Bendigo FL discussion 2025

All players get free passes for finals.
If you have players complaining about $10-$15 for a handful of games, after getting paid min $200 every week throughout the year then get better people. I have never been paid for a game of footy and never once questioned paying to get into a game of country footy.

But if that is a sticking point, lets hear the solution.
How do you administer/ police it?
Do you include 2nds and 18s? Do the emergency's get in for nothing? What about coaches, assistant coaches, trainers, team managers, runners. etc.. What's stopping me from walking through the gate and saying I'm in the 2's today?

Incorrect - run this past the board mate. Some clubs choose to subsidise it but players are charged
Just not true Crazy.
If you have players complaining about $10-$15 for a handful of games, after getting paid min $200 every week throughout the year then get better people. I have never been paid for a game of footy and never once questioned paying to get into a game of country footy.

Do you include 2nds and 18s? Do the emergency's get in for nothing? What about coaches, assistant coaches, trainers, team managers, runners. etc.. What's stopping me from walking through the gate and saying I'm in the 2's today?
You get a QR code.

Just not true Crazy.

You get a QR code.
Ok Arnold call the hub today and ask if players pay entry fee for finals or require passes ?? The clubs pay for the passes sorry mate. You have probably never had to in the sandhurst 2s but other clubs have to. Only since the hub was introduced of course

Agree totally. The players are the only people making money at a game but don’t have to pay to get in.

Every other club in every other league wants to host a final, you cant win with you Castlemaine lot

Looking into what was written, I am of the assumption that the writer is of the belief that one club can host the final, the league takes the gate money (fair enough) but a club other than the host club could end up doing some of the catering. If that is correct, that is not fair on the host club.

You would think that if say Castlemaine was to host a final, the league takes the gate money and the host club provides all other services and keeps the revenue they earn. If a third party came along and could run a beer tent, it would diminish the attractiveness of hosting the day, especially if they had to tender for hosting the final and pay out a fee for doing so.

Early Michelson prediction outside the obvious Top 2 in Tardrew and Bernacki who have had outstanding years.

Billy Evans is having an even better year than normal for Eaglehawk. He has had 5 games above 37 posessions ( 2 above 45) which they have won and kicks goals as well. Eaglehawk are going to win 12 to 13 games which puts him in the window to poll enough to cause an upset.

Early Michelson prediction outside the obvious Top 2 in Tardrew and Bernacki who have had outstanding years.

Billy Evans is having an even better year than normal for Eaglehawk. He has had 5 games above 37 posessions ( 2 above 45) which they have won and kicks goals as well. Eaglehawk are going to win 12 to 13 games which puts him in the window to poll enough to cause an upset.
Can't disagree.
Reckon Brody Haddow gotta be right up there on the leaders board.

Every other club in every other league wants to host a final, you cant win with you Castlemaine lot

Sometimes I wonder if you actually read the posts on here Trent.

Did you not just see the posts saying all the finals revenue goes to the league. I asked a club person last night and they explained how it works. The league run the gate and even run the raffles before the finals they tender out food and bar for the entire finals series on a staffing basis a group provides the workers but the league provide stock and keep profit.
Therefore the tender is just for working and they get the same amount of money if they sell 1 can or 1000.
Those tenders are always won by Bendigo clubs because as was said to me by a Gisborne person we are hardly going to be able to get volunteers to travel to Bendigo Saturdays and Sundays for a month.
So if a club like Castlemaine or Gisborne hosted the finals they would have to present their facilities empty destock the bar and canteens and have everything else ready for the day and they would not make so much as a cent out of it. And they would probably have the pleasure of cleaning up afterwards.
The person I talked to last night about it who is a committee member at Gisborne scoffed at the idea and said no way in hell so where does your notion that every club wants to host a finals they tender come from have you spoken to actual clubs or is it just made up?

Just not true Crazy.

You get a QR code.
Wrong sorry Arnold.

BFNL clubs have to pay for their players, u18’s are free, senior/reserves price capped to $7.50 each player. Once paid, they get tickets/QR code to allocate to certain amount of players/emegencies. Certain number of free tickets allocated to each team for coach and support staff.

Did you not just see the posts saying all the finals revenue goes to the league. I asked a club person last night and they explained how it works. The league run the gate and even run the raffles before the finals they tender out food and bar for the entire finals series on a staffing basis a group provides the workers but the league provide stock and keep profit.
Therefore the tender is just for working and they get the same amount of money if they sell 1 can or 1000.

Those tenders are always won by Bendigo clubs because as was said to me by a Gisborne person we are hardly going to be able to get volunteers to travel to Bendigo Saturdays and Sundays for a month.
So if a club like Castlemaine or Gisborne hosted the finals they would have to present their facilities empty destock the bar and canteens and have everything else ready for the day and they would not make so much as a cent out of it. And they would probably have the pleasure of cleaning up afterwards.
The person I talked to last night about it who is a committee member at Gisborne scoffed at the idea and said no way in hell so where does your notion that every club wants to host a finals they tender come from have you spoken to actual clubs or is it just made up?
That is not true. You tender for bar and if you win you keep profits. I was wrong about finals tickets - I didn't know clubs had to subsidize but I'm not wrong on this unless it's changed in the past 12 months.

Entry passes for players in finals is a pretty fair expectation I think (and has been the case in every league I've been associated with). If it's true that the league expects players (or clubs) to pay for finals when they get the gate then that is horrendously poor form.

No issues at all with paying entry during H&A when the home team actually gets to keep the gate.

That is not true. You tender for bar and if you win you keep profits. I was wrong about finals tickets - I didn't know clubs had to subsidize but I'm not wrong on this unless it's changed in the past 12 months.

If that’s the case and it may well be then that is an enormous financial advantage for the Bendigo clubs who are in the box seat to win those tenders.
Maybe the solution is to bring the entire finals series down south to give everyone a lick of the ice cream.

If that’s the case and it may well be then that is an enormous financial advantage for the Bendigo clubs who are in the box seat to win those tenders.
Maybe the solution is to bring the entire finals series down south to give everyone a lick of the ice cream.
The only advantage Bendigo clubs get is that their volunteer base lives where the game is played which is a solid advantage. This is why some are suggesting that at least one final needs to be in the Castlemaine/Gisborne area.

Given the finals are tendered in a block that doesn’t dilute the advantage very much. Maybe they should play all the finals down south except the Grand Final on a year about basis.

What happens in most leagues all across the state is the league take the majority of the finals gate. Then whatever surplus they make if any from finals gets divided up to all clubs. When you host a final you get the canteen and bar and you get to show off your facilities and club to the league and wider region. What happens on grand finals is clubs get a BBQ or bar area allocated.

If you get a home final, at Castlemaine for example instead of sending 50 volunteers up to the qeo or a bar or canteen you get to set your ground up and your volunteers dont have to drive an hour. If its played in Castlemaine, then youll probably get people from the mcdfl to have a look, youll get more Castlemaine people attend as well as getting everyone from the clubs involved. If you cant see how that it would make more money to the club by doing that, youve got rocks in your head

Seriously?

Why would any club tender for food and drink if all you are doing is supplying a workforce and not taking advantage of the market forces that deliver $$$$$$.

Surprised anyone would do it if you get the same by selling one can or 1000, or 10,000 cans. A whole lot of work for not much return.

I remember the Sunraysia league boss deciding to play a whole finals series at one venue - Irymple - one year.
Not sure if it was a 'f*** you' to the clubs who wanted said boss removed, or whether that was the catalyst for said boss being the target of a campaign to have him jettisoned.
Either way, he wasn't around much longer.