WTTF

Steelers, Hotspurs
In all seriousness, the guy has played one good game of footy and all of a sudden he has become our midfield savoiur!!

Why do we do this to our young players? We did the same thing with Walker after his debut.

Sure he had a cracking game, but it was against a VFL quality side with all of Collingwood's injuries. He got absolutlely carved up by P.Burgoyne a week or so prior, just couldn't keep up with him.

He is great in and under packs, but he really lacks the pace required in this day and age unless you are a guaranteed 25 possession per game player. Which he is a long way off from being at this stage.

Good player, good to rotate through the midfield off the bench IMO. I don't think he is going to be a first string midfielder to lead our midfield back to one of the better ones in the league.

I hope I'm wrong, but just my thoughts...........

WTTF said:
In all seriousness, the guy has played one good game of footy and all of a sudden he has become our midfield savoiur!!

Why do we do this to our young players? We did the same thing with Walker after his debut.

Sure he had a cracking game, but it was against a VFL quality side with all of Collingwood's injuries. He got absolutlely carved up by P.Burgoyne a week or so prior, just couldn't keep up with him.

He is great in and under packs, but he really lacks the pace required in this day and age unless you are a guaranteed 25 possession per game player. Which he is a long way off from being at this stage.

Good player, good to rotate through the midfield off the bench IMO. I don't think he is going to be a first string midfielder to lead our midfield back to one of the better ones in the league.

what is his endurance and running tank like? (i have not seen enough of him to judge)

if he can run all day and work at running his opponent into the ground, then his leg speend should be a non issue.

his match up on burgoyne may not heve been the right match up but not many players in the comp are as quick and elusive as the burgoyne bros.

as for walker i think his problem has been he has found it hard to find his right spot in the team, there is a lot of chopping and changing with him and this may be unsetttling him in turn effecting his performances.

you need tough players like bentick in your team to feed and create for your outside running players.

WTTF said:

In his last 4 games playing midfield his stats are

90 poss 27 tackles 20 contested poss 19 clearances.

as an example compare that to a similar player in Daniel Harris from North this year.

av: 15 poss 4.7 tackles 3.3 contested 3.4 clearances.

Bentick 22.5 poss 6.8 tackles 5 contested 4.8 clearances.

I would say Bentick has a future as an in and under player. Play him on Judd, P Burgoyne and watch him get smashed. Play him on C Fletcher, K Cornes and then it would be a different stroy.

mojo31 said:
In his last 4 games playing midfield his stats are

90 poss 27 tackles 20 contested poss 19 clearances.

as an example compare that to a similar player in Daniel Harris from North this year.

av: 15 poss 4.7 tackles 3.3 contested 3.4 clearances.

Bentick 22.5 poss 6.8 tackles 5 contested 4.8 clearances.

I would say Bentick has a future as an in and under player. Play him on Judd, P Burgoyne and watch him get smashed. Play him on C Fletcher, K Cornes and then it would be a different stroy.

All I'm saying is I want to see him do that over the course of a season, not just a 3-4 stretch at the end a season.

The difference is that Harris plays in a midfield that contains Simpson, Harvey, Wells, Grant, Rawlings, Sinclair and the like. We've got Kouta & Stevo and not much else in there at present to scare opponents. Bentick has a role to play, but I'm just saying thay we need more class in the middle, which in turn would make Bentick even more effective.

He's the icing on the cake, not the cake.

WTTF said:
All I'm saying is I want to see him do that over the course of a season, not just a 3-4 stretch at the end a season.

The difference is that Harris plays in a midfield that contains Simpson, Harvey, Wells, Grant, Rawlings, Sinclair and the like. We've got Kouta & Stevo and not much else in there at present to scare opponents. Bentick has a role to play, but I'm just saying thay we need more class in the middle, which in turn would make Bentick even more effective.

He's the icing on the cake, not the cake.

He is the cake. The icing is the players for him to feed it to. The downhill skiers that we need to be damaging. Bentick is a hard worker and a team player. Just a bloke who has turned 20 and played a handful of games.
Lets just wait and see how he goes when he is pressured by other teams.
Then we will know if he will be a gun or not. Just a good prospect like Carrazzo and Simpson have shown this year. Cant expect all of them to become A graders. As much as we want them to be.

mojo31 said:
He is the cake. The icing is the players for him to feed it to. The downhill skiers that we need to be damaging. Bentick is a hard worker and a team player. Just a bloke who has turned 20 and played a handful of games.
Lets just wait and see how he goes when he is pressured by other teams.
Then we will know if he will be a gun or not. Just a good prospect like Carrazzo and Simpson have shown this year. Cant expect all of them to become A graders. As much as we want them to be.

I reckon you were right up until a few seasons ago, but times have changed.

.........to win premierships these days, your midfield must be full of class, with a good mix of in and under types and the runners, but they majority of them must be class, whatever their style of play.

Look at the good teams in recent years, Brisbane, Port & include Adel 7 St Kilda this year.

