of my closest mates in life at the Roosters/Rebels folk, then closer to home across Bendigo/Murray/Northern/Calder you'd always know a few members of staff - even today I run into people at all CTL (other than Tassie) that I've participated with/against or now see their kids coming through .... it's so cool.

Until every opportunity and/or door in football is closed to someone like me I'll continue to try and help/support/mentor/resource with anything I've been fortunate to aquire, as it's wasted in head and heart if it can't be shared to help others yeh?

I'm sure you too utilise skills, traits daily around your people in your current vocation that transfer directly from your time in around the pathways - as it's the holistic gift that keeps giving when used for good well before and after any sirens, scoreboards and draft numbers.
Absolutely use skills learnt, developed or improved from working with people within the Roosters and Rebels structures across a decade.
Used at work, home and my football club.

No problem identifying the meat market nature of the talent pathway but there's plenty of willing participants. More importantly, it gave me personally the opportunity to work with quality young men which is a long term passion. I follow with interest where those young men have gone with football and life. Not every bloke working in the system is just there for their own advancement. It's not a perfect system but neither was the previous approach of inviting every kid who could draw a footy from your zone to play 19s in town.

Realisticly, how can clubs recruit? There's likely to be no Gisborne, so there goes melbourne recruits, who wants to play against broady and win by 300? And the level of footy has dropped.

The league board are still holding the shovel that they dug the hole with.

Realisticly, how can clubs recruit? There's likely to be no Gisborne, so there goes melbourne recruits, who wants to play against broady and win by 300? And the level of footy has dropped.

Oh couldn’t agree more, just out of interests sake. Absolutely no doubting how much the league has dropped, I’m hoping it doesn’t affect the Heathcote league regarding talks of divisions.

Couldn’t see the HDFL letting it happen.
I would think they would go it alone out side of the hub before going divisions.

Would be interesting to see Eaglehawk Vs Mounts.

I think Eaglehawk by a far whack, but that is of more interest then an interleague game for me.

The maryborough Castlemaine comp is recruiting better than bendigo clubs . Deny it if you like but it’s true

Someone said to me today after what went down in the grand final they hope Eaglehawk has the books they send to the league in perfect order
Apparently only the premiers get the salary cap checked anyone know when the review happens

Someone said to me today after what went down in the grand final they hope Eaglehawk has the books they send to the league in perfect order
Apparently only the premiers get the salary cap checked anyone know when the review happens
Absolutely nothing to worry about - so far under the cap it’s not funny, would make other clubs jealous if they knew how little was spent this year

Couldn’t see the HDFL letting it happen.
I would think they would go it alone out side of the hub before going divisions.

Would be interesting to see Eaglehawk Vs Mounts.

I think Eaglehawk by a far whack, but that is of more interest then an interleague game for me.
Agree mate or imagine Calder v Eaglehawk

Based on what I read on here I don’t believe anyone is under the cap I just hope they don’t cop a reverse Geelong from the league

Agree mate or imagine Calder v Eaglehawk
The 2 teams I’ve followed
Been Calder biggest critique .
I am a fan of Eaglehawk

Keep the forearm down Holmes 😉 haha !

Think this game is closer than what people would think so …. Only if Wilson was coaching. He simply turned back the clock and out coached connick gf day

I hear both Storm and South have landed an ex AFL player each

The 2 teams I’ve followed
Been Calder biggest critique .
I am a fan of Eaglehawk

Keep the forearm down Holmes 😉 haha !

Think this game is closer than what people would think so …. Only if Wilson was coaching. He simply turned back the clock and out coached connick gf day
What coaching moves did he pull?

Bendigo FL discussion 2025