Bendigo FL discussion 2025

Why did they have a bye after four games? Best weather we’ll see in 3 months and sitting it out.

Getting as bad as the AFL having a bye before you even play a game lol.
That’s the direct result of incompetent management decisions over a period of time leaving only 8 teams. The only way to stretch the season out is to have a horrible fixture. Or bring the GF forward 3 weeks, which I’m tipping will happen in the next 2-3 years.

Indeed he does

Let’s not forget he was a senior coach at Strath.

Shan coached my young fella last season and is one of the best at what he does. And when he coaches a senior club again will be brilliant at that.
Sorry mate, I didn't realise he co coached with darryl at the end, knew he was skipper for a long time there

Agree injuries haven’t helped Strath at all, but there top half is still good.
KFlat should be jumping out of there seats about playing them this weekend
I’d say strath already looking for coach next year, but if they were to lose this weekend, Freeman might not even make it to the end of the year.

I agree with you. These Geary coaching rumblings will only get stronger one might imagine. Absolute danger game a loss would be extremely bad for Freeman and Strath. I’m not sure the Roos get it done though.

I 3rd that bigjohn88.
Eaglehawk do enjoy making it a dog fight but players looking disinterested at strath huddle .
I think kangaroo flat winning is also a stretch , but you would have to think freeman job is under ALOT of pressure
Loved the way Holmes & Evans played.

I agree with you. These Geary coaching rumblings will only get stronger one might imagine. Absolute danger game a loss would be extremely bad for Freeman and Strath. I’m not sure the Roos get it done though.
The bloke got them to a prelim last year, been unlucky with injuries this year. If it was his last year would you consider getting Darryl back or a fresh face in? I hope they give him another crack.

Surely they don’t go for Daryl again. I think that chapter is closed. I’m not sure they’ll go again with Freeman either. There is enough talent on their list still to be better than 1-4

Wouldn't they try jarryn, have him in charge of an Under 16 development squad too, full time role, 150k coach

Strath are a club that could get a mick mcguane style coach. Could be a danny obree, or any ex afl guy really, they'd be one of the best coaching gigs in the state, you get a guy which attracts the best kids, so you have a constant core of 16 locals in the side.

Wouldn't they try jarryn, have him in charge of an Under 16 development squad too, full time role, 150k coach
Reckon 150k might be out of the budget! And isn’t Jarryn Geary a current AFL assistant? Shannon Geary would be the only Geary to do it I’d imagine. Just swap Shannon into your idea he already is coaching the 16s this year.

Maybe Lachie Sharp to return and coach? A couple of years of coaching experience under his belt at Bridgewater now!
Maybe someone with more experience. Freeman’s prior senior coaching experience was Newbridge and it looks like 2 years at Strath is all he’ll get. Is Sharpy ready or at the level required to coach Strath? I’m not sure but I’ve only seen a small sample size.

If I were Strath I’d be throwing the kitchen sink at Tardrew. Let him bring an experienced assistant/support staff with him to help him develop as a coach. Dangle a carrot that can’t be refused to get his coaching journey underway.

Is that not what he’s doing at Sandhurst?

Reckon 150k might be out of the budget! And isn’t Jarryn Geary a current AFL assistant? Shannon Geary would be the only Geary to do it I’d imagine. Just swap Shannon into your idea he already is coaching the 16s this year.
Afl.assistants aren't on that much, strath would have to be the most financially stable club in the bfl. Mcguane would be on more than that. Stevie j, crezza, clint proctor, would be on good coin at north Ballarat as was mccartney before him, why wouldn't strath really go the jugular and get the best coach out there to get the best juniors? And why can't a Bendigo club get a big name coach. Ovens and murray can, Ballarat, Geelong why not Bendigo club?

I was under the impression no BFNL team had the kind of money to pay 100k+ for coaches. Do you actually think strath would have that kind of financial stability? I clearly am not across how much money is around Bendigo and more broadly country footy outside of the obvious few in the area

Is that not what he’s doing at Sandhurst?
Give him the reigns as a coach in his own right, not as a co-coach, and put a figure in front of him he can’t refuse. Finances have never been an issue out at Tannery Lane. And they’d be saving a heap this year in player payments, given all these injuries they’ve got.

Tardrew isn’t motivated by money and is as a loyal of slag head as you’ll find.

I think you’ll also find him coaching at the den in his own right in 2026

No coach in the Bendigo region is on anywhere close to $100,000 nor could any club realistically afford them to be.

The fundamental lack of reality some people in this group have is astonishing.
With all due respect if you travelled up the Calder you might find one or two on the figure you mention.

There are points mechanisms in place to restrict player movement in Bendigo Junior Footy so not as simple as attracting the best juniors unfortunately