* Voss, Black, Lappin, Akermanis, Power.
* Burgoyne, Francou, James, Cornes, Carr.
* Goodwin, Riccuitto, McLeod, Edwards.
* Harvey, Ball, Hayes, Del Santo.

We've got Stevens and Kouta. We clearly need more class in the midfield before we can become a contender once again.

* Bradley, Williams, Brown, Ratten, Kouta, Campo...........our last dominant midfield, which compares more than favourably with those other midfields listed above.

Until we can add to the Stevens & Kouta class list we'll be battlers at best.

WTTF said:
I reckon you were right up until a few seasons ago, but times have changed.

.........to win premierships these days, your midfield must be full of class, with a good mix of in and under types and the runners, but they majority of them must be class, whatever their style of play.

Look at the good teams in recent years, Brisbane, Port & include Adel 7 St Kilda this year.

* Voss, Black, Lappin, Akermanis, Power.
* Burgoyne, Francou, James, Cornes, Carr.
* Goodwin, Riccuitto, McLeod, Edwards.
* Harvey, Ball, Hayes, Del Santo.

We've got Stevens and Kouta. We clearly need more class in the midfield before we can become a contender once again.

* Bradley, Williams, Brown, Ratten, Kouta, Campo...........our last dominant midfield, which compares more than favourably with those other midfields listed above.

Until we can add to the Stevens & Kouta class list we'll be battlers at best.

It was just a phrase. There really is no such thing as pure in and under players and pure outside players anymore. Some are better than others at it but you need to have a bit of both. We need 10 midfielders in our team.
We have 4 prospects in Walker, Bentick, Carrazzo and Simpson (count wing as a midfielder). 3 in the reserves in Blackwell, Smith and Russell (looks like a long term wing for me). Stevens and Scotland in our currnet team.
That is 9. 2 established and 7 to try and make the grade. We need another 10 onto our list. Half will become good and the other half can fill the VFL and for depth.

Murphy this year and maybe Ellis and Hurn. A few more rookies and some late picks and another year of drafting next year should see us through. Then time for them to develop as complete players. No 1 dimensional Campo types please. To much of a burden on the other players to cover for him.

mojo31 said:
It was just a phrase. There really is no such thing as pure in and under players and pure outside players anymore. Some are better than others at it but you need to have a bit of both. We need 10 midfielders in our team.
We have 4 prospects in Walker, Bentick, Carrazzo and Simpson (count wing as a midfielder). 3 in the reserves in Blackwell, Smith and Russell (looks like a long term wing for me). Stevens and Scotland in our currnet team.
That is 9. 2 established and 7 to try and make the grade. We need another 10 onto our list. Half will become good and the other half can fill the VFL and for depth.

Murphy this year and maybe Ellis and Hurn. A few more rookies and some late picks and another year of drafting next year should see us through. Then time for them to develop as complete players. No 1 dimensional Campo types please. To much of a burden on the other players to cover for him.

Highly unlikely we get both Murphy & Ellis ( as much as I;d love that to happen). Hurn still has a lot to prove he can play a midfielder yet.

Not a really imposing midfield when you look at - we are certainly relying on a lot of former rookie listed players if that is going to be the case (Carrazzo, Bentick, Smith). Really, 3-4 of them need to become class acts or we are going nowhere in a hurry.

Too many plodders in the likes of Bentick, Smith (unconvinced yet), Blackwell, Hurn IMO. We need more Walker, Russell, Simpson types with the blistering speed. Murphy probably falls somewhere in between speed wise.

WTTF said:
Highly unlikely we get both Murphy & Ellis ( as much as I;d love that to happen). Hurn still has a lot to prove he can play a midfielder yet.

Not a really imposing midfield when you look at - we are certainly relying on a lot of former rookie listed players if that is going to be the case (Carrazzo, Bentick, Smith). Really, 3-4 of them need to become class acts or we are going nowhere in a hurry.

Too many plodders in the likes of Bentick, Smith (unconvinced yet), Blackwell, Hurn IMO. We need more Walker, Russell, Simpson types with the blistering speed. Murphy probably falls somewhere in between speed wise.

Some will be class and some will dissappoint. I would be happy to take Hurn at pick 4.

I would aslo be happy to get Jetta, Selwood or Gibbs next year also. We need 3 top 5 picks in the next 2 drafts. 2 this year and 1 next year and we will start to see a huge improvement.

A trade or 2 for a Bartel or Salopek in the PSD would not go astray either.

mojo31 said:
Some will be class and some will dissappoint. I would be happy to take Hurn at pick 4.

I would aslo be happy to get Jetta, Selwood or Gibbs next year also. We need 3 top 5 picks in the next 2 drafts. 2 this year and 1 next year and we will start to see a huge improvement.

A trade or 2 for a Bartel or Salopek in the PSD would not go astray either.

Couldn't agree more.......we really are coming from a long way behind after missing 1 PP, 2 first rounders and 2 second rounders a couple of years ago.

Bartel is the one...........he would be sensational across half back and rotating through the midfield. Salopek will be a good player, but his injuries scare me a little. A FB/CHB should be a priority as well if available.

