Suspended
Oct 2, 2004
Celtic Utopia
The Boston ones.
Just thought i'd find out what my fellow blues fans thought would be our best line up come round 1.

What iv'e come up with could be completely different to others as looking at our list the midlevel type player is very numerous and hard to pick one over the other.

G.Bowyer L.Livingston C.McGrath

D.Teague B.Thornton R.Houlihan

C.Chambers H.Scotland S.Camporeale

M.Lappin L.Whitnall J.Waite

T.Longmuir B.Fevola J.Davies

B.French A.Koutafidies N.Stevens

INT
J.Bannister I.Prendergast A.Walker A.Deluca

EMG
D.Morrell B.Johnson A.Carrazzo K.Norman S.Wiggins T.Sporn K.Simpson A.Bentick

I havent included players ive not seen play as yet.

FUB line....Yes i know i picked Livo*cringes*, lets say im the eternal optimist and hope he will finally come good and be able to hold down that spot for us.
Bowyer gives us the hard nut and McGrath the poise and run.

CHB line...This line is a nice one to ponder with Thornton out at CHB and Teague and Houlihan in support. All have a certain class about them and all are still young players that can offer us some stability where it's been lacking at times.

CEN line... I like Campo on a wing especially if he can use his pace and footy smarts to get himself forward more often. Scotland i plumped for the centre and Chmabers got my nod for the other wing due to seeing him play a great game for the eagles on a wing(plus a more mature body than say a Walker).

CHF line...Which Big Red will we see this year? who knows! but i'll stick with him at CHF to start with.
the HF flanks are Waite and Lappin, this combination makes me drool!
These two could tear teams apart with their elusiveness and ability to get the ball.

FUF line..Fev of course is a walk up. I always thought T-Lo was an ok player, and i can see him being a handy foil to Fev as he leads ok to the ball.
Davies is an enigma but he started to show that he too can sneak into a game and kick a few in a short time and have an impact.

RUC line...Go Barnaby!! i'd smack anyone who questioned barnaby's efforts, this guy gives us 110% every game. Kouta is getting old but he's still a champ and a Kouta Stevens combo in the middle is as good as any in the league.

INT
Ive gone For Bannister, Prendergast,Walker and Deluca

Ive left out alot players im sure others will give a gig to like Morrell, Johnson,Sporn,Simpson,Carrazzo, Fisher(we be in my top 22 when fully fit) Norman,O'HAilpin and all the new recruits.

Feel free to pick my side apart i'd love to see what everyone else thinks

WE ARE THE NAVY BLUES, AND WE ARE THE GREATEST CLUB THERE IS!!!!

:D

B:Wiggins Thornton Morrell
HB:Sporn Norman Teague
C:Walker Stevens Houlihan
HF:Waite Whitnall Scotland
F:Lappin Fevola De Luca
R:French Koutoufides Camporeale

Int: Prendergast Chambers Bannister McGrath

Emer: Carrazzo Bentick Livingston Davies

The Old Dark Navy's said:

i like that lineup

Very good line-up. Like Karl at CHB but would like to throw T.Longmuir in there somewhere even if it is on the bench. I hope Kade Simpson comes through this year i would love to see his name pop up across the centreline.

All teams will slightly vary as you will pick a team based on the team you are playing against. But I can not understand as Carlton supporters and supporter I assume would of watched Carlton games, put Prenda on the bench. I have not added Chambers as I have not seen too much of him, and Troy is an emergency as I do not rate him.

B: D.Morrell B.Thornton R.Houlihan
HB: D.Teague L.Livingston K.Norman
C: H.Scotland S.Camporeale I.Prendergast
HF: M.Lappin L.Whitnall J.Waite
F: A.Deluca B.Fevola J.Davies
FOLL: B.French A.Koutafidies N.Stevens

INT
A.Walker J.Bannister T.Sporn C.McGrath

EMG
G.Bowyer B.Johnson C.Chambers A.Bentick A.Carrazzo
T.Longmuir S.Wiggins K.Simpson

guggu said:
I can not understand as Carlton supporters and supporter I assume would of watched Carlton games, put Prenda on the bench.
Being on the bench is not like it used to be decades ago. Unlimited interchange means that you simply have to find the right matchup for Prendergast. He is not a goalkicker as such so it's hard to put him forward, he's not a defender so I can't put him there. Invariably he starts in the middle and uses him stamina to tire out and negate an opposition star midfielder. I rate Prendergast very highly but I wouldn't give him a midfield spot ahead of highly skilled players like Scotland and especially Walker who will be one of our better players in 2005. If Prendergast could carry out a defensive role as well, he would be one of the first chosen in my team.

I have not added Chambers as I have not seen too much of him, and Troy is an emergency as I do not rate him.
Chambers is there purely for pace reasons, not to mention being the stand out in the endurance time trials as well. Speed and stamina, will be very handy next season.

Longmuir has not been able to train so far and doesn't deserve to be included in any team sight unseen.

