Best 22

well i think it's pretty good because most of the people who post on there are around my age (14) with the adults to give training reports and experienced views and such, but even though im 14 i am certain that i am more knowlegable than 95% of people that post on here. (btw i'm not insulting all the people on this board but im just a really passionate supporter)

b: mcveigh michael cole

hb: mcphee fletcher lovet-murray

c: Stanton Hislop Pev

hf: hird lucas Houli

f: Monfries lloyd davey

ruck: hille J. Johnson Watson

bench: M. johnson, Ryder, Campo Jetta

2 Permanent Tall forwards + Ryder and LOTS of midfield rotation.

Backline is strong enough and the midfield rotation really should be able to hold its own against most sides.

well i think it's pretty good because most of the people who post on there are around my age (14) with the adults to give training reports and experienced views and such, but even though im 14 i am certain that i am more knowlegable than 95% of people that post on here. (btw i'm not insulting all the people on this board but im just a really passionate supporter)

How can you be certain? Have you met everyone on here? I know you haven't met me for a start. Do you go to training regularly? Many people on here do. They know what they are talking about. You do not.

And if I may have my say, I think Welsh would be one of my first picks in the team simply because he does his job. He is rarely beaten. A defenders premier Job is to beat his opponent. Welsh does that.

but even though im 14 i am certain that i am more knowlegable than 95% of people that post on here. (btw i'm not insulting all the people on this board but im just a really passionate supporter)

No, just 95% of them...

There are a lot of great posters on this board. We are lucky enough to have the best club board on the site.

No, just 95% of them...

There are a lot of great posters on this board. We are lucky enough to have the best club board on the site.

So true. I was surprised when I was browsing on other boards that there were so many less posts on it than the bombers board. Good job guys.

No, just 95% of them...

Lately we have been getting alot of bad threads from newbies (matthew olaik (sp?))which have been quite annoying.

Edit: Donsman change your avatar, everytime i see it i think someone has hacked my account :p

Geez bigbomber..14 hey? Good on ya son..keep posting your thoughts and opinions. Just don't get upset if someone bags your post...water off a ducks back mate.

I like to hear what the young bombers think. Wish I had bigfooty and other sites to read at 14..i reakon you got some guts.

Be passionate for sure....but we don't get into post slagging here..unless its total bull ********e.Just say your peace and respond to others..the key word here is respond,not attack!;)

Geez bigbomber..14 hey? Good on ya son..keep posting your thoughts and opinions. Just don't get upset if someone bags your post...water off a ducks back mate.

I like to hear what the young bombers think. Wish I had bigfooty and other sites to read at 14..i reakon you got some guts.

Be passionate for sure....but we don't get into post slagging here..unless its total bull ********e.Just say your peace and respond to others..the key word here is respond,not attack!;)

i'll keep that in mind thankyou, you are pretty much the only one who hasn't bagged me

Dont go off with the personal insults and people wont bag you.;) Sometimes you have to agree to disagree otherwise the agrument just goes around in circles. Longy has one of the sharpest footy brains on this site , he wasnt being a smartarse he was simply throwing up facts to support his argument. No one says you have to agree , i dont always agree with his opinion either , but there is no point getting narky when it doesnt go your way :)

Not bad, but Nash ahead of Dyson for me.

Welsh on the wing, Nash on the other wing. McVeigh to the back pocket and Bradley to the bench.

Having watched a couple of intraclub games and the Darwin match, it's evident McVeigh is set for another season in the back pocket. I'd like to see him play more attacking, but doesn't look like it will happen.

I think Kep will play on the wing this season, but I think it will be off the bench. I reckon they will look to use Kep to exploit matchups, which will mean he'll rotate off the wing and half-forward.

Not sure Davey will be in our side come round 1, I think he will force his way in by the end of the season. We could see Slattery in the back pocket and Mark Johnson playing up forward a bit more often.

I was just reading through this thread and I thought this was an interesting post.

I would have to say that I would give Dyson first crack on the wing ahead of Nash. Dyson has more class and more matchwinning ability, all he needs is to find some consistancy. In saying that, if Dyson doesn't find that consistancy, I think the solid option of Nash deserves the spot.

As for Welsh on the wing, I can't see that happening. He's very good as a small defender and as a playmaker from the last line of defence. Also, he lacks the distance on his kick to play midfield. I don't think there's a need to move him and I think there's too much risk in moving him.

I 100% agree with you in regard to McVeigh. Would love to see him play in attacking role but it seems he will play down back.

I also think you've got it right with Kep. As much as I would like to see him nail down CHB this year, in reality its hard to see it happening. He could be quite effective exploiting match ups on the wing and coming off the bench. I don't think he'll be a permanent wingman as many think, he'll be more used out of where he is convenient.

If Davey plays well over the next few weeks, I feel he will play Round 1. Sheeds loves bringing someone new in for Round 1 and Davey seems to be more than ready. I think Sheeds also likes the idea of the Lovett/Davey combination.