Assuming Murphy nominates...........we'll take him (otherwise it'll be Ellis), and the closer the draft comes the more I get the impression we'll seriously look at Ryder, Kennedy & Clarke at 4. One of them will be a certainty at 4 in my book if Whitnall is traded. Otherwise, Hurn will more than likely be 4)

* I'd trade Whitnall (should get a 1st rounder) and Houlihan (round 2-4)
* look to re-sign Campo & Lappin on OUR terms, otherwise trade them too.

Im sick of hearing about the likes of Bentick, Simpson, Carazzo and Walker being the future of our club. If this is the case we will be in severe trouble for a few years to come.

Bentick - has played one quality game against a bunch of no names - lets not get carried away guys. His pace also worries me a bit. Generally slower midfielders need to make up their deficiency of speed in skill. This is the major factor which little Adam worries me in.

Simpson - Travelling very nicely atm. Size is what worries me here. Skillwise will be a handy player without writing home about him.

Carrazzo - I like this guy. Solid contributor who has shown good consistency. I believe this one will be the best of the four in years to come as long as his kicking improves.

Walker - I really dont know about this guy. He has age on his side obviously but has done Jack ******** so far in his short career. Im preying to the footy gods this guy makes it.

i am really impressed by bentick not just the collingwood game. the fact that he wins plenty of 'inside' ball. just does those things that make u say "the kid can play"

Da Shag On Fire said:
Im sick of hearing about the likes of Bentick, Simpson, Carazzo and Walker being the future of our club. If this is the case we will be in severe trouble for a few years to come.

Bentick - has played one quality game against a bunch of no names - lets not get carried away guys. His pace also worries me a bit. Generally slower midfielders need to make up their deficiency of speed in skill. This is the major factor which little Adam worries me in.

Simpson - Travelling very nicely atm. Size is what worries me here. Skillwise will be a handy player without writing home about him.

Carrazzo - I like this guy. Solid contributor who has shown good consistency. I believe this one will be the best of the four in years to come as long as his kicking improves.

Walker - I really dont know about this guy. He has age on his side obviously but has done Jack ******** so far in his short career. Im preying to the footy gods this guy makes it.

sick of hearing so you decide to tell us all about them?

Ironic.

Da Shag On Fire said:

bentick- see sam mitchell

Merely stating their obvious position as it stands now.Im not declaring they are the future of our club. I think below is what I said.
"Im sick of hearing about the likes of Bentick, Simpson, Carazzo and Walker being the future of our club"

Did I declare at any stage they were the future of our club or anything along those lines????

Get it right pal

WTTF said:

I can see where you are coming from.

However, Bentick has never been given a chance, he has always played a considerable amount of time watching from the bench.

Against Collingwood was the first time that he has been let loose and he dominated.

Last week in the opening minutes he got a few early touches, then our whole side fell to pieces.

So I do agree with you in parts, but at this stage it looks as though he as a future.

give the ********ing kid a go. He is in his second year of football and he is playing excellent football at the moment and some on here are trying to predict into the future that he is going to be no good. What I can see is that we picked him up dirt cheap and he has been a real find for us. He might not have blistering pace but he actually finds the football and he has the cleanest hands below his knee I have seen from a Carlton player since Brett Ratten.

Secondly the fact that he has come from the rookie list suggests that he has strong will to succeed unlike some of the other pima donnas we have running around on the park whe have had a free ride.

Sure he has his deficiencies just like most players but lets just give him some time to develop even more because at the moment he along with very few others at Carlton are our only shining lights at the moment.

stokesy said:
I can see where you are coming from.

However, Bentick has never been given a chance, he has always played a considerable amount of time watching from the bench.

Against Collingwood was the first time that he has been let loose and he dominated.

Last week in the opening minutes he got a few early touches, then our whole side fell to pieces.

So I do agree with you in parts, but at this stage it looks as though he as a future.

Finally someone with half a brain. Bentick has has sweet f... all game time. Everytime he shows something hes back to the Ants. Pagan keeps screwing around with the kids and positions and until the past few weeks very few have been given a chance to settle at all.

I for one prefer to hear Sticks mention that in his opinion he is captaincy material. Now if a legend like Kernahan feels that the kid has a future I feel optomistic about it too.

Shag to you feel bitter because unlike most Carlton supporters this one is living our dreams.

Da Shag On Fire said:
Merely stating their obvious position as it stands now.Im not declaring they are the future of our club. I think below is what I said.
"Im sick of hearing about the likes of Bentick, Simpson, Carazzo and Walker being the future of our club"

Did I declare at any stage they were the future of our club or anything along those lines????

Get it right pal

No problems mate. Young players are not the future. You are right. The recycled blokes are.

A wise man.

It was an absolute disgrace that Bentick wasn't drafted. IIRC he was the premiership captain in the under 18s a couple of years back. I also don't get this talk about him being slow. He probably has the quickest hands at the club and has one of the better footy brains too.

He's nothing like Plunkett. He's got a lot more skill, he's younger, and he's on his first chance, not his second. I'm a lot more confident about Bentick than I am about Walker.....