This'll undoubtedly change but for now:

B:Teague Thornton Morrell
HB:Sporn Norman Lappin
HF: Deluca Whitnall Scotland
F: Waite Fevola Betts!

Int: Prendergast Chambers Johnson McGrath

Emer: Wiggins Livingston Carrazzo (can only be 3). Apologies to heaps others.

Every player on our list aside from the new draftees should be EXPECTING to cement a spot this year, so it will be interesting to see who succeeds and who doesn't. Our depth is so much better now, even if our lists lacks class overall.

DIG said:
This'll undoubtedly change but for now:

B:Teague Thornton Morrell
HB:Sporn Norman Lappin
HF: Deluca Whitnall Scotland
F: Waite Fevola Betts!

Int: Prendergast Chambers Johnson McGrath

Emer: Wiggins Livingston Carrazzo (can only be 3). Apologies to heaps others.
I don't see them leaving Bannister out early. Has done everything right at the end of 2004, killed Buckley in Round 22 and is a leader on the training track. He will be given a couple of games before they look at replacing him.
Our depth is so much better now, even if our lists lacks class overall.
And we still have Fisher to come back.

FB: Teauge Thornton Lappin
HB: Sporn Norman Morell
C: Walker Stevens Waite
HF: DeLuca Whitnall Houlihan
F: Davies Fevola Longmuir
R: French Koutoufides Camporeale
I: Scotland Prendergast Bannister Wiggins
E: Livingston McGrath Johnson Chambers

would have Fisher in the side if he wasn't injured for half of 2005.

I'll have a go as well..

B: Bannister Thornton Sporn
HB: Teague Norman Morrell
C: Walker Stevens Camporeale
HF: Waite Whitnall Scotland
F: DeLuca Fevola Houlihan
Rucks: French Koutoufides Johnson
I/C Prendergast Chambers Davies McGrath
Emer: Bentick Carrazzo Longmuir

FB: Teauge Livingston Norman
HB: Sporn Thornton Lappin
C: Scotland Stevens Chambers
HF: Bannister Waite Houlihan
F: Davies Fevola Whitnall
R: French Koutoufides Camporeale
I: Walker Prendergast Deluca Bentick
E: Carrazzo McGrath Johnson Morrell

Notes:

Livo at fullback is a risk, but if Melbourne can get away with Nicho at fullback then so should we with Livo.

Houlihan to play up forward as I think we lack the class. Most of our goals on the run last year came from Campo, hopefully Houlihan can be equally threatening.

Nothing else has changed much, as we need our players to have a definite position. This way they gel and we'll see a more consistent Carlton outfit in 2005.

HugeBluesFan said:
I'll have a go as well..

B: Bannister Thornton Sporn
HB: Teague Norman Morrell
C: Walker Stevens Camporeale
HF: Waite Whitnall Scotland
F: DeLuca Fevola Houlihan
Rucks: French Koutoufides Johnson
I/C Prendergast Chambers Davies McGrath
Emer: Bentick Carrazzo Longmuir

Mate ya left Skinny Lappin out!!! :p

I don't see them leaving Bannister out early. Has done everything right at the end of 2004, killed Buckley in Round 22 and is a leader on the training track. He will be given a couple of games before they look at replacing him.

I kinda forgot him. Goes to show that if we have a good run with injuries over the rest of the pre-season, there should be some very unlucky players to miss out. Such competition for spots is what we need.

I wonder which of our new recruits will shine. Can Betts do an Aaron Davey? Will Jordan Russell force his way in this year? What about mature-age Chris Ryan? Can he be a genuine ruck alternative? Ultimately it's the rest of the list that's gotta deliver though, anything the new draftees do is a bonus this year.

Teagueeee15 said:
I'm surprised people don't have Carrazzo there considering he would be the perfect matchup for guys who usually kill us.Ie Medhurst and Milne.
I had Carrazzo in my starting 18 in the back pocket but then remembered Wiggo before he got injured last year and how he has improved in every facet over the preseason, especially size wise. then I remembered McGrath and his tagging jobs and midfield ability and Carrazzo was suddenly an emergency. I was very impressed with him in the two games he played but he did only play those two games and we don't want to get too far ahead of ourselves.

great try thats the best one so far

Funkalicous said:
I'd pick Luke Blackwell at fullback before I give Wiggins a game!
Aw come on Funkster, I'm sure we've been down this track before. Wiggo was in great form for a couple of games before his injury. So far in training, he has lead the way in bench pressing, adding bulk, many of the short sprinting drills. I reckon he might have a bit of confidence now.

Maybe I should only have given you 2.9 votes in the best poster club by club thread? ;)

I'll be good.. :D

But seriously folks, you'll all come crawling back to me praying for my forgiveness. His bad far outweighs his good. How ODN, do you justify sacrificing the back pocket position on ...well.. a 'lesser talented player', when we have a taller 'lesser talented player' in Livo?