I think Slattery could well start in the back pocket but I have to say that I don't want him to. I feel he lacks a yard of pace and isn't strong overhead. I would love to see him make it, but right now I don't think he's up to it.

I would have to say that I would give Dyson first crack on the wing ahead of Nash. Dyson has more class and more matchwinning ability, all he needs is to find some consistancy. In saying that, if Dyson doesn't find that consistancy, I think the solid option of Nash deserves the spot.

I have to disagree with that one. I think Nash has a lot more class, but that's just my opinion. I think he uses his pace better and with McVeigh is probably hte best field kick on the list at the moment.

I think Nash's form over the last 6 months, the end of 2006 and pre-season 2007, has put him ahead of Dyson. Dyson has to produce results at Bendigo I think, he can find consistency there first.

As for Welsh on the wing, I can't see that happening. He's very good as a small defender and as a playmaker from the last line of defence. Also, he lacks the distance on his kick to play midfield. I don't think there's a need to move him and I think there's too much risk in moving him.

I can see it happening because he played there a few times in 2006 and has spent the entire pre-season playing on the wing. I think he'd play well as a defensive winger and he does carry the ball. His foot skills, while not great depth are pretty good. He does hit targets. If I was to name my best side, he'd be in the backline, but all the indicators are that he's going to play in the midfield.

I also think you've got it right with Kep. As much as I would like to see him nail down CHB this year, in reality its hard to see it happening. He could be quite effective exploiting match ups on the wing and coming off the bench. I don't think he'll be a permanent wingman as many think, he'll be more used out of where he is convenient.

I reckon he's our new Paul Barnard. Barnard used to play half back when needed, through the middle at times and if we got the right match up, he'd be thrown forward as well. At times Barnard would play from the goalsquare if he was on a smaller opponent, and Lloyd would push higher up the ground. I can see that happening with Kep.

I wouldn't settle him down, he has height, he is a good mark, he has a good motor and he is good below his knees. Use that to our advantage.

If Davey plays well over the next few weeks, I feel he will play Round 1. Sheeds loves bringing someone new in for Round 1 and Davey seems to be more than ready. I think Sheeds also likes the idea of the Lovett/Davey combination.

Definately not out of the question.

I think Slattery could well start in the back pocket but I have to say that I don't want him to. I feel he lacks a yard of pace and isn't strong overhead. I would love to see him make it, but right now I don't think he's up to it.

I have to disagree with this one as well, although I will note I am a big Henry Slattery fan. I reckon he is good overhead and he's strong off the mark. I really think Slattery has something, he has a bit of class with the ball in hand and he has a big dose of the angry pills.

I have to disagree with that one. I think Nash has a lot more class, but that's just my opinion. I think he uses his pace better and with McVeigh is probably hte best field kick on the list at the moment.

I think Nash's form over the last 6 months, the end of 2006 and pre-season 2007, has put him ahead of Dyson. Dyson has to produce results at Bendigo I think, he can find consistency there first.

I can see it happening because he played there a few times in 2006 and has spent the entire pre-season playing on the wing. I think he'd play well as a defensive winger and he does carry the ball. His foot skills, while not great depth are pretty good. He does hit targets. If I was to name my best side, he'd be in the backline, but all the indicators are that he's going to play in the midfield.

I reckon he's our new Paul Barnard. Barnard used to play half back when needed, through the middle at times and if we got the right match up, he'd be thrown forward as well. At times Barnard would play from the goalsquare if he was on a smaller opponent, and Lloyd would push higher up the ground. I can see that happening with Kep.

I wouldn't settle him down, he has height, he is a good mark, he has a good motor and he is good below his knees. Use that to our advantage.

Definately not out of the question.

I have to disagree with this one as well, although I will note I am a big Henry Slattery fan. I reckon he is good overhead and he's strong off the mark. I really think Slattery has something, he has a bit of class with the ball in hand and he has a big dose of the angry pills.

It will be very interesting to see how Dyson, Nash and Slattery go this year. I think 2007 will be fairly defining for them all. Time will tell.

I like the Barnard analogy even though Kep could be potentially even better than that. Kep also has Barney's number 16 which is nice.

I was just reading through this thread and I thought this was an interesting post.

I would have to say that I would give Dyson first crack on the wing ahead of Nash.
Dyson has more class and more matchwinning ability
, all he needs is to find some consistancy. In saying that, if Dyson doesn't find that consistancy, I think the solid option of Nash deserves the spot.

I 100% agree with you in regard to McVeigh. Would love to see him play in attacking role but it seems he will play down back.

Not yet he hasn't.He's just a good young player fighting to cement a regular spot on the team..like many of his young team mates.

I am basing that opinion on the games he's played when he's been in our best couple of players. For example in 2006 the first Carlton game, the St. Kilda game and the Brisbane game. Nash and Winderlich haven't really had those games yet.

Lately we have been getting alot of bad threads from newbies (matthew olaik (sp?))which have been quite annoying.

Edit: Donsman change your avatar, everytime i see it i think someone has hacked my account :p

When I find a small enough one of Skeeta, I plan to change.

I may be a little bias but i honestly believe my Best 22 will be as close to Round 1 team as any will pick.

McVeigh Michael Welsh
NLM Flecther McPhee
Lovett Stanton Monfries
Hird Lucas M.Johnson
Davey Lloyd Johns

Hille Watson JJ

I/c: Laycock, Heffernan, Kepler, Winder

I may be a little bias but i honestly believe my Best 22 will be as close to Round 1 team as any will pick.

McVeigh Michael Welsh
NLM Flecther McPhee
Lovett Stanton Monfries
Hird Lucas M.Johnson
Davey Lloyd Johns

Hille Watson JJ

I/c: Laycock, Heffernan, Kepler, Winder

Like the look of your team.

Hi ... This is my first post here so please be gentle :)

McVeigh Michael M.Johnson
Lovett-Murray Fletcher McPhee
Heffernan Watson Dyson
Lovett Lucas Hird
Johns Lloyd Monfries
Hille Stanton J.Johnson
Laycock Winderlich Camporeale Bradley

I would like to see the following this season:

Winderlich & Dyson cement their spots in the best 22. They have been at the club for a few years now and it's probably time they started to command a regular spot in the midfield.

Bradley to hold down a key position in defence (CHB). He is quite versatile but I think the club needs him to play that position. If he can't play CHB he will probably be another version of Mark Bolton. Someone that can play a number of positions, but can't dominate any.

Laycock to have an injury free season and start delivering on his talent.

I picked Heffernan & Camporeale because I think our midfield still needs a little bit of discipline, composure & maturity. Hopefully by the end of the season these two players will have less game time and players like Nash, Dempsey & Davey will come into the side.

Welsh is a bit unlucky as I couldn't find a spot for him. I would normally have him in the back pocket. I guess I chose Camporeale over him. McVeigh & M.Johnson should be more then adequate in the back pocket anyway.

Welsh Michael Mcveigh
Mcphee Fletch Lov-Murray
Lovett Jobe Dyson
Hird Lucas Monfries
Davey Lloyd Johns

Hille JJ Stanton

Laycock Campo MJ Winders

A good mix of experience and speed.
There is no real position for Kepler (PLZ don't play him on the wing!!!)
The modern game has passed Heff and Pevs
We can't play JJ, Jobe, Pevs and Heff in the same game
Lovett looked really good in the midfield
Monfries can rotate through the forward line and midfield
Campo must play as we need his skills and composure.
Winders showed a bit last year b4 breaking his leg.
We have to persist with the 3 big guys in the forward line. On their day they won't be able to be stopped.

B: M. McVeigh M. Michael A. Welsh
HB; A. McPhee D. Fletcher N. Lovett-Murray
C: S. Camporeale J. Watson A. Lovett
HF: J. Hird S. Lucas M. Johnson
F: C. Johns M. Lloyd A. Monfries
Foll: D. Hille B. Stanton J. Johnson
Inter: K. Bradley C. Heffernan R. Dyson A. Davey
Emerg: J. Laycock D. Peverill J. Winderlich

b:welsh michael mcveigh
hb: mcphee fletcher nlm
c: jetta watson m.johnson
hf: davey lucas hird
f: gumbleton lloyd johns
ruck: hille stanton j.johnson
int: bradley houli pev lovett
em: hislop heffernen camporale

This is a discrace... Jetta, Gumbleton and Davey in our top 18 already???

Monfries should be in the starting 18 and he isn't even in your 25... shows how much you know.

If you don't mind an outsider's perspective....i don't know about best 22, but from a development point of view, this is approx. what i would like to see you guys run with this year.

McVeigh Michael M Johnson

L-M Fletcher McPhee

Welsh Watson Dempsey

Monfries Lucas Hird

Lovett Lloyd Johns

HIlle J Johnson Stanton

Ryder Camporeale Dyson Bradley

Davey Laycock Winderlich

Dempsey may be a bit raw and light still, reminds me a bit of Kade Simpson at a similar stage.

Dempsey is good enough to be in our starting 18 imo, put him on the half back line and just let him runs and carry the football. Could be a very damaging Andrew Mcleod type player. He was very good on the weekend in limited game time and that run off half back in the last quarter (i think) got me very very excited :D

When I find a small enough one of Skeeta, I plan to change.
Bada bing bada boom.

kp-skeeta.gif

Welsh - Michael - Mcveigh
Mcphee - Fletch - Lov-Murray
Lovett - Jobe - Winders
Hird - Lucas - Monfries
Davey - Lloyd - Johns

Hille - JJ - Stanton

Laycock - Dempsey - MJ - Houli

Once Campo is fit he will be in the side. If we need another tall I think Paddy should be ahead of Kepler. I wouldn't be surprised though if they picked Slats in front of Dempsey and Houli.

Best 22