It's not his fault though, the 2000 draftees were doomed from the start:

Livo (pea brain!)
Sporn (good but crippled!)
Wiggins (not tall, not fast, not skilled, has a couple of fans though!)
Campbell (delisted!)
Beasy (delisted!)
O'Keefe (delisted!)

This is why opposition supporters don't rate our youngsters.

So far in training, he has lead the way in bench pressing, adding bulk, many of the short sprinting drills. I reckon he might have a bit of confidence now.
Pleased to hear it! Although who doesn't have a great pre-season, right?

If the wiggly worm gets a game this year, then hopefully he's earnt it. And if he's earnt it, I'll support him :).............. but if he doesn't!...

Carrazzo Livingston Sporn
Teague Thorntan Norman
Camporeale Koutoufides Chambers
Waite Whitnall Lappin
Betts Fevola Morell
French Scotland Stevens
Bannister T-Lo Walker Deluca

EMG: Bentick Davies McGrath

Others were obviously very unlucky to miss out but thats the way I would assemble this unit.

The reason why I have put senior blokes ahead of youngsters is because thats how Pagan works.

I had Carrazzo in my starting 18 in the back pocket but then remembered Wiggo before he got injured last year and how he has improved in every facet over the preseason, especially size wise. then I remembered McGrath and his tagging jobs and midfield ability and Carrazzo was suddenly an emergency. I was very impressed with him in the two games he played but he did only play those two games and we don't want to get too far ahead of ourselves.

I'd put Carazzo into the side everytime before Wiggins. He's a dirty player Wiggins, and I only enjoy players being like that if they have the skills to back it up. I hope we get rid of him at the end of the season, as he's just another mid sized scrapper with no skills.

Lajon said:
I'd put Carazzo into the side everytime before Wiggins. He's a dirty player Wiggins, and I only enjoy players being like that if they have the skills to back it up. I hope we get rid of him at the end of the season, as he's just another mid sized scrapper with no skills.
I think of Wiggo as courageous and haven't noticed him as a dirty player. Still, that's the idea of the thread, we all see things differently and the bottom line in any such disagreement is that it is about time we had a bit of depth to argue about.

Cheers

thrylos7 said:
wiggo a dirty player?

if anything i'd call him committed and courageous who will never gib a contest

I may have gone a bit overboard calling him "dirty" but I feel he just tries too much to be a negating type player. i.e. only looks at his man at the bounce and keeps his back to the ball most times. I know most teams have these sorts of players, but I just feel that this is the only thing he can do.

Some people (and obviously some coaches) appreciate and enjoy these types of players but I am not one.

But yea, it is good that we an argue about these sorts of things and even better that we are starting to develop some genuine depth in our side which allows us to leave some players out who others would pick in their 22 :)

Put these guys where you want, but here is what I think is our best 22...

Koutafides, Lappin, Fevola, Longmuir, Scotland , Betts , Thornton , Waite , Norman , O'Hailpin , Chambers , French , Prendergast , McGrath , Walker , Whitnall , Houlihan , Teague , Livingstone , Bentick , Stevens , DeLuca.

Bench: Bannister , Davies , Carazzo , Sporn.

Looks good to me.... :)

Why ?

Koutafides, when fit and firing is a great leader and asset.
Lappin, highly skilled and clever.
Fevola, needs to be focussed, but when he is is a great forward.
Longmuir, will give us an extra forward.Will be trying hard to impress.
Scotland, a classy midfielder.
Betts, will give us a true goal sneak and pace up front.
Thornton, still have doubts on his strength, but is experienced enough now to do the job.
Waite, shown glimpses of being a truly great player.
Norman, elastic and fit, just a good young player.
O'Hailpin, should have learnt enough now, and added enough bulk, to be a solid player for us.
Chambers, will give us speed and endurance needed on the big grounds.
French, a good tall and a reasonable ruckman.
Prendergast, another tall option forward or ruck, or even back.
McGrath, tough nut which every team needs.
Walker, highly skilled and will be better with last year behind him.
Whitnall, if he is as good as training suggests will be vital to the team.
Houlihan, my only doubt, great when he is on, woefull when he is off form....
Teague, great last year and held up the defence many times, will need to add to that this year. Another tough player that we need.
Livingstone, when he is on song is pretty good and versatile.
Bentick, showed enough last year to add to the midfield with tenacious tackling and determination.
Stevens, probably better in attacking midfield role, will deliver to our forwards and kick the odd goal to.
DeLuca, play forward or ruck, good mark and reasonable kick...could do with more penetration in his kicks though.

Bannister, tough hard at it.
Davies, been around long enough now to step up, this will be a crucial year for his career, can he make a mark on 2005 ?
Carazzo, showed in 2004 that he has skill and confidence.
Sporn, great when fit, toss up between him and Bowyer in this position.

All in all I like the look of this side, nice blend of youth and experience and I think given the chance young Betts could light up the season.

Best 22 for 2005